Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Reefplanet

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Reefplanet » January 20th, 2013, 9:19 pm

HondaB20B wrote:hard luck, i was watching the second vid............not the first. That looking like (could be wrong) a gold banded maroon clown thats under some additionally blue lighting. Certain colors look different under actinics, violets and other blue lighting. For instance, my bartlet anthias are pink and yellow with black eyes and under full actinics, they get purple and blue with very bight blue eyes.............. thats how some fish are i guess

Ohhh right thanx
aye i realized my cyano problem was of low flow in my tank i have 2 crappy powerheads that i thought was good flow but turn out to have about 80gph each :| ....i going to buy a koralia 850gph soon trying to order it this week.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 20th, 2013, 9:37 pm

raj sells korallias.............

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 21st, 2013, 10:07 am

Likewise I also need another powerhead.

Also anyone interested in a 1/10HP Corallife chiller rated for 55gal PM me. Got this shipped in error, never used, never opened the box.
http://www.coralifeproducts.com/product/chillers/

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 21st, 2013, 3:31 pm

Aye fellas. I haven't been posting much as I've been really tied up. I'm posting a FTS and some close ups to show how the tank has been progressing. Its pretty much on auto pilot these days other than the occasional alkalinity, Calcium and Magnesium tweak.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 21st, 2013, 3:36 pm

i dont like watching pictures of corals when i have no money...
Raj does sell korallias hmm does he have 850gph for 40US

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 21st, 2013, 3:55 pm

Fishman, the tank still looking good..................... What camera you using

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 21st, 2013, 4:02 pm

Thanks Honda. I borrowed a camera to shoot the tank. It is a Canon EOS Rebel T1i.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 21st, 2013, 4:04 pm

^^............ Ineed to get a better cam to take my shots. i dont get the bright colors like you.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 21st, 2013, 4:33 pm

Fishman i find your tank....wow like better that the great barrier reef and your corals look so healthy
you start fragging?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 21st, 2013, 4:43 pm

Fishman wrote:Aye fellas. I haven't been posting much as I've been really tied up. I'm posting a FTS and some close ups to show how the tank has been progressing. Its pretty much on auto pilot these days other than the occasional alkalinity, Calcium and Magnesium tweak.

:shock: .......sigh.....really don't know when I will start...*hides from B20B*

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 21st, 2013, 5:37 pm

^^^^...... yuh have ah rite to say that. I not takin you on? I have some damsels waiting on you here.
tell yuh just set up ah 20gal self to start off

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 21st, 2013, 5:41 pm

Raj say he doesnt sell korallia powerheads :| :? ..............

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 21st, 2013, 5:59 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Raj say he doesnt sell korallia powerheads :| :? ..............

well then he stop then. Which means he more pushing the other brands he supplies. marineland and vortech (MP10, 40 & 60's) along with the Sicce and Danner (magdrive pumps)

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 21st, 2013, 6:09 pm

ohhh geeed marineland i not buying anything form marineland
I wanted the korallia 850 or some pump with 850gph and no more than 300

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 21st, 2013, 6:19 pm

HondaB20B wrote:^^............ Ineed to get a better cam to take my shots. i dont get the bright colors like you.

Cameras have a really hard time with our tanks because of the intensity of the lights and spectrum. What I do is shoot in RAW format and then adjust the white balance, brightness, and contrast after. The cameras don't have a white balance temp high enough built into them which is why shooting in RAW and post processing is important. Even with that it is still really hard to capture true colours.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 21st, 2013, 6:22 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Fishman i find your tank....wow like better that the great barrier reef and your corals look so healthy
you start fragging?

Lol. Thanks. No I haven't been fragging. Just don't have the time or space for frags to encrust at the moment.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 21st, 2013, 6:27 pm

Reefplanet wrote:Raj say he doesnt sell korallia powerheads :| :? ..............

