Re: Trinituner Reefers, Saltwater Aquarium Fish Keepers

Postby greenlime100 » February 25th, 2013, 7:19 pm

They feed at night ?? :?

20US for the feeder btw... off amazon

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 7:24 pm

Your normal fishfood ground up to a little paste and put in the water can be used to feed your corals. Excess food in the water and not eaten will just feed the algae

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 7:30 pm

greenlime100 wrote:They feed at night ?? :?

yeah they usually do but sometimes you can coax them during the day. I have gotten my scolly to feed during the day when food was placed by its mouth.

this is my scolly before target feeding

Note the feeders out now.

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » February 25th, 2013, 8:24 pm

hey guys I'm thinking of putting together a salt water tank but not sure where to start. I have a 6ft x 18x18 aquarium on a stand doing nothing so i would like to use it. My concerns are that it must be placed in my garage which would mean sunlight for fish and live rock etc. at one point of the day not direct sunlight though.
So I would appreciate some advise as to how to put together the setup and how to control the algee growth etc. as well as everything I'll need.
Any help/suggestions welcomed

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 8:45 pm

^^^^^ Thats 100 gal, You going FOWLR (FISH ONLY WITH LIVE ROCK)?
Do you have a hood with lights and any type of filtration?.......hang on or canister?

Once you have considered the types of animals you want, you will want to research the types of equipment that will be needed to house them. Each component is available from a number of different manufacturers. Each manufacturer produces variations of every piece of equipment. You will need to talk with other aquarists and your local fish store about equipment before you make your purchases. The system parts fall into 3 general categories. They either hold the bulk of the water, light the water, or cleanse and move the water.

Parts that hold the water:

Aquarium: ranging in size from a few gallon into the hundreds, aquariums are by no means standard. The two basic aquariums are made of either glass or acrylic.
Stand: ranging from wrought iron to wood, the stand has to be tough and able to support an enormous amount of weight.
Cover: from simple plastic or glass sheets to elaborate hoods, this keeps the water and fish in and people (most) out.
Parts that light the aquarium:

Lighting and Hood
Parts that move and cleanse water:
Filtration refers to the cleansing of water by some type chemical or physical means. There are many types of filtration systems available today that were not available 30 years ago.
All filters perform some or all of the following tasks:

Mechanical filtration is the entrapment of debris from a water system. It usually employs some type of floss or pad material that catches objects as water passes through, much like a furnace air filter in a home.
Chemical filtration is the use of chemical bonding to remove substances from water. Iron oxide is use to remove phosphorus from aquarium systems this way. Activated carbon is used to remove organic compounds from water in this way also.
Biological filtration is the growth of beneficial nitrogen-cycling bacteria that process nitrogen in aquarium systems to prevent it from killing livestock.
Sterilization involves the use of high energy light or oxidizing agents to improve the quality of a water system.
Different types of filtration options perform one or more of these tasks. Each system tends to perform one of the tasks best. Mechanical and biological filtration are essential to the day-to-day operation of marine life of any saltwater aquarium. Chemical and sterilization techniques are useful in short-use cycles and as optional methods for treating specific problems.

Mechanical and Biological Filtration Options:

The Undergravel Filter is a 50+ year old filter option that some aquarists still use. This method is losing popularity because of better options that are now available. It was once considered the most important part of the filtration system of any setup.

Internal filters have a limited role, especially in hospital and quarantine tanks where very little biomass is present so little filtration is needed.

External filters are used by some aquarists for their ease of cleaning and quiet operation. They are clean and simple to operate.

Sump filtration systems use a separate aquarium to filter water. The water is passed through pads that screen debris, barriers that churn and oxygenate water, and often live rock or sand that help biologically filter the water.

