offshore ppl ........your views.

JD......

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby JD...... » December 26th, 2012, 9:32 am

Im on ENSCO 5004, leaving the rig on 29th and heading Rio for new years. But i feel i going to be in Barra Tijuca with some friends.. Copa is going to be madness Geo, but Ill be site seeing on the 1st, flight is on 2nd at 2am

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 26th, 2012, 9:35 am

I think the madness is what he wants.
Barra should be good though. Copa (the airline) have some real odd flight times eh? 2am, but close to the time of the flight the immigration in the airport is closed and only opens for 1hr before and iz real rush.

Postby zoom rader » December 26th, 2012, 9:47 am

geodude wrote:oo i forgot to ask who making the xmas and new year out there? i stuck out here, should have left on the 23rd, but i still here hoping to leave on the 28th and spend the new year in Copacabana.

Yep, I out on the north sea. Should be back in tini sunday if weather permits

JD......

Postby JD...... » December 26th, 2012, 10:01 am

i dont mind the flight but its the 6hour wait in Panama is the problem. anyone try and fly through barbados with GOL??

geodude

Postby geodude » December 26th, 2012, 10:47 am

I am on SS66 Ensco 5000/ Pride Mexico, in Navagantes,

Nemesis,My office doesn't care about that visa thing, i dont know or understand why thats just the way we roll yo,
as for New Years in RIO, i figure if i leave this rig on the 28 and get to Rio i might as well spend new years here, i heard the parties are great,
JD i never knew about the GOL to Barbados,
Copa Schedule works for me if i busy, for eg i can leave this rig today and get on that 2am flight in the morning,
and that six hrs in Panama goes so quickly for me, ask Nemesis how we do it :)

JD......

Postby JD...... » December 26th, 2012, 6:33 pm

i never had the immigration problem, but yeh Copa only opens their desk 1 hour before the flight and immigrant right after.
Parties are great but in a decision with a friend who was there last year, i had 2 questions when on a beach with 1 million people, where you getting ice for the drinks yah carry and 2 where you going to piss. Well the second one everyone goes in the water and the girls go and stoop in the piss of 500,000 men....so plan accordingly and if you get a girl bathe she first.
when im in macae i stay in macae palace, but head to pecado to surf once there is waves

Postby zoom rader » December 27th, 2012, 7:16 am

JD...... wrote:i never had the immigration problem, but yeh Copa only opens their desk 1 hour before the flight and immigrant right after.
Parties are great but in a decision with a friend who was there last year, i had 2 questions when on a beach with 1 million people, where you getting ice for the drinks yah carry and 2 where you going to piss. Well the second one everyone goes in the water and the girls go and stoop in the piss of 500,000 men....so plan accordingly and if you get a girl bathe she first.
when im in macae i stay in macae palace, but head to pecado to surf once there is waves

This is a must even in the mid east/Africa

JD......

Postby JD...... » December 29th, 2012, 7:18 am

what date you flying home geo?
im leaving rio on the 2nd

geodude

Postby geodude » December 29th, 2012, 8:44 am

Dude I left the rig yesterday and got a flight with copa I be in Panama right now

Postby janfar » January 20th, 2013, 8:19 am

ZR you go thru STV or ABZ???

Postby zoom rader » January 20th, 2013, 8:44 am

^^^ Gatwick-ABZ/Bristows

nemesis

Postby nemesis » January 20th, 2013, 10:36 am

geodude wrote:Dude I left the rig yesterday and got a flight with copa I be in Panama right now

TAM flying to ST Marteen from August 2013 I think. Maybe we'll end up on even shorter flights soon.

geodude

Postby geodude » January 21st, 2013, 11:28 am

sweet

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 1st, 2013, 3:52 pm

hmm, I was actually considering a work offshore for a while, just for the experience and then move to a industrial plant or something of that sort :/ some good info sharing on this thread..

BlackOps2

Postby BlackOps2 » February 1st, 2013, 4:31 pm

So only today i've been offered a job as a Production Operator at Trinmar. Allyuh men rel changing my mind yes [PENSIVE FACE] anyone knows how their work hours run down dere? For operators?

Postby tr1ad » February 1st, 2013, 4:36 pm

you didn't ask that when you applied or they offered you the job?

BlackOps2

Postby BlackOps2 » February 1st, 2013, 4:40 pm

Naa they called and offered since i've been job searchin a while back..hadda go in for medical and stuff next week nd well i guess i'll find out all i need to know there. Just wanted some info on what i'll be expecting. Heard some say that the offshore work is day to day, sum say is 2 weeks in

Postby Rooki3 » February 1st, 2013, 4:51 pm

count yur blessings

plenty ppl wishing dey cud get a wuk like wah u was offered

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 1st, 2013, 6:15 pm

BlackOps2 wrote:Naa they called and offered since i've been job searchin a while back..hadda go in for medical and stuff next week nd well i guess i'll find out all i need to know there. Just wanted some info on what i'll be expecting. Heard some say that the offshore work is day to day, sum say is 2 weeks in

Generally if you're part of the rig crew you'll have a fixed rotation of two or three weeks. If you're third party it will be less regular based solely on when you're needed, unless your company requires crew on board all the time and has enough staff to maintain a proper rotation. Either way, it's something you should ask if it's a huge concern to you. If it were me though, I would start the job and then see how it goes and try to adapt to it because whether it is fixed or not it's still so different from land based jobs that you will need to get accustomed.

geodude

Postby geodude » February 1st, 2013, 7:13 pm

nemesis what kinda advice are you giving the man ?
do you know BlackOps2?
He might be one of those guys that get out here and start getting the horn talk and after the first few days, jump off the rig because he is afraid that his slippers back home will get stretched.
BlackOps2 find out what the rotation is gonna be like before u start anything,
cool story time
once upon at time in an oil patch, in de sea, a guy got a job and went offshore, and for the first few days he sat outside the mudlogging unit his entire shift staring out at the sea, he didn't talk to anyone, didn't say anything just sat there and stared at the water, poor dude had a breakdown of sorts after a few days and had to be sent home. Since he was a trainee and not an actual employee i think all he got was some counselling and he quit, sad thing is he then had to find the money to pay back for his Huet, PPE etc as it was stated in the contract at the time, that if you left within the first 6 months you have to repay the company for all training etc,

BlackOps2 doh trust Nemesis, he want to horn you!!!

