THA Elections

Who do you believe will win the THA elections?

60%
PNM
40%

Total votes: 93

Re: THA Elections

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 21st, 2013, 11:50 pm

fraggle wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
fraggle wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Hey fraggle, yuh avoiding me bra?

No im ignoring you....difference.

Why? I just asked for a criteria by which you passed judgement

I have a better question for you....how is it not the worst central government of my generation......PS i could pass judgement cuz i am a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago they work for me.

I can't answer that if I don't know what I'm judging them on now can I? I could state my personal opinion but that's not the point here is it?

I'm just asking what I would think is a simple question cause I've heard so many people refer to the pp like that for this election so I just wanna know how ppl reach there.

toybago

Postby toybago » January 21st, 2013, 11:55 pm

fraggle wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:^^ you could ramp and skin all you want because I'm not bitter. If the PNM won it fair and without bringing up the issue of race then kudos to them and Mr. Orville London.

I'm simply saying now that we know the mindset of a large number of Tobagonians I think that I would be safer in Trinidad.

Not hating at all.
ini
I dont want to believe you really thinking this dumb.......steups look at the murder rate in Trinidad, and tobogonians dont speak like this when we have to live there to attend UWI and rent apartments and support all allyu wholesale businesses ......wa kinda dark age talk u on.

is exactly that kinda "dark age talk" i was referring to.....

Postby pioneer » January 21st, 2013, 11:58 pm

fraggle

Postby fraggle » January 22nd, 2013, 12:00 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
fraggle wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:
fraggle wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:Hey fraggle, yuh avoiding me bra?

No im ignoring you....difference.

Why? I just asked for a criteria by which you passed judgement

I have a better question for you....how is it not the worst central government of my generation......PS i could pass judgement cuz i am a citizen of Trinidad and Tobago they work for me.

I can't answer that if I don't know what I'm judging them on now can I? I could state my personal opinion but that's not the point here is it?

I'm just asking what I would think is a simple question cause I've heard so many people refer to the pp like that for this election so I just wanna know how ppl reach there.

Oh please brother...........SOE......section 34........BAE fiasco........TOP failure under PP assistance.....ah doh have enough space.....doh be on crap nah yu know no matter what i say you go have contention......my friend they are the worst.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 22nd, 2013, 12:00 am

rfari wrote:Who chop the man today? - top supporter
Who beat up the girl? - top supporter

And that kid suddenly feels unsafe in bago:-?

Were you there when it happened chile? Only repeating what you hear. The fact is there was an incident and people were injured. I don't know who started it and I'm sure you don't either.

I have been to Tobago many times before so I am not hating on the people or island. Nobody wanna face up to the reality of what Hilton Sandy said and the implications. The crowd and the rest of the PNM cheered so to me it says something profound. Now that elections over you think all of them gonna just forget or keep it in their minds?

:evilbat:

Postby Rooki3 » January 22nd, 2013, 12:03 am

lol @ pumpkin leaves

feel i goin in town yes, hearing d celebration

*rummages for red jersey*

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 22nd, 2013, 12:04 am

toybago wrote:
fraggle wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:^^ you could ramp and skin all you want because I'm not bitter. If the PNM won it fair and without bringing up the issue of race then kudos to them and Mr. Orville London.

I'm simply saying now that we know the mindset of a large number of Tobagonians I think that I would be safer in Trinidad.

Not hating at all.
ini
I dont want to believe you really thinking this dumb.......steups look at the murder rate in Trinidad, and tobogonians dont speak like this when we have to live there to attend UWI and rent apartments and support all allyu wholesale businesses ......wa kinda dark age talk u on.

So wait a man made a racist statement that could have implications for my safety in Tobago and I'm being 'dark ages' because I'm taking precaution?

fraggle

Postby fraggle » January 22nd, 2013, 12:06 am

toyota2nr wrote:

Were you there when it happened chile? Only repeating what you hear. The fact is there was an incident and people were injured. I don't know who started it and I'm sure you don't either.

