Road reserve infront house: Government land?

Re: Road reserve infront house: Government land?

Postby MG Man » April 11th, 2012, 10:09 am

subsidized trees for everyone

crysys

Postby crysys » April 11th, 2012, 10:58 am

[quote]look here, I livin in this tree long time now and I does real make the place look nice.........if I wasn't living in this tree, CEPEP would have had to hire a gang to keep it looking nice. According to my research, the ratio of tree to CEPEP worker is 1:7 as follows:
1 whacker engineer
2 whacker debris blocking sheet holders
1 road sweeper
2 random persons doing nothing in particular[/quote]

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 24th, 2013, 11:07 pm

Guys,

Building a wall in front my home......the neighbours have on my right have left space from the drain up their wall....looks like a 4 ft......I am thinking to along the same line the 4 ft so both walls will look uniform...

however across the raod the neuighbours ahve only left 2 ft and built their wall claose to the roadway....

it looks better this way as they now have a bigger lawn.....

Is it law to leave a certain feet from the roadway.......cause I really would like to keep my land and have a bigger lawn as well.......

Postby rollingstock » January 25th, 2013, 12:26 am

Talk to someone at T&C, i think there is a specified distance your wall have to be from the roadway, not sure of the distance though.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 25th, 2013, 6:30 am

1) You can build your wall up to your boundary which is defined on your cadastral survey drawing and in the field with, usually, boundary iron markers.

2) Your house will have to be set back a certain distance from your boundary in accordance with the Town and Country Planning Division's regulations.

sliperywhenwet

Postby sliperywhenwet » January 25th, 2013, 8:36 am

[quote="rollingstock"]Talk to someone at T&C, i think there is a specified distance your wall have to be from the roadway, not sure of the distance though.[/quote

road reserve is the govt own , where your boundary line begins u can put up a wall and the building must begin 15' away from the side where the road reserve is located .

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 26th, 2013, 2:49 pm

Ok guy so if the wall can be built close to the roadway from where my boundary starts.....then that sounds great .

I understand that the house has to built about ft away from wall

Sounds good to build wall close to roadreserve and have a reasonable size front lawn

Postby ronsin1 » January 27th, 2013, 7:22 am

skidz yuh have some serious net lag issues hoss :lol:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 27th, 2013, 7:54 am

not sure whats happening there ...lol...

Postby Rooki3 » January 27th, 2013, 8:22 am

i doubt dais state land.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 27th, 2013, 8:51 pm

i gonna built my wall a couple inches from the road.....get a bigger front lawn.....to arse with following in line with the neighbours walll.....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 27th, 2013, 8:54 pm

Find your boundary irons and build your wall along that alignment.

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2013, 10:54 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:i gonna built my wall a couple inches from the road.....get a bigger front lawn.....to arse with following in line with the neighbours walll.....

damn right yo, nobody gives a fack. Hadda extend mine right up to the road too cuz across the road that seems to be the flick and I fed up report and complain.
F**k the law

Postby ronsin1 » January 28th, 2013, 5:34 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Find your boundary irons and build your wall along that alignment.

Best advice here avoid the conflict and build on the boundary line

Also from what I understand you can build a fence around your property no more than 7 feet high and don't need the permission on T&C

if you building a block wall on the sides and back you can build 7 feet however in the front you can only go 4 feet high and the other three feet can be wrought iron works or anything of that nature.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 28th, 2013, 6:13 pm

ok ronsi u seem to know a lot.....so tell me again ..just to be clear.......how much feet away from the road do i need to clear in when building the front wall?>.....

thanks bro....back wall and side going up already.....also chose to go with concrete blocks rather than chain link and stuff....

Postby Rooki3 » January 28th, 2013, 7:41 pm

u can build on yur boundary line

however wrt yur house, i think it has to have a 10ft min offset from yur bounds

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » January 28th, 2013, 8:28 pm

glad this topic came up because i have a neighbor who encroached 2ft inside the boundary into my land and proceeded to put up a structure on the already encroached land and has the roof of the structure over by me with the water draining towards me ....he also fenced the road reserve ...who can i complain to to have the situation rectified cuz this man tryin to make me get into trouble (trying my patience)...location couva .if anyone knows where town an country is located in couva..any and all valuable assistance would be appreciated....$eTt@

Postby toyolink » January 28th, 2013, 8:49 pm

Infor. and complaints associated with the subject of this thread is best directed to the office of the building inspector for the particular area.
In the case of Couva the office is located upstairs the grocery obliquely opposite Rajaram's pharmacy.In all other cases the building inspectors office is somewhere in the regional corp. or borough council offices.
T&C will most probably direct enquiries to the office identified here if at all.

