***THE FARMERS CHED***

jramsarran

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby jramsarran » May 3rd, 2013, 4:16 pm

i havta do like shakes and post some pics when i get some time boy...

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » May 4th, 2013, 4:03 pm

so guys is their anything i need to take into consideration,gonna try some sweet peppers

is limestone required when planting or just regular rotten manure (mortel)?

Postby joker » May 4th, 2013, 4:31 pm

buy a soil tester and test the ph of the soil .... i ordered mine through Raptor...

then you would know if you need limestone / dolomatic lime

also treat the soil with a fungicide b4 .

aliman

Postby aliman » May 4th, 2013, 9:32 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:is sticks i need right now tho

theres a guy in rioclaro selling at $3 for one if taking 1000 teak sticks at a time.

can u post the guy numb plz i need some teak stick asap

aliman

Postby aliman » May 4th, 2013, 9:32 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:is sticks i need right now tho

theres a guy in rioclaro selling at $3 for one if taking 1000 teak sticks at a time.

can u post the guy numb plz i need some teak stick asap

aliman

Postby aliman » May 4th, 2013, 9:34 pm

AdamB wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:right now i trying to get some teak sticks in central area

only need 500

any ideas?

check d sawmill on Orange Field Rd, $4-5 for one!

can u post a number for the guy need some asap

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » May 5th, 2013, 12:07 am

joker wrote:buy a soil tester and test the ph of the soil .... i ordered mine through Raptor...

good input,having a read right now.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 5th, 2013, 4:18 pm

try and stay away from chicken manure,if you have no other alternative make sure and get it treated.

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » May 5th, 2013, 7:47 pm

joker wrote:buy a soil tester and test the ph of the soil .... i ordered mine through Raptor...

is it wise as well to have your water ph balance before you feed/water?

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » May 5th, 2013, 8:30 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:try and stay away from chicken manure,if you have no other alternative make sure and get it treated.

why??
what problems have you had that you think the manure is responsible for?

btw...shouldnt you just advise that the manure be cured properly before?

Postby joker » May 5th, 2013, 11:33 pm

doo-bee-dan wrote:

used water from pond/ wasa .... however pipe water is better to use as it contains chlorine
pond water was used to fill up drains if i was dry salting...
lost $$$$ with last drought we had in 2010.. 10acres pumpkin.. deprived of water :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » May 6th, 2013, 8:13 am

joker wrote:
doo-bee-dan wrote:

used water from pond/ wasa .... however pipe water is better to use as it contains chlorine
lost $$$$ with last drought we had in 2010.. 10acres pumpkin.. deprived of water :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

i usually would use pH plus to clean and adjust my water for spraying chemicals only since most pesticides are more effective at a slightly acid pH.
pH plus works with an indicator...soo basically you apply very slowly while mixing and until the water turns slightly pink. (rate depends on how "dirty" your water is...sometimes it is veryy little you need)

note that i said MOST pesticides.... not all

@joker!....not because water have chlorine means its better... that could be a bad thing as well. there are plants that are very Chlorine sensitive....for example PAWPAW...

if you MUST use it consider letting it sit for a while (in a ventilated tank or barrels)...so that most of the chlorine can evaporate.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 6th, 2013, 9:39 am

jramsarran wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:try and stay away from chicken manure,if you have no other alternative make sure and get it treated.

why??
what problems have you had that you think the manure is responsible for?

btw...shouldnt you just advise that the manure be cured properly before?

yup you are right there,problems I had,blasted weavel was a menace.also I played fass and applied it to quickly and did not know the consequences of doing so. I applied it directly to the plants and it burnt a few due to large amount of nitrogen. (in meh early days,learning days)

Before use,make sure the manure goes through a good aging process for at least 6months.

