WTK: Info on Air Condition Unit

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2012, 12:13 am

I had a 18,000 btu unit installed in a 12x18 room about 3 weeks ago

Room has pvc ceiling and i also had them install a air curtain.

from day one, the air condition barely cools a quarter of the room, installer came a day when i wasnt around and announced that the setting was on sleep and he fix it

when i went that night..same thing...ac barely cooling a quarter of the room

after numerous calls from about 15 different numbers over the course of two weeks, i finally got hold of him again and he say that the dealer warranty only covers parts and they wont replace the unit but he will come check it

today he come to check..he spend 2 hours gassing it back up..checking this and that..then announce he done..

no difference in temperature inside, and rain was falling for over a hour so even the place outside was cool

he then announce that he think the best thing to do is pay a $1000 extra and upgrade to a 24,000 unit (in a 12 x 18 room)
and how the company only gives parts under warranty and i wont get a refund and they wont replace the unit

anyone know if in fact a 18,000 unit is too small for a 18x 12 room?
i looked at calculators online and it saying a 7,000 btu unit would suffice

should i pay the extra $1,000 and upgrade to 24,000 btu?

Re: WTK: Info on Air Condition Unit

Postby black start » November 6th, 2012, 12:38 am

Problem with a/c installations, most technician don't have the know-how to properly size an air conditioning unit (for a specific space) based on all factors be it internal or external.

It could be that the unit is not working properly, or that it was not correctly sized for your application.

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2012, 12:40 am

also, even in the night, up to midnight when the place is cold outside...if i have on the ac..it still doesn't cool the room.

a regular $200 fan has more use than the AC

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 6th, 2012, 4:11 am

I think that the ac u have is faulty....

Postby sharkman121 » November 6th, 2012, 4:15 am

my 18000 btu cooling the Livingroom, Diningroom and piece of the kitchen... definitely a faulty unit.

Postby ronsin1 » November 6th, 2012, 5:22 am

you also need to factor in the height of the ceiling together with the size.
if you are having problems it may not necessarily be the unit it may be the heat load, amount of windows or even walls that face the sun.

note an AC does not cool a room it transfers heat

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2012, 7:06 am

two walls face the sun,

but i talking about even at midnight..the ac isn't cooling the room

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2012, 7:11 am

i have two 20 foot containers with ac's in them that are in hot sun everyday, no shelter or covering at all, with 12,000 btu units that have them freezing cold.

installer insists that the company wont replace the unit and warranty only covers parts.

guess i will see the scene today, was just wondering if a 18,000 btu could in fact be too small.

Postby X_Factor » November 6th, 2012, 7:14 am

if u just purchased the unit less than 1mth it should still be under full warranty
so something is fishy if they now say it has no replacement warranty

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » November 6th, 2012, 7:38 am

ABA, go to Consumer Affairs. I had this problem once, they changed circuit board, re-gased etc. the problem was never rectified under warranty and they didnt want to replace the unit.....they also suggested I BUY another bigger unit from them to solve the problem.

Eventually i called Consumer affairs and within 3 days, the company came and replaced my unit for free with an apology....but one thing for sure, not me and that a/c company again.

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » November 6th, 2012, 7:41 am

A 12 x 18 should be cooled by your unit. Is there water dripping from the evaporator after some time?
You may defn have a faulty unit on your hands, your room is only 216 square feet:

http://www.energystar.gov/index.cfm?c=r ... erly_sized

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 6th, 2012, 9:41 am

this is why i advise ppl to stay away from these fly by night AC places

almost all ac units sold in trinidad right now are the same (madea) ...so it all comes down to warranty, service and price last

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2012, 9:46 am

not sure if they would qualify as "fly by night" na,

they give 3 years warranty (i have two other units from same installer/company)

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 6th, 2012, 9:53 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:this is why i advise ppl to stay away from these fly by night AC places

almost all ac units sold in trinidad right now are the same (madea) ...so it all comes down to warranty, service and price last

Can u recommend a good dealer, I looking to buy soon and there are so many companies around, don't want to jump out thousands and company folds up and ac stop work

Postby pioneer » November 6th, 2012, 9:59 am

ricer technicians ftl

I have penguins skatin in my room...shoulda call meh

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 6th, 2012, 10:21 am

not gonna recommend anybody .... but u should be looking for a 5 year warranty on the compressor and 3 years parts and labour ......and from a company in the ac business more than ten years.

