Two cops shot

BlackOps2

Re: Two cops shot

Postby BlackOps2 » February 20th, 2013, 11:17 am

3 bullets. Lungs and intestines punctured. Was a REALLY nice humble person. Gone to soon. Very hard on the fam. RIP Dale. When they kill The bandits mammy complainin how he never do nobody nothing and they want justice. Kill every forkin bandit. Rest on peace officer

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » February 20th, 2013, 11:44 am

RIP officer.

Very surprised to see the bandits still alive though.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 20th, 2013, 11:49 am

kaylex wrote:hangman doh solve nothing.. dont know why we feel so in Trinidad and Tobago nah>>>

Well what do you suggest bright bulb?

If we start hanging every Monday morning you'll see how things will change. Of course we need a functioning justice system to go with that.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 20th, 2013, 11:54 am

bluestarz9 wrote:sad black youths

What you mean ?

Postby toyolink » February 20th, 2013, 11:56 am

The loss of this officer is another tragic reminder of the mess we are in.
I wonder if these two officers were equipted to properly subdue and restrain the 3 or 4 suspects they detained,sinced based on the media reports which in themselves provide all kinds of differing infor,the officers were 'out-numbered'.
With my limited understanding of acceptable procedure in cases like these,things seemed to get crazy and back-up support wasn't immediately available.
How many 'good-men' must fall victim?
Sincerest condolences.

Postby dougla_boy » February 20th, 2013, 12:16 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
kaylex wrote:hangman doh solve nothing.. dont know why we feel so in Trinidad and Tobago nah>>>

If we start hanging every Monday morning you'll see how things will change. Of course we need a functioning justice system to go with that.

please explain how the hangman is gonna help

flvrufdwk

Postby flvrufdwk » February 20th, 2013, 12:49 pm

This is so god damn awful. R.I.P. Officer. Died in service to your country. Nobody could ask for more than that. We are so screwed.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » February 20th, 2013, 1:01 pm

tr1ad wrote:officer was a real nice guy, very proud to protect and serve

Still shocked, first time I met him he was so humble I didnt think he was holding that position. Real cool soul.

Postby K74T » February 20th, 2013, 3:24 pm

RIP officer.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 20th, 2013, 4:22 pm

Very unfortunate story...I cant believe it.....RIP to an officer....This guy has a family and lost his life in the line of duty....with his own gun....

good that the cops caught the killers though but sadly this cant bring back the officers life....

killers should have been judged on the spot......
Last edited by *$kїđž!™ on February 20th, 2013, 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 20th, 2013, 4:25 pm

hayden was originally from tableland....and so is the suspected killer.....wth...

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2013, 6:00 pm

oh gosh, I think I knew the dude.

RIP. :(

Spare them the trail, kill them!

Postby Spitfir3 » February 20th, 2013, 6:07 pm

black start wrote:4 suspects arrested after four hours. I commend the police on their efforts but why can't the rest of the population of Trinidad get this sort of service as well?

honestly i have to agree with this^ glad the police found these termites but why can't they operate the same for anyone else who AINT a police\bigshot nowadays if you get a simple mobile patrol yuh lucky farless for air support etc
anyways r.i.p officer

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » February 20th, 2013, 6:28 pm

RIP to the officer.

dougla_boy wrote:please explain how the hangman is gonna help

It probably might not reduce the crime rate (since these blasted fa99ots not afraid of anything) but at least they will be gone permanently so your money wouldn't be maintaining them in jail, and also you wouldn't have to worry about them being released after a few days/weeks to resume their nonsense.

On a different note, why was the 'suspect' covered in the pic/video?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 20th, 2013, 6:30 pm

fouljuice wrote:On a different note, why was the 'suspect' covered in the pic/video?

hopefully a body might show up somewhere as a jon doe......

Monster 101

Postby Monster 101 » February 20th, 2013, 6:42 pm

fouljuice wrote:RIP to the officer.

dougla_boy wrote:please explain how the hangman is gonna help

It probably might not reduce the crime rate (since these blasted fa99ots not afraid of anything) but at least they will be gone permanently so your money wouldn't be maintaining them in jail, and also you wouldn't have to worry about them being released after a few days/weeks to resume their nonsense.

On a different note, why was the 'suspect' covered in the pic/video?

for id parade purposes.....

if the victims see his pic they would easily identify him on the id parade line up.....

Firewall

Postby Firewall » February 20th, 2013, 8:03 pm

R.I.P hayden.

Used to live opposite my grandparents.

kb100

Postby kb100 » February 20th, 2013, 8:17 pm

R.I.P. Hayden...i waiting to hear someone to say "My son ain't no BANDIT"

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 20th, 2013, 9:29 pm

Firewall wrote:R.I.P hayden.

george village?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 20th, 2013, 9:29 pm

george village?