I have been to Tobago many times before so I am not hating on the people or island. Nobody wanna face up to the reality of what Hilton Sandy said and the implications. The crowd and the rest of the PNM cheered so to me it says something profound. Now that elections over you think all of them gonna just forget or keep it in their minds?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: trust me ...you far from the reality that is tobago....so what about the indians that born and grow up in tobago......wa we go do dem then ...steups

Last edited by fraggle on January 22nd, 2013, 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby rfari » January 22nd, 2013, 12:08 am

toyota2nr wrote:

And if top won, the same ppl that cheered would still be there. Ent?....ent? But top lorse and suddenly u unsafe. :-?

Hoss u know what? Is time for everyone to put this elections behind them and live with some measure of peace and harmony. I respect your right to feel safer in trinidad. Can we leave it at that for the moment? Nothing personal.

fraggle

Postby fraggle » January 22nd, 2013, 12:11 am

rfari wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:

And if top won, the same ppl that cheered would still be there. Ent?....ent? But top lorse and suddenly u unsafe. :-?

Hoss u know what? Is time for everyone to put this elections behind them and live with some measure of peace and harmony. I respect your right to feel safer in trinidad. Can we leave it at that for the moment? Nothing personal.

True that......and with that i going into Scarborough yes. Peace

toybago

Postby toybago » January 22nd, 2013, 12:19 am

rfari wrote:I respect your right to feel safer in trinidad.

me thinks there be an oxymoron somewhere there....or maybe is just a mor.......

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » January 22nd, 2013, 12:21 am

im not a pnm supporter.. but tobago did the right thing. having the pp control both islands could have longstanding implications that the ppl of both islands may not have what it takes to stand up to.

the president's warning says it all. this pp government is in league with some big experienced law advisors finding loopholes to barely remain legal in corrupt practices.. if not illegal.. immoral.

the placement of unqualified persons to positions they dont deserve. the soe, section 34 and the current attempts to implement a full on police state. controlling the media and all the other dirty tricks to cling to power.

ppl will re-elect u if u doing good things for the country.. but what i see in this government is an attempt at attacking the constitution under the cover of the words 'constitutional reform', and plans to remain in power thru dictorship style practices.

they will have to go next election. dont fall for any seemingly nice things they do in these final years before the election to buy u.

also.. let us watch and see if crime start to soar in tobago over the next couple years to undermine the faith in the current leadership.

again.. tobago did the right thing. u must never give one party too much power. and the TOP was obviously not going to be independent when they would be owing favours to the PP for all the help if they had won.

