betamax to DVD

Postby Team Loco » December 3rd, 2012, 8:53 pm

i think this has been asked before but i couldnt find the thread. does anyone in Trinidad have the capability of transferring betamax cassettes to DVD?

Re: betamax to DVD

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 3rd, 2012, 9:42 pm

Do you have a Betamax player?
If you do then all you need is a PC with a video capture card and a DVD burner.

Postby joker » December 3rd, 2012, 11:23 pm

while we on this ... how to salvage vhs tape with this fungus ..powder thing?

Postby ismithx » December 4th, 2012, 8:03 am

wait, someone still have betamax?????

Postby Team Loco » December 4th, 2012, 8:59 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Do you have a Betamax player?
If you do then all you need is a PC with a video capture card and a DVD burner.

true. will check on ebay

Postby Mark! » December 4th, 2012, 9:38 am

Nice. man trying to save his vintage porn collection. Good luck man

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » December 4th, 2012, 9:44 am

betamax lawd....
i sure u could get the old porn online

brace for prices

Postby Team Loco » December 4th, 2012, 10:40 am

Mark! wrote:Nice. man trying to save his vintage porn collection. Good luck man

i was expecting this lol

nah, its old family gatherings on beta. i want to get them on dvd and give them out for christmas to them.

Postby hydroep » December 4th, 2012, 10:57 am

joker wrote:while we on this ... how to salvage vhs tape with this fungus ..powder thing?

I used to "fix" this by saturating an appropriately sized chunk of cotton wool in some isopropyl alcohol and wedging it between the tape and cassette cover. Then I'd put the cassette to run in one of those stand alone rewinders. My rewinder also had a FF function. A few runs back and forth usually cleared the tape right up.

Do this at your own risk eh.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 4th, 2012, 11:12 am

it was called "blues" back then

Postby Les Bain » December 4th, 2012, 11:19 am

Last Betamax movie I saw was Summer Heat. Could never find it on a porn or torrent site afterwards.

I coulda link you up if it wasn't a terrible time to be using work resources for personal means. You have a Betamax machine, at least?

Postby Team Loco » December 4th, 2012, 11:19 am

and out of that trinituner was born............. :D

mrcannabis

Postby mrcannabis » December 4th, 2012, 2:45 pm

nowadays it called "shottas", "under the counter" could jus imagine the names......lol

Postby Team Loco » December 4th, 2012, 3:04 pm

aye, doh spam. duane done spamming. i will report him.

so really, any professional companies out there that can handle this. ??

Postby skylinechild » December 4th, 2012, 5:09 pm

Team Loco wrote:

i was expecting this lol

nah, its old family gatherings on beta. i want to get them on dvd and give them out for christmas to them.

sound like you either REAL cheap or REAL broke..... :lol: :lol:

being serious here...you just need a betmax player with RCA outputs and a tv tuner/capture card with RCA inputs and yuh on as duane said..alternatively there are betamax to DVD services online but from what i see theyre in the U.K

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » December 4th, 2012, 5:42 pm

When you find one locally let me know - have a VHS that need to get onto a DVD

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 4th, 2012, 6:16 pm

Check your nearest piper-dvd-store. (Not the pipers that are on the pavement/side of the road, but an actual store with computer and dvd duplicator machines etc.)
About 2 years ago I was able to get a VHS onto dvd. I don't think a Betamax would be much different.

Postby wagonrunner » December 4th, 2012, 7:34 pm

i has pci video capture card with RCA input, if allyuh want it borrow to do it yuhself.

Postby Team Loco » December 4th, 2012, 8:03 pm

YeH guys i know how to capture the video. I just need a betamax player. Thats the problem. The good ones on ebay are usd $200 plus

Postby wagonrunner » December 4th, 2012, 8:05 pm

now we know what you need. :S

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 4th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Told my fam that those betamax players would be worth something someday, threw ours out a few years ago

Postby skylinechild » December 4th, 2012, 10:26 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Told my fam that those betamax players would be worth something someday, threw ours out a few years ago

ours was stolen..... :cry: :cry: those bastards even took the tapes too..... :cry:

Postby Team Loco » December 4th, 2012, 11:50 pm

Is it possible to physically transfer the beta tape into a housing of a vhs cassette? Or i remember tjere were actual vhs dummy tapes that would hold a beta tape

Postby wagonrunner » December 5th, 2012, 12:03 am

Team Loco wrote:Is it possible to physically transfer the beta tape into a housing of a vhs cassette? Or i remember tjere were actual vhs dummy tapes that would hold a beta tape

physically yes.
but they run at different speeds and lines per frame

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2012, 12:16 am

Team Loco wrote:Is it possible to physically transfer the beta tape into a housing of a vhs cassette? Or i remember tjere were actual vhs dummy tapes that would hold a beta tape
that was VHS-C

The compact VHS tape looked like a smaller cassette and there was an adapter where it would fit into in order to play it on a standard VHS player. The video format was still VHS though.

You cannot play a BetaMax tape on a VHS player. The formats are different.
It would be like trying to play a Bluray in a HD-DVD player.

Postby Team Loco » December 5th, 2012, 6:36 am

Oh yeah. Now i remember. Tjanks duane. So far i am bidding on a player on ebay

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » December 5th, 2012, 8:43 am

You Can Check Courts, Standard Or Pricesmart For One Of These...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 5th, 2012, 9:29 am

-Roach- wrote:You Can Check Courts, Standard Or Pricesmart For One Of These...

HD-DVD was shelved in favour of Bluray. They don't make HD-DVD any more.

Plus you are trying to go from SD to HD which will require heavy up scaling. Might be better to go from Beta to DVD.

Postby skylinechild » December 6th, 2012, 4:13 am

-Roach- wrote:You Can Check Courts, Standard Or Pricesmart For One Of These...

HD-DVD was shelved in favour of Bluray. They don't make HD-DVD any more.

Plus you are trying to go from SD to HD which will require heavy up scaling. Might be better to go from Beta to DVD.

duane thats an all fools joke product...it doesnt exist.... :lol: :lol:

Postby ismithx » December 6th, 2012, 8:25 am

lololol Duane haz been outplayed today