2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

allon4

Re: New Fuel Prices [Speculation]

Postby allon4 » October 1st, 2012, 6:36 pm

Yeah more than one, and mostly posts by you. Also still says there is a loss in power and trunk space and high initial cost to install. The more powerful engines will notice it less.

Re: 2012/13 Budget - 44% increase in Premium gasoline

Postby pioneer » October 1st, 2012, 6:44 pm

Elitism here we come, never in my life I thought i'd be alive to witness it in Trinidad.

Oh well, time to stockpile weapons. Civil war and social unrest is coming.

Then again ministers' kids neatly tucked away in foreign countries or have 24/7 bodyguards, at the expense of the state of course.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 1st, 2012, 6:45 pm

I've merged the "2012/13 Budget" topic with this "New Fuel Prices" topic since both were mostly talking about the 44% increase in Premium fuel.

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2012, 7:14 pm

elitism was always here, it's just that it was always easy to buffer the haves and have nots who could all lime and be seen in the same places on perceived level ground.

you need to go jamaica to see it in the purest form
difference is over there it is easy for the rich to physically keep away from the poor
over here the only place they can get away with that is ddi

pioneer wrote:Elitism here we come, never in my life I thought i'd be alive to witness it in Trinidad.

Oh well, time to stockpile weapons. Civil war and social unrest is coming.

Then again ministers' kids neatly tucked away in foreign countries or have 24/7 bodyguards, at the expense of the state of course.

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2012, 7:14 pm

About time the Premium prices increased. This is best move ever, who give a hoots about premium gas drivers, most cant drive anyway and only cause problems when driving

Re: New Fuel Prices [Speculation]

Postby wagonrunner » October 1st, 2012, 7:18 pm

allon4 wrote:I remember reading once where someone who installs them says he doesn't recommend it on anything less than a 2.l engine because you will notice the loss in power.
What size engine in yours? and what size cng tank?
allon4 wrote:Yeah more than one, and mostly posts by you. Also still says there is a loss in power and trunk space and high initial cost to install. The more powerful engines will notice it less.
what you ask me to post? you don't know how a search works?

zoom rader wrote:About time the Premium prices increased. This is best move ever, who give a hoots about premium gas drivers, most cant drive anyway and only cause problems when driving
any else knew there is a link between driving and type of gas used?

If you keep them separated, they're too busy fighting themselves to oppose their oppressors. Perfectly demonstrated here.

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » October 1st, 2012, 7:22 pm

i think the premium price increase is a tactic to get people to switch to cng.

basically anybody buying a showroom car would want to put the best stuff in it for maximum power and preservation of the vehicles "newness".

now any "upper" middle class who is mystically able to afford a new car has to take into account the premium gas price. some people would still prefer a brand new car therefore may go to the cng option when it becomes available.

with regards to the service stations the minister did say that for the next five years major infrastructural work will be done to make these stations easily accessible.

i think over the next year with people feeling the pinch and these stations becoming more and more available, the population will slowly begin to go into that direction.

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2012, 7:23 pm

Maybe now people should think when buying new cars from greedy businessmen that make huge profit on the public.

ztune

Postby ztune » October 1st, 2012, 7:28 pm

she says it's for the bmw's and audi's. well that hit me. now its $402 to fill my tank.

Postby Stephon. » October 1st, 2012, 7:28 pm

zoom rader wrote:Maybe now people should think when buying new cars from greedy businessmen that make huge profit on the public.

You mean from the showroom? Why are you being vague?

xtech

Postby xtech » October 1st, 2012, 7:30 pm

So this budget is why the tire shop by the Couva flyover was.....Over stocking on used tires.

Man Prob have around 5,000 or more tires stuffed in there....

They Don't even have room for customers to come in the yard to change tires.

ztune

Postby ztune » October 1st, 2012, 7:32 pm

foreign used tyre gone up, too?

Postby rollingstock » October 1st, 2012, 7:33 pm

zoom rader wrote:About time the Premium prices increased. This is best move ever, who give a hoots about premium gas drivers, most cant drive anyway and only cause problems when driving

I wish i could say your stupidity astounds me, but really i'm not surprised.

Wait isn't there a thread where you promised to leave 2nr? Had to be a PP supporter, never sticks to their word.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 1st, 2012, 7:34 pm

Those Aussie super police cars going CNG too?

Postby wagonrunner » October 1st, 2012, 7:36 pm

pioneer wrote:Civil war and social unrest is coming.

Never. We are too divisive to ever unite for our own common good.
The record of anything similar was stricken from the records apparently, if you see the back of the government issued copybooks.

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2012, 7:36 pm

Stephon. wrote:
zoom rader wrote:Maybe now people should think when buying new cars from greedy businessmen that make huge profit on the public.

Yeah showroom sorry, but in one hand they will now raise prices on diesel rides, but still does not matter cus it still have asswipes that cant drive 4x4s

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2012, 7:40 pm

Wait isn't there a thread where you promised to leave 2nr? Had to be a PP supporter, never sticks to their word.

You think a racist like EA gonna run me out?
So you think gas prices should remain the same and you expect more from the government to eat ah food?

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » October 1st, 2012, 7:44 pm

crazy_ztune wrote:she says it's for the bmw's and audi's. well that hit me. now its $402 to fill my tank.

This!!!