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » May 6th, 2013, 10:25 am

jramsarran wrote:
joker wrote:
doo-bee-dan wrote:

i usually would use pH plus to clean and adjust my water for spraying chemicals only since most pesticides are more effective at a slightly acid pH.
pH plus works with an indicator...soo basically you apply very slowly while mixing and until the water turns slightly pink. (rate depends on how "dirty" your water is...sometimes it is veryy little you need)

note that i said MOST pesticides.... not all

@joker!....not because water have chlorine means its better... that could be a bad thing as well. there are plants that are very Chlorine sensitive....for example PAWPAW...

if you MUST use it consider letting it sit for a while (in a ventilated tank or barrels)...so that most of the chlorine can evaporate.

hey jramsarran its my first time growing and i have a few questions,care to explain?

is ph plus a local product?
is it necessary to ph balanced plain water or only when u nute/pesticide spraying?
watering regular with chlorine water safe for sweet peppers?
does dolomite limestone really keep your ph balanced/buffer at 6.5-7.0 for soil?
Last edited by doo-bee-dan on May 6th, 2013, 2:22 pm, edited 3 times in total.

marlener

Postby marlener » May 6th, 2013, 10:41 am

Shakes seeing I am in Biche,which Agriculture extention office would have to go,Rio or Grande?While I am sorting that out I planted the sweet peppers,pimentos,cucumbers just to see how they fare.The cucumbers doing real good after just two weeks.Put some 20.10.10 on the peppers yesterday,need to do my own research.Gon`t real just some garden shop they might just want to sell you what they have.Is that the correct nutrient for the peppers two weeks old anyone?

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » May 6th, 2013, 11:06 am

joker wrote:
doo-bee-dan wrote:

I normally use Kompat...it is a penetrant as well as maintains the pH balance of the water used when mixing chemicals. It is also used as a "sticker chemical", so if you spray and rains falls, the spray on the plants is not affected. With the rain we gonna be getting, this is ideal. A 250ml bottle is for $32 and you would have to use between 10ml-20ml per gallon. I am using it on my field of Hot Peppers and impressed with its performance. I use to use a penetrant called Limonoil but this was not as effective as the Kompat.

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » May 6th, 2013, 11:18 am

^^lets just say i want to water my plants with plain water,do i have to ph balanced it before i spray? or only when i add chemical/fertilizer

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 6th, 2013, 11:20 am

marlener wrote:Shakes seeing I am in Biche,which Agriculture extention office would have to go,Rio or Grande?While I am sorting that out I planted the sweet peppers,pimentos,cucumbers just to see how they fare.The cucumbers doing real good after just two weeks.Put some 20.10.10 on the peppers yesterday,need to do my own research.Gon`t real just some garden shop they might just want to sell you what they have.Is that the correct nutrient for the peppers two weeks old anyone?

which office is more convenient,I would choose.They are both supposed to be well equipped with the necessary skills and expertise to help farmers.

marlener

Postby marlener » May 6th, 2013, 11:35 am

Well Grande is closer,but I think,Biche and Rio in the same county or borough,not sure.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » May 6th, 2013, 4:49 pm

doo-bee-dan wrote: hey jramsarran its my first time growing and i have a few questions,care to explain?

is it necessary to ph balanced plain water or only when u nute/pesticide spraying?
does dolomite limestone really keep your ph balanced/buffer at 6.5-7.0 for soil?

@doo-bee-dan do you practice commercial agriculture or just a home garden?

yes pH plus is a local product and is available in many larger agrishops

it is not necessary for plain water. apart from cleaning the water and adjusting the pH...it also has an adjuvant.

sweet peppers are not really chlorine sensitive...(it is possible for build up to occur over time...depends on soil type and rainfall)...not usually a problem in the tropics

any limestone can raise your pH...just some work faster than others...hydrated limestone would work the fastest...it is the most expensive tho.
btw..dolomitic limestone is fine....i use normal quarry lime tho.
its important to refer to a soil test to determine how much and how often u need to apply.

proper liming is very complexed...and it actually takes years to raise your pH to an optimum level...it depends on a lot of factors...you can read up on it.

just out of curiosity....? may i ask....why do you want to lime? there are many benefits but what is your reason?

