AWD Myth?

Postby De Dragon » March 23rd, 2013, 5:59 pm

TRDGUY

Re: AWD Myth?

Postby TRDGUY » March 23rd, 2013, 6:13 pm

Being a proud owner of the AWD ( mitsubishi ,Honda) family there are pros and cons obviously and it's rather one's personal preference IMHO to drive AWD .

The technical jargon associated with rear , front , 4wd, AWD can be a few pages long and can be quoted from many sites. For eg.

Wet road conditions one will feel much more stability and handling with AWD and 4 WD ( rear wheel and front wheel drive perhaps not so much ).

Front wheel drive vehicles may have a little more edge over the AWD when cornering during High speed stage rallying ( understeer , oversteer ).

I'm not a expert but from what I've read and seen over the years some guys Convert their AWD drive to front wheel only for rallying. Just my 2 cents I can be incorrect

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 23rd, 2013, 9:04 pm

the only thing in contact with the road are your tyres, so saying ""I'd rather have a Toyota Camry on four new snow tires than the best all-wheel-drive vehicle on all-season tires," is a poor argument.

it would be even worse if he had slick racing tyres in those conditions OR if he had snow tyres to race at Daytona in the middle of summer for 100 laps.

Postby wagonrunner » March 23rd, 2013, 11:41 pm

"All-wheel drive doesn't help handling! "
by the time you've lost grip in a AWD, you'd have already lost it in a similarly shoed 2WD.

off the top of my head, does this make sense?
FWD needs less lateral space to accelerate with the wheels locked., then RWD then AWD.
AWD needs less lateral space to accelerate out of a skid, then RWD, then FWD
RWD needs less space to change momentum, then AWD, then FWD.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » March 24th, 2013, 1:15 am

Sounds like Uncle Sam doesn't like their citizens buying all these imports with their fancy shmancy AWD drivetrains.
What good US domestic vehicle has good AWD?

Postby wagonrunner » March 24th, 2013, 7:25 am

Jeep. ;)

towheed

Postby towheed » March 24th, 2013, 8:33 am

De Dragon wrote:http://autos.yahoo.com/news/the-myth-of-the-all-powerful-all-wheel-drive-210608212.html
Yay or nay? Discuss.

hello, I will to know how LSD differential works.
you sound as if you have a lot of experience.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » March 25th, 2013, 12:04 pm

Jimbo wrote:Sounds like Uncle Sam doesn't like their citizens buying all these imports with their fancy shmancy AWD drivetrains.

There are actually a good few domestic manufacturer cars with good AWD. The Taurus SHO is the first that comes to mind.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » March 25th, 2013, 12:56 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Jimbo wrote:Sounds like Uncle Sam doesn't like their citizens buying all these imports with their fancy shmancy AWD drivetrains.

There are actually a good few domestic manufacturer cars with good AWD. The Taurus SHO is the first that comes to mind.

SRT-4.

Postby crazybalhead » March 25th, 2013, 1:10 pm

Like any technology, knowing how to use it, and its limitations is what makes all the difference.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » March 25th, 2013, 1:14 pm

ive owned AWD and RWD so far. both cars with close to exact mods and i would go with the RWD, some reason, it handles better. on road surfaces that is. not sure about the rest.

Postby crazybalhead » March 25th, 2013, 1:17 pm

Death-Row wrote:ive owned AWD and RWD so far. both cars with close to exact mods and i would go with the RWD, some reason, it handles better. on road surfaces that is. not sure about the rest.

eh heh? Thais cause yuh cyah drive orrr???

:P :P :P :P :P

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 25th, 2013, 2:04 pm

LOL.....AWd gives ppl a false sense of security.....had a few buddies who learned the hard way all were subaru and crv owners..and wet highway

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » March 25th, 2013, 9:29 pm

So I went Tyrico and I realize after doing some research after the fact I got stuck in the sand temporarily that the AwD crv's usually runs on the font wheels on regular road surface. They use Real time AWD and consists of 2 dual hydraulic pumps creating a differential pressure when the front wheel starts to spin faster than the rear ( slipping ) hence creating enough pressure to activate the drive shaft via clutches ( rough explanation)

Any way when the front wheel started slipping in the sand I just put it in reverse and came out. However I couldn't go forward when the front wheel started spinning which bothers me if the Real time AWD is functioning as is ....Honda said that this a maintenance free system which just requires changing if the oil in the pumps after 72000km.