Postby pugboy » February 20th, 2013, 9:46 pm

so shall we expect "massive road block" exercises ?
state of emergency ?

Postby stev » February 20th, 2013, 9:50 pm

pugboy wrote:so shall we expect "massive road block" exercises ?
state of emergency ?

nope...same sheit, different day

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 20th, 2013, 10:14 pm

R.I.P. sergeant.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » February 20th, 2013, 10:44 pm

*$kїđž![TRADE MARK SIGN] wrote:

george village?

Yeah.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 20th, 2013, 11:43 pm

dougla_boy wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

At present criminals know there is no consequence for their action.

Remember the guy who murdered his neighbor and said he could do it because they don't hang anymore?

Execution is the only justice for the most heinous crime in law. If we take that away then what is left? How do we bring criminals to justice.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » February 20th, 2013, 11:44 pm

pugboy wrote:so shall we expect "massive road block" exercises ?
state of emergency ?

We can only hope.

Postby pioneer » February 20th, 2013, 11:47 pm

The TBA would not be pleased by police retaliation.

Postby rfari » February 20th, 2013, 11:48 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

At present criminals know there is no consequence for their action.

Remember the guy who murdered his neighbor and said he could do it because they don't hang anymore?

Execution is the only justice for the most heinous crime in law. If we take that away then what is left? How do we bring criminals to justice.

What effect does it have on a person if he knows that there is a very high possibility that he wouldn't be caught by police re: detection rate.
Hanging aint gonna do sheit.

Postby rfari » February 21st, 2013, 12:49 am

Slain cop’s partner: His sacrifice will not go in vain
Published:
Thursday, February 21, 2013
Yvonne Webb

Tweet

Text Size:

PC Nicholas Phillip shows his bandaged wound at a relative’s Diamond Village, San Fernando home last night. PHOTO: RISHI RAGOONATH

PC Nicholas Phillip will not easily forget the sight of his partner Sgt Hayden Manwaring slumped over the back seat of a getaway car they had intercepted, or the look in Manwaring’s eyes when he said he had been shot. Phillip said yesterday that Manwaring sacrificed his life to ensure the public’s safety as they tried to stop five robbery suspects escaping in San Fernando on Tuesday.

“I feel drained, weak, emotionally and mentally,” Phillip said in an interview with the T&T Guardian yesterday. Phillip was shot, too. He still has a bullet in his right arm, but doctors say it is not life-threatening. “I worked with the guy for a long time... he was a good man, a great police officer and a great human being,” Philip said of his fallen colleague, who, four years ago, took Phillip under his wing.

Phillip, 29, of Sobo Village, Palo Seco, called for police numbers to be strengthened, saying they were stretched to their limit. If there had been more than the two of them in the police car when they confronted the bandits on Tuesday, he said, the results could have been different. He said he and Manwaring had been doing interviews and so did not have on bulletproof vests when they heard a wireless report about a robbery nearby.

“We were not going on any robbery or crime scene,” he said. Told that police should always be prepared, he defended their action, saying ideally there should be more than two officers on patrol. “But the resources are stretched to the limit,” Phillip said. “This thing happened in seconds... help was nearby, but they were seconds too late.” He recalled hearing a police bulletin saying bandits had robbed a business place and escaped in an AD wagon.

Phillip and Manwaring, 43, of Couva, later spotted the wagon on Lady Hailes Avenue, San Fernando. “It looked like the driver and front-seat passenger were the only two occupants, so we decided we could handle them,” Phillip said. They called their command centre, to say they had seen the getaway car and were going to intercept it, then approached the car, he on the right side and Manwaring on the left.

“When we approached the vehicle and identified ourselves, we saw it was filled with three other occupants in the back seat,” Phillip said. They had not realised this before because the back seats were low and the occupants were not clearly visible from a distance. “When the guys saw the police, everybody immediately tried to exit the vehicle, through the door, the window, while we tried to contain them inside the vehicle, until help came,” Phillip said.

“As they tried to push open the door, Manwaring pushed back, but one of the guys apparently pushed the door open and snatched Manwaring’s firearm. “Then I heard several loud explosions. I was shot. Manwaring, who was leaning on the vehicle, fell into the back seat. I drew my service revolver and there was a second exchange of gunfire. Everybody scatter, except the driver of the getaway car. Sarge called me by name and told me he was shot. I looked down and saw a hole in his body. There was blood.”

