WTF Teacher Development Day???????

reynold1

Re: WTF Teacher Development Day???????

Postby reynold1 » September 29th, 2012, 12:59 pm

Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain - and most fools do.
Benjamin Franklin

Postby Stephon. » September 29th, 2012, 1:05 pm

reynold1 wrote:Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain - and most fools do.
Benjamin Franklin

Lol shut the fcuk up!

reynold1

Postby reynold1 » September 29th, 2012, 1:12 pm

It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open one's mouth and remove all doubt.
Mark Twain

Postby Stephon. » September 29th, 2012, 1:24 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Daran wrote:....and the grand finale....13 weeks paid vacation per year. How the f*ck is that not a sweet deal.

Teachers don't have 13 weeks paid vacation. Where did you get that idea? Children have 13 weeks vacation, not teachers. Depending on the school, teachers are sent on workshops during the children's vacation periods (Board run schools tend to do this more than the Government run schools). The Government has every right to send all teachers to educational workshops during the children's vacation periods.

Teachers have to inform the Government before they leave the country. Teachers have to prepare formal lesson plans for every single class which are audited by their immediate supervisors and school supervisors. Those lesson plans are usually done outside the normal school hours because during whatever free periods they have, they have to be correcting homework and setting assignments for students.

A lot of people are very ignorant on the actual duties of teachers.

My best friend is a teacher. On the 2 month vacation she teaches lessons privately. Nothing with no workshop lol

Daran

Postby Daran » September 29th, 2012, 1:27 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Daran wrote:....and the grand finale....13 weeks paid vacation per year. How the f*ck is that not a sweet deal.

Teachers don't have 13 weeks paid vacation LMAO, who fool you padna?. Where did you get that idea? Children have 13 weeks vacation, not teachers. Depending on the school, teachers are sent on workshops during the children's vacation periods (Board run schools tend to do this more than the Government run schools). The Government has every right to send all teachers to educational workshops during the children's vacation periods.

Teachers have to inform the Government before they leave the country. Teachers have to prepare formal lesson plans for every single class which are audited by their immediate supervisors and school supervisors. Those lesson plans are usually done outside the normal school hours because during whatever free periods they have, they have to be correcting homework and setting assignments for students.

Please do not come with this BS. You think I don't know teachers? I have more teachers in my family than any other profession.

NO ONE informs the government when they leave the country. And I think only once ever has there been a workshop (two weeks mind you) that was held during July........and I have friends and family in dozens of schools. This is false propaganda spread by teachers and TUTTA.

Lesson Plans? Seriously, that's done probably once ever and then revised in couple hours when the Sylabus changes. And OMFG you are making a big deal about doing this outside working hours? I know teachers who do this during regular working hours quiet easily. You forget teahers have free periods and an hour for lunch.

If teachers want respect, they have stop with this gimme gimme lazy ass attitude and work for once. Some teachers do and I truly respect them, but most of them are just plain lazy.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 29th, 2012, 1:44 pm

I stand by what I said.

Apparently, the teachers in your family fall into the lazy ass group that everyone generalises teachers to be in. Sucks to be you.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 29th, 2012, 1:47 pm

Daran wrote:LOL most teachers are such ungrateful idiots, they don't realize how easy they have it.

Their job is not hard, I went back to teach highschool on contract in my year off before university. It was damn easy and actually fun.....yes it's a little more demanding since a good teacher (note, good) gives the class 100% of their attention during the period......yet all i heard from most of the staff was complaints.

When I went to work at real jobs, I realized how easy teachers had it. The responsiblity, stress, lack of free time (3 weeks vacation, 10 days sick/casual and hours from 8 to 6pm), traffic and general challanages faced were far far greater than 90% of teachers can imagine.

Teachers get around ~9K/mo starting (14k after 5 years), have 28 days (sick and casual), work hours between 8am and 2:30pm + hour for lunch and 15min recess.....and the grand finale....13 weeks paid vacation per year. How the f*ck is that not a sweet deal.

Plus, if you're an enterprising teacher, you start giving lessons after school hours.....3 days week, from 3:30 to 5:30pm, 10 students per class......and a cheap fee $50 a class ($200 a month) and pulling in an extra $6000 tax free per month.....that's your spending money + car loan money right there.......you could bank your entire salary after that.

Where you really employed as a teacher?

