Runaway car in yard..!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 7th, 2013, 11:34 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Sch ... 66221.html

Schoolgirl knocked down
...Injured in own yard by drunk driver

By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin
Story Created: Apr 7, 2013 at 9:58 PM ECT
Story Updated: Apr 7, 2013 at 9:58 PM ECT
A NINE-YEAR-OLD girl who was playing cricket in the yard with her siblings is in critical condition after she was knocked down by a runaway vehicle.
Shelly Lallack is at the Intensive Care Unit at the San Fernando General Hospital.
The driver of the car, a pensioner from Couva, is in police custody.
He is expected to be charged with dangerous driving and failing to take the breathalyser test.
Mother of 11, Gandaye Lallack said it was around 5 p.m. on Saturday that she was in the yard at her home at Powdharie Road Extension, Couva, while her daughter Shelly and the other children were playing cricket.
"All I see, the car coming down and by the time I call out to my child, my child couldn't run, I didn't see my child again until the car gone over (by the neighbour) and I saw her brothers and them taking her up and bringing her underneath the tree," the elder Lallack said.
Shelly was struck by a Nissan 280 C and dragged about 30 feet before she fell into a drain.
The car broke down a galvanised iron fence and stopped at a neighbour's front door.
Relatives said the 69-year-old driver was drunk and had to be taken out of the car when police officers arrived.
They said a passenger in the car fled the scene.
Father Fred Lallack said his daughter, a Standard Three pupil at the Preysal Government Primary School, suffered a broken arm, leg, ankle, ribs and collar bone, a shattered pelvis and bruised lungs.
Shelly is expected to spend weeks in the hospital.
Lallack said in the past he and his wife would ensure their children were protected form errant drivers and now they intend to make sure that the yard of their home is even more secure.
Constable Husbands of the Gran Couva Police Station is continuing investigations.

Re: Runaway car in yard..!!

Postby bluesteel29 » April 7th, 2013, 11:39 pm

"Shelly was struck by a Nissan 280 C and dragged about 30 feet before she fell into a drain."
"suffered a broken arm, leg, ankle, ribs and collar bone, a shattered pelvis and bruised lungs."

WTF....hope she makes it.

Postby shogun » April 7th, 2013, 11:58 pm

Driver is an idiot.

Hope she pulls through as well.

Postby stev » April 8th, 2013, 12:10 am

bluesteel29 wrote:"Shelly was struck by a Nissan 280 C and dragged about 30 feet before she fell into a drain."
"suffered a broken arm, leg, ankle, ribs and collar bone, a shattered pelvis and bruised lungs."

WTF....hope she makes it.

rel pain right there....hope she recovers with as little pain as possible.

Postby black start » April 8th, 2013, 12:23 am

hope this little girl recovers.

Driver's permit should be revoked if you ask me.

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » April 8th, 2013, 12:32 am

69 year old driver?...wdA......

Postby nemisis » April 8th, 2013, 12:35 am

Syberfraggle wrote:69 year old driver?...wdA......
what wrong with that?

ShoppersFreezone

Postby ShoppersFreezone » April 8th, 2013, 3:42 am

nemisis wrote:
what wrong with that?

With age, driving capabilities can possibly become significantly compromised by sight and reaction time It's no one's fault..but they need to come down harder when re-issuing driver permits to seniors
This case though, the man was drunk, so it makes the age factor small

Really hope this girl recovers

Postby sharkman121 » April 8th, 2013, 5:05 am

black start wrote:Driver's permit should be revoked if you ask me.

for starters... anyine caught driving drunk should have permit revoked for life....zero tolerance.

Biggs3ne

Postby Biggs3ne » April 8th, 2013, 5:17 am

sharkman121 wrote:
black start wrote:Driver's permit should be revoked if you ask me.

for starters... anyine caught driving drunk should have permit revoked for life....zero tolerance.

This

Too many innocent people become victims of drunk drivers..and nothing ever happens to d driver...poor little girl..hope she makes a full recovery

Postby 1UZFE » April 8th, 2013, 7:04 am

that makes no sense if he gets life imprisonment.. for DUI...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 8th, 2013, 7:12 am

Very sad and unfortunate. Afaik, the maximum age at which you can own a driver's license is 65.
If you are 61 and renew your permit, you only get 4 years, etc.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 8th, 2013, 7:31 am

silent_riot wrote:Very sad and unfortunate. Afaik, the maximum age at which you can own a driver's license is 65.
If you are 61 and renew your permit, you only get 4 years, etc.

incorrect. I have a neighbor who is 84 driving a manual bow lancer. I believe after 65 - 70 you no longer have to pay for your license but you do have to get it renewed every year.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 8th, 2013, 7:37 am

Ok, I stand corrected.
IMO there should be a maximum age limit for drivers.

