Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

dirtyjames

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby dirtyjames » March 26th, 2013, 9:04 pm

ryan99tt wrote:Where in montrose is charrans? Why no one wanna give sum directions?

prices too nice to share the secret :lol: :lol: :lol:

u will never go by chais again

Fish Farm in Cunupia

Pet Shop in Montrose

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » March 26th, 2013, 9:31 pm

Thanks bro...

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 27th, 2013, 7:35 pm

dirtyjames wrote:
ryan99tt wrote:Where in montrose is charrans? Why no one wanna give sum directions?

Fish Farm in Cunupia

Pet Shop in Montrose

Actually thats why I go by Chais. Charrans price is good (well at least the young boi, not the mother), but customer service sucks big time. They dont have valid opening hours, or set prices. For some reason the young boi and his mother has different prices. Imagine I went there on a Saturday, and they close?

A time I went, and the place open, no one in sight, I had to bawl out to get some attention.

The only thing Charrans have going for them is their good prices (again, dealing with young boi), and thats when they have stock. Plenty times I call, and they dont have.

Just stating my experiences, not trying to offend anyone.
Last edited by Kasey on March 28th, 2013, 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

damion_m_k

Postby damion_m_k » March 28th, 2013, 9:44 pm

Dose anyone have a contact number for charrans ??

Kasey

Postby Kasey » March 28th, 2013, 9:56 pm

I went by them today. 99.9% of all cichlids sold out. They have two red peaocks and a couple OB cichlids right now. Got a good response for a change. Bought their last Yellow peacock cichlid. Moms said they getting stock on the 10th April.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 28th, 2013, 10:30 pm

My tank decided to burst at the seams today :( Thankfully mom was home and it only had "bottom dwelling" fish in the tank.

Hoping to remove them and repair tomorrow so I could start back the cycle

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » March 29th, 2013, 3:12 am

What battery powered air pumps allyuh using?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 29th, 2013, 11:51 am

Yodins

Postby Yodins » March 29th, 2013, 9:27 pm

I hadda invest in one ah dem ting too dan

dirtyjames

Postby dirtyjames » March 31st, 2013, 6:59 pm

Looking to get some half inch to one inch black mollies and hillaries to buy to be used as feeder fish. Any breeders out there? or should I check Chai's or Charran's?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 1st, 2013, 4:26 pm

Those of you with ponds or aquariums with scavengers similar to this:

Them ting fraid light or something ? I have a koi pond and recently added around 4 of them, its over a week and I only and VERY RARELY see one out and about, the others always hiding behind the rocks. ist because of my lights? My lights on 24/7 aint all that bright

Postby meccalli » April 1st, 2013, 5:24 pm

If those are anything like plecos, yes, mine hides in the rock during the day and comes out at night to eat any algae, food bits. Looks like a cascadoo or some other species of amoured catfish so probably.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 1st, 2013, 6:45 pm

It looks like a type of cory to me.. There's about 100 different types. People commonly refer to them as scavengers but they need just as much care as regular fish. They should be in groups of at least 6, 8 as a minimum is preferred. They're generally a shy species so plenty of hiding spaces is preferred. Especially as you have lights on 24/7..

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 2nd, 2013, 10:01 am

still looking for the uv sterilizer for my tank, up north or the east, anyone has a old one to sell at least?

Postby DVSTT » April 2nd, 2013, 1:25 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Those of you with ponds or aquariums with scavengers similar to this:

Them ting fraid light or something ? I have a koi pond and recently added around 4 of them, its over a week and I only and VERY RARELY see one out and about, the others always hiding behind the rocks. ist because of my lights? My lights on 24/7 aint all that bright

Dont feel bad, I have 3 6" cascadoo in my koi pond and I never see them. Thats why I keep my raphaels in my aquarium. I like seeing them lol.

Postby DVSTT » April 2nd, 2013, 1:29 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:still looking for the uv sterilizer for my tank, up north or the east, anyone has a old one to sell at least?

I have a beckett one for the pond but the bulb blew and I dont know where to find bulbs for it locally :/

kl122

Postby kl122 » April 2nd, 2013, 7:34 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Those of you with ponds or aquariums with scavengers similar to this:

Emerald Cory, local...biche loaded with them....have a few hundred in a pond :D

kl122

Postby kl122 » April 2nd, 2013, 7:48 pm

Kasey wrote:
dirtyjames wrote:

Fish Farm in Cunupia

Pet Shop in Montrose

Actually thats why I go by Chais. Charrans price is good (well at least the young boi, not the mother), but customer service sucks big time. They dont have valid opening hours, or set prices. For some reason the young boi and his mother has different prices. Imagine I went there on a Saturday, and they close?

