The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

rocknrolla

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby rocknrolla » April 9th, 2013, 3:55 pm

adaway updates the hosts file.classic linux method.. solid.

Postby ismithx » April 9th, 2013, 8:34 pm

i find that does make your device lag a lil bit... anyway, me and my low end phone :|

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 10th, 2013, 12:34 am

ismithx wrote:i find that does make your device lag a lil bit... anyway, me and my low end phone :|

it shouldnt. the host file runs on boot. once the program updates the hosts file to block all ad hosts currently on ur phone. the only time u need to run it again is if u see an ad in one of ur apps so it updates the host file. it uses 0 resources u dont need to keep the program running.. or even installed after.

Postby stev » April 10th, 2013, 10:46 pm

hands on with the new facebook launcher:

facebook junkies might go crazy

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 10th, 2013, 11:21 pm

dont even care enough to launch the video lol

Postby Ted_v2 » April 11th, 2013, 8:38 am

Can someone link me with a Tapatalk hd apk?

I tried a couple times and I couldn't get one as most of the downloads are already removed

Postby Trini Hookah » April 11th, 2013, 9:01 am

sound boy 64 wrote:Can someone link me with a Tapatalk hd apk?

I tried a couple times and I couldn't get one as most of the downloads are already removed
link 3 double with slight

Postby Stephon. » April 11th, 2013, 7:04 pm

Hey casper, what's the site you used to download roms again? I just redownloaded the GBA emulator and I forgot the site you used to download the roms for the emulators.

I'm currently using another one I found on google but that one isn't as good as the one you gave me when I had the S2

Postby Trini Hookah » April 11th, 2013, 7:18 pm

Normally the roms have a site to go to in the help menu, that's how it is for the snes one anyway

Postby stev » April 11th, 2013, 10:38 pm

Samsung Galaxy Mega is official and comes in 6.3- and 5.8-inch sizes

We knew Samsung was planning more devices, but we didn't expect the arrival of two Galaxy Mega smartphones at the same time. Both are apparently headed to Europe some time next month, continuing to prove that Samsung are willing to test out any screen-size. The 6.3-inch model has an 'HD display' (we're chasing the precise resolution, though it's likely 720p) alongside a dual-core 1.7GHz processor, Android 4.2 and an 8-megapixel camera. Software features like Air View, Multi Windows, Pop-up Play will make sure you have plenty to do on that giant screen. The Galaxy Mega arrives somewhere between Samsung's Galaxy Note 8 and Galaxy Note II, although we're hoping it'll be priced slightly more humbly than either neighbor. The Galaxy Mega 6.3 houses LTE and HSPA radios, while you'll get GPS and GLONASS to aid any location-based antics. There's a 3,200mAh battery and internal storage that can be expanded by microSD up to 64GB, with 8 or 16 gigs (there's two models) built-in to begin with.

The HSPA-only Galaxy Mega 5.8 reduces the size -- and pretty much all the other specs. The resolution drops down to qHD (960 x 540), while it packs a lesser 1.4GHz dual-core processor. It has the same 8-megapixel camera, while the smaller, er, Mega, will arrive in only one size -- an 8GB model. No word on pricing for either yet, but the Ubergizmo team has already got the chance to handle the Korean manufacturer's 6.3-inch goliath.

http://www.engadget.com/2013/04/11/sams ... a-6-3-5-8/

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 12th, 2013, 12:49 am

Droid! can ur ipwned do this?

" A German security consultant, who's also a commercial pilot, has demonstrated tools he says could be used to hijack an airplane remotely, using just an Android phone.

Speaking at the Hack in the Box security summit in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, Hugo Teso said Wednesday that he spent three years developing SIMON, a framework of malicious code that could be used to attack and exploit airline security software, and an Android app to run it that he calls PlaneSploit.

Using a flight simulator, Teso showed off the ability to change the speed, altitude and direction of a virtual airplane by sending radio signals to its flight-management system. Current security systems don't have strong enough authentication methods to make sure the commands are coming from a legitimate source, he said.

"His testing laboratory consists of a series of software and hardware products, but the connection and communication methods, as well as ways of exploitation, are absolutely the same as they would be in an actual real-world scenario," analysts at Help Net Security wrote in a blog post."

source: edition.cnn.com/2013/04/11/tech/mobile/phone-hijack-plane/index.html?hpt=hp_bn5

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 12th, 2013, 1:04 am

one of the developers for the droid 4 has done the work to enable the phone to take attachments from regular usb devices .. usb mouse, keyboard, flash drives. altho it isnt necessary once u have a lapdock. but this again will push android even further into rivaling the mobile market. with android it has been innovation after innovation. imagine no more desktops at work.. just dock ur fone at ur station and do all ur tasks including accept fone calls.

in fact i would say that android is already ready for the office for those that do regular document work and emailing etc. virus free stability for much less than the cost of apple products. just waiting for the drop in apple stocks which have been artificially sustained to provide the false impression of market strength to make the final confirmation. i give them 3 years tops before they fall out of the market except for musician rigs. i think most producers will stick with apple pcs for a while. unless of course android comes up with a powerful daw software. there's already a few in development. but theyll need some more time before professionals can rely on them singly. dont see being able to control an entire studio or even house with an android device very far away.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1974362

RedFish

Postby RedFish » April 12th, 2013, 1:26 pm

Anybody have a LG Nexus 4 on bmobile 4G?