Refugiums are a modification of the sump concept to enhance the biological filtration capacity. They employ the use of algae and even plants (mangroves) under lights in a sump aquarium. Live sand and mud is employed to help biologically and physically filter aquarium water.
Live rock and sand are now used in sumps and aquaria to enhance biological filtration. Old marine systems employed lifeless decorator rock to enhance aquarium appearance and add refuges for animals. Today, rock is removed from rubble systems, washed (hopefully), and sold to aquarists for both aesthetics and biological filtration.
Fluidized-bed filters are rather new types of filters that increase the surface area for the growth of beneficial bacteria. A fine granular material is suspended in a filter canister which allows microbes to grow and process nitrogen.
Chemical Filtration Options:

Activated carbon is used to remove suspended organic compounds from water. This is often used in short-term interventions when suspended organic material is in excess.
Ion exchange devices work to chemically remove specific types of solutes from marine aquarium water. Resins bind to specific molecules such as nitrate or phosphate and remove them from solution. The resin beads are housed in nylon or polyester bags that are simple to remove from a mechanical filtration device. These devices are used in deionization filters that convert tap water to water safe for use in a marine aquarium.
Poly filters employ pads to remove toxic compounds from the aquarium water. The pads change color as they become loaded with compounds, indicating the end of the media life.
Protein skimmers rely on the chemistry of lipids and proteins to remove them water solutions. They originated over 40 years ago but have only gained popularity in the last 15 years. They are considered an essential component of any competent marine system.
Sterilization Options:

Ozone is an oxidizing agent that releases oxygen as it reacts with organic material. As an oxidizing agent it is safe for use in marine systems, and really helps to clarify water.
Ultraviolet sterilizers destroy microbes with high energy light. They have gained popularity in recent years but should only serve as an accessory to an already well-designed filtration system.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 25th, 2013, 9:43 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Activated carbon is used to remove suspended organic compounds from water. This is often used in short-term interventions when suspended organic material is in excess.

Currently I also fine ALOT of small dust like particles suspended throughout the tank. Was thinking it was being caused by the algae, Once I get the GFO running after about 2 weeks I should see an improvement. If the 'dust' still continues... would running the activated carbon help eliminate this ?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 25th, 2013, 10:18 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:Activated carbon is used to remove suspended organic compounds from water. This is often used in short-term interventions when suspended organic material is in excess.

Currently I also fine ALOT of small dust like particles suspended throughout the tank. Was thinking it was being caused by the algae, Once I get the GFO running after about 2 weeks I should see an improvement. If the 'dust' still continues... would running the activated carbon help eliminate this ?

dust like particles can be anything? Could be suspended detrius, could be debris thats stired up from the sand bed, could be anything that had by passed your filter or skimmer. Sometimes there is a build up of some type of scum inside the PVC pipes that maybe got dislodged.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 26th, 2013, 10:07 am

This morning It look clear tho, Think I will get a HOB filter and run 2 bags chemipure, I real impressed with what it doing to my Phosphates and I could notice the Yellow hue from the water gone. And from some reading, I wouldnt doubt it helped with easing up the algae. I have one bag in my sump and doubt its really maxing its potential.
Still gonna get the Rowaphos this week and start running it by weekend.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 12:24 pm

How the dosing of the 2-part going and how the scolly shaping up

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » February 26th, 2013, 4:26 pm

i dont have a cover or any other units for filtration etc. Looking to start so need advise what to do to put this unit together. What is the best filter, skimmer etc for this application?
Also whats the best fish live rock etc. Basically I looking for the variety of colour in the tank

3pO

Postby 3pO » February 26th, 2013, 4:46 pm

some pic on what going on with my build so far , my corals just suffering rite now :(
photo.JPG
photo-5.JPG
photo-2.JPG
photo-1.JPG

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 5:42 pm

3p0, what lights keeping the corals alive

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 26th, 2013, 6:02 pm

honda ur corals spawn already?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 6:47 pm

Reefplanet wrote:honda ur corals spawn already?

yeah why............. was just never able to get it on vid. There is a vid somewhere on youtube showing zoas spawning

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » February 26th, 2013, 7:35 pm

dat rellll cool how u do that..water have to be perfect or something?