Postby Team Loco » November 6th, 2012, 10:32 am

at work we use York and LG. the york units are 15 yrs old and i have never changed a single compressor in any, just the odd capacitor. the lg blows a capacitor every yr.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 6th, 2012, 10:34 am

even if by chance d unit is too small then in d 1st place d ppl selling d product shud know what size is needed ...

Postby Dizzy28 » November 6th, 2012, 12:51 pm

Rocking a Miller 12,000 BTU 8 years now. Never change anything serious.

Postby skylinechild » November 6th, 2012, 1:41 pm

MBC Autotronix wrote:ABA, go to Consumer Affairs. I had this problem once, they changed circuit board, re-gased etc. the problem was never rectified under warranty and they didnt want to replace the unit.....they also suggested I BUY another bigger unit from them to solve the problem.

Eventually i called Consumer affairs and within 3 days, the company came and replaced my unit for free with an apology....but one thing for sure, not me and that a/c company again.

see large red font....talk done.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 6th, 2012, 4:04 pm

looking to purchase some ac units soon,.....well i was thinking bout the pioneer brand as it seems affordable but now.........

Postby DVSTT » November 6th, 2012, 4:24 pm

12x14 rooms by us use 12,000 and the master bedroom uses a 18,000 but that's bigger than 12x18. All rooms cool properly. If you want a number for the technician that installed our units, pm me

Postby ronsin1 » November 6th, 2012, 5:23 pm

this should be merged with the other AC thread

Postby skylinechild » November 6th, 2012, 7:58 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:looking to purchase some ac units soon,.....well i was thinking bout the pioneer brand as it seems affordable but now.........

forget brand they all the same...look at warranty on parts and compressor.
i got 1 yr warranty on parts & labor and 5 yrs on compressor.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 6th, 2012, 9:02 pm

Looking to spend no more than $3000 on a 12000BTU.....installed.....what do u guys recommend?>...

Postby Ted_v2 » November 6th, 2012, 9:29 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Looking to spend no more than $3000 on a 12000BTU.....installed.....what do u guys recommend?>...

i wuh a ac unit for my room too

enn for info

Postby *KRONIK* » November 7th, 2012, 6:07 am

SJR Imports has some good prices for the panasonic units...

check him out

sicctt

Postby sicctt » November 7th, 2012, 6:45 am

I have over 15years experience in the business here is my 2 cents
I have found a lot of unit especially the cheaper one are overrated meaning they rate the unit for 18000 btu but the units have 12000 btu compressor so no matter what you can't get not thing more than 120000btu years ago I removed a 36k window unit and install a 36k pioneer the unit never cooled as in heat calculation you use 200sq ft per ton or 12000 btu high heatload areas like kitchen you go down to 150sq ft the height doesn't really matted cause cold air falls for your room at the 200 sq ft formula you need 12900 btu to cool the room at the 150 sq ft formula you need 17200btu to cool so in any event the 18000 is good for that room if you need more info send me a pm or hit me up at 6871887
Young

qd32

Postby qd32 » November 7th, 2012, 10:14 am

sicctt wrote:I have over 15years experience in the business here is my 2 cents
I have found a lot of unit especially the cheaper one are overrated meaning they rate the unit for 18000 btu but the units have 12000 btu compressor so no matter what you can't get not thing more than 120000btu years ago I removed a 36k window unit and install a 36k pioneer the unit never cooled as in heat calculation you use 200sq ft per ton or 12000 btu high heatload areas like kitchen you go down to 150sq ft the height doesn't really matted cause cold air falls for your room at the 200 sq ft formula you need 12900 btu to cool the room at the 150 sq ft formula you need 17200btu to cool so in any event the 18000 is good for that room if you need more info send me a pm or hit me up at 6871887
Young

so in your experience do you think the pioneer units are good? hearing a lot of so so talk about them.

who is the agent for them thing?

sicctt

Postby sicctt » November 7th, 2012, 11:06 am

I haven't install a pioneer unit since then a good cheap unit and very quiet is the gree and the comfort star but I prefer the gree because of its silent operation that's what I am installing these days and don't have a problem with them since the agent for pioneer units is coolmax and I think eletronet bring them in also

As I said I install Gree units these days and haven't had a customer complain since
I feel sorry for meh boy the make him install a air curtain too wow!
I install some of the Gree's and the customer just put a long curtain the compressor on the gree and comfort star when google give you a rating of 12900btu and. 12750 btu