Salary for A+ and Network+ certifications

kerwinn16

Salary for A+ and Network+ certifications

Postby kerwinn16 » February 21st, 2013, 1:30 am

hey guys i just did those certifications and now i`m looking for a job i`ll like to know the salary range i know its around 4000-6000 but i`m really lost also i`ll be studying for ccna and security + could you tell me the ranges for those also.

Puppetman

Re: Salary for A+ and Network+ certifications

Postby Puppetman » February 21st, 2013, 1:41 am

Questions is how old ru and how much experience do you have?

kerwinn16

Postby kerwinn16 » February 21st, 2013, 2:38 am

Puppetman wrote:Questions is how old ru and how much experience do you have?

I am 17 years old i have no formal work experience

xaira

Postby xaira » February 21st, 2013, 6:39 am

see if you can get a internship or a ojt to get some work experience, out of the gate you will be looking at about $4000, the more experience you get, the more valuable you are, and get to learnin bout servers and functions of types of servers and how to deploy them...nao

Postby r3iXmann » February 21st, 2013, 7:26 am

With no experience and only those certs, you can only expect a salary of about 2500-3000

Daran

Postby Daran » February 21st, 2013, 7:32 am

Best the man work kfc

Postby SmokeyGTi » February 21st, 2013, 7:36 am

beo take an ojt internship...the money might be little but if you get placed in a private sector company, the experience would be invaluable.

you can build up your qualifications while you work.

plus many private sector companies go through ojt as a means of getting resources that they intend to keep in the long run.

good luck with the job search man

kaylex

Postby kaylex » February 21st, 2013, 7:38 am

Salaries you say... I certified in both.. Salaries... PISS POOR... the market have a kazillion people with these certifications>>>>

You ent going make squat.. these sort of qualifications better compound a I.T. degree....
so go get one.. it free well until sheit happens...

Postby AllTrac » February 21st, 2013, 8:21 am

about $3500 monthly

Postby RASC » February 21st, 2013, 9:33 am

r3iXmann wrote:With no experience and only those certs, you can only expect a salary of about 2500-3000

DTAC

Postby DTAC » February 21st, 2013, 9:48 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:.....many private sector companies go through ojt as a means of getting resources that they intend to k̶e̶e̶p̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶l̶o̶n̶g̶ ̶r̶u̶n̶. ride their back until they quit or want more and then rotate them out for new cheap labour.

Fixed :twisted:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 21st, 2013, 9:52 am

Wizz looking for people right now - go check them

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » February 21st, 2013, 10:20 am

^ How much Wizz paying?

kerwinn16

Postby kerwinn16 » February 21st, 2013, 10:27 am

alright its cool thanks to all the guys who commented and gave me postive advice

Postby dougla_boy » February 21st, 2013, 10:28 am

Cross Blood wrote:^ How much Wizz paying?

unless u have children and so forth to mine, i suggest u get experience den call big money.......

Postby cinco » February 21st, 2013, 10:48 am

Trac and R3ix have it about right
you dont get squat with those quals a degree will get you around 4 a month with no experience

Postby dougla_boy » February 21st, 2013, 11:17 am

cinco wrote:Trac and R3ix have it about right
you dont get squat with those quals a degree will get you around 4 a month with no experience

and on top of that, u need to be real good at it also. market getting saturated.

Postby AllTrac » February 21st, 2013, 11:20 am

I remember when those certs could of grabbed you a 7K salary, after that sheit started to get watered down and it went all down hill from there.

Postby cinco » February 21st, 2013, 11:24 am

AllTrac wrote:I remember when those certs could of grabbed you a 7K salary, after that sheit started to get watered down and it went all down hill from there.

well in those days you actually had to FIX shite now its buy and replace

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 21st, 2013, 11:36 am

dougla_boy wrote:

and on top of that, u need to be real good at it also. market getting saturated.

Market done saturated......

