Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 3rd, 2012, 10:59 pm

Oh shux!
Those older generation cards pushed a tun of heat especially the 480 :P

I'd go with the 660 as well....it's like almost half the price of a 670 and it still performs great :D
These Kelper cards are supposed to be way more efficient than the older generation cards

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 4th, 2012, 1:20 am

^^Yup. The 660 using 1 x 6 pin connector vs 2 x 6 pin on the ti model

That is what i call progress. :D

Except for the GTX 650 doh, that is just pure fail although it had some decent specs .

Postby Ted_v2 » October 4th, 2012, 8:21 am

i have a problem,
i was trying to play some movies that i ripped from a dvd, it plays normal on my desktop via media player but not on my laptop

on the laptop its stating that i need a dvd decoder

can i get a decoder to work with media player or i need to download a new program? if so whats a best program for that application

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 4th, 2012, 8:24 am

sound boy 64 wrote:i have a problem,
i was trying to play some movies that i ripped from a dvd, it plays normal on my desktop via media player but not on my laptop

can i get a decoder to work with media player or i need to download a new program? if so whats a best program for that application

Download this: http://www.filehippo.com/download_klite_codec_pack/ (latest version)

No probs after that.

U can use either windows media player or the media player that comes with this.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 4th, 2012, 8:33 am

gonna download now^

Postby Ted_v2 » October 4th, 2012, 9:10 am

ETtt works

thanks buddy

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 4th, 2012, 9:54 am

HCCA wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:i have a problem,

Download this: http://www.filehippo.com/download_klite_codec_pack/ (latest version)

No probs after that.

U can use either windows media player or the media player that comes with this.

That's a best codec pack yes works bess

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 4th, 2012, 11:31 am

Ill still get the cooler because i cant make to buy that card anytime soon.Even when it comes out of my machine it would be going into another machine in my house so i still want it working good.The price for that 660 is really good though. Thats about the price i paid for my 260 when it just came out.

But if i do decide to sell it,how much might i get for that now? :?

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 4th, 2012, 11:56 am

5forward wrote:Ill still get the cooler because i cant make to buy that card anytime soon.Even when it comes out of my machine it would be going into another machine in my house so i still want it working good.The price for that 660 is really good though. Thats about the price i paid for my 260 when it just came out.

But if i do decide to sell it,how much might i get for that now? :?

i see ppl buyin dat for around $500-600 an ting.

5forward

Postby 5forward » October 4th, 2012, 5:17 pm

Alright...well whether i change the cooler or the entire card ill let yall know how it performs.Thanks guys.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 4th, 2012, 7:41 pm

HCCA wrote:^^Yup. The 660 using 1 x 6 pin connector vs 2 x 6 pin on the ti model

That is what i call progress. :D

Except for the GTX 650 doh, that is just pure fail although it had some decent specs .

GTX 650, GTX 550 and GTS 450 were all made for the same purpose imo....basically entry level cards

todd61

Postby todd61 » October 6th, 2012, 3:49 pm

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 6th, 2012, 4:38 pm

Some sweet prices ... Think I buy a few to give my customers ..

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 6th, 2012, 4:56 pm

Postby Trini Hookah » October 6th, 2012, 5:04 pm

Laptop webcam recommendations? Nothing too.expensive as well, primary purpose is Skype lol.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 6th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Logitech C910
Logitech Pro 9000

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 7th, 2012, 11:08 am

GTX 480 at roughly $280US including shipping :shock: :shock:

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-GTX480-Graphics-015-P3-1480-KR/dp/B004EHWMP6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349622248&sr=8-1&keywords=GTX+480

A 660ti would still pwn it @ gaming and would run way cooler and more efficient :lol:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 7th, 2012, 12:02 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:GTX 480 at roughly $280US including shipping :shock: :shock:

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-GTX480-Graphics-015-P3-1480-KR/dp/B004EHWMP6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1349622248&sr=8-1&keywords=GTX+480

A 660ti would still pwn it @ gaming and would run way cooler and more efficient :lol:

Earlier in d week it was going for $180 us.

Price prob gone up cuz they low in stock in the stores.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 8th, 2012, 3:55 pm

Any1 know where I can get a sheet of plexi/acrylic for cheap to do a side window?

This game looks pretty good

Postby Ted_v2 » October 8th, 2012, 6:14 pm

what size?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 8th, 2012, 6:45 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:
HCCA wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:good feedback, HCCA, ichiniisama99 what AOC model do you guys use, I was checking the AOC E2352PHZ 23. Descent price for a 3D Monitor. Is it the same as yours?

Yup same one i haz.

However is two 'normal' (over the ear type) glasses u get, not a clip on and a normal type.

Wizz and supertech selling dem now.

