Strauss

Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby Strauss » December 19th, 2012, 11:43 am

tr1ad wrote:
Strauss wrote:I must salute you guys.

Waiting so long for a new BB to do what other phones have been doing for the last 5 years.
That's dedication.

i gets my email when im not at my desk / in office

working for me for more than 5 years

I can't argue with that.
I was more referring to the guys who wanted to turn a business phone into a personal phone.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 19th, 2012, 11:44 am

Strauss wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:This is how the Nokia fans stuck with Symbian must have felt for so long.

S60 phones were still awesome. It was the APPS that made people stick around so long. They key to a good product in this day and age is the ecosystem. Otherwise your smart phone behaves like a dumb phone.

But my bb does what my iPhone did and costs me less :|

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 19th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Guys on bmobile bb's, I wanna get moms a bb but bmobile's cs confuses me quite a bit.

I want a post paid plan that includes data for mainly whatsapp, what you guys recommend I should get for her? I see a postpaid plan for $99 that includes 5mb so I'm guessing that's data alone?

Postby Trini Hookah » December 19th, 2012, 1:59 pm

Yeah and a voice bundle would be added to it. My gf had that package and it's perfect for whatsapp and little a google search here and there.

Postby tr1ad » December 19th, 2012, 2:02 pm

the cheapest voice package is $75 so add the 99 and hit it ah vat an yuh good to go

Postby tr1ad » December 19th, 2012, 4:06 pm

christmas sale on blackberry devices at bmobile

Postby ismithx » December 19th, 2012, 4:26 pm

you seeing them prices??? hello no. a better android is much cheaper.... idk why we insist on selling bb's for high price when ppl in other countries ashamed of them [/rant]

Postby Trini Hookah » December 19th, 2012, 5:31 pm

ismithx wrote:you seeing them prices??? hello no. a better android is much cheaper.... idk why we insist on selling bb's for high price when ppl in other countries ashamed of them [/rant]

You seem upset.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 19th, 2012, 5:37 pm

ismithx wrote:you seeing them prices??? hello no. a better android is much cheaper.... idk why we insist on selling bb's for high price when ppl in other countries ashamed of them [/rant]

I'm considering a bb 9320, can you please show me an android phone that's cheaper and better (how exactly?)

Postby Trini Hookah » December 19th, 2012, 5:41 pm

Yeah Kurps, it's good for the price. Paid $1300 for mine just last month.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 19th, 2012, 5:44 pm

^^ yea I know I almost bought one for that price.

Want to get a teal one and a silver for mom :D

Postby tr1ad » December 19th, 2012, 6:44 pm

499 postpaid and it have better androids out there at what price range?

Again the misconception of an entertainment phone vs ?

Not everyone wants a phone to play game or watch vids

I sure kurps mom happy with making / receiving a call or msg someone that have bbm

Different strokes for different folks...

The rest of the world don't want them? Zero sales might say so but then again ......

Postby ismithx » December 19th, 2012, 6:50 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:

I'm considering a bb 9320, can you please show me an android phone that's cheaper and better (how exactly?)

the thing is... with bb it's not just the price of the phone (i.e. $499), but you have to spend at least $80 a month for the foreseeable future in order to take advantage of its features. with and android device you will pay more upfront, but you could be using whatsapp right through (using the 80c per mb rate), and in the long run it would be much cheaper than a bb and bb plan.....

i can't really do exact math for you since the info on their website is so confusing, but basically with bb you are suckered into paying a lot of money to keep the phone useful

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 19th, 2012, 7:10 pm

ismithx wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

the thing is... with bb it's not just the price of the phone (i.e. $499), but you have to spend at least $80 a month for the foreseeable future in order to take advantage of its features. with and android device you will pay more upfront, but you could be using whatsapp right through (using the 80c per mb rate), and in the long run it would be much cheaper than a bb and bb plan.....

i can't really do exact math for you since the info on their website is so confusing, but basically with bb you are suckered into paying a lot of money to keep the phone useful

What 80c per mb rate is that?