Postby gt4tified » March 25th, 2013, 11:59 pm

Death-Row wrote:ive owned AWD and RWD so far. both cars with close to exact mods and i would go with the RWD, some reason, it handles better. on road surfaces that is. not sure about the rest.

Yuh never pelt GB overpass @ 180 then?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » March 26th, 2013, 1:32 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

SRT-4.

Eh????!

Postby honda hoe » March 26th, 2013, 8:36 am

there is a vid on youtube with a series of traction tests which shows that the only manufacturer who has real full time awd is subaru. it is the only vehicle that can move with traction to only 1 wheel

Postby gt4tified » March 26th, 2013, 6:11 pm

honda hoe wrote:there is a vid on youtube with a series of traction tests which shows that the only manufacturer who has real full time awd is subaru. it is the only vehicle that can move with traction to only 1 wheel

and thus the reason for the exploding gearbox.

Rx

Postby Rx » March 26th, 2013, 9:00 pm

AWD = Subaru.

Talk done

silversurfer TnT

Postby silversurfer TnT » March 26th, 2013, 9:07 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:LOL.....AWd gives ppl a false sense of security.....had a few buddies who learned the hard way all were subaru and crv owners..and wet highway

lol true

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » March 27th, 2013, 8:25 am

Rx wrote:AWD = Subaru.

Talk done

Hmmmmm nah, having owned and driven several Subarus as well as an Evo (CT9A), I must give the unbiased opinion that the I much prefer the Evo's system.

Postby honda hoe » March 27th, 2013, 8:46 am

Jimbo wrote:

Talk done

Hmmmmm nah, having owned and driven several Subarus as well as an Evo (CT9A), I must give the unbiased opinion that the I much prefer the Evo's system.

unfortunately.. the evo wasn't specifically tested.

but all the other awd vehicles tested really were only FWD or RWD.. but if there was no traction to any of the driven wheels, the vehicle was unable to send the power to the other 2 wheels and therefore couldn't move. so all those "awd" badged cars/vans aren't really awd. i will look for the vid and post it up

Postby honda hoe » March 27th, 2013, 8:54 am

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 27th, 2013, 8:58 am

honda hoe wrote:
Jimbo wrote:

Talk done

unfortunately.. the evo wasn't specifically tested.

but all the other awd vehicles tested really were only FWD or RWD.. but if there was no traction to any of the driven wheels, the vehicle was unable to send the power to the other 2 wheels and therefore couldn't move. so all those "awd" badged cars/vans aren't really awd. i will look for the vid and post it up

saw it years ago.

Postby j.o.e » March 27th, 2013, 10:30 am

anybody lookin at that vid was expecting a car to go thru the wall? lol

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » March 28th, 2013, 11:10 am

A video made by a Subaru dealer that declares the Subaru as the supreme victor... hmmmm I won't eat this one up.
In any case I don't see myself encountering any conditions where only one of my wheels has traction. My Forester is really great for steep hill climbing though

Postby wagonrunner » March 29th, 2013, 12:50 pm

honda hoe wrote:but all the other awd vehicles tested really were only FWD or RWD.. but if there was no traction to any of the driven wheels, the vehicle was unable to send the power to the other 2 wheels and therefore couldn't move. so all those "awd" badged cars/vans aren't really awd. i will look for the vid and post it up

without locking an axle (LSD), most if not all AWD will not move when hung - front left and rear right tires have no grip.
An LSD, or locked axle solves that problem.
I'm a jeep fan. mine is part time 4WD. It locks all axles to turn at same speed. must not be used on dry pavement over 35mph even in 4H (transfer case damage).

Postby gt4tified » March 29th, 2013, 4:28 pm

suzuki ftw wagonrunner.... :lol:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » March 29th, 2013, 5:20 pm

Something else to throw in to the mix http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Yu6GlxJ7Q0&sns=em

Btw where is ATTESA?