Help identifying a snake

Re: Help identifying a snake

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 17th, 2012, 11:44 am

exactly^ from my experience in le bush,mapapire is referred to having a diamond shaped head.

Postby r3iXmann » November 19th, 2012, 6:18 am

tallman1986 wrote:I am a guide with the Asa Wright Nature Centre. It is a fer-de-lance (mapepire), a baby. Most likely when it saw you it rocked back forming an S with its body. Typical striking pose. Also I'm sure u know d snake on d viper alarm. Viper shaped head, which is what it has. That bits you, pressure in d camp without treatment, unless its a dry bit! That lil ting can get 8 ft long in d bush!

That is NOT a mapepire

Postby maj. tom » November 20th, 2012, 12:05 am

I believe every man on this forum should read the United States Army Field Manual FM 3-05.70 (FM 21–76.)

Every person on this thread should read Chapter 11 of FM 21–76 and study Appendix E on Chapter 11 as linked below.

http://www.survivalebooks.com/e.htm

Question: has anyone ever encountered the Tropical rattlesnake Crotalus terrificus in Trinidad? (Figure E-16 in above link). The distribution range is listed as all of South America but it looks so similar to the Bushmaster here, except with a rattle.

There is a species of venomous and dangerous coral snake in Trinidad that does not follow the venomous pattern of typical coral snakes found in North America as shown in the manual (red next to yellow kills a fellow). It should not be mistaken for a mimic rat snake.

tallman1986 you need more training in your line of work. UWI offers zoology courses covered under GATE.

The link may expire in the future but the field manual can always be found with Google.
Last edited by maj. tom on November 20th, 2012, 12:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » November 20th, 2012, 12:09 am

heard about them, never saw one though.

edit: I dont think I want to encounter one either. :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » December 1st, 2012, 10:51 pm

was looking for some info. to try and prove that this pics is dead wrong:

well not exactly that one, but another like it that making the rounds on facebook.

I was always of the impression that the longest measures was 33ft (10m) but that was years ago. Seems some of these exorbitant claims made by hunters etc may not be so far fetched, I came across this:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/3354403.stm

Indonesian villagers are claiming they have caught a python which is almost 15 metres (49 feet) long, according to local media reports.
If confirmed, it would be the longest snake ever held in captivity.

It is currently being kept in a zoo in the village of Curugsewu on the island of Java.

Reports said that the snake was purchased from a man who caught it in a Sumatra forest last year.

Newspapers quoted a local official as saying the python was 14.85 metres long and weighed 447 kilograms.

They said that the snake had only recently been put on public display and ate three or four dogs a month.

Following the claims, Reuters news agency subsequently reported that the snake did not measure up and was not of record-breaking length.

Officially, the longest snake ever caught was a python shot in Celebes in Indonesia in 1912, which was almost 10 metres in length.

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/3845750/ns/ ... indonesia/

JAKARTA, Indonesia — Indonesian villagers claim to have captured a python that is almost 49 feet long and weighs nearly 990 pounds, a local official said.
If confirmed, it would be the largest snake ever kept in captivity.
Hundreds of people have flocked to see the snake at a primitive zoo in Curugsewu village on the country’s main island of Java.
Local government official Rachmat said the reticulated python measured 48 feet 8 inches and weighed in at 983 pounds.
The Guinness Book of World Records lists the longest ever captured snake to be 32 feet. The heaviest — a Burmese Python kept in Gurnee, Ill. — weighs 402 pounds, the book said on its Web site.
The Indonesian newspaper Republika said the snake, which was caught last year but only recently put on public display, eats three or four dogs a month.
Reticulated pythons are the world’s longest snakes. They are capable of eating animals as large as sheep, and have been known to attack and consume humans.
The species is native to the swamps and jungles of Southeast Asia.

:shock: :shock:

I maybe really does have monster snakes out here.

Postby shogun » December 1st, 2012, 11:59 pm

That thing is impressive. Seems a shame to have it kept in that sh!tty excuse of a cage though.

At least needs a proper enclosure.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 2nd, 2012, 10:29 am

nervewrecker wrote:was looking for some info. to try and prove that this pics is dead wrong:

well not exactly that one, but another like it that making the rounds on facebook.

I was always of the impression that the longest measures was 33ft (10m) but that was years ago. Seems some of these exorbitant claims made by hunters etc may not be so far fetched, I came across this:

Indonesian villagers are claiming they have caught a python which is almost 15 metres (49 feet) long, according to local media reports.

It is currently being kept in a zoo in the village of Curugsewu on the island of Java.

Reports said that the snake was purchased from a man who caught it in a Sumatra forest last year.

Newspapers quoted a local official as saying the python was 14.85 metres long and weighed 447 kilograms.

They said that the snake had only recently been put on public display and ate three or four dogs a month.

Following the claims, Reuters news agency subsequently reported that the snake did not measure up and was not of record-breaking length.

Officially, the longest snake ever caught was a python shot in Celebes in Indonesia in 1912, which was almost 10 metres in length.