Postby RBphoto » April 8th, 2013, 7:48 am

Final destination crap right there. Really saddens me what happen to the little girl. Thinking about my toddler who plays in the front yard all of the time. If was my child, all I have to say they would not find the driver alive. His death cert would read "severe blunt force trauma sustained from the impact"... yeah... from the impact :|

kaylex

Postby kaylex » April 8th, 2013, 7:50 am

You know.. Its sad to see this happen really sad...

There was a next accident with a head on collision on the PBR...
Is it just me or almost all accidents happen with stock cars...
so in an unrelated thread on this forum ..
WHY IS IT THAT .. MY SHARMA IS CLAMPING DOWN ON SOUPED UP CARS?

ARE SOUPED UP CARS CAUSING ACCIDENTS LIKE THESE >???????
ASSNESS IF YOU TELL ME

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » April 8th, 2013, 7:54 am

silent_riot wrote:Ok, I stand corrected.

Once a person has been deemed incapable of driving i.e. too bad eye sight, epileptic fits, has had multiple strokes etc medically deemed.

If a senior has no medical problem and can still read the eye chart etc they can keep driving until...

Postby Rory Phoulorie » April 8th, 2013, 7:57 am

kaylex wrote:. . .Is it just me or almost all accidents happen with stock cars. . .

When is a car no longer stock? Where are your statistics to support your statement?

silent_riot wrote:Ok, I stand corrected.

. . .Relatives said the 69-year-old driver was drunk and had to be taken out of the car when police officers arrived. . .

Age had nothing to do with this incident. The driver was allegedly drunk.

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » April 8th, 2013, 8:21 am

geeze...hope she gets better soon. Thats some serious damage to such a young person.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » April 8th, 2013, 8:23 am

There could be a numbers of factors at play here, age of the driver, sobriety or lack thereof, medical condition of driver, condition of vehicle and condition of road.
There is no excuse for driving drunk and seniors especially need to be looked at carefully when applying for driving permits.
This is a real tragedy and I hope this little innocent child pulls through and recovers.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2013, 8:33 am

wow. I do wish that poor child a speedy recovery.
As for the driver...make him face the full brunt of the law. Make an example of him.

Postby pioneer » April 8th, 2013, 8:35 am

They should have had better fencing, poverty chain link ftl. If you know you gonna build your house so close to public roads at least have a proper fence.

We don't know the driver was drunk, it's easy to just say he was drunk as a poor excuse for not having a proper fence to secure your premises. Poor guy was so distraught he couldn't even take the test.

Anything could have happened to his car that we don't know; blown tyre, faulty brakes or maybe he got a bad drive. But alas talknah society prevails without objectively thinking out the situation.

Postby pete » April 8th, 2013, 8:49 am

I find it strange that the express published that the driver was drunk.

So this situation and even the one that happened in sealots, you can always refuse to take the breathaliser test? Nah man.. in an accident where you cause damage to property or a person you should be required to provide a sample, whether breath or blood.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 8th, 2013, 8:55 am

why roads not being blocked nor tyres being burnt? they should demand that the gov't help build the fence and help with medical expenses!!!!! isn't that the norm? Demand equality....

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 8th, 2013, 8:55 am

its not a question of AGE- drunk driving is drunk driving regardless of how old you are.......................

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » April 8th, 2013, 9:11 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:why roads not being blocked nor tyres being burnt? they should demand that the gov't help build the fence and help with medical expenses!!!!! isn't that the norm? Demand equality....

exactly!

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » April 8th, 2013, 9:19 am

If that was my daughter I would have beaten that man until he get sober ... sorry no excuse for DUI

Postby pioneer » April 8th, 2013, 9:25 am

fokhan_96 wrote:If that was my daughter I would have beaten that man until he get sober ... sorry no excuse for DUI

No excuse for assault or murder either.

ITT we believe newspaper sensationalism to sell papers.

Police cannot prove he was drunk either.

Parents should be charged for reckless endangerment, squatting on land with a chain link fence as a barrier for on-coming traffic.

Postby pioneer » April 8th, 2013, 9:30 am

This is equal to if the parents flung the child into the incoming path of a moving truck.

They are negligent, now dey want jostiss and eventually gonna call on the prime minister for assistance.

I counted 5 chiren in dat yard, what do they do for a living?
Last edited by pioneer on April 8th, 2013, 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shogun » April 8th, 2013, 9:33 am

^
Yuh reachin' far for that trollgasm dred.

No need to make any special example of the driver. Once justice is served, that should suffice.

And any monies he's saved and now squanders on alcohol, should go towards the medical bills of the family.