well I do and I have done it this myself but even if someone sees this, it does not grantee that they would believe.Bizzare wrote:Megadoc1, do you believe in healing. Cuz I know there are Christians that don't. They believe either only Jesus could have done miracles or they only occurred in the olden days, although the bible says otherwise.... oh well.... so do you?
megadoc1 wrote:well I do and I have done it this myself but even if someone sees this, it does not grantee that they would believe.Bizzare wrote:Megadoc1, do you believe in healing. Cuz I know there are Christians that don't. They believe either only Jesus could have done miracles or they only occurred in the olden days, although the bible says otherwise.... oh well.... so do you?
true I believe this as wellBizzare wrote:megadoc1 wrote:well I do and I have done it this myself but even if someone sees this, it does not grantee that they would believe.Bizzare wrote:Megadoc1, do you believe in healing. Cuz I know there are Christians that don't. They believe either only Jesus could have done miracles or they only occurred in the olden days, although the bible says otherwise.... oh well.... so do you?
The bible says by his stripes we were healed - meaning all sicknesses were already paid for and we are free of such. The bible said when Christians lay hands on the sick, they shall recover. Every where Jesus went he healed the sick immediately according to the bible.
healing is as a result of the believers faith in christ but to use this as proof all you would end up with is convinced sinners not believersBizzare wrote:Therefore, modern day healing should be the epitome of proof when it comes to the proving the bible to be the truth.
agreed!Bizzare wrote:God made a promise. Why do we see Christians praying for healing yet they die of certain sicknesses. According to the bible, a Christian should not succumb to sicknesses because that was already paid for. Sickness should never be triumphant over our body. A Christian should be able to cast away sickness in the body as soon as it comes upon them.
correction! you are not seeing miracles but that does not mean its not happening maybe you are in the wrong place I must say that I cannot make the same claims you madeBizzare wrote:Are you telling there aren't Christian with faith the size of a mustard seed. Cuz there is none performing miracles as Jesus did although he said that there will be those who will do greater?
correction! you not seeing it ..but you cant speak for me!Bizzare wrote:How come we don't see healing with our own eyes just as Jesus did in his days. How come we don't see blind eyes open, deaf begin to hear, the dumb begin to speak etc..... Someone prays for the common cold or flu, feels better two days later and relates it to the prayer.
who's power?Bizzare wrote:Is the power not great enough to open a blind eye at least?
setting aside the dictionary meanings and consideration that faith is not needed when there is proofmarlener wrote:we have faith in things and God and when he provides proof is strenghten our faith in him
Burden of Proof, go look it up.marlener wrote:But you have heard persons say that there is no God haven't you? Are you fair to them as well in asking them what proof they have?
I don't think they are annoyed at first. From what I've seen, I think atheists are amazed at what religious people believe in and their conviction and faith (in things they have no proof of). Probably just as amazed as you would be of someone telling you, with all their heart, that they have faith that rainbows are made by unicorns.marlener wrote: I find that some people are annoyed that Christians have hope or some faith in a God that they don't believe exist.
It is logical to assume that an atheist would call God's name in a life and death situation purely as a figure of speech such as "oh lord" or "oh god mih dog dead".marlener wrote:Strangely though some will call out to a God they don't believe exist if they are in a life and death situation
the spiritual gifts such as healing in 1 Corinthians and it context is different from the one we are discussingmarlener wrote:The verse was refering to ours sins as it says in the first part of the text,I am not sure if you are making reference to 1 Peter 2:24 or Isaiah 53:5 but they both says the samething.In reference to healing,itbis mention in the bible as one of the spiritual gifts in 1 Corinthians 12:4-31,the passage also goes on to say that all cannot be healers or teachers or prophets.
megadoc1 wrote:are you trying to save face using semantics? lolBizzare wrote:
Are you willing to admit that what you meant to say is:
this question does not make sense! If I had proof I would not need to have faith
or are you going to stand by that foolish statement you just made that goes like:
this question does not make sense! If I had proof I would not need to believe
d spike wrote:megadoc1 wrote:are you trying to save face using semantics? lolBizzare wrote:
Are you willing to admit that what you meant to say is:
this question does not make sense! If I had proof I would not need to have faith
or are you going to stand by that foolish statement you just made that goes like:
this question does not make sense! If I had proof I would not need to believe
Don't be silly, megadoc. Personally, he should have asked you this first, instead of banging away at you... but this is exactly what he meant, and here, he is right. In your effort to stress your point, you misused the word. Why not just admit your error, instead of dragging this argument out.
nah man I was not concerned about my wording but I was focused on the fact that you think that God needs to provide proof before I put faith in him ..I did suggest that you call d spike up though... because I respect the fact that he is fair and has the great ability to teach while refuting and such, as for christian ego who told you I care about that?Bizzare wrote:C'mon megadoc1, you knew all along that your choice of wording was poor.
