Best MBA in Trinidad? Need help choosing

IdleMind2504

Re: Best MBA in Trinidad? Need help choosing

Postby IdleMind2504 » June 6th, 2013, 8:53 am

Azzuri wrote:IMBA looks very good, how about the EMBA? any feedback on that class/program?

The EMBA is very difficult to get into, i think it is a minimum of 7 years at senior managerial level.

Also it is very expensive... the course outline looks very good though.

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 6th, 2013, 11:17 am

urabus wrote:I'm on the last stretch of the Heriot MBA at SBCS. My experience at SBCS having graduated from UWI with a deg in Comp Sci,
- the lecturer are very helpful and knowledgeable and most of the times accessible
- the admin is definitely not complicated as with UWI
- no course work, no assignments, no group work (praise the Lord)
- the material is very easy to cover as the final exam worth 100 % is based purely on the text provided
- there is no thesis to present at the end of the program

It is not a very challenging, brain-taxing, time-demanding or expensive program. On average, with GATE, 1 module costs under 5000. The program in my opinion is very flexible and is a breeze. If you are seeking a challenge, this may not be the best option.

Looking at my options myself right now.
Herriot watt sounds easy enough, i considering them as well, don't have time for groupwork so no Lok Jack for me..

on the other hand, everything is on the line with the final exam...

its a toss up between sams or sbcs now..
i figure whichever one cheaper i'll do..

for me its more a factor me me needing an mba - i already have the experience.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 6th, 2013, 12:11 pm

My beef is with the no coursework thing and I hate exams with a passion

Postby nemisis » June 6th, 2013, 12:14 pm

^^^ ent, people don't realise not everyone Tests well

mitscar

Postby mitscar » June 6th, 2013, 12:17 pm

Accreditation does not seem to be a consideration, it should be one of the most important aspects when considering any type of any degree

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 6th, 2013, 12:36 pm

nemisis wrote:^^^ ent, people don't realise not everyone Tests well

And some of the time you cannot apply book theory in real life situations

urabus

Postby urabus » June 6th, 2013, 12:55 pm

mitscar wrote:Accreditation does not seem to be a consideration, it should be one of the most important aspects when considering any type of any degree

someone can correct me if im wrong, but are not all GATE funded programs accredited?

mitscar

Postby mitscar » June 6th, 2013, 12:59 pm

urabus wrote:
mitscar wrote:Accreditation does not seem to be a consideration, it should be one of the most important aspects when considering any type of any degree

someone can correct me if im wrong, but are not all GATE funded programs accredited?

There is local accreditation by ACTT as well as international accreditation bodies. All local instructions are required to be registered with ACTT and have ACTT accreditation. So many of them are still going through the process.

jaceson

Postby jaceson » June 6th, 2013, 1:19 pm

Lok Jack is great, end up doing a MSc but the group work was time consuming ....you must be prepared to spend alot of time doing this. Keep in my if you have a girl friend/wife/family, they will suffer....

In the end I dont regret it, as the lectures were really good and I gained a lot of industry experience.

And yes YOU will climb the corporate ladder and leave behind those who are not willing to further their education and they will beyotch and complain about non movement......

Postby bluefete » June 6th, 2013, 2:06 pm

jaceson wrote:Lok Jack is great, end up doing a MSc but the group work was time consuming ....you must be prepared to spend alot of time doing this. Keep in my if you have a girl friend/wife/family, they will suffer....

In the end I dont regret it, as the lectures were really good and I gained a lot of industry experience.

And yes YOU will climb the corporate ladder and leave behind those who are not willing to further their education and they will beyotch and complain about non movement......

Marriages have broken up over this group work thing when people can only meet at 2, 3 o'clock in the morning. Be warned.

Postby nemisis » June 6th, 2013, 2:14 pm

^^^ truth

mitscar

Postby mitscar » June 6th, 2013, 2:21 pm

Marriages have also resulted from these "group" works. :)

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 6th, 2013, 2:27 pm

mitscar wrote:
urabus wrote:

There is local accreditation by ACTT as well as international accreditation bodies. All local instructions are required to be registered with ACTT and have ACTT accreditation. So many of them are still going through the process.

sams and sbcs MBA's are from internationally accredited universities.

it's just a matter of being locally accredited now..
as long as you registered with the ACTT and your programme meets certain criteria it will be gate funded.

adn bluefete iw right, mba's while they sometimes cannot offer what experience can, do open doors for upward mobility.

