The guitar string (thread)

speedmelter

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby speedmelter » November 4th, 2012, 1:43 pm

i paid a little under $400 to get them in my hands. a 12 pack. after giving away about few packs i still saw savings. i dont like the d'addario very much, the thicker strings are a bit painful but i dont think i want to go back to breaking strings every three weeks or so.

Postby meccalli » November 4th, 2012, 2:09 pm

I love d'addario, its very well balanced on my strat, nothing beats Eb regulars from a fresh pack but they rust very easily with my sweaty hands. Daddario's 9's do it for me but with the amount of bend i do, it proves harsh on the fingers if the action is set too high. Mine is really set low so that it buzzes if i strum hard. Sometimes you just need to let the wood relax overnight and settle itself with the string tension if your gettin a bit too much buzz after a string change. The relief will usually change as the wood contracts and expands.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 4th, 2012, 5:25 pm

meccalli wrote:I love d'addario, its very well balanced on my strat, nothing beats Eb regulars from a fresh pack but they rust very easily with my sweaty hands. Daddario's 9's do it for me but with the amount of bend i do, it proves harsh on the fingers if the action is set too high. Mine is really set low so that it buzzes if i strum hard. Sometimes you just need to let the wood relax overnight and settle itself with the string tension if your gettin a bit too much buzz after a string change. The relief will usually change as the wood contracts and expands.

thats similar to my experience as well. the next set of strings im gona try is the .009 d'addario. so far the .010 is holding out well and isnt really rusting. i wish i knew an experienced guitarist who can set my action etc for me. im new to this whole thing. anyone in here from the east?

Postby meccalli » November 4th, 2012, 5:32 pm

I learned from youtube vids, pretty much adjusting your saddles and truss rod. People get all crazy when you talk about adjusting your truss like a little turn is gnna snap it, if you use common sense, its hard to do that, I severely mistreat mine as i have to make big adjustments when i feel like playing in A# or B and then again in standard so, I've never had anything go bad. Its worth a try unless you have a ridiculously expensive guitar aha. And always check your intonation.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 4th, 2012, 5:35 pm

Les Bain wrote:Has anyone had experience with Gretsch guitars? For guitar #3 I wanted something great sounding and classy looking for exclusive clean tone playing. They seem pricey but very much worth it.

i looked this up and it seems that fender distributes these now. they improved on the electronic side to it as well. those are really jazzy looking instruments imo and they sound uniquely clean. i like the one that resembles bb king's lucille :)

Postby meccalli » November 4th, 2012, 5:39 pm

A guy from my church bought a Gretsch the other day. Uniquely clean is a nice term for it, very bluesy jazzy fusion type twang. Lots of controls for fine tuning tone straight from the guitar.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 4th, 2012, 5:40 pm

meccalli wrote:I learned from youtube vids, pretty much adjusting your saddles and truss rod. People get all crazy when you talk about adjusting your truss like a little turn is gnna snap it, if you use common sense, its hard to do that, I severely mistreat mine as i have to make big adjustments when i feel like playing in A# or B and then again in standard so, I've never had anything go bad. Its worth a try unless you have a ridiculously expensive guitar aha. And always check your intonation.

LOL thats me right there.
i learn stuff from youtube as well but i guess im just really scared to mess with it and screw up. i wont dare mess with the truss rod lol. just the idea of snapping the neck is scary. i think id rather fall down and get bruised than for my guitar to suffer that lol

Postby Sky » November 4th, 2012, 10:10 pm

^^ What kinda guitar you have?

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 4th, 2012, 10:45 pm

epiphone les paul :oops:

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 4th, 2012, 10:49 pm

these :oops:
03072012100.jpg

Snags

Postby Snags » November 5th, 2012, 1:17 am

Anyone uses the DR Neon strings? I've switched over to those from my regular D'addarios and I have to admit I like them alot (I'm running 9's black beauties).

Postby Les Bain » November 5th, 2012, 8:05 am

speedmelter wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Has anyone had experience with Gretsch guitars? For guitar #3 I wanted something great sounding and classy looking for exclusive clean tone playing. They seem pricey but very much worth it.

i looked this up and it seems that fender distributes these now. they improved on the electronic side to it as well. those are really jazzy looking instruments imo and they sound uniquely clean. i like the one that resembles bb king's lucille :)

You ever heard his song about how Lucille got named? Can't link to youtube from work, but it's on there. Look for BB King My Lucille.