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 29th, 2012, 1:48 pm

Daran wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Teachers don't have 13 weeks paid vacation LMAO, who fool you padna?. Where did you get that idea? Children have 13 weeks vacation, not teachers. Depending on the school, teachers are sent on workshops during the children's vacation periods (Board run schools tend to do this more than the Government run schools). The Government has every right to send all teachers to educational workshops during the children's vacation periods.

Please do not come with this BS. You think I don't know teachers? I have more teachers in my family than any other profession.

NO ONE informs the government when they leave the country. And I think only once ever has there been a workshop (two weeks mind you) that was held during July........and I have friends and family in dozens of schools. This is false propaganda spread by teachers and TUTTA.

Lesson Plans? Seriously, that's done probably once ever and then revised in couple hours when the Sylabus changes. And OMFG you are making a big deal about doing this outside working hours? I know teachers who do this during regular working hours quiet easily. You forget teahers have free periods and an hour for lunch.

If teachers want respect, they have stop with this gimme gimme lazy ass attitude and work for once. Some teachers do and I truly respect them, but most of them are just plain lazy.

You can never do a lesson plan once...........

Postby Stephon. » September 29th, 2012, 2:19 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
Daran wrote:LOL most teachers are such ungrateful idiots, they don't realize how easy they have it.

Their job is not hard, I went back to teach highschool on contract in my year off before university. It was damn easy and actually fun.....yes it's a little more demanding since a good teacher (note, good) gives the class 100% of their attention during the period......yet all i heard from most of the staff was complaints.

When I went to work at real jobs, I realized how easy teachers had it. The responsiblity, stress, lack of free time (3 weeks vacation, 10 days sick/casual and hours from 8 to 6pm), traffic and general challanages faced were far far greater than 90% of teachers can imagine.

Teachers get around ~9K/mo starting (14k after 5 years), have 28 days (sick and casual), work hours between 8am and 2:30pm + hour for lunch and 15min recess.....and the grand finale....13 weeks paid vacation per year. How the f*ck is that not a sweet deal.

Plus, if you're an enterprising teacher, you start giving lessons after school hours.....3 days week, from 3:30 to 5:30pm, 10 students per class......and a cheap fee $50 a class ($200 a month) and pulling in an extra $6000 tax free per month.....that's your spending money + car loan money right there.......you could bank your entire salary after that.

Since we are on the topic of teachers.
You need an English teacher.

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » September 29th, 2012, 2:29 pm

Stephon. wrote:
mamoo_pagal wrote:

Since we are on the topic of teachers.
You need an English teacher.

thanks for the advice............carry on

Postby Stephon. » September 29th, 2012, 4:17 pm

Glad to help!

Postby mero » September 29th, 2012, 5:43 pm

reynold1>Stephon

dem quotes

Postby Trini Hookah » September 29th, 2012, 5:47 pm

mero wrote:reynold1>Stephon

dem quotes

Stephon kept posting on life support.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 29th, 2012, 7:05 pm

Daran wrote:

guess u have real lazy family......your comments speak alot about yur family...
and shows how narrow minded you are too.....Bro...I feel for u.....sorry bout yur family.......

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 29th, 2012, 7:28 pm

Their job is not hard, I went back to teach highschool on contract in my year off before university. It was damn easy and actually fun.....

did u actually teach?......did u do schemes of work?.....did u prepare exams that was scrutinized by your heads?.....did u prepare mark schemes and answer sheets?.......did u prepare lesson plans for each subject and topic taught?........did you correct at least 120 exam papers in two nights for end of term exams?..........did u enter marks in 200 report books and write comment to parents?....
did u intervene in situations where students got violent towards each other?.....did u intervene in situations where kids had no money to come to school to buy uniforms shoes etc?....did u undertake fund raising activities to get funds to need students?....Did u coordinate graduation ceremonies?.......did u full out cumulative record cards at the end of the term for 40 students?.......
were u ever physically threaten by students?.....

As far as i know .......teaching a year before UWI....is nothing at allll....u just went there to lime.....so dont speak of what u dont know.....dont fool the masses bro.......

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 29th, 2012, 7:48 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:I stand by what I said.

Apparently, the teachers in your family fall into the lazy ass group that everyone generalises teachers to be in. Sucks to be you.

x2....really sorry for the pupils in their classes...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 29th, 2012, 7:49 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:I stand by what I said.

x100....really sorry for the pupils in their classes...

fixed...

