Sharma serves notice on "souped-up" cars

speedmelter

Re: Sharma serves notice on "souped-up" cars

Postby speedmelter » March 16th, 2013, 7:55 pm

oh and yea the price to tint a sedan now is 300 dollars plus 50-100 to remove the old tint

marlener

Postby marlener » March 16th, 2013, 7:58 pm

Reminds me when I was young and stupid,do the whole sera in 5%,the guy who did the tint job said not to wind down the windows for a day or two while it set.Driving the first night couldn`t see throught the back windscreen.Installed a fluorescent lamp with an inverter.Lucky I didn`t get a ticket. I can`t tell when last I see a ploice officer working on the road except where they paving.ASmart now,uv cut with ac for the while.

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2013, 8:14 pm

marlener wrote:Reminds me when I was young and stupid,do the whole sera in 5%,the guy who did the tint job said not to wind down the windows for a day or two while it set.Driving the first night couldn`t see throught the back windscreen.Installed a fluorescent lamp with an inverter.Lucky I didn`t get a ticket. I can`t tell when last I see a ploice officer working on the road except where they paving.ASmart now,uv cut with ac for the while.

Well you real bright. with the light on in the car you wont see jack sh!t outside.

I had 5% all around and 20% on my entire windscreen, never had trouble seeing. Then again...I a bat :evilbat:

marlener

Postby marlener » March 16th, 2013, 8:17 pm

Nah nerve the light in de car was for the police them to see in,a black man in a sport car does have some officer stopping yuh to check everything trying to embrassing yuh in front de chick. Hear talk about drugs and sheit when the ent find nothing wrong.

Postby nervewrecker » March 16th, 2013, 8:28 pm

Hard luck dey then :lol:

Must keep a dutty panty or something in the car, let them search and find that. It ends the search brisk :mrgreen:

marlener

Postby marlener » March 16th, 2013, 8:34 pm

Ent have it again and running no tint,so question I have a laurel now that came with a rb single cam,if I switch to twin cam turbo same rb20,they could jack meh up?

Yodins

Postby Yodins » March 17th, 2013, 12:14 am

it have a maxi mark "Master Peace" that like blacked the faack out

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 17th, 2013, 3:35 am

Must keep a dutty panty or something in the car, let them search and find that. It ends the search brisk :mrgreen:

quoted for some good fackin advice :shock:

BrandonSingh

Postby BrandonSingh » March 17th, 2013, 6:10 am

I doh understand he....u tellin me a car dat drop low a lil bit and have ah big muffler go cause ah accident? he need to pull out ah gun and kill himself

Postby X2 » March 17th, 2013, 6:50 am

Another red herring to keep the citizens busy squaking while money is being stolen from the country.

The only thing they're doing is ensuring they don't get elected next session... We are governed by the most idiotic of our society... probably because that the only group of citizens that will want a job where you only appear to be doing work.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 17th, 2013, 7:47 am

X2 wrote:The only thing they're doing is ensuring they don't get elected next session....

Was saying this exact thing just yesterday.

Hope they enjoyed it while it lasted.

Postby nemisis » March 17th, 2013, 7:53 am

^^^ their swiss accountants think so

daryl0510

Postby daryl0510 » March 17th, 2013, 12:50 pm

Since we reach on tint, can anyone point me in the direction where I can get some of that UV tint thingy? Have a clear one that real cuts the heat, I will like to get 2 rolls. much thanks. ^_^

http://www.llumar.com/en/AutoWindscreen.aspx

Motorcity in chaguanas

Computerman

Postby Computerman » March 17th, 2013, 1:26 pm

X2 wrote:Another red herring to keep the citizens busy squaking while money is being stolen from the country.

The only thing they're doing is ensuring they don't get elected next session... We are governed by the most idiotic of our society... probably because that the only group of citizens that will want a job where you only appear to be doing work.
Intelligence Quotient of 10 is probably the maximum allowed to qualify.

psychokid

Postby psychokid » March 17th, 2013, 4:47 pm

Guys this is getting ridiculous, last nite rd block by Medford, they checking the car for music...wtf..
Can't we do something?

Postby bluesteel29 » March 17th, 2013, 4:49 pm

psychokid wrote:Guys this is getting ridiculous, last nite rd block by Medford, they checking the car for music...wtf..
Can't we do something?

wah music dey was lookin for so?

Postby nemisis » March 17th, 2013, 5:17 pm

I hear the looking for the track driver by buju......

psychokid

Postby psychokid » March 17th, 2013, 5:33 pm

Checking back dash for larger speakers and box in trunk

Postby nervewrecker » March 17th, 2013, 5:34 pm

Meh arse dark :(

Postby gastly369 » March 17th, 2013, 5:36 pm

rofl . nerve yours still a little stealth .. wah bout me :lol:

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2013, 5:42 pm

psychokid wrote:Checking back dash for larger speakers and box in trunk

What law is there against having a speaker box in your trunk?

