THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

JoeBama

Re: THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Postby JoeBama » October 18th, 2012, 11:20 am

^^ i'm gonna try cold turkey first and use as prescribed if i still have the craving bad...worried about side effects tho...

geodude

Postby geodude » October 18th, 2012, 11:25 am

didtto on the patches question, i bought some and intend to try them when i get back home soon , like next week. so i will update as time goes by.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » October 18th, 2012, 12:29 pm

JoeBama wrote:^^ i'm gonna try cold turkey first and use as prescribed if i still have the craving bad...worried about side effects tho...

I started smoking in my schoold days, (form 4)..which was like 15 yrs ago.
On July 19th this year i attempted to not smoke for just 1 day.
I pulled it off and tried to make it 2 days. Proud to say that i made it and kept going and today it's been sumn like 91 days since i last smoked.

It's NOT easy, every single day i feel for it.
I even had like 20 dreams where i had a smoke or nearly had a smoke.

I'm feeling much better, except for a lil dry cough which hung around.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 19th, 2012, 10:10 am

I use 2 packs a day, wanna stop, but I cant just like that nah

Congrats to yall who stopped.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 19th, 2012, 8:22 pm

after all this time I still get the feeling for a blends.....but it goes away quite quickly...

Postby brams112 » October 19th, 2012, 8:24 pm

Gotta have strong mind power.

Invisible

Postby Invisible » October 19th, 2012, 11:47 pm

If YOU really wanna stop you'll stop. I tried so many times before and just went straight back mainly because I stopped because the wifey or mom was nagging me about it. But this last time 'I' wanted to stop. And that was that. Never smoked since then.

Postby Hook » October 20th, 2012, 9:33 am

Correct, when u "quit" for somebody else, backsliding comes easy. Quit for YOU.

Admittedly, like Vega, I feel for a blend every once in a while, but that passes quickly.

Postby Damien » October 20th, 2012, 9:37 am

i start back after 2yrs :/

Postby Hook » October 20th, 2012, 9:43 am

u quit quitting? buy why?

Postby Damien » October 20th, 2012, 9:51 am

i start back after two yrs of quitting i was on vacation with some folks who stopped smoking as well and they said that only when they on vacation they could take a lil smoke, stupid me think i could of do the same like i still on vacation

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 21st, 2012, 11:26 pm

nah I eh going back down that road again.....I feel so free....not having to wait till lunch to make a quick run away to smoke or to get the smoke smell out of the car before the wife comes back or else is ah next lecture about how the car smelling stink....plus all the money saved is helluva cool feeling. I literally spend nothing daily.....no more money on rum, cigs and mints....

And TOTALLY agree with Invisible and Hook!!!! All the time I tried to quit because other ppl telling me it eh good blah blah blah.......I stopped because I wanted to and the damn chest cold that I had made it very easy to stop....the smoke wasn't going down in meh lungs at all at all....I was getting real vex and ah just say fck that, crush up the whole pack and fling it 'way (yes I feel very bad about littering that day)

neocyst
Location: lookin' for love in all the wrong places....and lovin' it!

Postby neocyst » October 22nd, 2012, 12:03 am

trying to quit right now....nuh working out though :(

Postby Hook » October 22nd, 2012, 8:11 am

nah boi Damien. Everybody's built differently. I've a buddy who only smokes when he drinks. That that's maybe once or twice a mth with a couple beers after work or football.

Another smokes only when he's really stressed. In the last decade I've seen him under REAL stress and only ever seen him smoke once.

I know to myself that I form habits really easily, so I don't take example from them. I know if I have "just the one smoke", I start over. Chalk it up to a lesson learned and push the reset button if you really want to quit for good.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » October 22nd, 2012, 10:34 am

Hook wrote:nah boi Damien. Everybody's built differently. I've a buddy who only smokes when he drinks. That that's maybe once or twice a mth with a couple beers after work or football.

Another smokes only when he's really stressed. In the last decade I've seen him under REAL stress and only ever seen him smoke once.

I know to myself that I form habits really easily, so I don't take example from them. I know if I have "just the one smoke", I start over. Chalk it up to a lesson learned and push the reset button if you really want to quit for good.

the hussy does this......he is in the process of trying to stop completely, been at it for over a year.

But i feel he not trying as hard as he says. :lol:

Postby Sky » October 22nd, 2012, 10:54 am

For those who need a little push again, a serious detox can help.
Sometimes to the point that your body rejects it.

Postby dougla_boy » October 22nd, 2012, 11:02 am

i used to smoke when stressed and/or when liming.......but i stopped completely.....cyah be hiding it from the gf....she would have my head if she knew....so to avoid trouble, i stay away from it......it dont bother me anymore tho.....occasionally when stressed i feel for a blend but other than that it dont bother me....

Postby Hook » October 22nd, 2012, 12:53 pm

“Giving up smoking is the easiest thing in the world. I know because I've done it thousands of times.”
― Mark Twain

Postby Stephon. » October 22nd, 2012, 1:35 pm

Three Hundred and Twenty Eight Days (328)

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » October 22nd, 2012, 8:37 pm

Stephon. wrote:Three Hundred and Twenty Eight Days (328)

Keep strong Stephon! Good for you!!!

