When will Taxes be removed on CCTV systems....?

dredman1

Re: When will Taxes be removed on CCTV systems....?

Postby dredman1 » February 1st, 2013, 1:55 pm

dredman1 wrote:Bought a CCTV camera which was delivered to my skybox in Miami today, so it should be cleared and ready for me to collect on Friday - will update here when I get it.

Although it will be clearing customs literally on the last day of January, I'm still preparing my angus in the meanwhile :oops:
Angus violated :oops:

Got charged full duties and vat on the camera :?

Won't be ordering any more security camera or DVR equipment until some official announcement is made, unless it's an emergency.

Postby Chimera » February 1st, 2013, 1:56 pm

according to customs broker "the legal notice has not come through as yet" so full duties are still in effect

Postby nemisis » February 1st, 2013, 2:06 pm

dredman1 wrote:
dredman1 wrote:Bought a CCTV camera which was delivered to my skybox in Miami today, so it should be cleared and ready for me to collect on Friday - will update here when I get it.

Although it will be clearing customs literally on the last day of January, I'm still preparing my angus in the meanwhile :oops:
Angus violated :oops:

Got charged full duties and vat on the camera :?

Won't be ordering any more security camera or DVR equipment until some official announcement is made, unless it's an emergency.

apply burnt bees generously too violated area..

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 1st, 2013, 2:26 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:according to customs broker "the legal notice has not come through as yet" so full duties are still in effect
Yea so I'm hearing now. But I kinda needed to get it and then I saw it went on special for one day only, so I grabbed the opportunity. Worked out only about $30 or $40 more than if I bought it at regular price without duties and vat.

nemisis wrote:apply burnt bees generously too violated area..
:shock: I hope you meant Burt's Bees. Can't imagine rubbing those charred remains on the area :lol:

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » February 1st, 2013, 6:20 pm

Carnival coming up so plenty people might want cameras to put up by their homes/business place.

I wouldn't be surprised if they get the 'legal notice' after Carnival. (or never)

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 13th, 2013, 1:18 pm

Ash Wednesday bump.

Went to get a copy of the Customs Tariff last week and none available. Its "being revised".

Nothing yet on CCTV?

Postby X2 » February 13th, 2013, 2:33 pm

As usual, we have been lied to and will do nothing about it.

I wonder if it will be instituted after elections ?

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » February 13th, 2013, 4:09 pm

I got charged full duties and vat on a few systems that came in last week.. same thing brokers said..
Customs hasn't gotten "official" confirmation on this..

Postby Chimera » February 13th, 2013, 10:56 pm

while the general public all say "u know kamla say they remove duties on camera systems, whats the new price on these thing yuh selling?"

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 13th, 2013, 11:56 pm

this government real fooling the people with empty promises.....

why dont business people who install these systems make a fuss about it...?

they staying quiet and paying these duties like if is nothing....

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 15th, 2013, 6:26 pm

Guys I looking for a High End camera... PTZ it can be IP ... but its iz for a location where I need to have the BEST QUALITY POSSIBLE. Any suggestions ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 11th, 2013, 10:43 am

March bump....

Anyone got any updated info?

Skybox operators at least know nothing about it yet.

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » March 11th, 2013, 10:46 am

I got shafted again on friday.... Full duties and vat.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 11th, 2013, 10:50 am

Nuts.

Amazon has some cheap starter systems on their Gold Box deals today too.

W2J

Postby W2J » March 11th, 2013, 11:30 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:March bump....

Anyone got any updated info?

Skybox operators at least know nothing about it yet.

27x optical PTZ in stock.

RJ

Postby RJ » March 11th, 2013, 6:35 pm

Price?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 11th, 2013, 6:41 pm

s why arent security firms who import this not rallying to have this promise by the govt of no taxes fulfilled?......

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 11th, 2013, 8:07 pm

Because then they wont have any justification for their crazy prices on generic chinese equipment (no offence to the 2nr sellers)

If you ever get local prices outside of 2nr you'll know what i mean. Chinese equipment is a part of life but when some installers charge 3 times the US retail price.........

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 11th, 2013, 8:38 pm

Had a guy run some cameras... the price he charged was ridiculous since then ive buyed my cams and installed myself. W2J whats your price ?

W2J

Postby W2J » March 13th, 2013, 9:17 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Had a guy run some cameras... the price he charged was ridiculous since then ive buyed my cams and installed myself. W2J whats your price ?

PTZ - $3500.00

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 14th, 2013, 7:33 am

Which ain't bad for a PTZ with optical zoom !!

Madniss

Postby Madniss » March 23rd, 2013, 9:42 am

They still charging on CCTV systems this Customs said they have not recieived any info from the Government does this sheit sound familiar?

Postby nervewrecker » March 23rd, 2013, 8:02 pm

steups, I might need some of this soon yes.

drugs dealing by my front gate now, dealers getting braver.

Postby nemisis » March 23rd, 2013, 8:28 pm

^^^ call rs lol

Postby X2 » March 23rd, 2013, 9:03 pm

nervewrecker wrote:steups, I might need some of this soon yes.

drugs dealing by my front gate now, dealers getting braver.

Well just stop calling them for home delivery....duh !

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 11th, 2013, 5:17 pm

VAT, IMPORT DUTIES TO BE REMOVED ON CCTV CAMERAS

Created on Thursday, 11 April 2013 16:22

Cabinet has taken decision to remove Value Added Tax (VAT) and import duties on CCTV camera systems.

This was revealed by National Security Minister Jack Warner during Thursday's Post Cabinet Media Briefing who reminded that this move is consistent with Government's promise in the 2012-2013 budget.

"The purchase of CCTV cameras and digital video recording equipment for home owners, for community and business security, small business, large business, all of this will be exempt from custom duties and VAT as of next week when this is confirmed. As such therefore, Cabinet is prepared to forgo millions of dollars so as to bring these cameras online and this is another thrust in the fight against crime."

The Customs Act Chapter 78:01 will need to be amended to facilitate this change and Minister Warner said the Attorney General will have to pass legislative amendments before this comes into effect.

There will be certain criteria to follow for the importation of the CCTV cameras and digital video recording equipment.

"Other items such as those as parts imported, distributed or sold separately, those will attract VAT."

CCTV camera systems are now operational in Tobago and Minister Warner promised that the entire nation will be fully covered.

"We have completed Port of Spain, we have had some problems in the Port of Spain, especially in the Beetham Gardens area where several persons unknown have damaged several cameras. We have them on screen and we have found a creative way to put back these cameras so damage will be minimised. Consequently, it is my hope that in the shortest possible time we shall have this country fully covered so that people can have additional security."

Minister Warner confirmed that CCTV cameras that were taken down or damaged by such persons have been replaced and they are more effective.

CNMG

Postby nemisis » April 11th, 2013, 7:40 pm

^^^ waits and see

Postby Trini Hookah » April 11th, 2013, 8:32 pm

Watch parliament channel tomorrow to see if they speak about it.

Terran

Postby Terran » April 11th, 2013, 11:35 pm

They say "as of next week", but if the customs act has to be amended based on the AG's legislative amendments, then this could probably be a proclamation by the next general election.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 12th, 2013, 9:29 am

good news...