Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

mojosodope

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby mojosodope » November 8th, 2012, 10:32 am

looking to drill a grow out 55 gallon for easy draining and filling, where can i get 3/4 - 1' bulkhead fittings with screens?

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » November 8th, 2012, 4:30 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:
reeLpACE wrote:guys I currently have a 10gallon FOWLR setup with a pair of clowns and I am looking at starting to add some corals

What type of corals would work for me? (no chiller)
What type of lighting? LED??? MH I feel may be overkill for a nano tank..... All I have now is a small fluorescent...

I am looking at keeping it very simple, ie, minimal equipment since it is such a small tank (calcium recators etc)

I have a nano reef setup as well, my advice would be get some leds (MH would be overkill in a 10 gal and would really spike your temp.)
Start with some soft corals like mushrooms and zoas ( i have seen these stand up to some crazy temps and nasty water parameters) and from there move your way up to LPS if you so desire.

ey thanks bro i'll look into it

link

Postby link » November 9th, 2012, 7:06 pm

http://www.practicalfishkeeping.co.uk/c ... ntent=html
New fish variety Puntius denisonii 'gold'

Copyright © Maidenhead Aquatics

Practical Fishkeeping has learnt of an interesting tropical fish to hit the shops.

A line bred, bright golden Puntius denisonii colour variant is due to be shown to the world imminently, and we at PFK predict the fish will be massively popular.

The gold morph is the brainchild of CV Maju Aquarium in Indonesia, and came about when yellow mutant fish were noted and harvested from their existing P. denisonii commercial breeding ventures.

Since last year, these one-offs have been collected to make a breeding project, and are soon expected to be available commercially. Brood stock numbers aren’t huge yet, and so the project is being tightly managed, and turnout figures presently low.

Such fish would not be naturally occurring in the wild, due to the predation pressures that come with having a garish colour, but we expect to see further variants from this fish as commercial farming interests continue to grow.

Maidenhead Aquatics show launch
Maidenhead aquatics have managed to secure a few specimens of this attractive looking variant, and are preparing to showcase them at this weekend’s Aquatics Live event at London Olympia.

The pictures seen here were provided by Maidenhead, and were taken from a recent buying trip by the company to the breeder.

These fish are not expected to be available for a few more months yet, and we suspect that the initial prices will be high, although there is no indication of cost at this time.

If interested in these fish, it would be worth considering getting hold of some sooner rather than later, as traditionally we have seen fish like this becoming duller and less colourful as breeders try to optimize production at the expense of a little quality.

When released, Maidenhead Aquatics are expecting a period of UK exclusivity on the species, due to longstanding relationships with the supplier.

Not hybrids
Close inspection of the fish reveals that they are indeed P. denisonii, and not the closely related P. chalakkudiensis, which can be told apart by the presence of an inferior mouth, as well as black markings in the dorsal fin, and a shorter red stripe. The stripe in these golden fish runs well into the middle of the body below the dorsal fin, where chalakkudiensis stops shorter of this.

We also feel safe that this is not a hybrid of species, and speaking to the breeder we are content that this is not the case. Previously, unions have occurred between P. denisonii and either Dawkinsia filamentosa or Puntius everetti, with not wholly pleasant results.

Puntius denisonii is sold under many common names including Rose line shark, Red line torpedo barb, Bleeding eye barb or even Miss Kerala. The new gold variant may itself generate many new common names as times go on.

What they need
Keeping these fish should be no different from keeping their wild counterparts from Kerala, India. Keepers should aim to recreate a faster flowing stream with plenty of open spaces and some foliage cover at the edges.

Though wild Denison barbs can be solitary, the aquarium kept specimen is very gregarious, enjoying the company of its own, and a shoal of five or more should be aimed for as a minimum.

These are not small fish, and we have no reason to suspect the gold variants will grow any less than the standard 15cm, and so a tank of 120cm or more is highly recommended for a small shoal. They are fast, torpedo shaped fish that can dash themselves against the glass in too small a set up.

Like all Denison’s, we expect these to be skittish, and are likely to jump or dash at the first instance of fright.

Like the wild fish, it is probable that these will fare best at a pH of around 6.5 to 7.8, and a hardness level of up to 25°dH. We are unable to find exactly the conditions that the fish are currently kept in.

Denison’s temperature tolerance is usually very good, with fish often found at readings as low as 15°C. We expect that these farmed versions are being kept much higher, if for fecundity reasons, and a Maidenhead representative should be able to advise the optimal temperature range for this variant.

Expect oxygen requirement to be high with these fish. P. denisonii inhabits regions with high turbulence, and in absence of oxygen the fish will quickly begin to suffer.

A similar intolerance is found with water quality. With little ability to cope with ammonia or nitrite, P. denisonii will always need to be kept in water of impeccable quality.