JAKARTA, Indonesia — Indonesian villagers claim to have captured a python that is almost 49 feet long and weighs nearly 990 pounds, a local official said.
Hundreds of people have flocked to see the snake at a primitive zoo in Curugsewu village on the country’s main island of Java.
Local government official Rachmat said the reticulated python measured 48 feet 8 inches and weighed in at 983 pounds.
The Guinness Book of World Records lists the longest ever captured snake to be 32 feet. The heaviest — a Burmese Python kept in Gurnee, Ill. — weighs 402 pounds, the book said on its Web site.
The Indonesian newspaper Republika said the snake, which was caught last year but only recently put on public display, eats three or four dogs a month.
Reticulated pythons are the world’s longest snakes. They are capable of eating animals as large as sheep, and have been known to attack and consume humans.

wel i hada make a trip to Java then,what would you all really do if yuh bounce up summin dat big.

also the zoo in New York have some big forking snakes inno.

Postby shogun » December 2nd, 2012, 7:17 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:what would you all really do if yuh bounce up summin dat big.

Hope you're not looking easy to catch, or edible.

Used to hear the ole tales, (from uncles etc), of men in the forest, sitting on what they thought was fallen logs, only to realize it was actually a big azz snake. :lol: All lies? .... now not so sure :oops:

Would be cool to see this one fur real though.

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2012, 7:27 pm

My grandpa told me that already.

Postby Bizzare » December 2nd, 2012, 7:30 pm

Heard my dad and a few old men with the same tork on a camping trip :roll:

Postby mitsu_chick941 » December 2nd, 2012, 7:52 pm

i guess those stories got around. That friggin snake is impressive,would love to see it in real....from a far far far distance.

Postby brams112 » December 2nd, 2012, 8:07 pm

mitsu_chick941 wrote:i guess those stories got around. That friggin snake is impressive,would love to see it in real....from a far far far distance.

Postby stev » December 2nd, 2012, 8:25 pm

i believe the old people used to call them 'a wheel'. mainly because they were fat like the wheels on a tractor.

i remember when i was younger and was crossing the old bridge at Moruga to go to the beach....people who lived nearby said they have seen one in the river below.....i was terrified to cross dat old bridge....it was the same time the original anaconda movie came out. lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 2nd, 2012, 9:46 pm

shogun wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:what would you all really do if yuh bounce up summin dat big.

Used to hear the ole tales, (from uncles etc), of men in the forest, sitting on what they thought was fallen logs, only to realize it was actually a big azz snake. :lol: All lies? .... now not so sure :oops:

I think it's a popular story amongst old folks.

Postby meccalli » December 2nd, 2012, 9:58 pm

Yeah they still call em wheel in biche. Generally vipers have a diamond shaped head with bulbous looking edges due to the venom sacs. Good rule to keep when trying to figure out if the snake is most likely venomous and has a bad disposition. I'm not sure about the rattlesnake, but there's a viper locally that beats its tail on the forest floor when it feels threatened.

Postby gastly369 » December 2nd, 2012, 9:59 pm

shogun wrote:

i sit on ah horsewhip already

R.I.P snakey :(

Postby joker » December 3rd, 2012, 12:34 am

nervewrecker wrote:was looking for some info. to try and prove that this pics is dead wrong:

B U L L S H I T J U S T LIKE AN ALMERA WITH MUSIC ...

AND FOR THE THE VIPER THAT BEATS ITS TAIL ... DAIS A MAPPEPIRE..
NOW FOR THE man who talking bout the rattlesnake in trini ... it could be true cus wen i saw the mappepire in moruga the tail was not looking segmented .... however in paria saw something peculiar but imo it amounted to be a variation of a balsain ...

NOW BACK TO YOUR REGULAR SCHEDULED POSTING.

Postby Mark! » December 3rd, 2012, 10:01 am

all this commotion about whats in my pants...geeez

Postby meccalli » December 3rd, 2012, 6:57 pm

[/quote]mustard not so? i see he does be in saghs mayfair an any zoo expos it does have. ppl get dumbfounded by his/her beauty. where the zoo get it from in the first place?[/quote]

Yep, looks like him. Taken a few years ago at the zoo.

Postby rollingstock » December 3rd, 2012, 9:27 pm

^ I think i posted how it reached there.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 4th, 2012, 6:57 am

my hated snake experience: went up to the plum mitan river to catch cascadoux,group of us tied ourselves onto a tree and ventured into the water,with another group standing on the bridge,until ah padna say" allyuh stop that kinda sheit in the water nah,i nuh playing dat inno" men start to laugh until he says"allyuh stop fcuking hitting meh foot nah" well men freeze. until the men on the bridge say allyuh come out the water,SNAKE,if you see the size ah that modacant.was about 13ft or so,they held it with a hook and net.never went back in dat river nuh.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » December 4th, 2012, 12:08 pm

What snake is this?
snake4.jpg

Postby nervewrecker » December 4th, 2012, 12:09 pm

looking like a leg less lizard :lol:

Postby Bizzare » December 4th, 2012, 12:11 pm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 4th, 2012, 1:13 pm

looking like a glorified worm

Postby rfari » December 5th, 2012, 9:44 am

Nice nice. I see ched progressing with all manner of evil.
Anyways, What kinda snake is this?
uploadfromtaptalk1354714754332.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 5th, 2012, 9:48 am

at first glance I tort was ah tigre,but dat is wrong,first time I seeing da 1.

Postby meccalli » December 5th, 2012, 9:50 am

Looks like a garden/garter snake, the ones that always having orgies lol.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 5th, 2012, 10:03 am

yeah fari,according to google,it's identical to the garter snake.

Postby Mark! » December 5th, 2012, 10:23 am

fari dais a buss up bicycle tyre tube :|