Freak

Postby Freak » June 6th, 2013, 3:46 pm

Lok Jack is your best choice.

Pros - great lecturers, practical work, lots of presentations
Cons - lots of group work which makes it very time consuming, gate approved so you have to maintain 80% attendance

Honestly though the cons, were cons for me, My group was very efficient in meetings and we didnt meet as much as other groups. Also having to go to class, made exam time alot easier for me.

You said you are trying to broaden your experience level so EMBA for you is not an option.
This is meant for persons who have a wealth of experience (10+ years in senior management) in the business sector and are basically trying to get some papers behind them as they have all the experience to back them.
IMBA is a lot more detailed and will be more intensive and exactly what you need if you specialised in a different field previously.

I really enjoyed the time at lok jack, and to be quite honest its not as hard and intensive as some scare you to believe.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » June 7th, 2013, 8:21 am

I detest group work. Depending on others for your future pfftt

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » June 8th, 2013, 7:21 am

Herriot watt easy Urabus either you're a boss or you study to long and hard and you lossing it.

That being said some programs are less challenging than others. I am just over half way through another year again if i am fortunate. Some courses have pass rates as low as 45% and some as high as over 90% take from that what you will.

I know quite a few people who did and or are in Lok Jak they all seem very happy.

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 10th, 2013, 1:33 pm

Just got this info from SAMS concerning anglia ruskin:

Registration & Admin Fee TT$1,500.00
Basic Tuition Fee TT$20,000.00 (after gate)
Tuition Fee for Dissertation TT$3,000.00
Books for entire programme approx. $4,000.00
UK Fees £1,800.00

lets say 10:1 uk to tt rate approx
that leaves total cost of TT$46,500.00

In contrast, for their masters in HRM (i suppose its the same for marketing and the leadership one, but not EMBA or IMBA) the cost is as follows:
Tuition TT$34,700.00 per year AFTER GATE
Assessment fee: $1,000.00
Student insurance $334.00
One-time UWI fee $540.00
that makes for a total of
$36,574.00

that's a 10K difference!

however, the AR MBA is completed within 12 months (according to SAMS), UWI is two years i believe, cost listed is per academic yr.

anyone has SBCS info?

devis_02

Postby devis_02 » November 22nd, 2013, 11:14 pm

I would recommend you doing it from good schools like Thunderbird laureate (if any in your region) as these are top ranked internationally recognized schools.

Postby The_Honourable » August 16th, 2014, 6:06 pm

Resurrecting this thread as I am also interested in pursuing an MBA from one of the four institutions OP listed.

• International MBA - Arthur Lok Jack/UWI
• Australian Institute of Business (AIB) 12 Month MBA - SHEL/Sital/CTS
• Heriot Watt MBA - SBCS
• Anglia Ruskin MBA - SAMs

From what i gather here, Lok Jack is the best but the most expensive and group work intensive which can be a turn off for some. SBCS comes in 2nd. The AIB degree is only 4 years old here in Trinidad and not hearing much talk about the MBA SAMs offering.

So far i'm only seeing 1 testimonial from urabus about SBCS. Can tuners give any testimonials when it comes to the Heriot Watt MBA (SBCS), Anglia Ruskin MBA (SAMs) and the Australian MBA (SHEL/Sital/CTS) in terms of:

• Any complications or "catches" while doing the degree?
• Upward mobility in an organization here in Trinidad or internationally?

Thank you!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 17th, 2014, 7:07 pm

A friend of mine did an MBA with CTSBCSTSBCSTCBCTCSBCS I think it was an Australian MBA not sure.

However he regrets doing an MBA because it has helped him not in any way shape or form as he realized these kind of advanced degrees is somewhat useless because in that field of professional Job you need contacts in this place to get a Job lots of pull string etc and to the ones who are qualified to do it they have so much experience they didn't even need the MBA in the first place

I think most people do MBA just to hold a title to their name.