Using d spike's English intelligence allowed you to "jokingly" admit to your error without damaging your Christian ego.
So you just believed without any sort of proof?
megadoc1 wrote: ..must God provide proof to me before I believe him?
Bizzare wrote:d spike it isn't nonsense..... We are no longer discussing the medium through which you obtained your belief - whether it be proof or faith. We are discussing how valid is faith as a means of believing in something. Proof is a valid means of believing, no argument there. To me, history proved faith to be invalid as a means of believing in something.
Using your example, once upon a time it did take faith to believe that the world was round/flat and it did take faith to believe that the moon was/wasn't made of cheese. Whether the word faith was used or not to describe such blind belief, it is the same concept. Basically hope and belief in the unproven/unseen. Now Science and technology has PROVEN otherwise. Not through faith, but through proof.
It is indeed the same for religion.
Bizzare wrote: Proof is a valid means of believing, no argument there. To me, history proved faith to be invalid as a means of believing in something.
Science is closely tied to mathematics—a very abstract experience, while religion is more closely tied to the ordinary experience of life. As interpretations of experience, science is descriptive and religion is prescriptive. For science and mathematics to concentrate on what the world ought to be like in the way that religion does can be inappropriate and may lead to improperly ascribing properties to the natural world as happened among the followers of Pythagoras in the sixth century B.C.
The reverse situation, where religion attempts to be descriptive, can also lead to inappropriately assigning properties to the natural world. A notable example is the now defunct belief in the Ptolemy planetary model that held sway until changes in scientific and religious thinking were brought about by Galileo and proponents of his views.
Bizzare wrote:d spike it isn't nonsense..... We are no longer discussing the medium through which you obtained your belief - whether it be proof or faith. We are discussing how valid is faith as a means of believing in something. Proof is a valid means of believing, no argument there. To me, history proved faith to be invalid as a means of believing in something.
Using your example, once upon a time it did take faith to believe that the world was round/flat and it did take faith to believe that the moon was/wasn't made of cheese. Whether the word faith was used or not to describe such blind belief, it is the same concept. Basically hope and belief in the unproven/unseen. Now Science and technology has PROVEN otherwise. Not through faith, but through proof.
It is indeed the same for religion.
d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:cred·i·ble
[kred-uh-buhl] Show IPA
adjective
1. capable of being believed; believable: a credible statement.
2. worthy of belief or confidence; trustworthy: a credible witness.
New Testament
The seminal figure in New Testament criticism was Hermann Samuel Reimarus (1694–1768), who applied to it the methodology of Greek and Latin textual studies and became convinced that very little of what it said could be accepted as incontrovertibly true. Reimarus's conclusions appealed to the rationalism of 18th century intellectuals, but were deeply troubling to contemporary believers.
And you think Reimarus is credible? Really???
I wonder what he would have had to say about the Koran and Islam...
This was a guy who believed that no scripture, nor prophet was required. He upheld Deism, the doctrine that human reason can arrive at a knowledge of God and ethics from a study of nature and our own internal reality, thus eliminating the need for religions based on revelation.
And this guy:AdamB wrote:Maurice Bucaille states in The Bible, The Qur'an and Science that "The Quranic Revelation has a history which is fundamentally different from the other two. It spanned a period of some twenty years and, as soon as it was transmitted to Muhammad by Archangel Gabriel, Believers learned it by heart. It was also written down during Muhammad's life. The last recensions of the Quran were effected under Caliph Uthman starting some twelve years after the Prophet's death and finishing twenty-four years after it. They had the advantage of being checked by people who already knew the text by heart, for they had learned it at the time of the Revelation itself and had subsequently recited it constantly. Since then, we know that the text has been scrupulously preserved. It does not give rise to any problems of authenticity.
Of course, YOU would find this guy credible...
He converted to Islam, in 1976, and then promptly published that book of his, "The Bible, The Qur'an and Science".