Phillip ignored the blood running from the wound to his own right arm and told the driver of the getaway car to take his partner to the hospital. That driver was later arrested, along with three other suspects, one of whom is still warded with gunshot wounds. Phillip, who was treated and discharged, said he stayed at the hospital until Manwaring was brought out of the theatre after what appeared to be a successful surgery.

“We were all in the corridor when the doctors told us he was stable, although serious,” he said. He said police and members of Manwaring’s family began to celebrate and thank God. When they were told he had died, tears flowed uncontrollably, he said. “That was a real serious blow...This was a man I had worked closely with since I joined the service, five or six years ago, in the CID, Task Force and Operations,” he said.

Phillip swore that the tragedy had strengthened his resolve to do his part to rid the country of the scourge of crime. “Sarge made a huge sacrifice with his life, for his job and for the safety of the public, and I cannot let that go in vain,” he said. “I love my job, I will not stop being a police officer because of this. With the help of my colleagues, we will get a grip on crime.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-02-21/slain-cop’s-partner-his-sacrifice-will-not-go-vain

Family says Manwaring reformed criminals: He was more than a police officer
Published:
Thursday, February 21, 2013
Radhica Sookraj

Text Size:

Nadine Thomassian. left, sister of slain Police Sgt Hayden Manwaring, and her cousin Karen Ramdass talk with the Guardian as they look at photos of him at their George Village, Tableland home yesterday morning. PHOTO: RISHI RAGOONATH

Sgt Hayden Manwaring was a counsellor more than a police officer, because he reformed many criminals. This was why his family never imagined he would one day die at the hands of a criminal. Even prisoners liked him, his sister Nadine Thomassian said yesterday. Speaking at the family’s home at George Village, Tableland, she described him as a unique cop who was always cautious about his safety.

“He never took chances and he was very particular about security, especially around his family, because of his job,” Thomassian said. She could not explain why Manwaring was not wearing a bulletproof vest on the day he was shot by a robber in San Fernando on Tuesday. Manwaring and his colleague, PC Nicholas Phillip, were shot when they responded to a report of robbery at Mom’s Diner on Cipero Street, San Fernando. Phillip has since been discharged from hospital.

Recalling the tragedy yesterday, Thomassian said when she heard her brother had been shot with his own gun she went straight to the hospital. Manwaring was undergoing emergency surgery at the San Fernando General Hospital. “We spent several hours waiting for news and afterwards the doctors told us that he was stable but very critical...The doctors advised us to go home—and just as we reached we got the call from the hospital that he had died,” Thomassian said.

She said Manwaring was always an athletic person and had attended St Stephen’s College. “He was into all kinds of sports and at one point he was also into boxing...Then he decided to sign up for the Police Service,” Thomassian said. She explained that Manwaring took his responsibilities seriously and never missed his court dates. “He would interact with the criminals and the prisoners because he wanted to genuinely help them...That was the kind of person he was,” she added.

She said Manwaring had applied to be an inspector and was working assiduously to achieve it. His cousin, Karen Ramdass, said he was always a helpful cop. “He was a counsellor more than a police officer because he would treat criminals nicely and try to reform them,” she said. “He was never the type to punish you....He always tried to make changes to develop you if you were leading a life of crime.”

She added that Manwaring was a “people person” and knew how to do his job. Manwaring’s widow Kim declined comment yesterday. His two children, Kaddeal, 16, and Kylah, eight, were kept indoors. Kim’s sister said she was resting and was too traumatised to face the media. Kaddeal attends Presentation College in San Fernando and is expected to write the CXC exams this year.

Minister of National Security Jack Warner, who visited the family yesterday, said the death would not go in vain. “The best I can do for Manwaring is to bring back law and order in this country,” he said. He vowed to build a maritime wall around the country’s borders to keep out illegal guns and drugs. Warner also said he will attend Manwaring’s funeral next week. It is expected to be held in Tableland on Tuesday or Wednesday.

The four suspects, aged 21 to 27, of Princes Town and Tableland, who were held after Manwaring was shot dead, remained in custody yesterday. They are expected to appear before identification parades. Police Commissioner Stephen Williams has commended both officers for their bravery and extended condolences to Manwaring’s family.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-02- ... ce-officer
Last edited by rfari on February 21st, 2013, 12:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

link

Postby link » February 21st, 2013, 12:50 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:RIP officer.....hate to hear when good officers get cut down in duty. What did they put them to lie down in? The tray of a van? This incident reinforces the fact that police need vehicles with cages to put those criminals in when apprehended

WRONG....
police need to eliminate dem #$%^*(

effin' parasites on society & honest, hardworking ppl....
& u have pothong barkin' about 'flying squad' ?? ...I say Jack should make a ROCKET SQUAD fuh dem mofos
:fist: :fist: :fist: