The | US Embassy | Thread

Re: The | US Embassy | Thread

Postby equipped2ripp » November 29th, 2012, 3:55 pm

^ that is a charge btw. The passport belongs to the GORTT.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » November 29th, 2012, 4:08 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:i got same problems as i posted earlier, again in miami about 3 weeks ago

questioned in separate room,suitcases emptied and empty suitcases scanned.....setta questions....

spent about 4 hours in the airport after flight landed.

should i call the US embassy locally and ask them if they have a reason for singling me out?

or is that a normal security procedure?

Man be glad it was in a country you could understand what they were saying. I got hit with a similar scenario in Malaysia and held back the whole bus all cause they dunno where Trinidad was.

Had the same case in Dominican Republic , but when leaving the airport the immigration officers thought i stole my passport, they kept asking me in Spanish where I am from and i kept telling them Trinidad. They held be back with more question because in Dominican Republic there was a town named Trinidad. Spent about 1hr clearing it up in broken spanish

Man I thought it was just on tuner but like even foreigners doh like you. :shock:

Postby nemisis » December 10th, 2012, 9:28 pm

No one looked at my documents

Story Created: Dec 8, 2012 at 9:50 PM ECT

Story Updated: Dec 8, 2012 at 9:59 PM ECT

Question:

I went to get my visa to go for a holiday in the US for about two weeks and paid my fee, had all my documents, and they did not even open my file and take a look at the documents. When I went up to the window, they just asked me questions, which I answered honestly, and then they said I have nothing that ties me to the country. How can that be so when they did

not even look at my documents?

Sabrina

in San Fernando

Answer:

Many people are confused when during their visa interview at the US Embassy, the consular officer does not look at the many documents they brought or gives them only a brief glance.

It is important to understand that applying for most non-immigrant visas is not primarily a documentary process. Consular officers very seldom dwell on documents. What is at issue is intent, and documents alone can never establish an applicant's intentions. Documents can serve as evidence that an applicant is well established in their own country and in some circumstances, can help individuals to establish that their intent is to return to their home country after a visit to the US. Consular officers may or may not need to examine documents closely to make a decision about an applicant's intent.

If a consular officer makes a decision about a case without a detailed scrutiny of submitted documents, it is because other circumstances of the case were already clear. If a visa application is refused, it is highly unlikely that any document that an applicant could provide would significantly alter the consular officer's decision about intent. Remember that consular officers are highly trained interviewers, and they don't interview documents, they interview people.

Postby DFC » December 10th, 2012, 9:40 pm

Las Vegas next year !

ohhh yeahhhh....

Postby AllTrac » December 11th, 2012, 9:59 am

nemisis wrote:Remember that consular officers are highly trained interviewers, and they don't interview documents, they interview people.

:lol: :lol: burn :lol:

my turn coming up in April :( hopefully it should go smoothly as ive never over stayed my visa and have kept all my trips to a maximum of 2 weeks.

Postby X_Factor » December 21st, 2012, 5:21 pm

^yeah, u'll get it and they may not even ask to see a piece of paper
once they see u travel often and dont stay close to the maximum legal period

when i went earlier this yr, the guy pulled up my info, and trips made for the last 5yrs
watch me, and say enjoy my day
didnt even open my brown envelope

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » December 21st, 2012, 7:08 pm

Hada apply for my visa yes.

Postby 2311 » December 24th, 2012, 1:26 pm

I traveled for 14 years in an out of the US and around the world, because I worked on a ship. In 2008 I tried to renew my b1/b2 an got turned down, they said lack of ties to the country. my daughter is US born so don't know if that was a factor

jetta

Postby jetta » December 24th, 2012, 3:50 pm

did you tell them how will them know?

Postby 2311 » December 24th, 2012, 9:17 pm

I told them because they asked, but really I don't mind. I'm more a Europe kind of person

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 24th, 2012, 9:21 pm

gotta renew in jan, hopefully it'll go smoothly,then again had my visa since i was around 5,so i hope i get it again :|

SRASC

Postby SRASC » December 24th, 2012, 10:07 pm

I had mine since I was 6 months old. Didn't stop them from denying me.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 24th, 2012, 10:11 pm

^shieett

my last renewal i didnt even travel anywhere in the US though,and the one before that,went to NY once :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 25th, 2012, 1:33 am

DFC wrote:Las Vegas next year !

ohhh yeahhhh....

this is where i wana go

Postby De Dragon » December 25th, 2012, 3:44 am

I good until 2015 with my US visa. I does get all kinda hassle when I travel there though. All kinda special interrogation,put in de room where they does blow de air through yuh clothes/you and analyze it etc.

Postby pete » December 25th, 2012, 7:01 am

jetta wrote:did you tell them how will them know?

Haha good one.

Postby Chimera » December 25th, 2012, 8:24 am

De Dragon wrote:I good until 2015 with my US visa. I does get all kinda hassle when I travel there though. All kinda special interrogation,put in de room where they does blow de air through yuh clothes/you and analyze it etc.

how long you does spend to clear immigration/customs?

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 25th, 2012, 8:29 am

De Dragon wrote:I good until 2015 with my US visa. I does get all kinda hassle when I travel there though. All kinda special interrogation,put in de room where they does blow de air through yuh clothes/you and analyze it etc.

Yuh really can't blame them with your beard and ras yuhno :lol:

trinishaggy

Postby trinishaggy » December 25th, 2012, 9:58 am

I made the appointment with wife and son. Carried all the documents. (Even pictures of my house as it is on family land)...
The man just ask to see my son Birth Paper and we get 10 years!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 25th, 2012, 9:59 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

5 mins tops.

Postby Chimera » December 25th, 2012, 10:21 am

yes shake , we are all aware of your diplomatic passport, i was asking de dragon though because i have similar problems everytime i fly

Postby equipped2ripp » December 25th, 2012, 2:58 pm

lol @ diplomatic passport.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 25th, 2012, 8:40 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:yes shake , we are all aware of your diplomatic passport, i was asking de dragon though because i have similar problems everytime i fly

how?? why is it so bad for you all the time? cuz average time is approximately 15mins tops.

Postby S_2NR » December 25th, 2012, 9:04 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

5 mins tops.

Not when there's long lines tho. :lol:

Wait

Can u skip lines with ur passport?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 25th, 2012, 9:39 pm

S_2NR wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:

5 mins tops.

Not when there's long lines tho. :lol:

Wait

Can u skip lines with ur passport?

when I meet the first officer,they usually direct me to another officer and well go through the process.it's nothing big really,just no waiting etc etc, and sometimes ah lil nice treatment.

Postby S_2NR » December 25th, 2012, 9:46 pm

where do i sign up?

no seriously :/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 25th, 2012, 10:10 pm

it's not that easy,it was awarded through my parents,they serve Trinidad in the states.

Postby De Dragon » December 25th, 2012, 10:25 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:yes shake , we are all aware of your diplomatic passport, i was asking de dragon though because i have similar problems everytime i fly

Depends, but there is always some delay/extra questioning etc. It's gotten to where I avoid connecting flights due to my fear that I may miss one one day, this after running to make several such connections after delays where I ended up being the last to board :?

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » December 25th, 2012, 10:32 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 7th, 2013, 10:05 am

went this morning.guy only asked me 5 questions and i got through :D, he didn't ask to see any documents whatsoever

Where i work (own my own business)
Name of said business?
If its registered?
How long has it been registered?
Whats the longest i've ever stayed in the US for?

He interviewed me and my fiance together,we both got through.