Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

3pO

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby 3pO » March 25th, 2013, 9:04 pm

HondaB20B wrote:3p0, seems like you got your Alk sorted out now.........nice pics

The kalk helped a lot , but I still having some real swings

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 25th, 2013, 9:50 pm

ok^^^

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 25th, 2013, 9:55 pm

i saw he have a small yellow anthias ....will it stay small enough for my tank?

dirtyjames

Postby dirtyjames » March 26th, 2013, 8:56 pm

saw some of these today at Charrans Pet Shop in Montrose (Shakeer Building)

Clown Wrasse

Pakistan Butterfly fish

Poma Angelfish

Very good prices

Postby meccalli » March 26th, 2013, 9:37 pm

^ directions? I never noticed any petshops on that side that carry saltwater stuff.

Nevermind, i just saw it in the old thread lol.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » March 26th, 2013, 10:05 pm

so i decided to set up my tank for fish only. How should I do it or what do i need for the tank?
Its a 6 ft tank I had before so the dimensions are 6ft x 18 x18. Looking to put in some nice small colourful fish just for a lil display in the entertainment area.
Thanks for your suggestions....

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 26th, 2013, 10:29 pm

dirtyjames wrote:saw some of these today at Charrans Pet Shop in Montrose (Shakeer Building)

Clown Wrasse

Pakistan Butterfly fish

Poma Angelfish

Very good prices

The prices may be good but the questions you should ask them is how long ago they got them in. did they quarantine them and for how long. Certain fishes can be shipped easily and not require quaratine cause they dont pick up parasites (mandarins are one). Fishes like tangs, angels and butterflies are prone to getting infected quickly.
And the quarantine i talking about is not putting it in a tank and thats it............ i talking about using copper based meds or anti-biotics to kill parasites.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 28th, 2013, 9:56 am

Some of you may know I have a high calcium level of over 500ppm, recently one of my mushrooms shrunk and now its gone and one of my other corals (shown below not sure of correct name) is dying

Was reading up on magnesium incase it was that, still going by raj today for a test kit to be sure its not that. Then ended up reading about calcium and alkalinity going hand in hand. Found this article and it this has great info....had to share !!

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2002/11/chemistry

I dont agree with their baking soda corrections but the principle of how to correct the balance is very informative... worth a read.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 28th, 2013, 4:34 pm

how ur tank getting so much problems so??

Anyone know where to get nature's oceans live sand? sugar grain size like this:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 28th, 2013, 4:54 pm

Reefplanet wrote:how ur tank getting so much problems so??

wow, this is just like the sea monkeys in those comic books long time. Why you want this now?

Just place in tank, add saltwater (for best results use NutriSeawater®) then add fish, no waiting required. ........LOL

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 28th, 2013, 5:46 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

wow, this is just like the sea monkeys in those comic books long time. Why you want this now?

Just place in tank, add saltwater (for best results use NutriSeawater®) then add fish, no waiting required. ........LOL

lol :lol: in truth
The sand i get from raj the grains to large i think u have it to but since the grains like gravel detritus gettin trapped in the sand(gravel) and that is why my nirtrates not goin down according to some ppl. These ppl give good info like u so doh worry. So i doh mind startin over the system because is the only way..i could keep the gravel but i rather get this sand. I will take everything out the tank put them in bins add the sand if it cycles i will test until it save to add back everything. Plus i take down my sump cause the first chamber to small so it cant fit so i will have to change that..i heard what u tell greenlime about building around the skimmer .... i shoulda do that :| I dont know if i goin the right way??

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 28th, 2013, 5:47 pm

So you know where to get ...might call raj and see if he have

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 28th, 2013, 8:14 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

The sand i get from raj the grains to large i think u have it to but since the grains like gravel detritus gettin trapped in the sand(gravel) and that is why my nirtrates not goin down according to some ppl. These ppl give good info like u so doh worry. So i doh mind startin over the system because is the only way..i could keep the gravel but i rather get this sand. I will take everything out the tank put them in bins add the sand if it cycles i will test until it save to add back everything. Plus i take down my sump cause the first chamber to small so it cant fit so i will have to change that..i heard what u tell greenlime about building around the skimmer .... i shoulda do that :| I dont know if i goin the right way??

so how come i using the same large grain sand, 24"W X 72"L X 3-4" deep and still have nitrate & nitrite readings of undetectable for nearly 18mths now. The only time i have gotten a nitrate spike for about 2 days was i over fed with frozen coral food (first time using it) and it went to 40. I did a 50gal that same day and another 50gal the next. The very next day i was back down to undetectable. Again, i can only give my experience............i cant force you. If you think the sand will make a difference well go for it. I hope it works

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 28th, 2013, 9:31 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

so how come i using the same large grain sand, 24"W X 72"L X 3-4" deep and still have nitrate & nitrite readings of undetectable for nearly 18mths now. The only time i have gotten a nitrate spike for about 2 days was i over fed with frozen coral food (first time using it) and it went to 40. I did a 50gal that same day and another 50gal the next. The very next day i was back down to undetectable. Again, i can only give my experience............i cant force you. If you think the sand will make a difference well go for it. I hope it works

well idk..my sand bed only and inch deep...maybe nitrates fraid u :mrgreen: :lol:
You know if raj or anyone else have..i saw gulf petshop had but idk where they move to and i think trincity petshop had.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 28th, 2013, 9:48 pm

you putting the cart before the horse........ what skimmer you running

3pO

Postby 3pO » March 28th, 2013, 10:03 pm

Reef planet u ever vacuum your sand bed and blow out your rock with a power head

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 28th, 2013, 11:14 pm

HondaB20B wrote:you putting the cart before the horse........ what skimmer you running

the reef octopus rated for 100 gallons

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 28th, 2013, 11:15 pm

3pO wrote:Reef planet u ever vacuum your sand bed and blow out your rock with a power head

yes i do

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 29th, 2013, 11:48 am

Honda, after some more reading, I feel is that, rass clat angle stress out the galexea and well it dead.
first coral I have that dead... Ill keep a close eye on things, if all goes well I just wont add any coral similar to that. I did read that some if the majestic eat all and others tend to eat only some, even raj said and confirmed it is like a hit or miss with them, sometimes the eat everything and others just like a few.