Postby AllTrac » February 21st, 2013, 11:36 am

dougla_boy wrote:

i hear alot of people saying this, but i beg to differ, I wont say saturated, just that companies throwing around these positions and people are not suitably qualified and experienced enough for it, hence there would always have IT vacancies and thousands of "system administrators" according to the title the employer gives them but they dont know the first thing in actually managing a system.
How many IT managers you know that can actually MANAGE an IT department, write and implement policies, budget etc and understand the workings of the IT department to keep it running ?
How many "System Administrators" you know can actually keep downtime to a minimum and bring a domain back live from catastrophic failure, troubleshoot exchange issues with out calling iiluminat and fujitsu all the time?
How many "Network Administrators" you know that can do basic stuff like packet sniff?
There is a guy in my IT department with the title of "IT Professional" i handed over a project to him and he didnt know what is meant by software life cycle

Id say that we have a shortage of REAL IT Managers, System Admins, Network Admins and Systems Analyst. I know my opinions might not be the same as others.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » February 21st, 2013, 11:37 am

Wizz will pay small money but you get alot of experience

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 21st, 2013, 11:44 am

AllTrac wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:

i hear alot of people saying this, but i beg to differ, I wont say saturated, just that companies throwing around these positions and people are not suitably qualified and experienced enough for it, hence there would always have IT vacancies and thousands of "system administrators" according to the title the employer gives them but they dont know the first thing in actually managing a system.
How many IT managers you know that can actually MANAGE an IT department, write and implement policies, budget etc and understand the workings of the IT department to keep it running ?
How many "System Administrators" you know can actually keep downtime to a minimum and bring a domain back live from catastrophic failure, troubleshoot exchange issues with out calling iiluminat and fujitsu all the time?
How many "Network Administrators" you know that can do basic stuff like packet sniff?
There is a guy in my IT department with the title of "IT Professional" i handed over a project to him and he didnt know what is meant by software life cycle

Id say that we have a shortage of REAL IT Managers, System Admins, Network Admins and Systems Analyst. I know my opinions might not be the same as others.

Very True!
IT told my boss his video card in his laptop bad and needs a new M/board. This time they ain't install the video drivers when they did a re-install the week before...

Daran

Postby Daran » February 21st, 2013, 11:48 am

I convinced most IT guys are idiots, in my experience 90% are game piong losers who don't understand the basics of computer hardware and software.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » February 21st, 2013, 11:51 am

If you studying money from early, then the I.T. field is not for you. That's why the market so saturated. Only studying money and not the actual work involved.

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 21st, 2013, 12:38 pm

I have to agree with pablo_tt, I replaced a gentleman with a wall of certs and degrees, but he refused to put in the work and expected to be paid just because he had certain certifications, salaries will be small in the beginning but the experience you receive as far as I am concerned is worth it.

There things like improvisation and thinking on your feet which you don't get in a classroom.
Best advise, which worked for me, look for an Internship and take the experience, the money will follow, but most important keep learning and harnessing your skills, don't become complacent.

Postby stev » February 21st, 2013, 12:41 pm

IT people are underpaid....i demand justice!!!

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 21st, 2013, 12:50 pm

stev wrote:IT people are underpaid....i demand justice!!!

I also agree with this, I have had people tell me they could do my job because they computer literate, I got the cold for two days and my phone was ringing non stop had to go out to work dead sick because no one could solve basic peripheral issues.

But that unfortunately is the view in the work place I could use this program, so why I need you and the slightest issue they are lost.

Postby stev » February 21st, 2013, 12:54 pm

IT guys make fixing a problem look easy when at times it may not be.

hard to get proper recognition for fixing a problem.

Postby dougla_boy » February 21st, 2013, 12:55 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:There things like improvisation and thinking on your feet which you don't get in a classroom. Best advise, which worked for me, look for an Internship and take the experience, the money will follow, but most important keep learning and harnessing your skills, don't become complacent.

that part in bold will refer to Alltrac statement about not being fully saturated.......thats what they lack....

other than that, this is good advice.