And thanks for the feedback.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 5th, 2012, 11:51 am

Snags wrote:Anyone uses the DR Neon strings? I've switched over to those from my regular D'addarios and I have to admit I like them alot (I'm running 9's black beauties).

lol do they glow in the dark? ive never used those

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 5th, 2012, 11:53 am

Les Bain wrote:
speedmelter wrote:

You ever heard his song about how Lucille got named? Can't link to youtube from work, but it's on there. Look for BB King My Lucille.

And thanks for the feedback.

omg!! lol i was thinking maybe it was some ex woman of his or something but that was a really cool story :)

Postby Sky » November 5th, 2012, 12:16 pm

Don't do stupid things, like run into burning buildings or fight over women :lol:

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 5th, 2012, 6:26 pm

now i have to do something stupid to save my guitar and relate the story to some woman involved in it, take the name of that woman and give it to my guitar. :D

Postby Sky » November 15th, 2012, 11:33 pm

Gonna throw this out there.

I want a tube amp. Benn looking for a while and came across close to suitable candidates.

It has to be a combo. Speaker size could be 8-12.
It has to have two channels, or best I just buy a solid state and done.
It has to have an effects loop. Same reason as above.

Been looking at and loving the Fender hot rod deluxe iii. It has everything I want, plus that juicy Fender tone. I'm a pinch of distortion kinda guy, but would like more occasionally. This amp's distortion doesn't rip paint off the walls, but Pedals can help it. I have a Boss OD3 with rabies.
Where the amp shines is the clean channel and it's ability to take lots of pedals like a whore of an amp.
Another one I was looking at was the Marshall DSL40C. The clean tone's typical, nothing special about it. But the distortion channel has a lot of dirt, much more than the Fender. It also has a switch to choose between pentode and triode, meaning I can drop it from 40 to 20 watts. Why's this great? I can drop to 20 watts, crank up and might not get cuss, while the Fender will definitely make some enemies if I crank.
Another one is the Blackstar HT 40 and 20. Basically the same thing tonally. The 40 has a standby switch while the 20 uses the input for that. The 40 will be loud as fk when cranked while the 20 will be more acceptable.
I'm focusing on the cranking because tubes sound better when pushed. If I'm not doing that I might as well buy a line 6 and hope for the best. But I also want to play around with stompboxes and a state amp makes no sense with them (atleast the time based effects)
The most digital I'll go is a pod and headphones.
All of these amps are pushing a budget I'll need convincing to to support, so I wanna make sure I'm doing the right thing.
So what say you gearheads? spring for the two channels and tone with pedals? Go for the smaller amp with better chances to push tubes?
Or should I just settle with some one channel fender tube like the blues junior?
ORRR buy Buzz's 15 watt spider and chill meh piggyleeks?
Btw, the only reason I won't go for the spider is because I want pedals. I like playing around with them. I want a board full of them. Played that Strat on a spider a couple times and was in shock over the genuine tone I was getting.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 15th, 2012, 11:56 pm

get a vox AC30 :)

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » November 16th, 2012, 1:24 am

anyone here has a contact number for indeforest? my friend has a guitar he wants repaired

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » November 16th, 2012, 1:30 am

Whats the budget? My advice is to chase tone and not features, you will get more quality sound and reliability from a simple amp than a complex featured amp at any given pricepoint, features like fx loop and triode switching are moot when you dont even need to use them (from your description of hardly being a dist user, and triode sounds like sheit imo, unless in class A single ended). I always reccomend a versatile single channel and go nuts with pedals, as you know I build guitar amps on a regular basis, and I cut it down really simple, which leads to hard gigging and countless recordings with zero breakdowns, oh and they sound nice.

Postby Sky » November 17th, 2012, 11:25 am

^^^ Well I wanted the effects loop to go nuts with pedals, more options for them and tone. And I'm not hardly a dirt user, I just use a sprinkle most times.
I wanted two channels to get both a clean channel to run and fool around with lotsa pedals, and a dirty tube driven OD/dist when I want.
But I'm willing to take an amp with a loop and one channel that cleans up or gets dirty with volume and stays low with a master volume. I'd drop the triode stuff on your word.
Any suggestions, including what you have to offer?
My budget was 7k for the Fender, but the wifey and rotting ceiling are against that. So 4k-6k would be more realistic.
For a volume requirement, honestly, it's to jam in a garage alongside a spider 3 75W. And if things get serious, to push somewhere like Wave. Anything bigger than that ( I doubt) and is PA mic immc.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » November 17th, 2012, 8:33 pm

:) :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Sky » November 17th, 2012, 8:40 pm

^^^^

Postby gt4tified » November 17th, 2012, 11:04 pm

awesome one there Sky!