Either way on a brighter note my Orange-Back Fairy Wrasse which I got last Thursday I believe.... saw him for the first time in the tank this morning swimming and looking happy :shock: I swear he was dead.

Anyone going by Raj this weekend ?

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » March 29th, 2013, 12:26 pm

3pO wrote:some pics from untop

3pO you frag any of those acros and moti's as yet ??

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 29th, 2013, 2:28 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Honda, after some more reading, I feel is that, rass clat angle stress out the galexea and well it dead.
first coral I have that dead... Ill keep a close eye on things, if all goes well I just wont add any coral similar to that. I did read that some if the majestic eat all and others tend to eat only some, even raj said and confirmed it is like a hit or miss with them, sometimes the eat everything and others just like a few.

Either way on a brighter note my Orange-Back Fairy Wrasse which I got last Thursday I believe.... saw him for the first time in the tank this morning swimming and looking happy :shock: I swear he was dead.

From day one when you wanted to go with angels I told you that angel might go rogue on you. I've had angels myself do that (both pygmy and large) Hey, I even have a pardnah that has a yellow tang that would strip any feather duster he put in his tank.
The only reef safe angels that ive had is the lamarcks and the Japanese swallowtail. Want to put a bellus in my tank but raj only getting them 6"+ every time they come.
Wrasses are like that, my solon wrasse and yellow banded possum wrasse took over a wk to really come out fully. Now, they all over

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 29th, 2013, 3:02 pm

thought that blackout was gonna be for like a week...no flow now light in the tank
Honda how ur tank with all ur corals woulda cope?

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 29th, 2013, 3:04 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Honda, after some more reading, I feel is that, rass clat angle stress out the galexea and well it dead.

i might go..if he have the reefoctopus skimmer or i might go nextweek

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 29th, 2013, 4:33 pm

Reefplanet wrote:thought that blackout was gonna be for like a week...no flow now light in the tank

wasn't worried at all unless it went for over 24hrs. I bought this the day I bought my MP40's 20mths ago. The pumps run @ 10% for the duration. 1 MP40 can run for 30hrs.

http://www.amazon.com/EcoTech-Marine-Vo ... ery+backup

3pO

Postby 3pO » March 29th, 2013, 5:40 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:
3pO wrote:some pics from untop

3pO you frag any of those acros and moti's as yet ??

Na i never frag anything as yet , i dont think i ready to do that as yet , but when they get a lil bigger i mite give it a try ,

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 29th, 2013, 5:58 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:thought that blackout was gonna be for like a week...no flow now light in the tank

wasn't worried at all unless it went for over 24hrs. I bought this the day I bought my MP40's 20mths ago. The pumps run @ 10% for the duration. 1 MP40 can run for 30hrs.

http://www.amazon.com/EcoTech-Marine-Vo ... ery+backup

cool good backup

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 29th, 2013, 6:55 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

From day one when you wanted to go with angels I told you that angel might go rogue on you. I've had angels myself do that (both pygmy and large) Hey, I even have a pardnah that has a yellow tang that would strip any feather duster he put in his tank.
The only reef safe angels that ive had is the lamarcks and the Japanese swallowtail. Want to put a bellus in my tank but raj only getting them 6"+ every time they come.
Wrasses are like that, my solon wrasse and yellow banded possum wrasse took over a wk to really come out fully. Now, they all over

Wasnt that I never believed you, Remember I had the tank fish only for over a year, and of course then I never heard of Raj, Santoo who sold me all them fish prob since Dec 2011 I and was non the wiser. Only after the algae bloom then I began doing my own reading and learning more bout the reefs science and compatibility. Either way this was my loss for my putting all my eggs in Santoo basket.......brilliant me :drinking:
Now I know ALOT more and still learning, I just hope raj is right and my Majestic will not be picking on the rest of my corals. Just cant add any more like the galaxea, might add a small frag of frogspawn coral depending on the price.

And REEFPLANET...Raj stilll have the reef octopus up until last Thur when I was there...if not he have the ASM G1-X

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 29th, 2013, 8:26 pm

Most fish love to pick on corals like frogspawn. It just looks tasty. Some fish love the taste and some don't. All 4 of my tangs used to pick at my both types of frogspawn until they realized that its not tasty to them

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 29th, 2013, 9:05 pm

Going to be doing another tank, this one is actually a friends tank. Its about 150 to 200gal, he is in the states now so would prob start it in may. This tank however has no sump or anything, not even an over flow so gonna have to do some serious modification. Skimmer an pumps will be external, as well as any reactors we decide to run. So starting to put things in place till then.

That being said, how big a sump is really needed ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 29th, 2013, 9:30 pm

greenlime100 wrote:how big a sump is really needed ?

As big as you want really. You could have a 100gal tank and have a 400gal sump with hundreds of lbs of live rock and to hide all your filters, reactors and pumps. This will have the space now to grow enough of copepods, amphepods, and other life