Which freshly-laundered convert has ever had anything negative to say about their recently adopted scriptures? Please...
In his book, he argued that the Qur'an contains no statements contradicting established scientific facts. Bucaille argued that the Qur'an is in agreement with scientific facts, while the Bible is not.
Big whoop. One would have to be an idiot to acclaim a centuries-old religious text as a modern scientific treatise.
Bucaille concludes his work by claiming that the Qur'an is the words of God. Big surprise ending there... If he were a Catholic or a Buddhist, then I could understand your quoting him...
My mistake. I forgot your attempt at rebuttal consists of using first the "Ctrl key + C" followed deftly by the "Ctrl key + V"...
Next time, research your answers before you display them - blindly posting stuff can make you look far less educated than you had hoped for.
AdamB wrote:d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:cred·i·ble
[kred-uh-buhl] Show IPA
adjective
New Testament
The seminal figure in New Testament criticism was Hermann Samuel Reimarus (1694–1768), who applied to it the methodology of Greek and Latin textual studies and became convinced that very little of what it said could be accepted as incontrovertibly true. Reimarus's conclusions appealed to the rationalism of 18th century intellectuals, but were deeply troubling to contemporary believers.
This was a guy who believed that no scripture, nor prophet was required. He upheld Deism, the doctrine that human reason can arrive at a knowledge of God and ethics from a study of nature and our own internal reality, thus eliminating the need for religions based on revelation.
And this guy:AdamB wrote:Maurice Bucaille states in The Bible, The Qur'an and Science that "The Quranic Revelation has a history which is fundamentally different from the other two. It spanned a period of some twenty years and, as soon as it was transmitted to Muhammad by Archangel Gabriel, Believers learned it by heart. It was also written down during Muhammad's life. The last recensions of the Quran were effected under Caliph Uthman starting some twelve years after the Prophet's death and finishing twenty-four years after it. They had the advantage of being checked by people who already knew the text by heart, for they had learned it at the time of the Revelation itself and had subsequently recited it constantly. Since then, we know that the text has been scrupulously preserved. It does not give rise to any problems of authenticity.
He converted to Islam, in 1976, and then promptly published that book of his, "The Bible, The Qur'an and Science".
Which freshly-laundered convert has ever had anything negative to say about their recently adopted scriptures? Please...
In his book, he argued that the Qur'an contains no statements contradicting established scientific facts. Bucaille argued that the Qur'an is in agreement with scientific facts, while the Bible is not.
Big whoop. One would have to be an idiot to acclaim a centuries-old religious text as a modern scientific treatise.
Bucaille concludes his work by claiming that the Qur'an is the words of God. Big surprise ending there... If he were a Catholic or a Buddhist, then I could understand your quoting him...
My mistake. I forgot your attempt at rebuttal consists of using first the "Ctrl key + C" followed deftly by the "Ctrl key + V"...
Next time, research your answers before you display them - blindly posting stuff can make you look far less educated than you had hoped for.
AdamB wrote:Are you saying that Wikipedia is biased in favour of Islam??
AdamB wrote:How can we ascertain that this doctor / man of medical science (who was a christian before converting to Islam) made his study / observations unbiased
AdamB wrote:THE SINCERE HEART WILL FOLLOW THE DIRECTION OF TRUTH!!
d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:d spike wrote:AdamB wrote:cred·i·ble
[kred-uh-buhl] Show IPA
adjective
New Testament
Next time, research your answers before you display them - blindly posting stuff can make you look far less educated than you had hoped for.AdamB wrote:Are you saying that Wikipedia is biased in favour of Islam??
My goodness. You NEED to read what you are writing... I suspect you just look for key words and react to those, rather than actually undertaking the task of READING what is before you.
First you quoted from a Wikipedia article named "Biblical criticism". Then you quote from a rabid convert. YOUR research was biased - not the source...AdamB wrote:How can we ascertain that this doctor / man of medical science (who was a christian before converting to Islam) made his study / observations unbiased
Are you serious?? the man wrote this book SOON AFTER his conversion to the very religion his book supports... that is your idea of an unbiased study??? This certainly explains a lot about your way of thinking.AdamB wrote:THE SINCERE HEART WILL FOLLOW THE DIRECTION OF TRUTH!!