Anyone saw any good acoustic basses for sale locally? What brand and price? Doing some studio work that calls for the acoustic bass tone and sound which is hard to get digitally.

Postby meccalli » November 17th, 2012, 11:13 pm

I saw one in simon's last time i went.

Postby gt4tified » November 18th, 2012, 3:26 pm

meccalli, you remember the brand?

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » November 24th, 2012, 7:27 pm

Considering selling one of my 7 strings!
Up for grabs is 1 Schecter Hellraiser Special 7
http://imgur.com/5YjOz
Specs:http://www.schecterguitars.com/international/products/guitar/Hellraiser-Special-C-7.aspx
ASking $5000 neg might consider trade
Send PM or email blues_89@live.com

Postby meccalli » November 25th, 2012, 11:01 pm

Sorry GT didn't look at the brand, i might go for strings this week so if its still there i'll tell ya.

Postby Les Bain » January 4th, 2013, 10:47 pm

Interesting video and related article for you fans of unconventional guitars.

http://www.seymourduncan.com/blog/artis ... ix-martin/

Postby shogun » January 7th, 2013, 11:49 pm

A musician in a 'Hanukkah-themed' rock band did everything in his power to carry his vintage guitar on-board a Delta flight.
But Dave Schneider, who is the lead singer of the Zambonis and guitarist for the LeeVees, said that he was forced to check his 1965 Gibson ES-335 for his flight from Buffalo, New York to Detroit.
He arrived at the Detroit airport baggage claim only to find his axe – valued at around $10,000 – wedged in its carrying case between a service elevator and a loading dock rail.

The musician posted two pictures of his now-ruined guitar to Facebook, saying it was a ‘musician’s worst nightmare (come) true.’
Speaking with Yahoo News, Mr Schneider said that he wasn’t even supposed to fly out from Buffalo.
His flight from Portland, Maine had been diverted to Rochester, where he and band mate Adam Gardner had performed songs from their self-described 'indie-pop rock' album, 'Hanukkah Rocks.'
They were en route another gig in St. Petersburg, Florida when the incident happened. The musician was able to carry his Gibson with him on the first leg of the flight.

The duo drove down to Buffalo, where the Delta staffers said he could not carry on his guitar. ‘I’ve always carried it on,’ Mr Schneider said, adding that he had never had an issue with carrying on his instrument before.
The guitarist said that in a last ditch effort, he showed the Delta staffers an article from early 2012 about new Federal Aviation Administration laws that allowed for instruments that could be safely stowed onboard – either in overhead storage or under a seat – as carry-on luggage.
The FAA law also allows musicians to buy an extra seat for bulkier instruments.

However, that failed to work, as did gate check, and Mr Schneider was forced to check his instrument.
In Detroit, he took out his smartphone to film his guitar’s return. Sure enough, its carrying case had somehow gotten wedged between the service elevator and the loading dock.
He took to Facebook to vent his anger, writing: ‘Delta Airlines, next time I beg you not to make me check my 1965 Gibson ES335, please do so. You had the space, darn darn darn.
‘BTW It got jammed in an ELEVATOR! That is a steel rail bending from a semi-hollow body being slammed/jammed in it.’
Mr Schneider said that while he was offered a $1,000 check from the airline, the estimated damage was nearly twice that, at $1,980.

He told Yahoo that he’s just looking for the proper compensation. ‘I’m not greedy,’ he said.
‘This is not representative of the great care we take with our customer’s property and make it right with him,’ a spokesperson told MailOnline. ‘We’ll work with him to make it all right.’
The spokesperson went on to stress that this one circumstance was not exemplary. ‘I can tell you that we transport hundreds of thousands of items for customers, and the large majority of things are transported safely,’ the spokesperson said.
In 2009, Canadian country-Western singer Dave Carroll became an internet sensation after he wrote a song about how his acoustic guitar was badly damaged by handlers at Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport.
His song, ‘United Breaks Guitars,’ has garnered 12.7million hits on YouTube since 2009. The woeful ballad chronicles his poor experience with United Airlines as he tries to get them to cover the damage to his instrument.

Poor guy.