*OFFICIAL* Cycling Training & Racing

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 5:43 am

Ok folks, Starting a cycling ched on training , fitness and racing. Feel free to log any questions on cycling. I am a cert road cycling coach (UCI) and ex cyclist . Also know alot on the deep drug world from asprin to blood transfusions.

Re: *OFFICIAL* Cycling Training & Racing

Postby RASC » January 22nd, 2013, 6:24 am

Drugs, PP Supporter, Ex-Cyclist...

Seems Legit-Carry On.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 6:29 am

RASC wrote:Drugs, PP Supporter, Ex-Cyclist...

Seems Legit-Carry On.

The drugs part is to show the dangers that it can do your health.
Last edited by zoom rader on January 24th, 2013, 4:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » January 22nd, 2013, 6:45 am

RASC wrote:Drugs, PP Supporter, Ex-Cyclist...

Seems Legit-Carry On.

The drugs part is to show the dangers that it can do your health. All UCI coaches go though this.

Why do so many teams train on the highway even though, it's clearly illegal?

...ah mean to say we all do illegal things from time to time, but no one within the fraternity has made a public outcry towards other members that this foolishness must stop? Just curious as to what is happening behinds the scenes with this continuing issue.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 7:05 am

The only highway that is illegal is the Solomon Hochoy highway. There are group rides that have police escort which allow them use of the Hochoy. However some racing cyclist still train on the Hochoy from about 4am to 6.30am, its a chance they take. Some officers do stop them and warn them, but over time these officers know the real racing cyclist from non cyclist.
Another reason why they use the Hochoy because its safer than back roads with less pot holes. When last have you heard that a racing cyclist got hit/killed on the Hochoy.

As for drugs in cycling it will never stop. Cyclist use all sorts of drugs even asprin, cups of coffee, Coca-cola (with cocain), injected horse vitamins, vigara and the list goes on.

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2013, 7:05 am

what types of UCI coaches/levels are there ?

I looking to drop 10lbs this year and hopefully be a better climber, lol

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 7:20 am

pugboy wrote:what types of UCI coaches/levels are there ?

I looking to drop 10lbs this year and hopefully be a better climber, lol

3 levels of coaches, 1, 2 , 3. 3 is the highest.

10lbs drop. Simple stop eating rice ( only 1 cup u need), flour,sugar and high useless carbs. These pack fat on you. Dont eat after 8pm at nights. Do some longer rides 3-4 hrs (spin) once a week to burn the fat off. To climb short hills you need power work on large gears, sprinting up short hills <200metres on a 53 plate. Longer climbs you gonna have to work your threshold, you can do 5 min intevals at ur thresholds. Make sure you have high milage in your legs before you do any intervals as you will need base fitness.

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » January 22nd, 2013, 8:42 am

ah like this thread keep up the good advice

Postby eliteauto » January 22nd, 2013, 8:49 am

good thread ZR, for cycling for fitness/cardio what are your thoughts on using a trail bike with road tyres vs a dedicated road bike?

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 9:12 am

^^^ Trail bike or mounting bike riding is alot of fun if you like the trill of riding on gravel roads climbing dirt hills. Trail bikes have a more relaxed geometry that are built to help your knees and keep you body flexible. A road bike has more sharp angles that keeps u in a more rigid postion,you can get back problems if ur road bike is not set correctly.

If your using a trail bike for road cycling fun, some fitness then its best way to go since we have rough roads. If however you are looking for serious weight loss,fitness and racing then a proper road bike is must. A lot of pros use trail bike riding in their off season, only a few in trini do this. Most trail bike cyclist are very good hill climbers on the racing scene. Lance , lemond still do alot of trail bike riding.

Postby turbosingh » January 22nd, 2013, 9:22 am

Me an my bro are professional cyclist as well,any time in South PM me.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 9:23 am

^^^ Feel free to ask any questions here bro on road cycling

Aquarius

Postby Aquarius » January 22nd, 2013, 10:49 am

He, nice thread....i have a mountain bike, i'm 5'7" and riding a 26" frame. but i cant find the comfortable height to adjust my bike seat. does it have to be lower that the handle or higher?? it hurt my butt.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 11:15 am

Aquarius wrote:He, nice thread....i have a mountain bike, i'm 5'7" and riding a 26" frame. but i cant find the comfortable height to adjust my bike seat. does it have to be lower that the handle or higher?? it hurt my butt.