I would skip Korallia on the whole. From experience I don't think they are worth it. I had problems with them starting in reverse, clicking and stray voltage. I use mine now to mix fresh salt water and use a GFCI to plug them into because of the possibility of stray voltage. If you can I would look at Vortech or Tunze. Both are well made power heads.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 21st, 2013, 6:56 pm

Reefplanet wrote:ohhh geeed marineland i not buying anything form marineland
I wanted the korallia 850 or some pump with 850gph and no more than 300

The marineland powerheads are upgraded and better than before now. Allot better than the long time ones. They are powerheads and pumps all in one. I have one on my phosban reactor running 24/7 since october 2011 and never give any trouble.
Fishman, i'm really hoping to invest in a good underwater camera with strobe for when i'm diving so i'll use that instead. I'll try what you said to use for the time.......thanks.

Greenlime, check your PM on RC

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 21st, 2013, 7:05 pm

Fishman wrote:

I would skip Korallia on the whole. From experience I don't think they are worth it. I had problems with them starting in reverse, clicking and stray voltage. I use mine now to mix fresh salt water and use a GFCI to plug them into because of the possibility of stray voltage. If you can I would look at Vortech or Tunze. Both are well made power heads.

I running 2 korallias (think its the #3 & #4) on my (FOWLR) 75gal over 2 yrs now. I aint go lie, is real plenty noise when current comes back....................KLACK, KLACK, KLACK KLACK, KLACK, KLACK, KLACK, KLACK, KLACK, KLACK, KLACK, KLACK.........then it starts. but its a nice cheap pump. PUSHES A FAIR AMOUNT OF WATER AND WIDE FLOW.
Last edited by HondaB20B on January 21st, 2013, 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

netsket

Postby netsket » January 21st, 2013, 7:15 pm

I have 2 to sell if u interested. one brand new and one slightly used. will have to check the model and give u a price. send me a pm if interested

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 21st, 2013, 8:24 pm

well i guess i might try the other brands

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 21st, 2013, 8:39 pm

Reefplanet wrote:well i guess i might try the other brands

THE KORALIAS WORK GREAT, IF YOU GETTING IT AT A GOOD PRICE TAKE IT. I LIKED IT CAUSE OF ITS WIDE FLOW THATS IDEAL FOR MOST CORALS. UNLIKE SOME OTHERS THAT HAS A NOZZLE. VORTECHS REAL GOOD BUT ITS JUST THEY TOO EXPENSIVE. I love them cause of the tidal effects and other modes Corals and fish enjoy it. Reefplanet take the powerheads.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 21st, 2013, 8:50 pm

I currently have a Koralias 550 and its working great, but I bought this a long while ago, If i knew better I would have opted for one of the better brands tho.
May buy a smaller one to add some extra flow.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 21st, 2013, 9:02 pm

Reef Central moving real slow :? Honda I trying to reply... soon as it load properly lol

Fishman

Postby Fishman » January 21st, 2013, 10:01 pm

Not knocking the Korallia's price point and value, but build quality is where my main issue was. Stray Voltage is just too risky IMO.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 21st, 2013, 10:08 pm

Fishman wrote:Not knocking the Korallia's price point and value, but build quality is where my main issue was. Stray Voltage is just too risky IMO.

Actually i should be checking on that in m tank. At least we dont have to worry about that with the vortechs

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » January 21st, 2013, 10:14 pm

Not knocking the Korallia's price point and value, but build quality is where my main issue was. Stray Voltage is just too risky IMO.

Depending on the price Raj have the Vortechs for mabe ill upgrade and use the Korallias to mix saltwater. But noted and thanks for the heads up !

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 21st, 2013, 10:20 pm

greenlime100 wrote:

Depending on the price Raj have the Vortechs for mabe ill upgrade and use the Korallias to mix saltwater. But noted and thanks for the heads up !

MP40's are like $3500 by him i think. Online they are $465US ($2975TT), then you still have to pay shipping. I love how they work wireless and in the anti-sync mode

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » January 22nd, 2013, 3:29 pm

South Beach aquariums got in some alligator gars and stingrays, I saw he has some pretty rare plecos in stock again.

Reefplanet

Postby Reefplanet » January 22nd, 2013, 6:24 pm

So buy the korallias or the vortechs cause them like 100us