Why do we have sidewalks again?

Re: Why do we have sidewalks again?

Postby maj. tom » April 11th, 2013, 11:23 am

The condition of most pavements in this country is very poor. Henry Street is exemplar of this. Most pavements have been neglected for years and the concrete has been eroded away or badly damaged because heavy vehicles keep passing on the pavement! Who wants to twist their ankle or fall and rip open their face on that kind of ground? The road is better to walk on than the pavement.

And secondly, the height and undulating structure of the pavement from the road in Trinidad forces some people to walk on the road. I can see/have seen older folks doing this all the time. Why can't they build the sidewalks like how they do in Toronto? I suppose that's the way they build it here because people love to park their cars on the pavement in this country.

So given these two conditions, the majority of people make that decision in their heads to which route is safer for them in Trinidad. If the pavements were up to par like Toronto I don't suppose people would have to make stupid decisions like that. And if they do, well then nature will select.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 11th, 2013, 11:33 am

Sacchetto Boutique wrote:likewise pedestrians who take forever to cross the road are equally as annoying.

the worst are those pedestrians that try to cross at a traffic light when oncoming cars have the green light!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Ronaldo95163 » April 11th, 2013, 11:36 am

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » April 11th, 2013, 11:39 am

I once had the horrific experience of hitting an eight year old boy with the side of my car when he ran out from the sidewalk between two cars.

He hit the left front fender, clean up the mirror, and damage the left door.

Man I was devastated, got out the car thinking I just kill someone. Took the kid to the hospital and his father met me there. Next thing the father tell me doh worry bout it because its the third time the boy get knock down from running in the road...

Third time the man say eh........steups.

Postby j.o.e » April 11th, 2013, 11:42 am

sound like the kid bounce u

Postby BrotherHood » April 11th, 2013, 11:42 am

I am guilty of that but it's because the pavement ram and they folks there walk too slow. The only way to get around is to hit the street. Temporarily though, until I pass the bulk of people and the pavement becomes clear again.

Postby gastly369 » April 11th, 2013, 11:59 am

and usually after they want JOSTISS :|

Postby sliderz1 » April 11th, 2013, 12:12 pm

oh sheit

Postby stev » April 11th, 2013, 12:15 pm

u all ever notice that dogs use the pavement more than humans. lol

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » April 11th, 2013, 12:15 pm

BrotherHood wrote:I am guilty of that but it's because the pavement ram and they folks there walk too slow. The only way to get around is to hit the street. Temporarily though, until I pass the bulk of people and the pavement becomes clear again.

seems reasonable. I've done the same. Once the pavement clear, I use it. Plus it is good exercise with those inclines

Postby DFC » April 11th, 2013, 12:24 pm

fatfucks who walk slow and stop every 13 seconds.
moms with kids
baby strollers

i aint got no time fo dat.

Postby gastly369 » April 11th, 2013, 12:34 pm

stev wrote:u all ever notice that dogs use the pavement more than humans. lol

dog knows what's up

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 11th, 2013, 1:20 pm

DFC wrote:fatfucks who walk slow and stop every 13 seconds.

i aint got no time fo dat.

Wdf I Cyah take a ress??

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » April 11th, 2013, 1:51 pm

DFC wrote:Pedestrians have right of way.

This is a common misconception. They only have the right of way on a zebra crossing & sidewalk. Road way is for vehicles.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 11th, 2013, 2:50 pm

if they walk on the road,we should drive on the sidewalk ent?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 11th, 2013, 3:14 pm

and then they would stop on the sidewalk to carry on long conversation with friends blocking the passageway thereby limiting other persons' range of movement.....crossing the road like there is no tomorrow.....amazing at the mindset of these kinds of people....

Postby BrotherHood » April 11th, 2013, 3:42 pm

GTcruzer wrote:
DFC wrote:Pedestrians have right of way.

This is a common misconception. They only have the right of way on a zebra crossing & sidewalk. Road way is for vehicles.

This is Trinidad. Bounce somebody and you end up in sheit.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 11th, 2013, 4:09 pm

I find myself getting more and more disgusted, annoyed and angry at these ppl and their attitudes.....I need to get back to my calm self, doh take them orn and just let them be....