I have one but I have it prepaid and bought a week of bmobile's 4G but all I am getting is Edge......checked over the APN and made sure that it's bconnected etc.

I know the phone has the required bands for working with 4g here but I am wondering what it is or maybe it's the rom?? Help please, this Edge is pissing me off...

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 12th, 2013, 1:40 pm

RedFish wrote:Anybody have a LG Nexus 4 on bmobile 4G?

I have one but I have it prepaid and bought a week of bmobile's 4G but all I am getting is Edge......checked over the APN and made sure that it's bconnected etc.

I know the phone has the required bands for working with 4g here but I am wondering what it is or maybe it's the rom?? Help please, this Edge is pissing me off...

The only way the device should be stuck on 2G is if you have it selected in settings, if it's not selected, then the problem is more than likely Bmobile

Where it says "Use only 2G networks" should NOT be checked

uploadfromtaptalk1365788431297.jpg

RedFish

Postby RedFish » April 12th, 2013, 1:50 pm

Yup never had that checked so I am certain that's not the case.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 12th, 2013, 2:00 pm

RedFish wrote:Yup never had that checked so I am certain that's not the case.

is cuz u livin in the bush boy lol.

the only place u get 3g to my experience is at hotspots. everywhere else is H and E in yuh tail. good luck. let me know when u start getting constant 3g symbol on ur phone. id be rather surprised.

Postby nemisis » April 12th, 2013, 2:03 pm

The Facebook launcher live for those who interested

RedFish

Postby RedFish » April 12th, 2013, 2:12 pm

Hmm @turbotutsy like is only digicel that have true coverage cause I at least get 3G and H on my other digicel phone right now in the same damn location.....

Bmobile yes.....is not jus 4G....is E.....STEUPS!!

Postby ismithx » April 12th, 2013, 2:22 pm

i good with my E.... battery life FTW

Postby pete » April 12th, 2013, 2:28 pm

Downtown port of spain I've been getting edge on Digicel since yesterday.. Advantage - hardly any data usage.

casper

Postby casper » April 12th, 2013, 2:55 pm

ismithx wrote:i good with my E.... battery life FTW

i fine E does drain battery more than "4G" or 3G as i see it on my phone....E takes so long to load up a page that during d time it loading d battery does go down like 2-3%

Postby Ted_v2 » April 12th, 2013, 3:24 pm

casper wrote:

i fine E does drain battery more than "4G" or 3G as i see it on my phone....E takes so long to load up a page that during d time it loading d battery does go down like 2-3%

What device?

BrandoHD

Postby BrandoHD » April 12th, 2013, 3:52 pm

casper wrote:

I only see this being possible if your device does a lot of syncing, therefore taking longer as data throughput is significantly slower

Postby S_2NR » April 12th, 2013, 4:02 pm

casper wrote:

Eh?

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » April 12th, 2013, 6:19 pm

nemisis wrote:The Facebook launcher live for those who interested

Installed it.
Deleted it about ah minute after...
It would have been a nice lock screen app but it shouldn't interfere with all my widgets underneath.
Do not want...

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 12th, 2013, 6:25 pm

does anyone run spb shell launcher? it looks sorta nice and unique. but also looks like a battery drainer. dont like to use live wallpapers for that.

skibz

Postby skibz » April 12th, 2013, 6:32 pm

I used it awhile back. It looks really cool and the 3d effects are great but yeah it is a battery drainer and also uses a bit too much ram for my liking.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » April 12th, 2013, 7:04 pm

thought so.. just a little ahead of it's time. could get more support as larger capacity batteries become standard.

Postby M_2NR » April 12th, 2013, 7:18 pm

S_2NR wrote:
casper wrote:

Eh?

don't bother hoss.

___

To the N4 on bmobile 4G, a friend of mine has it in the same config you wish to have yours. He has no issues. Something you are missing.

Postby nemisis » April 12th, 2013, 8:31 pm

wheelbarrow wrote:
nemisis wrote:The Facebook launcher live for those who interested

Installed it.
Deleted it about ah minute after...
It would have been a nice lock screen app but it shouldn't interfere with all my widgets underneath.
Do not want...

didnt get the chance it wasnt showing up in the play store. i like the chat heads idea but it not showing the images for ordinary text messages just a sms icon