Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby HondaB20B » March 20th, 2013, 10:03 pm

Disease:

Diseases can occur in marine aquaria despite the greatest preventive measures. An unhealthy or diseased state can be brought on by parasites, viruses, bacteria, environment, and even intervention procedures themselves. It is VERY important to have a 10 gallon aquarium with lid, heater, and powerhead to serve as a quarantine tank. New additions should always be sent to quarantine and observed for AT LEAST several days before introduction to the show aquarium.

Parasites that attach marine organisms include worms, copepods, isopods, protozoa and more. They are generally introduced to an aquarium by the addition of new stock. They can spread rapidly and kill resident fish quickly, so treatments must be rapid. Solutions of copper, malachite green, formalin, chloroquine, and more.

There are a number of gram negative bacterial species that attack marine fish, and they generally reside in the aquarium as part of the plankton or attached to the rock or sand bed particles. They will generally not cause disease until a fish is already stressed. Most parasitic infestations are accompanied by bacterial infection. The parasite was often introduced while the bacteria were already present. There are a few bacteria, such as Mycobacterium, that are not part of the normal flora of an aquarium. Therapies generally require antibiotics, including kanamycin (which is absorbed well by fish) and Furanace® (nitrofurazone - not absorbed by fish), and many others.

Viruses attack fish and are very difficult to identify. They cannot be directly observed or cultured. There are few drug therapies that directly combat viruses. Generally, if water quality is improved and diet is enhanced, fish may overcome a viral infection on their own.

Environmental factors can lead to the diseased state. High levels of nitrate or ammonia are destructive to the gills of a fish, leading to labored breathing and even death. Salinity, water hardness, pH, and temperature, and more all affect the health of a marine system. Collection techniques can lead to swim bladder and gas issues within the tissues of a fish. Excess copper or other trace minerals can be toxic to invertebrates. Any and all factors in the marine environment should be suspect when disease strikes.

Interventions themselves can cause problems. Overfeeding and antibiotic use can lead to high levels of nitrates and ammonia, which must be remediated. All drugs have side effects, and the side effects must be addressed while a fish is isolated in a quarantine tank.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 21st, 2013, 1:09 pm

wooooow honda!! :shock: ...if only...

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 21st, 2013, 5:40 pm

WOW....lol some bess information there !! good stuff.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 21st, 2013, 5:44 pm

greenlime100 wrote:WOW....lol some bess information there !! good stuff.

thats one of the reasons i always by raj.................. i now come from by him

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 21st, 2013, 6:01 pm

Guys for some reason I feel something out of order in my tank. The brain coral was looking like it was about to bleach moved the power head, did a 30gal water change an seems to be coloring back up.
My Duncan coral has about 9 heads 3 of which are closed.
My (what I believe to be) green torch coral (cant rem the exact name) isnt as bright as before. it also has 3 heads 2 open and tentacles dancing while the other half way open :?

On the other hand, kenya tree looks normal, zoas multiplying like crazy,gsp looks normal, mushrooms covering the rock :|

All my parameters checks out....
alk: 9.6
ca: 500
Nitrates:0
Phosphates: 0.03< (and reducing drastically)
ph: 8.4

I real uneasy here, could it be my magnesium? thats prob the only essential I dont have a test kit for. Will be by Raj tomorrow for the test kit and a buffer just incase its that.

BTW chiller is sold guys.... If the flow causing this ill have to get the mp40 with the money, else ill upgrade my skimmer and start running biopellets.

Any ideas on what might be going on? or I just stressing like a gyal ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 21st, 2013, 6:10 pm

whats your nitrates and whats your TDS reading after the DI.
Better you upgrade the skimmer first.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 21st, 2013, 6:18 pm

Nitrates show 0 using a API test kit for that.
and TDS after the DI is 0

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 21st, 2013, 6:22 pm

I rarely ever have any real nitrate problem, before the WC it was around 0.5 I would say. But still going to eventually run the biopellets to be safe.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 21st, 2013, 6:29 pm

then you good

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 21st, 2013, 6:38 pm

I hoping so yes, I does take care of dem ting more than my van lol.
So once my lil funds enough, Ill try and get the skimmer and biopellets tomorrow and prob a magnesium kit. Or what ever he have that I need lol

Ill try and get some pics up tomorrow.
GREAT RESULTS WITH THE ROWAPHOS and the snails I got btw algae real slight

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 21st, 2013, 7:06 pm

dont do like men i know that gone and buy skimmer that cant even fit in their sump and have to carry it back. Know the footprint of the skimmer. I actually bought my skimmer first and then built my sump round it. Then it also dont make buying a skimmer to fit under your tank and you have to totally take it apart

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 21st, 2013, 7:09 pm

Reefplanet wrote:wooooow honda!! :shock: ...if only...

if only what

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 21st, 2013, 7:22 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

if only what

if only i was there and could get them corals

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 21st, 2013, 7:34 pm

Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

if only what

allot of people do it but if they catch you...................................... yuh arsse is grass. They have it on posters. And i does always look like d usual suspect already........LOL :silly:

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 22nd, 2013, 1:52 am

Guys, where can I get a testing kit locally?