And the fool will follow the chorus that chants the same babble that he does... as it makes him comfortable.
what makes one proven and valid and the other not?AdamB wrote:Muslims are critical of Jews because they had the knowledge (scriptures) but did not follow (were disobedient), taking their Rabbis as LORDS instead of Allah (making permissible what was prohibited and making prohibited what was permissible).
Muslims are critical of Christians because they innovated and strayed from the religion of GOD brought to them by Jesus, following misguidance not substantiated by firm knowledge.
This is the reason why I have kept asking for your evidence of your creed FROM YOUR RELIGIOUS SCRIPTURES. Everything that forms the true and correct religion of Islam has its proofs from our valid sources aka our napkin but if you can't even prove yours even from YOUR napkin, then certainly that is a sad state of affairs.
sweetiepaper wrote:pioneer wrote:I have a question that's been on my mind
Throughout history we have witnessed how easily stories are classified as myths and fables etc etc. We can simply look at our local folklore for an easy example.
How come, "god" and the multiple religions holding their claims to god wasn't classified as a myth?
Because God is not a myth, He never was.
Knowledge of God runs deeper than mere folklore and fairytales.
You are asking why God wasn't classified as a myth, which means you have implicitly agreed that the idea of God has transcended such stories.
The fact that God is not classified as a myth, is in itself, an admission of the superiority of the validity of the 'stories' pertaining to God which allows it to stand apart from mere folklore.
Your question comes after this fact, and you want to know why this is so.
Maybe this question stems as a result of the way you determine whether things are valid or not. eg. whether it is a credible source, trustworthy person, lack of personal experience etc.
Do you think God should be classified as a myth? If yes, why?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:what makes one proven and valid and the other not?AdamB wrote:Muslims are critical of Jews because they had the knowledge (scriptures) but did not follow (were disobedient), taking their Rabbis as LORDS instead of Allah (making permissible what was prohibited and making prohibited what was permissible).
Muslims are critical of Christians because they innovated and strayed from the religion of GOD brought to them by Jesus, following misguidance not substantiated by firm knowledge.
This is the reason why I have kept asking for your evidence of your creed FROM YOUR RELIGIOUS SCRIPTURES. Everything that forms the true and correct religion of Islam has its proofs from our valid sources aka our napkin but if you can't even prove yours even from YOUR napkin, then certainly that is a sad state of affairs.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ independent, historical, unbiased critical studies sounds like the scientific method to me
SCIENCE - systematic knowledge of the physical or material world gained through observation and experimentation.
Using that method, scientists discovered that humans evolved from single cell life forms and we share common descendants with other modern primates.
"Humans (Homo sapiens) are primates of the family Hominidae, and the only living species of the genus Homo. They originated in Africa, where they reached anatomical modernity about 200,000 years ago and began to exhibit full behavioral modernity around 50,000 years ago."
That does not support the Adam and Eve story the Muslims, Jews and Christians claim.
So are we then to compare scripture not by which one is right, but rather by which one is less wrong?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ independent, historical, unbiased critical studies sounds like the scientific method to me
So how do you continue from there?
AdamB wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ independent, historical, unbiased critical studies sounds like the scientific method to me
SCIENCE - systematic knowledge of the physical or material world gained through observation and experimentation.
Using that method, scientists discovered that humans evolved from single cell life forms and we share common descendants with other modern primates.
"Humans (Homo sapiens) are primates of the family Hominidae, and the only living species of the genus Homo. They originated in Africa, where they reached anatomical modernity about 200,000 years ago and began to exhibit full behavioral modernity around 50,000 years ago."
That does not support the Adam and Eve story the Muslims, Jews and Christians claim.
So are we then to compare scripture not by which one is right, but rather by which one is less wrong?
Are we go over this again? Scientists have NOT DISCOVERED that EVOLUTION did actually happen! It is a mere theory.
And even if it were correct, then could it not have been THE MEANS BY WHICH GOD, THE ALMIGHTY, THE ALL POWERFUL chose to create HIS CREATION. (HE didn't just say "alaakazaam" and POOF, everything appeared and were not subject to change).
Quran 41:9-12 He created the earth in 2 Days, placed therein mountains, blessings and sustenance in 4 Days and then HE rose over (towards) the heaven (Universe) when it was "smoke", then HE COMPLETED AND FINISHED FROM THEIR CREATION as seven heavens in 2 Days.
http://www.scienceislam.com/quran_miracles.php
What I am saying is that they are not mutually exclusive!