But if you doing it then you might aswell do it in SAM with Henley as it was not to long ago ranked higher than Harvard university. Its the only thing I could ever recommend doing in SAM.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 17th, 2014, 7:34 pm

IMHO An MBA will only help those in the proper trajectory already.
It is not a magic bullet that some people think it is.

Spend 100K on a Masters and automagically expect a 40K/mo job right after graduation. That is ridiculous.

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » August 17th, 2014, 7:41 pm

I know its not related to the subject but can I do a UWI masters if I have a Meng UTT degree?

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 17th, 2014, 8:47 pm

salvation4U wrote:I know its not related to the subject but can I do a UWI masters if I have a Meng UTT degree?

One way to know pallie, apply and see.

Postby The_Honourable » August 18th, 2014, 1:49 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:A friend of mine did an MBA with CTS I think it was an Australian MBA not sure.

However he regrets doing an MBA because it has helped him not in any way shape or form as he realized these kind of advanced degrees is somewhat useless because in that field of professional Job you need contacts in this place to get a Job lots of pull string etc and to the ones who are qualified to do it they have so much experience they didn't even need the MBA in the first place

But if you doing it then you might aswell do it in SAM with Henley as it was not to long ago ranked higher than Harvard university. Its the only thing I could ever recommend doing in SAM.

Yeah CTS does the Australian degree and i hear you on what your friend is going through. If he is limiting himself to Trinidad, he's in trouble because as you rightfully said, is who kno who and pull string. If he is planning to work outside Trinidad, that's when the degree would most likely matter and of course, experience.

Thinking about getting it over and done with by age 30 as I have the time, no debt, no wife and children... plus 50% GATE and who knows when that will last. When the opportunity comes i have the degree in place especially if I get a good offer outside Trinidad. I don't plan on limiting myself here. Yes i realized last night SAMs offer the Henley MBA, i'll check it out. Thank you EFFECTIC DESIGNS.

VexXx Dogg wrote:IMHO An MBA will only help those in the proper trajectory already.
It is not a magic bullet that some people think it is.

Spend 100K on a Masters and automagically expect a 40K/mo job right after graduation. That is ridiculous.

I fully agree VexXx Dogg. I don't expect an automatic jump in salary right after graduation unless a company sponsoring you or you sure you getting thru with a "pull string". Thank goodness for GATE at least because Masters would have been between $100,000 to $140,000.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 18th, 2014, 5:22 am

bluefete wrote:SBCS - Excellent lecturers . Very good syllabus. One exam only for each subject. No dissertation. No coursework. Somehow - materials always turns out to be industry relevant even though theoretical with practical applications. Can self study.

Kinda funny that you would say that someone "can self study" for these MBAs. The fact is, all these distance Ed programs are designed to be self study (hence the reason they lack a group assessment component).

SBCS, SAMS etc. just insert themselves as the middle man and appropriate a bit (or a lot) of the economic rents. It's ludicrous that the local tuition component actually qualifies for GATE Funding. It further handicaps critical thinking imho.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 18th, 2014, 9:05 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:A friend of mine did an MBA with CTSBCSTSBCSTCBCTCSBCS I think it was an Australian MBA not sure.

A man do a 1 year MBA from a non locally accredited institution and toting??

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » August 18th, 2014, 9:44 am

Most of the institutions mentioned here as options or that are offering degree programs aren't accredited locally so idk what you're getting at. ..

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 18th, 2014, 9:50 am

I believe ALJGSB is accredited.

Edit: http://lokjackgsb.edu.tt/media-room-m/9 ... ation.html

Postby Dizzy28 » August 18th, 2014, 10:03 am

spirited721 wrote:Most of the institutions mentioned here as options or that are offering degree programs aren't accredited locally so idk what you're getting at. ..

Breadfruit fall in somebody garden??

spirited721

Postby spirited721 » August 18th, 2014, 10:32 am

spirited721 wrote:Most of the institutions mentioned here as options or that are offering degree programs aren't accredited locally so idk what you're getting at. ..

Breadfruit fall in somebody garden??

No padna. I was just informing you that most of the places ppl talking about (like sbcs & sams) not accredited. So ppl shouldn't use that as something to sway their decision.
For those who want to know which are accredited: http://www.actt.org.tt/index.php/services/accreditation/list-of-accredited-institutions