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 4th, 2013, 11:42 pm

I agree that could happen, and I've seen it too. But how would you know if you don't take the chance to find out? :)

And no I don't know him, nor do I want to horn anybody or do anything. Was just saying.

geodude

Postby geodude » February 5th, 2013, 12:17 am

i hear you,
on a real thou, Blackops2 you should definitely check it out, your know your self best, regardless of what ppl say if you are in a position to at least attempt it then go ahead if you decide its not for you then that would be your decision at least you would have tried,

Nemesis, what was happening at the Miami airport that night? we got on the plane and then the air hostess came on the speaker offering 1000 dollars each to 3 persons for their seat on the flight with guarantee of getting on the next flight to Rio. Was quite odd.
I am on NS07, Cabo Frio where you at?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 5th, 2013, 6:07 pm

Happens quite often with that flight. The airlines overbook by 3-5 seats always so that if some people don't show, they're still full and they get paid for all. However, it is a gamble because if everyone does show up they have to pay people to give up their seats. Same thing happened on the later flight.. but real stress boy. I made it onto the runway, then back to the gate to change planes, then we changed gates, new plane, same thing again.. then spent the night in the airport until next morning. 11hr delay in total. Another trini guy that had chosen the same flight as me was there also. I think your decision to stay on the earlier flight made sense in this case. But normally you would miss that earlier flight if the trini flight had gotton to Miami on time which is why we both changed to the later. Was almost an hr early which is the reason you made it.

Oh, and I'm on SS-79 in Vitoria. NS-07 is one of dem small drillships ent?
Still, Cabo Frio airport is probably the best to go offshore from. What date you heading back? Could jam some drinks on the way back.

geodude

Postby geodude » February 5th, 2013, 7:02 pm

man that's a lot of craziness, i was tempted to get off the flight, i was thinking oo well you there so we could chill and drink a few beers and take the next flight and the 1000 that was being offered i guess its a good thing i stayed my arse put.
When i arrived in Cabo Frio it was very rainy for the first few days so the heliport was a mess i only got on the rig on Friday. You are right this is a small, old, rust bucket, the well is finished however, so i will get off this rig on Friday, then i am not sure where i am going, as for return home, i have no idea, i have a ticket booked with AA for the flight back home but you know how these things go. i will advise closer to the actual date.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 6th, 2013, 5:07 pm

Cool. Glad you get to change rigs. I hear that one really isn't all too great.
I've never taken the money offered to change flights. Maybe I should one day because it happens so often. Will never consider it while coming to work though, maybe when going home I could take it and just hang out in Miami a day or two extra. Flight to trinidad they usually only offer up to about 500USD because the flight is normally cheaper, unless it's Christmas or Carnival time.
Let me know when you heading back. Tickets change all the time. Mine most likely will go a little later also. Maybe an extra week.. I hope.

greenlime100

Postby greenlime100 » February 6th, 2013, 10:01 pm

Guys I thought this would by a thread that may share some views on something I was considering.

Im almost finished with my degree in IT an heard about PLCs (Programmable Logic Controllers), I heard these are widely used throughout Industrial environments. Did some research and it seems like the way the plants may soon be moving to if they havent already.

My question is.... is there a demand or a field for persons with PLC training ?

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » February 6th, 2013, 10:09 pm

what salary does an offshore production operator makes though?

Postby janfar » February 7th, 2013, 4:08 am

nemesis wrote:Cool. Glad you get to change rigs. I hear that one really isn't all too great.
I've never taken the money offered to change flights. Maybe I should one day because it happens so often. Will never consider it while coming to work though, maybe when going home I could take it and just hang out in Miami a day or two extra. Flight to trinidad they usually only offer up to about 500USD because the flight is normally cheaper, unless it's Christmas or Carnival time.
Let me know when you heading back. Tickets change all the time. Mine most likely will go a little later also. Maybe an extra week.. I hope.

I took up the offer once on a flight from miami to rio... worked like a charm... easy money plus i got upgraded to business on the flight i got changed too... sadly that never happens on the trans atlantic flight which where i've been for the last 4 years...

nemesis

Postby nemesis » February 10th, 2013, 8:10 pm

You could do that when you don't have to hit the rig the next day I guess. If you do, your company would get pissed that you took extra money and delayed their planned operations. I agree it could be really easy money on the way home though.

Postby De Dragon » February 11th, 2013, 1:15 am

greenlime100 wrote:Guys I thought this would by a thread that may share some views on something I was considering.

Im almost finished with my degree in IT an heard about PLCs (Programmable Logic Controllers), I heard these are widely used throughout Industrial environments. Did some research and it seems like the way the plants may soon be moving to if they havent already.

My question is.... is there a demand or a field for persons with PLC training ?
PLC's are the main controllers on older,smaller or less technologically advanced plants. DCS is the next step up in progression. If you have IT you will never get to work with PLC's in a plant as preference will always be given to EET, or MEET trained guys.