Bought mine from tech n fiz on here for $1750 i believe, got 3 years warranty so i good with that. :D

iM@st@1 wrote:New phantom coming soon. Can't wait to see what updates were made. Feel like I could hold on to mine forever, really great chassis.

Hopefully dey introduce triple rad support on top and ah external 2.5" drive bay for card readers, fan controller etc.

Yeah same here, but i bought mine in supertech for $1675 with one year warranty. Yuh won't be disappointed.

nice planning to get one this week...........hope my 560ti could handle it. If it can't oh well, a reason to go 660ti :D

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 8th, 2012, 7:16 pm

My 560 handles anything I throw at it. Never had it output on a 3D display though. I wished I had gotten a ti version instead.....my 560 takes overclocking nicely :twisted:

How does your 560ti take overclocking and what kinda temps so you does get??

WRT to the 660....won't mind getting me one of these if I were to upgrade from my 560 :twisted: :twisted:

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » October 8th, 2012, 7:34 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:nice planning to get one this week...........hope my 560ti could handle it. If it can't oh well, a reason to go 660ti :D

I pretty sure your 560ti would handle it. My 460 handles 720p3D good, and mine is the 768MB version :shock:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 8th, 2012, 7:42 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:what size?

19"x17" approx. To make a small window for the side panel

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » October 8th, 2012, 8:04 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:My 560 handles anything I throw at it. Never had it output on a 3D display though. I wished I had gotten a ti version instead.....my 560 takes overclocking nicely :twisted:

How does your 560ti take overclocking and what kinda temps so you does get??

WRT to the 660....won't mind getting me one of these if I were to upgrade from my 560 :twisted: :twisted:

well I usually play BF3 on max settings @ 720p (on a 32" HDTV). I usually get max temp 70. These cards tend to run a bit hot. I never really overclocked it as it is already factory overclocked and anything I throw at it so far it handles it nicely.........I have the EVGA GTX 560 Ti SC DS

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 8th, 2012, 8:12 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
ichiniisama99 wrote:
HCCA wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:good feedback, HCCA, ichiniisama99 what AOC model do you guys use, I was checking the AOC E2352PHZ 23. Descent price for a 3D Monitor. Is it the same as yours?

Yup same one i haz.

However is two 'normal' (over the ear type) glasses u get, not a clip on and a normal type.

Wizz and supertech selling dem now.

Bought mine from tech n fiz on here for $1750 i believe, got 3 years warranty so i good with that. :D

iM@st@1 wrote:New phantom coming soon. Can't wait to see what updates were made. Feel like I could hold on to mine forever, really great chassis.

Hopefully dey introduce triple rad support on top and ah external 2.5" drive bay for card readers, fan controller etc.

Yeah same here, but i bought mine in supertech for $1675 with one year warranty. Yuh won't be disappointed.

nice planning to get one this week...........hope my 560ti could handle it. If it can't oh well, a reason to go 660ti :D

When i got mine i had a 2gb 560ti overclocked to 985MHz, when i ran in 3d, it cut the FPS in half (bear in mind the monitor uses it's own 3d, not the "nvidia 3d vision") and i'm running a phenom II x4 965 BE @ 3.8GHz.... That's when i decided to get a gtx 680, now im getting about 40-45FPS with 3d on most games, right now it's basically arkham city i'm replaying. @1920x1080 btw. i guess it's up to the FPS you are comfortable with, personally i cant really play @ 30FPS anymore. My 560ti handled it, but not like i wanted it to :lol: But try it first and see how comfortable you are with it.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » October 8th, 2012, 8:26 pm

When i ran Metro 2033 at 1080p in 3d i got and average of abt 52 fps and a minimum of 22 fps (fast dip). Everything on high with DOF off (cuz the game won't render in 3d with it on).

Ran BF3 as a test and got well over 60 fps at 1080p on ultra as well (no 3d).

Batman in 3d is just pure awesomeness esp in fight scenes :P

Will retry BF3 and Borderlands 2 when my system fix back up :D

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » October 8th, 2012, 8:28 pm

HCCA wrote:When i ran Metro 2033 at 1080p in 3d i got and average of abt 52 fps and a minimum of 22 fps (fast dip). Everything on high with DOF off (cuz the game won't render in 3d with it on).

Ran BF3 as a test and got well over 60 fps at 1080p on ultra as well (no 3d).

Batman in 3d is just pure awesomeness esp in fight scenes :P

Will retry BF3 and Borderlands 2 when my system fix back up :D

Cool.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 8th, 2012, 8:31 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:Batman in 3d is just pure awesomeness esp in fight scenes

I 2nd this :mrgreen:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 8th, 2012, 8:38 pm

Is Batman really as good as people say it is?
Never tried it because I always thought Batman was childish :oops: