ru$$ell wrote:ok,here's the specs:

AMD X2 5000+ Dual Core
Foxcon Board
1 GB DDR 2 RAM
8400GS 1GB video Card
40 GB IDE HDD
IPAC 2 Controller Interface
HaPP Competition Joysticks
Front end is Hyperspin (took me a month to set it up properly)

The execution:

The Frontend Basically :

^^Nice project, real ole skool flick.

Almost finished with mine, have a couple extra things to do.

Last edited by iM@st@1 on December 28th, 2012, 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » December 28th, 2012, 6:24 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:

So....is ah triple rad on top and ah dual rad below?

Where the hdd cages gone??!?!?! :shock:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 28th, 2012, 6:38 pm

Looks nice (Y)

You gonna be using external storage btw?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » December 28th, 2012, 7:32 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^look like somebody buy a 7970

Nah, i wont spend that on a card rigbt now

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » December 28th, 2012, 7:39 pm

HCCA wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

So....is ah triple rad on top and ah dual rad below?

Where the hdd cages gone??!?!?! :shock:

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Looks nice (Y)

You gonna be using external storage btw?

Thanks fellas, yea 360 top / 240 bottom, the SSD (could fit 2 on there) mounted to the HDD cage, have 3 WD inside. The bottom cage removable which real bess. Could take out the top too but you hada drill it out (rivets).

Add a extra a pic dere :mrgreen:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 28th, 2012, 8:39 pm

besssss!
Reminds me of a stryker :lol:

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » December 31st, 2012, 12:49 pm

Unfinished build so far
20121231_124817.jpg

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 31st, 2012, 4:24 pm

H80i Cooler?
How those new Corsair fans and the cooler does perform btw?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 31st, 2012, 6:56 pm

the block looks like an h55 maybe?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 31st, 2012, 7:00 pm

Yeah it does :lol:

ooo btw...900D fellaz

On another note...what's you guize's opinion on triple slot cards?

They're kinda overkill imo...really doubt that they make that much of a difference wrt to cooling

Postby M_2NR » December 31st, 2012, 7:33 pm

I never realized how massive that noctua CPU cooler is. Whoa.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 31st, 2012, 8:42 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Yeah it does :lol:

ooo btw...900D fellaz

Seems someone trying to imitate the tj07/11 dey

On another note...what's you guize's opinion on triple slot cards?

They great for extra cooling but if you notice in many builds they kinda hang down towards the end of the card.

They're kinda overkill imo...really doubt that they make that much of a difference wrt to cooling

Wanna see d price on that 900d.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » December 31st, 2012, 10:15 pm

Might be kinda pricey

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 1st, 2013, 8:50 am

H70 core, got a deal on amazon and tried it. No regrets so far.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 1st, 2013, 9:01 am

^if yuh know how i fraid leaks with those all in one liquid cooling setups eh. post up some temps when you have it up running. n what ram u ended up using?

I always wonder about the weight of 3x slot cards on the mobo. also, to me it just doesnt make sense sacrificing another expansion slot just for a few degrees, might as well water cool it.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 1st, 2013, 9:16 am

2NR Smurf wrote:^if yuh know how i fraid leaks with those all in one liquid cooling setups eh. post up some temps when you have it up running. n what ram u ended up using?

I always wonder about the weight of 3x slot cards on the mobo. also, to me it just doesnt make sense sacrificing another expansion slot just for a few degrees, might as well water cool it.

The biggest cons with liquid cooling video cards is that usually the blocks model specific as well as they hard to sell back.

Unless you use the custom made brackets an ah h50 to cool the cards.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 1st, 2013, 9:27 am

2NR Smurf wrote:^if yuh know how i fraid leaks with those all in one liquid cooling setups eh. post up some temps when you have it up running. n what ram u ended up using?

It is a fear of mine to but I honestly just giving it a try. Dont plan on keeping it really long.
The ven. Ram replacement came with one bad stick so I'm only using the working stick, looking at options right now.
20130101_092049.jpg
20130101_092049.jpg (67.09 KiB) Viewed 2506 times

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » January 1st, 2013, 9:33 am

HCCA wrote:

The biggest cons with liquid cooling video cards is that usually the blocks model specific as well as they hard to sell back.

Unless you use the custom made brackets an ah h50 to cool the cards.

Exactly

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 1st, 2013, 11:29 am

But the thing is with using CPU coolers on video cards is that you only get GPU coverage and not your VRAM/VRMs...so I still think it's overally worst than a full coverage block.

BTW Happy New Years fellurz :D

$$$-dc audio-$$$

Postby $$$-dc audio-$$$ » January 1st, 2013, 4:04 pm

Not sure how to ask this, but can you use a UPS without the battery on a daily basis just for teh surge protection? I got an APC ES 550 but the battery is somehow not working (idk y), can i use this on my laptop as a surge protector?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 1st, 2013, 5:01 pm

^did you try a new battery? they need replacing after some time. Right now mine is in need of replacement but im still using it for surge protection.

$$$-dc audio-$$$

Postby $$$-dc audio-$$$ » January 1st, 2013, 5:53 pm

Was gonna buy a new battery, but i bought a new UPS instead which i have currently on my desktop. All sockets are full. Is it safe to use it without the battery?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 1st, 2013, 6:25 pm

$$$-dc audio-$$$ wrote:Was gonna buy a new battery, but i bought a new UPS instead which i have currently on my desktop. All sockets are full. Is it safe to use it without the battery?

Yes you can use it without the battery long term, you just won't get the benefits of backup power.

$$$-dc audio-$$$

Postby $$$-dc audio-$$$ » January 1st, 2013, 6:57 pm

HCCA wrote:
$$$-dc audio-$$$ wrote:Was gonna buy a new battery, but i bought a new UPS instead which i have currently on my desktop. All sockets are full. Is it safe to use it without the battery?

Yes you can use it without the battery long term, you just won't get the benefits of backup power.

Thanks for the reply man, bless

HCCA

Postby HCCA » January 1st, 2013, 7:09 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:But the thing is with using CPU coolers on video cards is that you only get GPU coverage and not your VRAM/VRMs...so I still think it's overally worst than a full coverage block.

True but that's why there are heatsinks to stick on the ram and vrms to be cooled via passive airflow from your case. Some of the custom brackets dem fellas designed even have a space to install a fan to cool those areas.

It's a pretty good alternative to using proper full coverage blocks as well as it's cheaper when you upgrade the card - just get a new bracket.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 2nd, 2013, 2:01 am

I was thinking the other day, what if graphics cards were like motherboards

Meaning that you can increase RAM or upgrade the GPU as you would a CPU without having to change the whole board

That would be awesome.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 2nd, 2013, 3:29 am

Then they'd implement different sockets as a new series GPU would still have to be released...you'd still kinda have to change the PCB.
But that's still a cool idea though

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 2nd, 2013, 12:14 pm

HCCA wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:But the thing is with using CPU coolers on video cards is that you only get GPU coverage and not your VRAM/VRMs...so I still think it's overally worst than a full coverage block.

True but that's why there are heatsinks to stick on the ram and vrms to be cooled via passive airflow from your case. Some of the custom brackets dem fellas designed even have a space to install a fan to cool those areas.

It's a pretty good alternative to using proper full coverage blocks as well as it's cheaper when you upgrade the card - just get a new bracket.

Just to give some insight about this I've noticed performance levels are almost the same with the full coverage block performing slightly better @ load (3-4° difference). Idle temps are about the same. But as HCCA say once you have some heatsinks & a fan no need to worry about the VRMs. I actually wasn't using heatsinks but did have a fan. The full coverage block looks sooo much sweeter tho, if you can afford it I say go for it. Water cooling is a hobby after all for some, an expensive one if get in too deep. :oops:

Have an Antec Kuhler 620 for sale if any1 interested in doing the mod on their gpu :idea:

My cpu however has seen a great improvement over the H100 when it comes to load temps.

Happy New year every1

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 2nd, 2013, 5:13 pm

think i'll try my hand @ water cooling later on in the year...will have to do some research and see what i could get away with in this 410 case.