2012 Ford Ranger Heavy t license required?

Re: 2012 Ford Ranger Heavy t license required?

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2012, 4:14 pm

everybody to eat ah food you know

Postby Bizzare » December 6th, 2012, 4:14 pm

[no one cares]i doz drive meh boss own with no heavy t.[/no one cares]

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:who wud have thunk ... :|

Read the second definition - http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=thunk
HBD btw :drinking:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 6th, 2012, 4:17 pm

Bizzare wrote:[no one cares]i doz drive meh boss own with no heavy t.[/no one cares]

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:who wud have thunk ... :|

Read the second definition - http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=thunk
HBD btw :drinking:

its d 1st 1 :lol: - didnt know about all those other meanings

thanks man ... :)

Postby pugboy » December 6th, 2012, 4:17 pm

boy that is a serious charge you will get if pulled over
- driving without license
- not insured

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » June 8th, 2013, 1:12 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:yep mgw changed to 2950kg

southern sales who initiated the entire process...they got them classed as a light t and then ford query why the ranger was and the mazda wasn't

Just to correct on this, the Ford Ranger and Mazda BT-50 with the 3.2L engine carries a MGW of 3200 and requires a heavy T license.

The 2.2L carries a MGW of 2950 and does not require a heavy T.

trini76ster

Postby trini76ster » February 12th, 2014, 2:56 pm

[quote="pugboy"]boy that is a serious charge you will get if pulled over
- driving without license
- not insured[/quote

You will only get charged for driving a vehicle without having the appropriate class.

Without a license is when you don't have a license on you or non at all.

Postby rollingstock » February 13th, 2014, 11:13 am

^ What? Not having your licence on you is failing to produce. If you do not have the class required for the vehicle you are charged for drive no DP

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2014, 11:18 am

folks forget that it's a permit to drive....whenever carrying out an activity that requires a permit, you must have said permit available

xr8id1968

Postby xr8id1968 » February 21st, 2014, 2:10 pm

Check the MGW on this Ranger. Light T.
06_10888.jpg

hot blue

Postby hot blue » February 24th, 2014, 2:00 pm

I was told this week by Mc Enearney, M Rampersad and a licensing officer that both 2.2 and 3.2L rangers require Heavy -T License. Not sure how the Ranger above rated a lower weight.

Postby pete » February 24th, 2014, 2:13 pm

http://www.ultimatespecs.com/car-specs/ ... Ranger-(T6)-Double-Cab-22-TDCi-150-CV-4x4.html

2123kg curb weight. So that TARE is low by 200kg unless they found some way to get rid of 400 lbs in Trinidad

Postby wagonrunner » February 24th, 2014, 2:36 pm

pete wrote:http://www.ultimatespecs.com/car-specs/Ford/40249/Ford-Ranger-(T6)-Double-Cab-22-TDCi-150-CV-4x4.html

2123kg curb weight. So that TARE is low by 200kg unless they found some way to get rid of 400 lbs in Trinidad

that's easy. removal of wheels, running boards, fog lights, any other trim they sell to you as an accessory locally.
yuh forget how local stealerships operate or what?
the interesting thing is the MGW's that unaffected by the addition of iron bumpers / grills and bars, bigger wheels and other accessories.
the law always seems unaware about the things they should be.

Postby pete » February 24th, 2014, 3:05 pm

Well the addition of those wouldn't affect MGW but would affect the TARE. More weight you add the less stuff you can carry. If you put enough goods to go over the MGW and you get pulled in for a weighing you could get yourself in some trouble.

Postby wagonrunner » February 24th, 2014, 3:39 pm

have vehicles like those in thread title ever been subject to random weighing when loaded?

Postby pete » February 24th, 2014, 6:13 pm

Most people in trinidad would have their pickups unloaded 99.9% of the time so the risk of that is practically zero.

trini76ster

Postby trini76ster » April 17th, 2014, 1:14 am

rollingstock wrote:^ What? Not having your licence on you is failing to produce. If you do not have the class required for the vehicle you are charged for drive no DP

nope....if have a permit and get charge for not having one because of a class issue....contest it and you will win.....other have!

Postby rollingstock » April 17th, 2014, 1:58 pm

^ What bullsheit you talking?

4X4 Trinidad

Postby 4X4 Trinidad » April 17th, 2014, 2:30 pm

Would the vehicle be impounded in addition to the driver being charged?

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 17th, 2014, 2:52 pm

^ yup saw it happen last week in pos

Postby pete » April 17th, 2014, 5:08 pm

So either go get the license or park it up and wait for the new bill raising it to 5000 kg to pass.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » April 18th, 2014, 6:26 pm

if i remember correctly, driving without a DP is an arrestable offence.......so prepare the KY.....

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 29th, 2014, 11:26 am

Anyone know the MGW of the Nissan Urvan or the Caravan may get one of these and need to know if my Driver will need Heavy T ?

Postby pugboy » November 29th, 2014, 12:27 pm

the local neal and massy requires heavy t, my father has one, I think it is 3100
limit to need heavy t is (2955kg/6500lb)

the foreign used caravan have different weights some over and some under from what I have seen on the road, I have seen some 2900 and others 3100

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 30th, 2014, 12:11 pm

Thank You much .

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 1st, 2022, 10:16 am

To get a class 4 license do you have to go back to a driving school or is it something you just pay an do the test in license office?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 1st, 2022, 10:19 am

daring dragoon wrote:To get a class 4 license do you have to go back to a driving school or is it something you just pay an do the test in license office?
You need to do the class 4 regulations
And driving test with the small truck.

If you have the experience, you dont need to go to driving school, but you will need to rent a truck for the driving test.

So my advice: do a few classes with a driving school

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2022, 10:21 am

for the regs test you need to know the various numbers ranges eg mgw for various classes

Postby *KRONIK* » January 1st, 2022, 10:50 am

pugboy wrote:for the regs test you need to know the various numbers ranges eg mgw for various classes
Yes,
Them driving schools have the class 4 booklet with the answer sheet
Lol

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2022, 11:11 am

i got mine from lic office when i did it

VII

Postby VII » January 1st, 2022, 11:28 am

The bigger danger is driving those vehicles umladen rather than laden..

I cringe seeing all those clueless ladies and young drivers in dey pickups..

Such an archaic law established at a time when donkey carts, carriages and model T vans etc were heavy goods vehicles .

Also we have some Nissan NV 350s etc and I can tell you they are not blasted heavy vehicles !! 3 tons and up by all means..