Postby rfari » January 22nd, 2013, 12:26 am

‘Kamla played into PNM hands’
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 21, 2013 at 11:46 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Jan 21, 2013 at 11:49 PM ECT )
THE People’s Partnership administration played right into the hands of the People’s National Movement (PNM).
And this led to the demise of the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) in the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) election.
So said political analyst Derek Ramsamooj and economist Dr Vanus James during a panel discussion on the THA election held on TV6 last night.
James said one of the issues that helped the PNM in its landslide victory was Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s decision to pilot the THA 2013 Amendment Bill in Parliament.
“I would like to point out behind all that is the fundamental issue of proper representation for Tobagonians in the nation. This bill has said nothing about it, proper representation, and the fundamental issue is do Tobagonians have a genuine voice. Do we have equal status with Trinidad. That is what the prime minister promised, she said equal status and I have a colleague who keeps reminding me that this is the first prime minister to promise that and then did not deliver that in either the green paper or in the bill,” James said.
He said this caused the “swing voters” who voted for the TOP in the 2010 general election to change their minds this time around.
The TOP won the two Tobago constituencies in the 2010 general election.
“I think what the PNM did was clever, they simply allowed the prime minister to make the mistakes and when she laid the bill in the House promising mechanisms that would effectively emasculate, the House, the Tobago House of Assembly I think that was an error and the PNM simply essentially allowed that,” James said.
Ramsamooj agreed.
“They allowed the error to flow. The PNM have not put in the public domain a credible alternative and what happened was basically unfortunately the People’s Partnership played right into the PNM’s hands,” Ramsamooj said.
James described the Tobago electorate as a “thoughtful society” who are not swayed by theatrics on the political platform.
He said he lauded the decision by Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley to take a back seat and allow THA Chief Secretary Orville London to lead the party’s election campaign.
The TOP and the People’s Partnership, however, did not follow suit.
James said the Tobago electorate view their leaders as equivalent to the prime minister and Ashworth Jack did not inspire that reaction.
Ramsamooj said in the 2010 general election when the PNM lost to the TOP the vote was against former prime minister Patrick Manning.
This election, however, was not based on the London’s tenure as chief secretary but rather Persad-Bissessar’s performance as prime minister.
“They made this election a referendum of her (Persad-Bissessar’s) leadership,” Ramsamooj said.
Jack was rejected as a leader because he was a “troubled candidate”.
James said the issue of Jack’s house was a major factor that led to the eventual rejection of him as leader.
“He (Jack) did not stamp the election with a capacity to lead Tobago,” Ramsamooj said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kam ... 27241.html

Postby Habit7 » January 22nd, 2013, 12:28 am

toyota2nr wrote:
toybago wrote:
fraggle wrote:

Not hating at all.
ini

So wait a man made a racist statement that could have implications for my safety in Tobago and I'm being 'dark ages' because I'm taking precaution?

wow toyota2nr I did not you had it so bad.

BTW Race did not play a factor because in 2010 the same ppl voted overwhelmingly for the TOP.

And Sandy's Calcutta statement was publicised after the Solution by Simulation poll that predicted a 11-1 victory of the PNM.

Please consider, like the rest of the country, that this election was a referendum on KPB and the PP.

Postby pioneer » January 22nd, 2013, 12:29 am

inb4 Ramsamooj is ah pnm

Postby rfari » January 22nd, 2013, 12:38 am

Jack: Blame me
TOP leader to decide on future in 48 hours
By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jan 21, 2013 at 11:48 PM ECT

(Story Updated: Jan 21, 2013 at 11:48 PM ECT )
IN 48 hours, political leader of the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) Ashworth Jack will make a decision on his political future.
Jack, speaking at the TOP's party headquarters at Scarborough last night at around 10.35 p.m., conceded defeat and extended congratulations to the People’s National Movement (PNM) and his political opponent, Orville London.
Jack, who looked tearful, said he accepts full blame for the TOP’s convincing defeat.
“In the next couple of days, I will meet with the executive of the TOP to assess what has happened and I will assess my own future in terms of the politics,” he said.
Asked whether this meant he will bow out of politics completely, he said, “I have to speak to the party and, based on how the rest of the party feels, I will make a decision based on that. I would not want to become an albatross around the neck of the party, if that is how the party feels I will gracefully deal with it.”
For 16 years Jack had been the representative of the people of Mason Hall/Providence/Moriah, he lost his seat yesterday to the PNM. He last served as the Minority Leader of the THA and boasted during the election campaign that he had turned down an offer of a position as a government senator to become the next chief secretary.
Asked if he expected to lose his seat, Jack said he was “shocked” by the outcome, but democracy prevails.
“I think if you asked me personally what we did wrong I wouldn’t be able to tell you off-hand, I think we did everything that I think was necessary for Tobago’s development and the people have spoken, in a democracy we have to respect the views of the people,” he said.
“Let me also say to the chairman and the rest of the organisation, I take full responsibility for whatever the outcome of this election is. I blame no candidate, I blame no member of the executive, I blame no other member of the party, I take full responsibility as the leader of the party for the results of this election,” he added.
He reiterated that the future of the TOP will be determined by whatever decision he makes in two days.
“For every victory, for every defeat there are lessons to be learnt,” said Jack.
Before Jack’s arrival, shock and disappointment were all over the faces of supporters of the TOP’s camp.
The TOP office was visibly not prepared for any celebration in contrast to the PNM camp, located a short distance away. TOP supporters were glued to the television set, and as the preliminary results came in, sadness grew.
Even before the final vote was counted, supporters of the PNM were out in the streets dancing, ringing bells and celebrating sweet victory- in front of the TOP’s office.
TOP chairman Lionel Coker told the Express the party is willing to work with the PNM for Tobago’s development.
The TOP’s aggressive advertising campaign dwarfed the PNM election machinery, with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar and several government ministers endorsing the TOP, a coalition partner in the ruling People’s Partnership.