So let's say, you went pricesmart and bought something which has a large box and it's in your trunk, that's against the law?

They need to ban cars from having trunk areas then.

I will so gladly take them to court if they decide to pelt ticket for that.

Re: Sharma serves notice on souped-up cars

Postby Ronaldo95163 » March 17th, 2013, 5:58 pm

silver wrote:grand charge?? or legitimate threat?

Drivers whose cars are modified or are in poor working condition will have them seized by licensing officers soon. This, as Transport Minister Chandresh Sharma announced a crackdown on the nation’s roads. Sharma said cars unsuitable for the road were contributing to the high accident rate, which at the end of 2012 saw 35,000 collisions, with close to 200 people being killed. He said reckless driving and lack of respect for the law were alarming for such a small country as T&T.

Speaking at yesterday’s launch of the National Road Safety Awareness Campaign at Petrotrin Staff Club, Pointe-a-Pierre, Sharma said if further legislation was required to increase road safety, the Government would act accordingly. He said under the Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act, Transport Commissioner Reuben Cato can impound vehicles that were defective or did not conform to legal specifications.

“The transport commissioner already has the power under the act to seize motor vehicles when people soup up their vehicles. That is illegal. They have to get approval and we will be taking those cars off the road,” he said. He added that the courts had the power to suspend driver’s permits, and the transport commissioner also had the authority to do the same.

Providing more statistics, Sharma said the total amount of fines received by the judiciary in 2012 for traffic violations was $3 million, which he said was an indicator that too many people were not adhering to the law. He said: “We have to take steps to make sure that we bring to the attention of the national community that the Government, while it is going about educating, while we’re having these meetings and while we are trying to engage everyone, that if further legislation is required, we will do it.”

Sharma said there must be a proper approach and notice will be given first. “To take the vehicles off the road there must be some scientific approach...We just can’t go and tell drivers this is it,” he said. “We will tell them that it has come to our attention that this car has been souped up. “Or we may see a particular car speeding down the highway and on inspection we may realise this is not how it was when they bought it from the firm.

“We don’t want to take people by surprise. We don’t want to punish the national community, so we are saying co-operate with us. “It is illegal. Don’t do it. You are causing injury to yourself and you are causing injuries and pain to others.” Sharma said alcohol and cellphones were road-safety hazards.

He said: “We consume the most amount of Scotch in this country for our size. We drink the most beers, we have the most cellphones in the world for a small country. The statistics have shown that most people have more than two cell phones. “We don’t have the legislation just yet, but it’s coming,” Sharma warned.

I don't follow politics because I think Politics is a waste of time but when I saw this it convinced me to think that this Government is flat out stupid :|

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 17th, 2013, 6:06 pm

^^^x 2...really silly....

seems they each have a moment in time/take turns to exude rubbish....

Postby nervewrecker » March 17th, 2013, 6:09 pm

Stealth? If they want to search me for drugs ? My sub cant come out easy. Thas half day right dey

Postby nervewrecker » March 17th, 2013, 6:11 pm

So let's say, you went pricesmart and bought something which has a large box and it's in your trunk, that's against the law?

Look they tell a tuner he have to change his smoked glass the car come with. $2000.00 ticket

Postby pioneer » March 17th, 2013, 6:57 pm

They wanted to ticket me for factory tint...jackass police come scraping de glass wid he finger bawlin dai some kinda tint I put dey and it too dark

I say I didn't put it...he say well whoever put it make you get ah ticket...I say well ticket Nissan

Next one come tellin him no dan no dai factory tint that come jusso...then he bawl oar!...yuh lucky today...I say yeh ok and gone my way.

brb police want more pay
brb uneducated
brb uninformed
brb brb

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 17th, 2013, 7:09 pm

^^^ yuh wudn't get off so easy if twas RS

Re: Sharma serves notice on

Postby shogun » March 17th, 2013, 8:35 pm

Look they tell a tuner he have to change his smoked glass the car come with. $2000.00 ticket

Like i said. They only too happy to harass the public. Beats confronting true criminals.

So far they haven't bothered me. *knocks orn wood*

Computerman

Postby Computerman » March 17th, 2013, 8:55 pm

The majority of ppl who receive tickets will just go pay without considering contesting for two reasons. For fear of receiving an increased penalty from the magistrate and secondly, because $2K is not worth the aggravation of court. This happened with the tint and 'fog lights' already and it will happen again when they start targeting our "campbell's chunky" cars.

Where Norbert?
Time to take a stand! 0X

Postby nervewrecker » March 17th, 2013, 9:16 pm

oh trust me, I goin to friggin court if they charge me for music!

In other news, I understand sharma have de ras as a supervisor for road works. Ras shat himself when le pulice showed up with a warrant and searched his house. Mankind had his weed on the living room table.

So we know who is pundit sharma weed dealer now. Ras in jail all nao.