Premium gas question old price vs new price compatibility

Re: Premium gas question old price vs new price compatibilit

Postby MG Man » October 8th, 2012, 3:56 pm

crossdrilled wrote:MG... siphon out the gas in the tank, sell it side the road at the ole $4.00 price. Use money to buy a B14... Dat simple.

legitimacy

Hitla

Postby Hitla » October 8th, 2012, 8:09 pm

have the answer for switching from Premium Unleaded Gasoline to Super Unleaded Gasoline

Octane Plus is designed to improve gasoline engine operation in areas where the octane rating (RON) is too low and causes engine knock, pinging,
overheating and other problems associated with lowoctane gasoline. Raises the octane rating by up to 4 points. Contains no lead or other metallic-compounds that could harm catalytic converters.

Intended use
As additive treatment for all gasoline powered cars to increase performance and reduce problems of low-octane fuels. One can treats up to 50 l of gasoline.

Huge savings by switching to Super Unleaded Gasoline and adding can of Liqui Moly Octane Plus.

A car which fills up with 40 liters Premium before increase - 40 liters x $4.00 =$160.00
After increase to fill sam car will now cost - 40 liters x $5.75=$230.00
Additional cost $70.00

Switching to Super Unleaded and filling up same car and adding a Liqui Moly Octane Plus

40 liters Super Unleaded - 40 liters x $2.70 = 108.00
Liqui Moly Octane Plus - $65.00
SAVINGS - 57.00

Postby rollingstock » October 8th, 2012, 8:50 pm

^ So how is a car designed to operate using premium (95 ron or more) supposed to benefit from just a 4 point raise in octane, lets say we use it with super (92 ron) this then becomes 92.4 ron, far cry from 95 ron don't you think?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 8th, 2012, 9:22 pm

Are there any known issues with mixing the new premium with the usual super?

I am considering implementing this, in preparation for when the new super price comes along....I am thinking that the fuel system would have already been conditioned with this new+old mixture and so would transition easier when the new super is mixed with the old one...I dunno...

Oleander

Postby Oleander » October 8th, 2012, 9:39 pm

:evil: I knew I should have sold my car and bought a B14 (my dream car) when I had the chance... Now I'm stuck with a large premium wallet snatcher.
Super and premium mix drove over Lady Young and reached my destination with no difference in drive :shock: I think .. what if I didn't pay enough attention steups :? ... all else will be left to wallet snatcher's care provider.
Shimz

redrum28

Postby redrum28 » October 8th, 2012, 9:41 pm

I believe that Hitla said it raises by 4 points not by point 4(.4) points, so it would come up to 96 ron

Postby r3iXmann » October 8th, 2012, 9:44 pm

redrum28 wrote:I believe that Hitla said it raises by 4 points not by point 4(.4) points, so it would come up to 96 ron

read the fine print :|

redrum28

Postby redrum28 » October 8th, 2012, 9:48 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
redrum28 wrote:I believe that Hitla said it raises by 4 points not by point 4(.4) points, so it would come up to 96 ron

I see now, I now see!

Postby MG Man » October 9th, 2012, 6:32 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:Are there any known issues with mixing the new premium with the usual super?

I am considering implementing this, in preparation for when the new super price comes along....I am thinking that the fuel system would have already been conditioned with this new+old mixture and so would transition easier when the new super is mixed with the old one...I dunno...

just unplug your battery for about 10 minutes and let the ecu reset

Postby 1UZFE » October 9th, 2012, 6:37 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:Are there any known issues with mixing the new premium with the usual super?

throttle body spray and Octane boost price will raise...
Powersellers way allyuh dey??...

Postby r3iXmann » October 9th, 2012, 9:29 am

MG Man, you should bottle the $4.00 premium and put it into a vault. can you imagine the price 10 years down the road?

Postby RBphoto » October 9th, 2012, 10:35 am

can someone shoehorn a GA15 into a Tiida body?

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » October 9th, 2012, 11:49 am

r3iXmann wrote:

Postby rollingstock » October 9th, 2012, 12:00 pm

^ What's the forkin point of you quoting that and not replying? Do you have any input with any subject? Seems that's your normal MO quote without replying one phoq!

Bareback

Postby Bareback » October 9th, 2012, 12:19 pm

Maybe he is a mute and can't speak!

Postby dougla_boy » October 9th, 2012, 12:27 pm

Bareback wrote:Maybe he is a mute and can't speak!

FTL

Postby FTL » October 9th, 2012, 12:30 pm

Premium still has another $1.50 to go up before it is at cost.

Postby rfari » October 9th, 2012, 3:02 pm

FTL wrote:Premium still has another $1.50 to go up before it is at cost.