Postby *KRONIK* » May 6th, 2013, 5:58 pm

If anybody interested in chicken manure...
PM me...
I have some coming by next week...
Uncured/freshting

Sent from my GT-N7000 using TriniTuner mobile app

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » May 6th, 2013, 6:58 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:If anybody interested in chicken manure...
PM me...
Uncured/freshting

^^^price??
delivered?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 6th, 2013, 7:01 pm

peeps try not to advertise in ched, next thing it get moved

Postby Rooki3 » May 6th, 2013, 7:22 pm

^^^good advice

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » May 6th, 2013, 8:57 pm

jramsarran wrote:
doo-bee-dan wrote: hey jramsarran its my first time growing and i have a few questions,care to explain?

@doo-bee-dan do you practice commercial agriculture or just a home garden?

yes pH plus is a local product and is available in many larger agrishops

it is not necessary for plain water. apart from cleaning the water and adjusting the pH...it also has an adjuvant.

sweet peppers are not really chlorine sensitive...(it is possible for build up to occur over time...depends on soil type and rainfall)...not usually a problem in the tropics

any limestone can raise your pH...just some work faster than others...hydrated limestone would work the fastest...it is the most expensive tho.
btw..dolomitic limestone is fine....i use normal quarry lime tho.
its important to refer to a soil test to determine how much and how often u need to apply.

proper liming is very complexed...and it actually takes years to raise your pH to an optimum level...it depends on a lot of factors...you can read up on it.

just out of curiosity....? may i ask....why do you want to lime? there are many benefits but what is your reason?

well last yr i planted a few pepper trees,and the problems that occur are:calcium deficiency & to much acid in the soil(the plants crashed during flowering).the guy at the agriculture dept who took the test told me to use limestone next time before i plant(which was new to me)...had some goodies like calmag,top gun etc.

my research has indicated that soil & water ph are very important factors to consider when planting.
how long does the dolomitic & hydrated lime take effect? and does it keep the ph stable/neutral for the life cycle of the crop?or do i need to keep testing the ph throughout the cycle & dress porportions depending on results?

gonna try a 10 crate this time but i want to do it right.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 7th, 2013, 9:14 am

jramsarran wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:If anybody interested in chicken manure...
PM me...
Uncured/freshting

^^^price??
delivered?

hopefully $2-$3 ah bag,of the chuner price of free :lol: :lol:

vidane

Postby vidane » May 7th, 2013, 10:04 am

Good day to all, just checking in. Seeing some good advice here, keep it up. Marlener, best visit Rio Claro County Office cause Biche does not fall within the El Reposo, Sangre Grande bounds. Actually its just between but Rio Agricultural Officers usually handle there.

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » May 7th, 2013, 5:04 pm

@doo-bee-dan it is possible to reduce "active acidity" relatively quickly...bt like i mentioned in my previous post...actually raising the pH is a much lengthier process. your soil test results should give you some recommendations.
in your case, you can do it once per crop.
also, it doesn't make much sense to "top dress" because limestone is really most effective when it is incorporated or mixed into the soil...at land preparation.

since u now trying a 10 crate, i assume the lands have been uncultivated for a while?
in which case...you shouldn't have much problems

what's your location?

@shakes lol $3.00 is usually the price i pay delivered....(they bring 100 bags per trip) but u know sometimes it's a bit difficult to get...like exactly when you need it).

doo-bee-dan

Postby doo-bee-dan » May 10th, 2013, 11:57 pm

where in south has a wide variety of agriculture stuff including a good soil tester?

@jramsarran i still going a lil reading lol,bt thx for the inputs!!!

what day in this month good to plant?

Postby X_Factor » May 11th, 2013, 10:23 am

lookin for string bean seeds
harvester variety
anyone knows where i can get a 3-4lbs