Postby UML » September 29th, 2012, 7:56 pm

even if they d man family lazy....they are still teachers and a good reflection of teachers in general...he is just one person with so many "lazy" teachers....so imagine the entire teaching service

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 29th, 2012, 7:58 pm

UML wrote:even if they d man family lazy....they are still teachers and a good reflection of teachers in general...he is just one person with so many "lazy" teachers....so imagine the entire teaching service

I wish your old school teacher could here u now....

UML....like u use to get real cut arse in school ent......cause u real toting..... :D :D :D

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » September 29th, 2012, 9:17 pm

y we eh talk about lazy arse parents??

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 29th, 2012, 9:22 pm

veedubtt wrote:y we eh talk about lazy arse parents??

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » September 29th, 2012, 9:25 pm

y not make a thread about the "few as allyuh want to put it", teachers who do work really really hard? Man who does gives classes on evenings FOR FREE. man who does go to skool and teach the kids during easter and xmas holidays to ensure the syllabus done in time for exam. Good talk teachers 2 nah

Postby Stephon. » September 29th, 2012, 9:25 pm

Ent parents expect teachers, music and tv shows to raise their kids for them?

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » September 29th, 2012, 9:27 pm

yes yes dey do eh. teachers have to TRAIN dey kids to use bins and yes yes yes toilet 2 eh

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 29th, 2012, 9:38 pm

veedubtt wrote:y not make a thread about the "few as allyuh want to put it", teachers who do work really really hard? Man who does gives classes on evenings FOR FREE. man who does go to skool and teach the kids during easter and xmas holidays to ensure the syllabus done in time for exam. Good talk teachers 2 nah

See the thread below.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=451138

It is ironic who is the OP in both of these threads.

veedubtt

Postby veedubtt » September 29th, 2012, 9:45 pm

^^^ rory man, u make meh smile dey. like i said earlier, the OP vex he hadda call the babysitter again.

Postby ronsin1 » September 30th, 2012, 7:31 am

Daran wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

NO ONE informs the government when they leave the country. And I think only once ever has there been a workshop (two weeks mind you) that was held during July........and I have friends and family in dozens of schools. This is false propaganda spread by teachers and TUTTA. This is a must because if needed to report for Work or have a workshop to do they will be contacted if out of the country they will not be paid

Lesson Plans? Seriously, that's done probably once ever and then revised in couple hours when the Sylabus changes. And OMFG you are making a big deal about doing this outside working hours? I know teachers who do this during regular working hours quiet easily. You forget teahers have free periods and an hour for lunch. Every single year My wife spends about three- four weeks of the July August Vacation Planning a scheme of work As per directive from her Principal it needs to be redone every year then it is reviewed by the principal and if corrections are to be done they will inform her

If teachers want respect, they have stop with this gimme gimme lazy ass attitude and work for once. Some teachers do and I truly respect them, but most of them are just plain lazy. All I have to Say is One Bad Apple spoils the bunch

I also want to add most of my wifes Salary goes back into buying stationary for her class as the government is yet to send any for the school she is assigned to

She also spends about two- three hours every evening planning work so don't believe that a teaching job is from 8 am -2:30 pm

You are really a closed minded fellow yuh know

Postby Hook » September 30th, 2012, 7:42 am

:lol: c'mon, these are the same fools who earnestly believe that ALL public servants are lazy just because dey spend all day in licencing to do an engine change

When in fact, if every single public servant from police, army, fire to garbage men, downed tools, pens, printers and vehicles for a week, T'dad would damn near sink...let dem soak in their own hognorance nuh man

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 30th, 2012, 7:57 am

ronsin1 wrote:
Daran wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

NO ONE informs the government when they leave the country. And I think only once ever has there been a workshop (two weeks mind you) that was held during July........and I have friends and family in dozens of schools. This is false propaganda spread by teachers and TUTTA. This is a must because if needed to report for Work or have a workshop to do they will be contacted if out of the country they will not be paid

Lesson Plans? Seriously, that's done probably once ever and then revised in couple hours when the Sylabus changes. And OMFG you are making a big deal about doing this outside working hours? I know teachers who do this during regular working hours quiet easily. You forget teahers have free periods and an hour for lunch. Every single year My wife spends about three- four weeks of the July August Vacation Planning a scheme of work As per directive from her Principal it needs to be redone every year then it is reviewed by the principal and if corrections are to be done they will inform her