And what can I expect to pay?

I'd like to get a baseline of where one of my new tanks are rather than guess and drop livestock into it

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 22nd, 2013, 1:57 am

Anyone interested in small frags of GSP? I have them on frag plugs.
Only set the Devils hand leathers today on plugs so they need a few mths to really grow. They are about 1/2"- 1"
Pm me
Last edited by HondaB20B on March 22nd, 2013, 2:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 22nd, 2013, 2:22 am

If i'm not mistaken you can get the full API saltwater test kit (PH, Ammonia, nitrates and nitrites) at Nu immage petshop for about $300-350 i think. Raj sells the Salifert kits (they come individually). Cant remember the prices $100-1175. The additional test you need to do if you going corals are Calcium, alkalinity, magnesium and phosphates.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 22nd, 2013, 11:15 am

thought this was also some good info:

heading by Raj after lunch, ill show him some pics of the brain coral and the others and hope all is really well lol. prob get the magnesium kit as well.

If in the vid all that is true it could be that my coral is photosynthesizing too fast cause my water did got alot clearer and the fine particles did reduce.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 22nd, 2013, 11:22 am

HondaB20B wrote:If i'm not mistaken you can get the full API saltwater test kit (PH, Ammonia, nitrates and nitrites) at Nu immage petshop for about $300-350 i think. Raj sells the Salifert kits (they come individually). Cant remember the prices $100-1175. The additional test you need to do if you going corals are Calcium, alkalinity, magnesium and phosphates.

Thanks, I really need it fOr a freshwater tank, forgot to mention that :oops:

I was looking at the API kit on amazon, I'm thinking it maybe cheaper I buy it and skybox it myself?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 22nd, 2013, 2:29 pm

Didnt pass by Raj again, said he would be busy because he just got fish lol so ill check him tomorrow instead.

Also fellas with protein skimmers.... trying to decide between the ASM and the Reef Octopus. any tips or views ??

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 22nd, 2013, 5:42 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
Also fellas with protein skimmers.... trying to decide between the ASM and the Reef Octopus. any tips or views ??

they are based on preference. Both work real good its just that Reef Octopus is more expensive. All in all, it really the pump that does the work. I have an ASM running 19mths (24/7) now with no issues what so ever.

Postby meccalli » March 22nd, 2013, 8:53 pm

Hey guys, where exactly is nu image in Valsayn if they're still there. I went looking last time i was in Valpark, didn't see anything.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 22nd, 2013, 11:20 pm

Meccalli I believe there is no more Nu Image. Andy look like he pack up stores nation wide and open one store in Palmiste San Fernando under a new name....... 'Exotic Aquariums' I think is the name.

Its on the road from Palmiste leading to Debe on the LHS probably about 2km from the Junction at Palmiste Park.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 23rd, 2013, 8:58 am

Think I might go with the reef octopus. Remember I want to try and automate the system for at least a week to 2 weeks at most. I like the little feature that the RO collection cup has where you can attach a drain line.... and have it dump for itself.

Also I was thinking of getting a good biopellet reactor instead of the two little fishes...maybe like this:
http://www.amazon.com/AquaMaxx-BioMaxx-XL-BioPellet-Reactor/dp/B0089XLBEO/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1364043367&sr=8-4&keywords=aquamaxx+biomaxx+biopellet+reactor

Also what brand of biopellets Raj has? prefer to buy this bulk and keep it.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » March 23rd, 2013, 11:15 am

HondaB20B wrote:
Reefplanet wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

if only what

allot of people do it but if they catch you...................................... yuh arsse is grass. They have it on posters. And i does always look like d usual suspect already........LOL :silly:

hahahaha
who goin by raj today..like 3:00pm?

Postby meccalli » March 23rd, 2013, 1:27 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Meccalli I believe there is no more Nu Image. Andy look like he pack up stores nation wide and open one store in Palmiste San Fernando under a new name....... 'Exotic Aquariums' I think is the name.

Its on the road from Palmiste leading to Debe on the LHS probably about 2km from the Junction at Palmiste Park.

Oh, that explains it, thanks.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 25th, 2013, 10:22 am

Heading up by Raj today, around 3.... one of my corals dying. Have a feeling its the flow....also one of my mushrooms shrivel up real bad so something definitely wrong. :snipersmile:

3pO

Postby 3pO » March 25th, 2013, 4:36 pm

some pics from untop
photo.JPG
photo-10.JPG
photo-9.JPG
photo-7.JPG
photo-6.JPG
photo-1.JPG

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 25th, 2013, 6:05 pm

3p0, seems like you got your Alk sorted out now.........nice pics

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » March 25th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Nice pics 3po.... good stuff

Turns out everything is fine with my tank and it was that because of my phosphates lowering fast and my water getting clearer that was causing my brain coral to bleach, luckily it isnt bad.

Caught my alk at 7.8 this evening... brought it back up to 8.6 tomorrow ill get it up to 9.6

Picked up this guy this evening:

Want to get one of the pink anthias he has... damn ting sweet.