Grudge

Postby Grudge » October 1st, 2012, 7:44 pm

These people continue to oppress the hard working citizens of this country who are constantly trying to improve themselves. Since they assumed office this has been their agenda. Take from the hard working and give to the lazy of society. My commute is short I only use 2 tanks of gas a month, that should be about $120 more monthly, but I have some co workers who fill up twice for the week, these guys will feel it.
This is wickedness, don't touch super for years, but increase premium twice within that time.
When is the post budget rally?
We could feed the lazy more......party, party, fete, fete, wine, wine,...
Last edited by Grudge on October 1st, 2012, 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » October 1st, 2012, 7:45 pm

Stephon. wrote:

Yeah showroom sorry, but in one hand they will now raise prices on diesel rides, but still does not matter cus it still have asswipes that cant drive 4x4s

Lol are you serious! Do you even know how much tax it is to import a vechicle? I'd forgive you because I was this ignorant couple years ago, but obviously vehicles are taxed when it's imported into Trinidad, then when they put their markup and add vat cars sometimes cross the 200k mark WRT price, a 2012 Mazda 3 is less than 185 ..... But then the government add vat and even with the before cat price, it includes reg, number plate, gas etc. but then again it got people that put all the faith in the world at the dealers overseas thinking that companies in Trinidad import only fully loaded vehicles and then "take out" the sunroof and fog lights and electrical features (I am yet to see how this is possible) etc. And put an extreme markup on the vehicle, which isn't true at all.

Actually the competition for jap Eco boxes are stiff as hell but all the people on the outside see is a vehicle that is 20k in America and expect it to e 120k in Trinidad. No doubt showrooms make profits but it's not like what most peoples think, which is that they make over 100k on a vehicle. Ie "big profit on the public" as you mentioned.
Last edited by Stephon. on October 1st, 2012, 7:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » October 1st, 2012, 7:45 pm

aem water meth kit on the way! fok dat 5.75 price! super for it yes!

Postby Stephon. » October 1st, 2012, 7:47 pm

Truth be told, the banks make more money than showrooms do in TT when a new car is purchased so stop.

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2012, 7:48 pm

Grudge wrote:These people continue to oppress the hard working citizens of this country who are constantly trying to improve themselves. Since they assumed office this has been their agenda. Take from the hard working and give to the lazy of society. My commute is short I only use 2 tanks of gas a month, that should be about $120 more monthly, but I have some co workers who fill up twice for the week, these guys will feel it.
This is wickedness, don't touch super for years, but increase premium twice within that time.

Well if you want to drive a big premium gas cars you have to pay for it. Insurance should also raise on bigger cars.

xtech

Postby xtech » October 1st, 2012, 7:48 pm

U guys collecting rain water to put in that meth kit? U putting a big tank of water in yuh trunk?
Last edited by xtech on October 1st, 2012, 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

aidan

Postby aidan » October 1st, 2012, 7:49 pm

KiD wrote:aem water meth kit on the way! fok dat 5.75 price! super for it yes!

x12345

Postby tr1ad » October 1st, 2012, 7:51 pm

and when meth goes up to counteract the ole fabled tale of supply and demand

will the cry for jostis ring out?

Postby rollingstock » October 1st, 2012, 7:52 pm

You think a racist like EA gonna run me out?
So you think gas prices should remain the same and you expect more from the government to eat ah food?

No one tried to run you out, you made the statement of your own volition.

I never said i expected gas prices to remain the same, in fact i have no problem with a rise in cost. But why the lies? The PM stated this would affect 6% of the vehicles, I call BS, plus if this is the so called 'Austerity' measure, I fail to see the point where something that affects such a small percentage can in any way make a dent in the fuel subsidy.
Why the raise in cost and then talk of upgrading fuel station? Didn't they mention a switch to CNG in previous budgets? Put things in place and then implement a raise to get persons to switch.
Wouldn't a meagre 30 cents raise in super and a 25 cents raise in diesel that would affect the majority of vehicles garner a bigger return and ease on the gas subsidy?

At the end of the day i expected a raise and prepared myself for it, and honestly couldn't be bothered much, 44% does seem sort of excessive but i love my car/engine, i have another car that uses super and costs half the price to operate wrt fuel (well now even less), and i can also take the work vehicle assigned to me that uses diesel that i don't have to pay for, but i much rather rest my ass in my own car that i'm comfortable with.
Last edited by rollingstock on October 1st, 2012, 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Grudge

Postby Grudge » October 1st, 2012, 7:52 pm

Well if you want to drive a big premium gas cars you have to pay for it. Insurance should also raise on bigger cars.

I doh have a problem mih boi....I could buy mih gas....is young hard working co workers I talking about.
I have a private practice I will pass the raise in anything on my clients. Somebody have to pay, not me.
Last edited by Grudge on October 1st, 2012, 7:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby wagonrunner » October 1st, 2012, 7:53 pm

Stephon. wrote:but then again it got people that put all the faith in the world at the dealers overseas thinking that companies in Trinidad import only fully loaded vehicles and then "take out" the sunroof and fog lights and electrical features (I am yet to see how this is possible) etc. And put an extreme markup on the vehicle, which isn't true at all.

I worked at a new car sales place that did that, it is true.
:lol: :lol: You didn't see a right turn lane being possible, you further wish to prove your ignorance?
Last edited by wagonrunner on October 1st, 2012, 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 1st, 2012, 7:53 pm

Stephon. wrote:Truth be told, the banks make more money than showrooms do in TT when a new car is purchased so stop.

Yes this is true, because the very same people that own the banks also own the showrooms. Double profit is made and the public is once again duped.

eg ANSA