I kicked the habit for a little less than four years ago and as Hook and the others have reiterated, you need to do it for yourself and not because others want you to...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 11th, 2012, 3:57 am

how's it going? ppl keeping it strong ?

I am 464 days smoke free.... My counter states 9282 cigs avoided and dais like $9k not spent on the blends....

Postby Hook » December 11th, 2012, 4:46 am

:lol: I shoulda start a fund and put $20 in a jar every day like when I used to smoke...meainkno where dat money went nuh

nismoid

Postby nismoid » December 11th, 2012, 6:52 am

I stopped counting after 3 years of being smoke free

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 11th, 2012, 8:01 am

I think around Vegas 100th day of smoke free I started back smoking. My ecig went to sheit and I never got time to buy a new one. I did cut my consumption to a half pack a week but noticed these last 2weeks I went through a full pack a week.

Strangely enought I see this thread here, I just woke up telling my gf I'm not gonna smoke for the rest of the week beacuse my body feels weak.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 11th, 2012, 8:01 pm

ent man Hook!!! I myself have no idea too....

but I need to remind myself of the days smoke free because up to now I still get cravings....guess dais the stored nicotine being released from the fat cells....

krips keep trying man!!!!

Postby DVSTT » December 11th, 2012, 8:22 pm

Congrats on the smoke free days guys! I'm sure your lungs are thanking you lol! But what caused you guys to actually start smoking in the first place?

Last edited by DVSTT on December 11th, 2012, 9:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Hook » December 11th, 2012, 8:43 pm

boy to be honest, for me was just the in thing to do as a teenager, which was strange, even for me...being a "rebel" of sorts

believe it or not, I'd quit for several years and taken it back up as an adult...used to smoke the occasional 5piece and sometimes a roll-on, but never the cig part, until a day I light a blend for a padnuh and accidentally inhaled...it felt good...it felt reeeaaal good...that was 13 years ago...I quit in February of this year.

I occasionally get a "craving", but not quite. It's more of a habit thing. The last few weekends I've been doing a lot of work around the house and on the car and I'd bought beers to sip afterwards, but each time, for a second I felt as though I should be lighting up one to go with my beer.
Not me and that nuh. I'm seeing notable improvement in my breathing and overall health since I quit and I'm not about to give that up just so.
I regret two things about quitting though - substituting those night smokes for snacks, and not putting away $20 a day as if I were still spending it on cigarettes. I'm exercising and cutting down the snacks now though. Everything in due course.

Postby DVSTT » December 11th, 2012, 9:04 pm

Hook wrote:boy to be honest, for me was just the in thing to do as a teenager, which was strange, even for me...being a "rebel" of sorts

believe it or not, I'd quit for several years and taken it back up as an adult...used to smoke the occasional 5piece and sometimes a roll-on, but never the cig part, until a day I light a blend for a padnuh and accidentally inhaled...it felt good...it felt reeeaaal good...that was 13 years ago...I quit in February of this year.

I occasionally get a "craving", but not quite. It's more of a habit thing. The last few weekends I've been doing a lot of work around the house and on the car and I'd bought beers to sip afterwards, but each time, for a second I felt as though I should be lighting up one to go with my beer.
Not me and that nuh. I'm seeing notable improvement in my breathing and overall health since I quit and I'm not about to give that up just so.
I regret two things about quitting though - substituting those night smokes for snacks, and not putting away $20 a day as if I were still spending it on cigarettes. I'm exercising and cutting down the snacks now though. Everything in due course.

Kids in my school smoke like a chimney, mind you I talking about form 3 and even form 2 level, and I just think to myself what these children really doing to themselves? But as for the beer and cigarette combo, some of friends used to be talking about that, how certain drinks go better with certain cig brands. Didn't really matter to me, since I'm asthmatic, never smoked a day in my life and don't plan to.
As for the alcohol, I never drank in close to three years. Never really liked the taste of it :? . But I witnessed some of my friends get drunk for grads and start stripping in the middle of space so I staying far from that too lol.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 12th, 2012, 6:25 am

i have semi quit smoking since the 27th of october,
i havent smoked a single cigarette since then,
i do however smoke an e-cig which i am starting to ween myself off of aswell,
i hope to be clean in february.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 12th, 2012, 6:46 am

DVSTT wrote:Congrats on the smoke free days guys! I'm sure your lungs are thanking you lol! But what caused you guys to actually start smoking in the first place?

2 of my best friends started smoking on a sunday when we used to ride bmx at the local skatepark when we were about 15-16,
i started "practicing" smoking at home after school smoking my dads cigarette butts :roll: and then i took one from his pack and smoked it,
it was horrible lol but i kept doing it until i could smoke it without coughing and then started buying a half pack to smoke at the skatepark (i guess to fit in) which became a pack in time.
eventually i smoked half a pack a day buy the time i started college at 16-17.
i had quit from time to time over 10 years i was only smoking a pack a week before i moved to trinidad and then when i arrived here i was amazed at how cheap cigs were and promptly smoked a pack a day up until 2 months ago.