Here a rough way to set ur bike.
1. Sit on you saddle place you one of ur HEEL (not ball of feet) with shoes on one of the pedal downstoke.
2. Adjust you seat untill you have a slight bend on knee at around 20 degs. ( bend is behind ur knee).
You will get near maxium pedal power stroke if this done.
This is for Mounting bike fitting. road bikes have to be spot on.

and thats it, u may have to adjust the handle bar/stem height to suit ur back.

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 22nd, 2013, 11:28 am

nice thread. im trying to build up my uphill stamina.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 11:34 am

^^^ Cycling is about learning to spin light gears at 80-90+ revs/min. Just do lots of riding on light gears and it will build your areobic endurance (stamina). If ur a newbe then start of doing 5miles a day and slowly build till you up to about 25 miles a day. Dont rush it, just pedal and enjoy the ride. but you got to do it everyday. You will loose a lil weigh and feel much better as you get fitter.

W2J

Postby W2J » January 22nd, 2013, 1:03 pm

I ride 4 days a week doing 15 miles / per day @ 15MPH average with a 145-150bpm on flat to 250ft elevated surface.

sandfly

Postby sandfly » January 22nd, 2013, 1:06 pm

I'd like to know all the laws regarding to cycling in T&T and also the penalties for breaking them. Also does the laws apply to off road situations eg. parks and private property. Fed up with those mickey mouse police threatening to take my bike.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 1:23 pm

W2J wrote:I ride 4 days a week doing 15 miles / per day @ 15MPH average with a 145-150bpm on flat to 250ft elevated surface.

Hey, well done. Its time to up your rides to 20-25miles, keep on light gears and spin.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 1:29 pm

sandfly wrote:I'd like to know all the laws regarding to cycling in T&T and also the penalties for breaking them. Also does the laws apply to off road situations eg. parks and private property. Fed up with those mickey mouse police threatening to take my bike.

The only roads you cant ride on is the Solomon Hochoy and private roads (point lisas est).
You cant ride at night unless you have lights on your bike.Can be charged for this.
Just as cars you have to obey all traffic laws, red light ect.Can be charged for this.

Aquarius

Postby Aquarius » January 22nd, 2013, 1:52 pm

zoom rader wrote:Simple stop eating rice ( only 1 cup u need).

this is so hard for me, what are the other alternatives are there to keep you full throughout the day??? whats a basic meal plan for you??

W2J

Postby W2J » January 22nd, 2013, 4:03 pm

W2J wrote:I ride 4 days a week doing 15 miles / per day @ 15MPH average with a 145-150bpm on flat to 250ft elevated surface.

Hey, well done. Its time to up your rides to 20-25miles, keep on light gears and spin.

Thanks bro, working on getting up there very very soon.

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2013, 4:04 pm

btw anybody here using a powermeter ?
I have had a powertap couple years now.

Postby Habit7 » January 22nd, 2013, 4:19 pm

I am not much of a cyclist.

Spin all the way!

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 5:32 pm

pugboy wrote:btw anybody here using a powermeter ?
I have had a powertap couple years now.

Dude powermeters are gold !

Are you using the meter? Whats your 20min threshold?

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 5:41 pm

Aquarius wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Simple stop eating rice ( only 1 cup u need).

this is so hard for me, what are the other alternatives are there to keep you full throughout the day??? whats a basic meal plan for you??

Losing fat via cycling is the same for bodybuilding fat loss, there are lots of infor in the tuner offical bodybuildling ched.
Its all the same, you got to eat complex cabs in smaller portions. Dont eat white flour,bread roti, fast foods ,doubles, sodas.
Eat more lean meats , boiled eggs ,vegs,non salted nuts ,not sugary fruits.

Postby nervewrecker » January 22nd, 2013, 5:51 pm

gosh, I need to get back a bike yes. :(

Postby shogun » January 22nd, 2013, 6:15 pm

This thread interests me.

*pulls a chair*

Amit

Postby Amit » January 22nd, 2013, 6:25 pm

good info.
i usually ride 4-5 days a week, any riders from central?

Postby shogun » January 22nd, 2013, 6:31 pm

Where allyuh getting that kinda time?

Think i go riding maybe 2wice a week, if i get a lil extra free time.