The official WAZE GPS navigation thread

Re: The official waze gps navigation thread

Postby *KRONIK* » May 11th, 2013, 7:23 am

my waze stopped giving me any traffic reports.
it just says "0" when i try to get alerts...

any ideas?

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » May 11th, 2013, 7:35 am

I have found that Waze all of a sudden refuses to send me down the Foreshore when heading to Diego.

When i ignore the recommended route passing movie towne, it gets weird, trying to send me into Mucurapo road, then st james and then, until I reach Cocorite. I'll have to upload a screenshot the next time it happens to illustrate.

heading in the opposite direction along foreshore is fine though.

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » May 11th, 2013, 8:41 am

I have found that Waze all of a sudden refuses to send me down the Foreshore when heading to Diego.

When i ignore the recommended route passing movie towne, it gets weird, trying to send me into Mucurapo road, then st james and then, until I reach Cocorite. I'll have to upload a screenshot the next time it happens to illustrate.

heading in the opposite direction along foreshore is fine though.

Someone probably accidentally edited out a turn (you can set which turns are allowed at points on the map) check out the Waze site (global, not US) and you might be able to correct the problem using the editor.

Sent from another Galaxy using TriniTuner mobile app
Last edited by volcanosnowstorm on May 11th, 2013, 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 11th, 2013, 9:07 am

*KRONIK* wrote:my waze stopped giving me any traffic reports.

any ideas?
This problem started happening with me also. Then I noticed it's not that it stopped giving traffic updates. It just that the reports take MUCH longer to come up.

Usually if I open traffic reports as soon as I open Waze, it reads 0, then it updates after a few seconds (I assume it takes the few seconds for the traffic data to update). Now instead of a few seconds, it takes sometimes even a few minutes :shock:, but it does come up eventually.

Anyone else experiencing this?

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2013, 10:20 am

data connection issues? u have 4G or EDGE?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » May 11th, 2013, 10:23 am

dredman1 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:my waze stopped giving me any traffic reports.

any ideas?
This problem started happening with me also. Then I noticed it's not that it stopped giving traffic updates. It just that the reports take MUCH longer to come up.

Usually if I open traffic reports as soon as I open Waze, it reads 0, then it updates after a few seconds (I assume it takes the few seconds for the traffic data to update). Now instead of a few seconds, it takes sometimes even a few minutes :shock:, but it does come up eventually.

Anyone else experiencing this?

probably on wrong server,the Israel sever has alot more info regarding to street names and stuff rather than the Rest of the world server or USA.

With regards to the guy @ the #1 spot in the country jumps servers and just re-edits maps,at least thats what i suspect.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » May 11th, 2013, 1:53 pm

redmanjp wrote:data connection issues? u have 4G or EDGE?
Happens on both 4G (bmobile) and wifi at home. Never had issues on either of them before.

ru$$ell wrote:probably on wrong server,the Israel sever has alot more info regarding to street names and stuff rather than the Rest of the world server or USA.
How do you change servers on waze?

Postby *KRONIK* » May 12th, 2013, 9:49 am

Still nothing...
I left it on for like a half hour and never got any alerts....

Sent from my GT-N7000 using TriniTuner mobile app

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 12th, 2013, 10:04 am

what device are u using^

Postby *KRONIK* » May 12th, 2013, 4:49 pm

Galaxy note....
It was working fine until about 2 weeks ago...

Sent from my GT-N7000 using TriniTuner mobile app

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 12th, 2013, 6:23 pm

do any of ur other apps give strange problems or is it only waze?

try clearing all app caches and data. uninstall and reinstall the app from the play store and see if that makes a difference.

if u have other apps doing weird things randomly a factory reset might help. did for me. when i first upgraded to jellybean my waze wouldnt save my account info. id have to both enter login details every time and redownload the map. nothing helped beside a factory reset.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 13th, 2013, 7:12 am

nah...
all my apps run just fine...
waze was working good too...
it just Stopped working goodm suddenly...

i will uninstall and reinstall/ clear cache etc...and update on it

SRASC

Re: Google MapMaker/OpenStreetMaps | Mapping T&T

Postby SRASC » May 22nd, 2013, 12:18 am

Old Google Maps

New Google Maps

The maps (which look more like Apple Maps now to me) maybe new but the imagery is still from 2006.

Looks like Google needs another barrage to make note of this.

On a side note could still do updates to the various mapping tools
http://mapmaker.google.com (Google Maps uses Google Maps)
http://openstreetmaps.com (Apple Maps uses Open Street Maps)
https://world.waze.com/editor (Waze Maps uses Bing Maps)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 23rd, 2013, 10:54 pm

Google may bid for Waze navigation app, blocking Facebook's attempt to acquire its crowdsourced maps

Google Maps just got a massive overhaul, but the company might be about to throw even more money at its navigation system. Bloomberg reports that Google has approached the popular crowdsourced mapping and traffic app Waze about a potential acquisition. Facebook is also reportedly looking at Waze, of course, with sources saying that the social network might be willing to pay up to $1 billion for the app, though one source for Bloomberg suggests that Waze is looking for upwards of $1 billion. There could be a bidding war, but neither bidder is close to a deal right now according to the publication.