Actually the jury still out on this

Postby eliteauto » October 9th, 2012, 3:22 pm

Premium is the new Premium, no longer are clerk 1 chicks boasting about going Stumblin on a Friday, now they coming to work to boast about how they meet a 6% man on the Boardwalk in Chaguaramas, OJT chicks getting jealous cause a 6 percenter drive quite dey

Postby dougla_boy » October 9th, 2012, 3:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:Premium is the new Premium, no longer are clerk 1 chicks boasting about going Stumblin on a Friday, now they coming to work to boast about how they meet a 6% man on the Boardwalk in Chaguaramas, OJT chicks getting jealous cause a 6 percenter drive quite dey

BOARRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!

0X 0X 0X

Postby tr1ad » October 9th, 2012, 4:34 pm

eliteauto wrote:Premium is the new Premium, no longer are clerk 1 chicks boasting about going Stumblin on a Friday, now they coming to work to boast about how they meet a 6% man on the Boardwalk in Chaguaramas, OJT chicks getting jealous cause a 6 percenter drive quite dey

hold ah bellarz.....

ent all did tell yuh that last week

Postby eliteauto » October 9th, 2012, 6:14 pm

tr1ad wrote:

hold ah bellarz.....

you cyah talk to me!! You sell yuh 6% to buy a subsidised ride *twahh*

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 9th, 2012, 6:30 pm

won't the two differently priced fuels cause chaos with the ecu's fuzzy logic parameters? I'm thinking that there would be wild swings in engine timing as the ecu attempts to work through its settings in order to come up with a pattern suitable for the fuel mix.....

then if the ecu goes back to oem setting then that would be at the old price.... the problem with that would be if my tank full with fuel at the higher price then the tank would most definitely overflow ..... because the fuel delivery would be back at oem, with the motor using fuel at the lower price, and so when it start getting this higher cost fuel it would have to send back the cost difference in fuel back to the tank....and thus an overflowing tank.....what a mdafkn quandry!!!!! it's like there's no blasted way out of this dire situation!!!!!!!!

Postby MG Man » October 10th, 2012, 6:46 am

correct you are sir
I had this exact same problem. I fixed it by ripping out the ECU entirely, and swapping the EFI for the carb setup off of a Galant, and now I runnin Supa...for really fyahz, try a GSR carb

Postby tr1ad » October 10th, 2012, 8:05 am

eliteauto wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

hold ah bellarz.....

you cyah talk to me!! You sell yuh 6% to buy a subsidised ride *twahh*

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 10th, 2012, 9:08 am

MG Man wrote:correct you are sir
I had this exact same problem. I fixed it by ripping out the ECU entirely, and swapping the EFI for the carb setup off of a Galant, and now I runnin Supa...for really fyahz, try a GSR carb

Aha!!!! I see where you coming from....sounds like a good plan....but hear this, instead of implementing a carb setup I could maybe look at going in de bamboo and buying a new foren' use ecu....then when I connect it up it come like it is a new one in the car and so would automatically adjust to the new fuel price.....yes yes....crisis averted in theory!!!

Postby Dave » October 10th, 2012, 9:24 am

jus splice een a diode from them tweeter to the ecu, he guh fix heself

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 10th, 2012, 9:32 am

This is a tax on the middle class - plain and simple, a few of the "luxury cars" like BMWs and Audis need premium, but most can run fine on 91 RON (super is 92) or are deisel (like all the big Q7 an ting dem ministers already get tax breaks to buy)

The cars that NEED premium are the 09+ corolla, 1.5 lancer (2.0 is super), Swift sport etc. all cars that cost well below $200k (middle class cars)... I think there isn't much outcry because these drivers who cannot switch represent a fraction of the motoring public.

BUT... many people have switched, from premium which had a $.73 subsidy to super which has a $1.81 subsidy, and an economist as well as an auto-enthusiast this makes ZERO sense

The government is now spending more on the subsidy, a few are now paying double the price of super, some are mashing up their engines trying super - NO ONE WINS!

liquimolytt

Postby liquimolytt » October 10th, 2012, 1:48 pm

Yes it increases by up to four points, not point four, don't class Liqui Moly with American brands. Liqui Moly is high quality German products which does what it claims to do. No "mamaguy"
Check out the facts about the octane booster at http://www.liqui-moly@liquimoly.de , search for the item by entering the code 2956 in the product search area.

Postby rollingstock » October 10th, 2012, 1:57 pm

liquimolytt wrote:

Yes it increases by up to four points, not point four, don't class Liqui Moly with American brands. Liqui Moly is high quality German products which does what it claims to do. No "mamaguy"
Check out the facts about the octane booster at http://www.liqui-moly@liquimoly.de , search for the item by entering the code 2956 in the product search area.

Are you a complete phoqing idiot? Did you even read your own link?

All you've proven is that you are clearly uninfomed about the product that you are representing and spewing garbage and wrong information.