Postby ronsin1 » January 28th, 2013, 9:03 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:ok ronsi u seem to know a lot.....so tell me again ..just to be clear.......how much feet away from the road do i need to clear in when building the front wall?>.....

thanks bro....back wall and side going up already.....also chose to go with concrete blocks rather than chain link and stuff....

you can build the wall on the boundary line just ensure you don't go more than the 4 to 5 ft high if I can find the letter form t&c when I was building a wall I will confirm the height in front
had an issue with a neighbour and they helped

Postby ronsin1 » January 28th, 2013, 9:06 pm

TrEnD$eTt@ wrote:glad this topic came up because i have a neighbor who encroached 2ft inside the boundary into my land and proceeded to put up a structure on the already encroached land and has the roof of the structure over by me with the water draining towards me ....he also fenced the road reserve ...who can i complain to to have the situation rectified cuz this man tryin to make me get into trouble (trying my patience)...location couva .if anyone knows where town an country is located in couva..any and all valuable assistance would be appreciated....$eTt@

town and county is your best bet regional cooperation will drag their foot

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » January 28th, 2013, 9:59 pm

but do they (tc) have power to enforce the law with regards to making the home owner break down what he built because he seems to be disregarding everyone...i even told him i dont want any roof over by me yet he has one and constructed another ........really frustrated and its as doh the law is for the lawless because if i break it down they will say i wrong .

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » January 28th, 2013, 10:11 pm

^^ I have a problem neighbor that built a wall in the middle of the Reserve road blocking the entrance to my back gate ,its been almost a year now that I have been trying to get the regional coop. to do something about it but because the said neighbor is friends with the councilor for the area they are doing nothing about it. I have currently referred the problem to Office of the Ombudsman to see if they can rectify the problem.If not I guess I will have to take legal action which may take years in this country :(

Postby rfari » January 28th, 2013, 10:22 pm

Cool story time.
One of my grandparents' neighbours decades ago decide to build his 2 storey extension on the boundary line between the properties with no guttering on the roof. When my grandmom questioned the legality of the structure, she was told 'trinidad eh have laws and besides you cyar stop dis lady'.
Many years after runoff from the roof apparently started to seep into the building and gradually rot the wooden beams. One day the neighbour came over to ask permission for workmen to setup scaffolding to be able to do repairs. Grandmom said no and reminded him about the concerns she raised when it was constructed. Now, that side of the extension is covered with moss and vines and most likely unoccupied

Postby Dizzy28 » January 29th, 2013, 8:55 am

Ramirez wrote:^^ I have a problem neighbor that built a wall in the middle of the Reserve road blocking the entrance to my back gate ,its been almost a year now that I have been trying to get the regional coop. to do something about it but because the said neighbor is friends with the councilor for the area they are doing nothing about it. I have currently referred the problem to Office of the Ombudsman to see if they can rectify the problem.If not I guess I will have to take legal action which may take years in this country :(

Typical problem with Trinidad. The road reserve to my brothers back gate is constantly blocked by rubbish (including things like old engine block) thrown by his neighbour, a Magistrate none the less. And then they wanna lecture we on doing the right thing.

Postby ronsin1 » January 29th, 2013, 6:23 pm

TrEnD$eTt@ wrote:but do they (tc) have power to enforce the law with regards to making the home owner break down what he built because he seems to be disregarding everyone...i even told him i dont want any roof over by me yet he has one and constructed another ........really frustrated and its as doh the law is for the lawless because if i break it down they will say i wrong .

Once your documents in order i.e. deed (RPO) or (COT)
you can seek the advise of a lawyer and have the lawyer copy Town and Country and the Regional cooperation.

they act faster.

if it goes to court and you can prove that it is an illegal structure the court will award cost you paid plus instruct the the persons involved to remove the structure within a time frame specified and it that does not happen they will appoint a court marshal and contractor to demolish the said structure at the cost of the owner

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 16th, 2013, 2:23 am

front wall going up.....would have like to go straight up to the boundary but may go in line with the neighbours for the street to have some uniformity but will utilise the piece outside the wall to plant a nice flowers bed....

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » February 17th, 2013, 9:50 am

Ah padna get charge for that already

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 17th, 2013, 10:45 am

playerskrew wrote:Ah padna get charge for that already

bro are u serious.....Please explain.....as my front wall is going up next week....

Postby Rory Phoulorie » February 17th, 2013, 11:49 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:front wall going up.....would have like to go straight up to the boundary but may go in line with the neighbours for the street to have some uniformity but will utilise the piece outside the wall to plant a nice flowers bed....

As long as your flower bed does not encroach within State Land (road reserve), you have nothing to fear. Just ensure that you know where your boundary irons are in case anyone questions the location of your flower bed.

Postby ronsin1 » February 17th, 2013, 4:51 pm

had our land surveyed yesterday as there was issues and all sorts of stories on where the boundary line and picket points were (the Boundary irons were removed mysteriously)
Confirmed that the neighbor had encroached on the lot. and put up their chain link fence.

as soon as I get the official documents from the Surveyor it will be sent to the lawyers informing them of the issues and a time frame it needs to be resolved by.