Bloomberg's sources claim that a number of tech companies approached Waze after the Facebook rumors, and speculates that it might not just be because Waze seems receptive to the idea: should Google or another mapping company purchase Waze, that might keep Facebook from becoming a competitor.

Apple, which currently uses some Waze data in its iOS 6 Maps service, is allegedly not one of the companies discussing a Waze purchase at the moment.

The Verge

firelynx

Postby firelynx » June 5th, 2013, 5:51 pm

I added a street n some landmarks on the map editor. How long til it takes effect on d mobile map? I added d street a few days ago

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » June 5th, 2013, 5:57 pm

I think 10 days? Can't remember. Did an edit and I vaguely remember 10 days, but it did show up eventually.

Sent from another Galaxy using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby redmanjp » June 10th, 2013, 3:06 pm

http://www.zdnet.com/google-close-to-securing-map-startup-waze-report-7000016587/?s_cid=e539&ttag=e539

Google close to securing map startup Waze: report

By Charlie Osborne for Between the Lines | June 10, 2013 -- 06:59 GMT (23:59 PDT)

Tech giant Google is close to finalizing a deal to purchase Waze, an Israeli-based startup.

Citing anonymous sources, Bloomberg says that the startup will be purchased for $1.3 billion, a report coinciding with a similar article by financial newspaper Globes. The publication says that a deal could be reached and announced as early as this week, putting an end to months of negotiation.

If a deal with Google goes ahead, it could be one of the Internet giant's most expensive acquisitions to date. Some of the most expensive purchases include Motorola Mobility in 2011 for $12.5 billion, online advertising firm DoubleClick in 2007 for $3.2 billion, and YouTube for $1.65 billion in 2006.

Apple and Facebook are also interested in buying the five year-old startup, according to people familiar with the matter.

Microsoft is an investor within the company.

Waze uses crowdsourced information to update traffic and navigation services in real-time through Android and iOS applications. The firm's website says it helps roughly 45 million users "outsmart traffic and get everyone the best route to work and back, every day."

The free application is ad-supported, used in 190 countries and draws on GPS information to improve maps. In addition, a dedicated forum of drivers contribute to the project by refining routes and adding warnings for traffic accidents and speed cameras.

Mapping technology is important for companies that are trying to secure and retain mobile device users. Google Maps is one of the most popular services currently in use, but continual research and development is required to stay ahead of rival companies.

It would be advantageous to Google, Facebook or Apple to own a firm rather than simply license the technology, as it will allow the tech giants to refine services to make them personalized for users. Furthermore, as GPS and mapping technology becomes more sophisticated, expanding these services can also attract more developers who want to use location-based technology in their applications -- showing users where they are on a map, where local attractions or facilities are, or even how close friends are.

In recent months, Google has focused on personalizing the Google Maps experience by adding local business ratings and friend visits based on search histories. It is possible that adding Waze could contribute much to this cause by offering Google a ready-made network of friends to be integrated within the tech giant's map service if they are already using the application.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 10th, 2013, 3:16 pm

waze just made my phone go berzerk..

virus i guess, took over all my email accounts and fcuked them
i open waze on saturday and the road maps, spelt the name BIG FOOT :-(
im assuming this was the reason for the virus.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » June 10th, 2013, 4:26 pm

heard on the news google acquired waze for 1.3 billion.

sounds fishy.. if i have the same thing ill know. my droid is locked pretty tight. ill know every action every app takes..

best advice i got.. is use an older version.. a pre-google updated version lol b4 they add the spyware.

Postby redmanjp » June 10th, 2013, 4:33 pm

why i not getting any real time alerts? haven't got any in 2 weeks

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » June 10th, 2013, 5:48 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:waze just made my phone go berzerk..

... wut...?

Postby RASC » June 11th, 2013, 10:02 am

Uninstalled wave a while now due to battery sucking tendancys. Any improvements been made with newer versions?

Haven't used it since March of this year.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 11th, 2013, 11:57 am

Google has acquired Waze officially

http://theverge.com/2013/6/11/4414244/g ... -1-billion

IdleMind2504

Postby IdleMind2504 » June 11th, 2013, 12:41 pm

Google just bought Waze...

Now they know where we are at all times....

http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2013/06/ ... rting.html

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 11th, 2013, 1:14 pm

flipswitch5point wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:waze just made my phone go berzerk..

... wut...?

Whats unclear?

Postby Greypatch » June 11th, 2013, 3:16 pm

yup sucks too much battery life

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » June 11th, 2013, 3:39 pm

As for battery life, I just turn off the screen while waze is running. I still hear all my alerts and if I really want to see something I'll turn it on just for that occasion. That way my battery life doesn't suffer too much. No problem for me.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby pioneer » June 11th, 2013, 3:46 pm

allyuh doh have chargers in allyuh car?

waze not really meant to be used in maxi eh

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » June 11th, 2013, 5:23 pm

Google is after waze's collection of user data. So was Facebook.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » June 11th, 2013, 6:46 pm

^waze tha one?