If teachers want respect, they have stop with this gimme gimme lazy ass attitude and work for once. Some teachers do and I truly respect them, but most of them are just plain lazy. All I have to Say is One Bad Apple spoils the bunch

I also want to add most of my wifes Salary goes back into buying stationary for her class as the government is yet to send any for the school she is assigned to

She also spends about two- three hours every evening planning work so don't believe that a teaching job is from 8 am -2:30 pm

You are really a empty headed fellow yuh know

fixed :|

Daran

Postby Daran » September 30th, 2012, 8:14 am

Allow me to explain where I'm coming from, I'm not bashing all teachers, hardly....I'm bashing the teachers who aren't passionate about it, milk the system, and then complain and beyotch about how unforunate their job is compared to others.

I won't hold back the truth (Mods can sensor if they need to).

I taught at San Juan Gov. Sec for 4 terms on contract (Not OJT). I thought Math, Physics and had six classes....not a full schedule like some other teachers, but not the least either.

It was during that time I realized how lazy and ungrateful at least half of the staff were. They would constantly beyotch about everything, always complaining about this and that, bad mouthing the ministry, principal, students etc. Some of these would purposely not go to class because 'it too hot' or 'we on target with the sylabus already'.

However., there were a handful who were quiet, well meaning and never really bitched. Those were the ones I realized actually cared.

Let me share my thoughts on the so called 'work' you guys mentioned. THose who think I went to lime for the them 4 terms have another thing coming. I was given and treated like a full member of staff.

1. Lesson plans don't take very long, I don't know what you guys are complaining about. I did mine for Math & Physics in less than a week. Secondly, it just needs to be done once and updated. I dont' and can't imagine what kind of inefficient teacher spends an hour or 2 everyday updating a plan for the next day. IMO that is quite foolish and reeks of someone who has a personality disorder with regards to over preparation.

2. I prepared and marked exam papers, mid end of term and mid term, marked phyiscs projects and filled in reports for just over 200 students. I may sound weird, but I actually found it fun to mark papers. But I admit, it was tedious and time consuming. However, the exam supervising schedule was done in such a way that for those last 3 weeks of the term, I had enough time to mark everything during school hours.

3. Yes I agree with the above posters, lol. IMO I do have some very lazy teachers in my family. However, I've never sit through their classes and I'm sure with the years experience they are able to teach pretty well (I hope). My tiff with them is their overall attitude toward the profession and their overall ungratefulness about the perks they enjoy.

I firmly believe teachers beyotch about their job more than any other profession. I believe this maybe so due to the general frustrating atmosphere they are exposed too, but moreso I think it's a lack of passion for their chosen profession. Teaching aint for everyone, which is why I think the MoE does such a horrible job (at least they used to) of screening applicants. Teaching skills is something you can just spot right off in someone based on their personality. When they don't have it, it's a lose lose situation because the teacher aint happy and the students aint learning.

4. That said, even good teachers sometimes piss me off, not because of anything they do, but with their lack of appreciation. Teachers do have a lot of time off, yes they do have things outside of working hours to do, but they stilly enjoy luxieries that most professions can't offer.
- 13 weeks paid vacation (enough with the workshop BS, it has yet to happen)
- 28 days sick/casual
- Shorter working hours
- Bank Time
- Job Security
- Lack of personal accountability (meaning you not scrutinized constantly unless you have an overbeaing HOD or Principal)
- Legit Lunch Hour, Recess and Free periods

When I got my first engineering job in 2003; it paid $6500/mo (teaching starting salary was around the same back then), hours were 7:30am to 5pm (realistically 6pm), 8am to 12pm Saturdays, 2 weeks vacation, 10 days sick/casual (which when you took, you kept getting important calls so effectively you working from home). Had project and supervisory responsibilty that was a lot of stress. Had a boss who was fairly cool most of the time, but was paranoid and constantly micro managing. After a month I applied to the teaching service and wished and I got through, however they don't give engineers first preference.....I ended up leaving that job for better, but quite frankly most engineering jobs in Trinidad are similar except some have lesser hours/responsibility.

I firmly beleive MoE should never hire a teacher that doesn't have at least 2 to 3 years work experience. Those are the ones who make the best teachers. Same goes for doctors, because 75% of Med Sci is doing it for money and status and when they get out there, they hardly give a sh*t to go the extra mile.