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 26th, 2013, 7:36 pm

HondaB20B wrote:How the dosing of the 2-part going and how the scolly shaping up

Just tested,
KH:9.3
CA:500

Due to dose 10ml tomorrow, trying to keep it at 9.6 By next week I might be dosing 10ml everyday.

The scolly looking like she recovering lol looking healthy and the receded side starting to grow back.

Might check Raj tomorrow for the rowaphos, so i might add that in either Thursday or Friday. have to get rid of the algae lol

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 26th, 2013, 8:01 pm

Just watched a couple vids from this channel.... interesting stuff
http://www.youtube.com/user/AmericanReefChannel?feature=watch

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 8:19 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:How the dosing of the 2-part going and how the scolly shaping up

Just tested,
KH:9.3
CA:500

Due to dose 10ml tomorrow, trying to keep it at 9.6 By next week I might be dosing 10ml everyday.

When you dosing manually it does really be hard to keep you alk at exactly 9.6dKH..........you will get a fluctuation. Because the more you dose the more coraline algae grows along with your corals. The more corals you add, the more they use. So with both your corals and coraline algae using up the alk & cal, the more you will have to add.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 26th, 2013, 8:26 pm

yeah I may not get to fine tune it on doser pumps for a longggg while lol when I have to travel ill have to set some doser pumps an kinda average it.

I feeling d addiction on this lmao you know how long I saying I have to get a new phone an put some music in d van lmao is like when you add your first few corals yuh cant stop till yuh brokes :angel: lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 8:43 pm

LOL.................."i'm ah REEFER, its not what you think"................ :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

It is addictive. I still come home and tell my wife i got stuff discounted by him cause it was old stock................ :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 9:25 pm

Wasnt too sure what was happening to my 7-8" rock anemone for nearly a week now. But today i confirmed it. Its actually splitting and has reached by the mouth area. Will keep taking some shots until it totally splits. Hoping for the florescent red & blue and the orange & yellow one to split now

Last edited by HondaB20B on February 26th, 2013, 9:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 26th, 2013, 9:27 pm

hahaha... a will tell muh girl that... "he had a small sale" :lol:

.................. :agrue: ...................

:mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 9:31 pm

greenlime100 wrote:hahaha... a will tell muh girl that... "he had a small sale" :lol:

.................. :agrue: ...................

:mrgreen:

is years now he have $200-400 fish and corals........... she always tells me i real lucky to have friends like raj.....lol

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 26th, 2013, 9:43 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: yuh good inno :lol: i weak

the anemone looking real good.... I want one tho... didnt decide on which.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 9:55 pm

those are not the ones that the clowns host eh....... They come in various colors and they more look like mushrooms. The biggest is 9". All of mine live on the sand bed

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 26th, 2013, 9:59 pm

Yea I noticed that, I want one for the clowns to host tho.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 10:00 pm

[quote="greenlime100"]:lol: :lol: :lol: yuh good inno :lol: i weak

quote]

The only thing she knows the correct prices for is the salt (by the box), fish food and coral food....... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 10:09 pm

greenlime100 wrote:Yea I noticed that, I want one for the clowns to host tho.

Not all clowns host anemones especially if they are tank bred.
Rare occasions they do though. Those anemones you want move around allot and climb all over corals. I'll never put one in my tank. Bad thing with anemones are its not where you put them in your tank........................ its where they wanna go is the problem. I've heard of people on RC that came home to a flooded house cause the anemone blocked up the overflow

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 26th, 2013, 10:13 pm

HondaB20B wrote:

Rare occasions they do though. Those anemones you want move around allot and climb all over corals. I'll never put one in my tank. Bad thing with anemones are its not where you put them in your tank........................ its where they wanna go is the problem. I've heard of people on RC that came home to a flooded house cause the anemone blocked up the overflow

damn :| so much for that lol was just a idea, think most new hobbyist would want that, small ting

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 26th, 2013, 10:15 pm

greenlime100 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

damn :| so much for that lol was just a idea, think most new hobbyist would want that, small ting

now remember that just my oppinion........... I just not putting one in my tank