sending tein shock to repair

Postby MadCrix » December 14th, 2012, 7:02 am

anyone have experience doing this?

Re: sending tein shock to repair

Postby cinco » December 14th, 2012, 7:14 am

nope.
most people i know say they prefer to buy new ones after the shipping and repair cost from trinidad.
BTW XYZ and Yellowspeed will ship you the repair inserts rather than u ship it to them for them to repair and return

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » December 14th, 2012, 8:13 am

Sending it to repair will cost almost the same as buying new.

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » December 14th, 2012, 8:33 am

Where are you sending it JPN or USA?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 14th, 2012, 8:39 am

California

I am getting the customs forms to fill out so I would not pay duty or vat on the return shipment

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 14th, 2012, 8:40 am

how much is for a new shock?

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » December 14th, 2012, 9:00 am

http://teinusa-blog.com/learning-the-ov ... r-process/

If you have lowering springs, you should tell them. they could re-valve the shock for the spring rates

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 14th, 2012, 9:08 am

got the springs that came with the shock. no special configs.

Postby r3iXmann » December 14th, 2012, 9:31 am

talk to a local tein dealer and see what they have to say

check tuner imports or that guy in princes town (can't remember his name)...both are very helpful 8-)

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 14th, 2012, 10:48 am

tuner imports was very helpful. should take 3 weeks to get done...... sigh

cost to repair is WAY I mean WAY cheaper than new struts I found out lol

will ship out next week. hopefully I get it back by Jan

CBR

Postby CBR » December 14th, 2012, 11:12 am

Glad to know I'm not the only one considering this option. Have some TEIN RA coilovers on an eg that I love to death, but in dire need of repair. Please keep us updated on process and costs. @ cinco, are these inserts ones that can work on TEIN units, or just on the brands mentioned?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 14th, 2012, 12:34 pm

might need to do this on a Tein Flex strut, the back left sounding suspicious - will check it over the weekend

Postby crazybalhead » December 14th, 2012, 12:48 pm

Why you guys doh pool together, might be cheaper!

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 14th, 2012, 2:05 pm

tuner imports said 1100 to ship up and return... not including cost from tein
3 weeks average to return to hand

Postby cinco » December 14th, 2012, 2:09 pm

1100 not bad at all but thats before repairs?
ouch

Postby Ignorant Ignis » December 14th, 2012, 2:13 pm

dont be fooled ..... u will have to show customs the cost of repair ..and u pay duty and vat on that plus on the shipping cost

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 14th, 2012, 2:18 pm

I have the form in hand, you pay vat and duty on the cost of the repair alone. Cost for repair is 75USD

cost for new strut is about 400 USD

so 1100 + 500 equal 1600

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » December 14th, 2012, 3:07 pm

I had mine sent it but not being a USDM piece they had to bring the parts in from Japan and that drove the turnaround time up significantly. Keep that in mind.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 14th, 2012, 4:32 pm

nah the evo is usdm spec

oro

Postby oro » December 14th, 2012, 4:50 pm

MadCrix don't worry about bring it back to trinidad. I always send harddrives for RMA and once u fill out the paperwork customs will not charge u when they are coming back in since they were originally charged all the duty originally. I don't expect u to get problems but please let us know. I know the rally guys will ship out their shocks to be repaired all the time for repairs.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 14th, 2012, 4:57 pm

Crix for US$75 to repair and you going through the hassle and downtime - best to send all one time - it will be cheaper overall and you would be good for a while.

Postby r3iXmann » December 14th, 2012, 5:08 pm

once an item has an RMA stamp/note on it, it is not charged duty etc. Our company RMA's stuff all the time