www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Jack-Blame ... 27411.html

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 22nd, 2013, 12:43 am

Habit7 wrote:wow toyota2nr I did not you had it so bad.

BTW Race did not play a factor because in 2010 the same ppl voted overwhelmingly for the TOP.

And Sandy's Calcutta statement was publicised after the Solution by Simulation poll that predicted a 11-1 victory of the PNM.

Please consider, like the rest of the country, that this election was a referendum on KPB and the PP.

At least we agree on the last part. BTW what do I have so bad?

Postby Habit7 » January 22nd, 2013, 1:05 am

toyota2nr wrote:I'm simply saying now that we know the mindset of a large number of Tobagonians I think that I would be safer in Trinidad.

"It" is whatever you have that after your many visits to Tobago, a statistically higher crime rate in Trinidad and the fact this is not the first landslide victory for the PNM (in 2005 PNM won 11-1 to the DAC during a PNM central gov't), you can make such idiotic statements as the one above.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » January 22nd, 2013, 1:13 am

^^ if you consider it idiotic that's ok I still respect your opinion.

Postby Habit7 » January 22nd, 2013, 1:17 am

Thank you for being civil, let us unite as one nation and not let politics divide us.

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 5:00 am

Maybe now Sat will get his place of worship in Tobago under the PNM THA.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 22nd, 2013, 5:20 am

zoom rader wrote:Maybe now Sat will get his place of worship in Tobago under the PNM THA.

How's the heart?

Postby brams112 » January 22nd, 2013, 5:46 am

Habit7 wrote:Thank you for being civil, let us unite as one nation and not let politics divide us.

Same thing i always say,who kams and company felt tobago wouldhave really voted for in the first place?Propaganda always fools the fools,plus they voted against trinidad and the ship that go tek way dey land :lol: :lol: :lol:,to those who feel they hate indians,they hate their own the same way also more than anyone thinks,,,so who going for a breeze out for the carnival weekend :lol: we still have to live,dont let politicians let us hate each other,espically the closet haters.

pyung99

Postby pyung99 » January 22nd, 2013, 6:06 am

close d poll on this ched OP! :D ppl cheatin

tobago just do not have a party strong enough to oppose pnm.

this was not a referendum vs kamla or pp, simply put they trusted d devil they knew rather than the devil they didnt.

Postby RASC » January 22nd, 2013, 6:07 am

Just saying hi...

HI :)

Postby zoom rader » January 22nd, 2013, 6:33 am

^^^ Was your "PNM abroad " ban lifted?

Postby RASC » January 22nd, 2013, 6:43 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Was your "PNM abroad " ban lifted?

Yes

Postby pioneer » January 22nd, 2013, 7:07 am

More lix to come.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » January 22nd, 2013, 7:30 am

No wonder tobago will stay exactly as it is and its people will remain as they are.....

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » January 22nd, 2013, 7:55 am

Congratulations to the PNM in this win. The people of Tobago despite everything still prefer the current team to lead. IMHO, after the calcutta statement, the people cheered and clapped so it means the PM and her TOP comrades never had a chance in the first place.