Afaik bmobile and Digicel plans for what I'm looking at starts at 300$ per month plus higher handset cost and I'm going to be limited to one messenger medium.

I can actually start a plan with bmobile for $69 but the voice charges are insane @ $1.00 a min

Postby ismithx » December 19th, 2012, 7:27 pm

if you not on a plan and you're prepaid it's 80c an mb.... for postpaid it's at least 180 a month flat, which is still cheaper than the total cost of postpaid bb.....

when you say one messenger medium what do you mean?

wait a minute i realize somebody was advertising unlimited whatsapp, chatOn etc. :shock:

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 19th, 2012, 7:46 pm

Which network I getting data + voice for $180?

And don't try to convince me about Viber and chaton etc, I'd rather not end up like I am with iMessage and have one friend on there and rely on fb chat/texts kinda pointless that.

You really doing a bad job at convincing me android is cheaper and better yuhno.

Postby ismithx » December 20th, 2012, 8:02 am

sigh if i had figures i coulda made my point... oh well...

Postby Trini Hookah » December 20th, 2012, 8:20 am

Padna if Kurps moms as fussy as mine, she hates touchscreen and prefers keyboard anyday.

That said the number of GOOD droids with keyboards are in the minority. Yuh fighting a losing battle on the "value for money" argument there man. And oh, the $0.80c per mb is the most unreliable POS ever! Messages don't always send on whatsapp.

Postby tr1ad » December 20th, 2012, 8:26 am

sounds like somebody is on ah "crawl pon yuh belly" prepaid plan

prepaid plans only work out cheaper when yuh have no one to call

Postby Rooki3 » December 20th, 2012, 8:28 am

allyuh does realll kill me in here oui

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 20th, 2012, 9:13 am

ismithx wrote:sigh if i had figures i coulda made my point... oh well...

http://www.bmobile.co.tt/

http://www.digiceltt.com/

:lol: it's all there mate.

Trini Hookah wrote:Padna if Kurps moms as fussy as mine, she hates touchscreen and prefers keyboard anyday.

That said the number of GOOD droids with keyboards are in the minority. Yuh fighting a losing battle on the "value for money" argument there man. And oh, the $0.80c per mb is the most unreliable POS ever! Messages don't always send on whatsapp.

Moms cutting an iPad yo :| It's just her phone is like from early gsm days :lol:

Postby ismithx » December 20th, 2012, 1:37 pm

it's all there.... but not very clear unfortunately

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 21st, 2012, 7:42 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Yeah Kurps, it's good for the price. Paid $1300 for mine just last month.

I almost ended up psying that price after bmobile added all their sheit.

Had to take a 4g plan to get the device at $999, the plan cost $69+vat but the closest is a $75top up plus vat, then add a sim card

Cashed out just under $1200 and right now my edge not working.

:| TSTT

Postby Trini Hookah » December 22nd, 2012, 12:13 am

Same here, bought the phone on Saturday, was back in on monday. They had to update something on the account for it to run properly.

Better you call for assistance, because ALL bmobiles I went to yesterday were in a mess.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 22nd, 2012, 1:06 am

Nice phone this 9320, I needs a case now doh

Postby Chimera » December 22nd, 2012, 1:54 am

i know a man selling 9320 otterbox commuter for $200

i believe his number is 360-3996

xtech

Postby xtech » December 22nd, 2012, 10:41 am

I have a 9860 that stopped working it keeps rebooting just before start up until the battery is dead.

Anybody want it for parts check me

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356186916.897872.jpg

4everstock

Postby 4everstock » December 23rd, 2012, 6:24 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:^^^

lol.....I know that guy too, I bought an otterbox case for my new 9320 a few days ago from him.....always the best stuff and service!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 23rd, 2012, 6:54 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:^^^

Too bad I didn't see that, ordered the zagg skin today and a cheap case.

Postby foss » December 23rd, 2012, 7:11 pm

how much battery life you get on your bb's?

I barely get a full day. (calls, bbm, whatsapp, emails, fb)

Even with a new battery.

Am I the only one?