A time I went, and the place open, no one in sight, I had to bawl out to get some attention.

The only thing Charrans have going for them is their good prices (again, dealing with young boi), and thats when they have stock. Plenty times I call, and they dont have.

Hmmmm....I have never had a bad experience with them, but I will tell you this, they mainly whole sale and as soon as stock comes in the next few days most is gone, so dealing with us (retail buyers) isn't as profitable, normally he calls me when he gets stock but if I can't go down same day or days after,most is gone....dealing with retail customers is very time consuming and most fish breeders / importers don't really allow it...as it will "cut" up their big whole sale customers business....just another point of view..not defending anyone,but when u in the business u see it differently....but he always has much more exotic stuff than anyone else...

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 2nd, 2013, 7:48 pm

kl122 wrote:

cool...........can I have some? Pleeeese.

kl122

Postby kl122 » April 2nd, 2013, 7:54 pm

Kasey wrote:
dirtyjames wrote:

Fish Farm in Cunupia

Pet Shop in Montrose

Hmmmm....I have never had a bad experience with them, but I will tell you this, they mainly whole sale and as soon as stock comes in the next few days most is gone, so dealing with us (retail buyers) isn't as profitable, normally he calls me when he gets stock but if I can't go down same day or days after,most is gone....dealing with retail customers is very time consuming and most fish breeders / importers don't really allow it...as it will "cut" up their big whole sale customers business....just another point of view..not defending anyone,but when u in the business u see it differently....but he always has much more exotic stuff than anyone else...

kl122

Postby kl122 » April 2nd, 2013, 8:10 pm

dirtyjames wrote:saw some of these today at Charrans Pet Shop in Montrose (Shakeer Building)

Rare (I think) coloured cichlids

Tropheous, u need to keep dem in a species tank..very interesting fish...

link

Postby link » April 2nd, 2013, 10:03 pm

dirtyjames wrote:Looking to get some half inch to one inch black mollies and hillaries to buy to be used as feeder fish. Any breeders out there? or should I check Chai's or Charran's?

Charran's....
usually use common guppies as feeder stock, but u can buy other feeders wholesale...
what about local freshwater shrimp ??? vvveryyy nutritious... :)
I am also using shrimp as feeder stock ( alligator gar & arapaima)
rgds

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 3rd, 2013, 8:04 am

Link post up a pic of you're set up nah... Seems you have a couple monsters somewhere....

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 3rd, 2013, 8:25 am

^^the monsters cute right now. Give them about a year again.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 3rd, 2013, 8:31 am

rx80 wrote:Link post up a pic of you're set up nah... Seems you have a couple monsters somewhere....

chk ya pm

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » April 3rd, 2013, 9:46 am

kl122 wrote:

LOL a few hundred you say....how big this pond is dan ? mine is about a 200gal and maybe a little more

Yodins

Postby Yodins » April 3rd, 2013, 9:56 am

rx80 wrote:Link post up a pic of you're set up nah... Seems you have a couple monsters somewhere....

bless me up too nah

link wrote:
dirtyjames wrote:Looking to get some half inch to one inch black mollies and hillaries to buy to be used as feeder fish. Any breeders out there? or should I check Chai's or Charran's?

Charran's....
usually use common guppies as feeder stock, but u can buy other feeders wholesale...
what about local freshwater shrimp ??? vvveryyy nutritious... :)
I am also using shrimp as feeder stock ( alligator gar & arapaima)
rgds

by chance you on the trinidad fishkeepers group on fb? Das?

$ub@ru

Postby $ub@ru » April 3rd, 2013, 1:37 pm

$ub@ru

Postby $ub@ru » April 3rd, 2013, 1:37 pm

dirtyjames

Postby dirtyjames » April 3rd, 2013, 6:03 pm

went to buy some feeder fish today by Charrans and saw they had Arapaima fishes for sale. This is the number for the guy I deal with 295-9594

So long I looking for these fishes when I had my freshwater tank and I couldnt get them. Now they available when I no longer have the tank :(