Retaining the colours may be a challenge, and so we’d advise a diet high in carotenoids. Many dry brands carry this as a matter of course, but also think of frozen foods like Calanus, which are high in this ingredient. Frozen meals offered frequently will keep them in good check.

Where to buy them
As of early November 2012, the fish aren’t yet available for sale, but if after more information, or to discuss reserving a fish in advance, contact your local Maidenhead Aquatics branch who will be able to advise further.

Pictures are scarce at this time but if you want to see them live and swimming, visit the Maidenhead Aquatics stand 607 at Aquatics Live.

For young fishkeepers the chain is also featuring a kids colouring-in competition and a kids quiz, as well as two free to enter competitions to win a Seashell Phoenix aquarium worth £564 plus a trip to the Aquafleur nursery in Holland for two, to hand pick plants for your new aquarium.

The other competition is to win an AquaReef 195 complete systemised marine aquarium worth £849.99.

Practical Fishkeeping predict a veritable gold rush from both commercial and hobbyist breeders who will be keen to breed and sell on what is sure to be a sought after species variant.

To find your nearest Maidenhead Aquatics store go to www.fishkeeper.co.uk or to visit Maidenhead Aquatics at Aquatics Live go to www.aquatics-live.com

Why not take out a subscription to Practical Fishkeeping magazine? See our latest subscription offer.

Published: Nathan Hill Monday 5 November 2012, 2:42 pm

kl122

Postby kl122 » November 11th, 2012, 8:05 am

speedmelter wrote:aite fellow fish lovers, after shifting hobbies due to loss of fish in the past, i bought new pump and filter and im ready to start afresh. my aquarium is 90 gallon capacity and im looking to put a community where fishes wont be killing each other and wont be making too much of a mess either.

currently i have a few decently sized goldfish and the bigger comets. (abt 3-4 inches)

i used to have pacus, oscars and alot of goldfish and a few sharks. over time they killed each other or died :(

can you guys tell me what can live together without problems? ill appreciate it.

fish i like thus far:
goldfish
comets
black moore
bala shark
irredescent shark
pacu
parrot

what i dont fancy:
chiclids
angel
oscar
kois
fighters
gurime

i really want to get this done well before christmas so plz help
my aim is to end up wid sum big fish all swimming happily together

tinfoil barbs, red hooks or silver dollars, asian black upside down catfish, clown loach, red fin blue loach, royal plecos, whiptail catfish, marbled headstanders, red tail shark, rainbow shark...all available locally...

kl122

Postby kl122 » November 11th, 2012, 8:08 am

for those interested i have available red cherry shrimps, pm for details...coming soon rili shrimps and orange sakura shrimps...

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 11th, 2012, 9:19 pm

kl122 wrote:
speedmelter wrote:aite fellow fish lovers, after shifting hobbies due to loss of fish in the past, i bought new pump and filter and im ready to start afresh. my aquarium is 90 gallon capacity and im looking to put a community where fishes wont be killing each other and wont be making too much of a mess either.

currently i have a few decently sized goldfish and the bigger comets. (abt 3-4 inches)

i used to have pacus, oscars and alot of goldfish and a few sharks. over time they killed each other or died :(

can you guys tell me what can live together without problems? ill appreciate it.

fish i like thus far:
goldfish
comets
black moore
bala shark
irredescent shark
pacu
parrot

what i dont fancy:
chiclids
angel
oscar
kois
fighters
gurime

tinfoil barbs, red hooks or silver dollars, asian black upside down catfish, clown loach, red fin blue loach, royal plecos, whiptail catfish, marbled headstanders, red tail shark, rainbow shark...all available locally...

can you pm me a shop where i can get this assortment? shop and location

Kasey

Postby Kasey » November 12th, 2012, 9:16 am

If u wanna save some $ in the process, it is advisable to purchase that assortment at different locations, as different places sell their stock at different prices,
Example Pet shop boys sell the Red tail Shark for $20.00 and the Upside down catfish at $100
Whereas, Nature's World sells the Red Tail Shark for $25 and the Upside down Catfish for $80.

This is just an example of how you can go about your project smartly. Thats what I did, and the total savings added up greatly.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 12th, 2012, 12:30 pm

i will invest 1000 dollars into the stocks. it should be enough. is there anything i should know about conditioning the water etc when it comes to rearing those fishes?

kl122

Postby kl122 » November 12th, 2012, 8:11 pm

speedmelter wrote:
kl122 wrote:

fish i like thus far:
goldfish
comets
black moore
bala shark
irredescent shark
pacu
parrot

what i dont fancy:
chiclids
angel
oscar
kois
fighters
gurime

can you pm me a shop where i can get this assortment? shop and location

you wouldnt get them all in one store, i wish it were that easy...it takes time and effort to get a decent collection...everyweekend checking petshops, more so the ones that have the unique stuff..knowing a few hobbyist who sell isnt so bad either...

link

Postby link » November 13th, 2012, 8:12 am

noticed a lot of 'sharks' in south petshops...$20-50 range...some nice plecs (galaxy,phantom,chinese). red-bellied , albino pacu...
as noted above....will take some 'prowling to get the 'best' mix
rgds

Tigz

Postby Tigz » November 17th, 2012, 10:07 am

Anybody here on reefcentral? look for Crazyfingerz( http://reefcentral.com/forums/member.php?u=266274) add meh. Bless

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 17th, 2012, 11:37 am

Tigz wrote:Anybody here on reefcentral? look for Crazyfingerz( http://reefcentral.com/forums/member.php?u=266274) add meh. Bless

give us 5 reasons why we would wanna add you now? :D

Tigz

Postby Tigz » November 17th, 2012, 11:42 am

HondaB20B wrote:
Tigz wrote:Anybody here on reefcentral? look for Crazyfingerz( http://reefcentral.com/forums/member.php?u=266274) add meh. Bless

give us 5 reasons why we would wanna add you now? :D

LOL, Rastaman doh be on me nah dread.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 17th, 2012, 11:48 am

Stueps............... just for dat, i aint adding yuh.......................

netsket

Postby netsket » November 18th, 2012, 12:45 pm

where do petshops buy their clear plastic bags to transport fish they sell?

link

Postby link » November 18th, 2012, 8:47 pm

netsket wrote:where do petshops buy their clear plastic bags to transport fish they sell?

Sheik Lisha SMR Cunupia

netsket

Postby netsket » November 18th, 2012, 8:59 pm

link wrote:
netsket wrote:where do petshops buy their clear plastic bags to transport fish they sell?

Sheik Lisha SMR Cunupia

Thank you. Any other options? I only want a few..maybe 20 max. Im thinking Sheik Lisha most likely will be selling in big quantities.

link

Postby link » November 18th, 2012, 9:12 pm

u can buy 25 or 50 pcs of whatever

netsket

Postby netsket » November 18th, 2012, 9:21 pm

ok thanks again.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 18th, 2012, 9:34 pm

like yuh starting tuh sell...........lol

netsket

Postby netsket » November 18th, 2012, 9:43 pm

going to sell my freshwater stock soon

link

Postby link » November 19th, 2012, 9:38 am

just throwing out an item of interest..:
the tilapia I'm growing out have been culled to 4 & have become specimens averaging of 10lbs ....so far
now I need to transfer each one to individual 10ft diameter tanks to continue the process
at $4500/tank...stress......

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » November 19th, 2012, 9:46 am

Johnson Marketing Ltd in Aranguez

netsket wrote:
link wrote:

Sheik Lisha SMR Cunupia

Thank you. Any other options? I only want a few..maybe 20 max. Im thinking Sheik Lisha most likely will be selling in big quantities.

netsket

Postby netsket » November 19th, 2012, 10:11 pm

rmtuner wrote:Johnson Marketing Ltd in Aranguez

netsket wrote:
link wrote:

Sheik Lisha SMR Cunupia

^^^^^^thank you

netsket wrote:lol

going to sell my freshwater stock soon

will be selling soon my arowanas, blackghosts, ornate bichir, spotted catfish, spotted pleco, royal pleco, clown/tiger pleco (not sure), driftwood, plant, black gravel (bean size)

will give a good price if someone taking everything.

netsket

Postby netsket » November 20th, 2012, 1:51 pm

Not a commercial sale. Shutting down my tank and selling off the stock.

2 arowanas 8-10 inches $300 each
2 blackghosts 8-12 inches $300 each
1 ornate bichir 8 inches $300
1 royal pleco 5 inches $75
1 spotted catfish 5 inches $75
1 spotted pleco 3 inches $100
1 clown/tiger 3 inches pleco $50

will give an unbeatable price if someone interested in taking everything.
Last edited by netsket on November 20th, 2012, 8:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 20th, 2012, 4:07 pm

netsket wrote:2 arowanas 8-10 inches $300 each

can all of those live together in a 100 gallon?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 20th, 2012, 5:06 pm

:drinking:
Last edited by HondaB20B on November 20th, 2012, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 20th, 2012, 5:13 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Netsket, you plan on getting ban?

can they fit in the 100 gallon sir?

netsket

Postby netsket » November 20th, 2012, 7:55 pm

speedmelter wrote:
netsket wrote:2 arowanas 8-10 inches $300 each

can all of those live together in a 100 gallon?

Yea they can. Have them together right now. Trained to eat fish food. :wink: This was my amazon tank :(

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 23rd, 2012, 12:16 pm

Superman creations, check PM