No
29%

Total votes: 157

Re: Legalise it!!!

Postby rollingstock » October 19th, 2010, 9:00 am

luke skywalker wrote:Everybody does smoke, have smoked or going to smoke weed

Are you still standing by this statement, cause really i think your smoking de herb may have caused some brain damage.

I ain't trying to fack yuh up eh, read what's posted on the link

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/20 ... 175105.htm

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 19th, 2010, 10:36 am

Personally I don't see why it should be illegal for people over the age of 18... if we trust you enough to let you have a bottle of Forest Park, I'm sure we can trust you with a spliff

Studies show people who "smoke & drive" overcompensate by driving slower and taking far less risk, this is the opposite of what happens with alcohol...

I'm not saying people should be allowed to drive with this impairment, I'm just saying, if they did its a hell of a lot better than driving drunk

Postby mero » October 19th, 2010, 10:45 am

http://www.cnn.com/2010/WORLD/americas/10/18/mexico.drug.seizure/index.html
Authorities seize 105 tons of marijuana in northern Mexico

(CNN) -- Authorities in the Mexican border city of Tijuana have seized 105 tons of marijuana, the largest bust in years, the state news agency reported Monday.
Security forces encountered several vehicles suspected of carrying the drug early Monday morning, Notimex said.
A clash ensued, the news agency reported, injuring two people -- a government agent and a suspected drug runner. Eleven people were detained, Notimex reported. The suspects then told agents where they could find more pot, the news agency said.
Police seized 10,000 packages of marijuana that collectively weighed 105 tons. They also confiscated trailers, trucks and two large fire arms, Notimex reported.
The agency said Monday's bust was the largest in the area. It is also the largest in Mexico in recent memory.
More than 28,000 people have died in the country in drug-related violence since 2006, according to authorities.

sure they found like 110 :roll:

Conrad

Postby Conrad » October 19th, 2010, 11:28 am

minipresident wrote:Yeah Man,...Legalise it! Let dem Kill Them Piggleeks! :evil:

"Long-term marijuana use suppresses the production of hormones that help regulate the reproductive system. For men, this causes decreased sperm counts and heavy users tend to experience erectile dysfunction. Even occasional use damages blood vessels making it harder for blood to flow in and out of your penis -Women may experience irregular periods from heavy marijuana use. These problems would most likely result in a decreased ability to conceive but not lead to complete infertility."

One name to counteract that ridiculous statement...

Bob Marley.

Postby bluesteel29 » September 9th, 2012, 1:38 am

real talk

sensiman

Postby sensiman » September 9th, 2012, 10:14 am

I am tempted to get technical here.

Just basis for now.

1:There is yet to be a single documented case of death associated with marijuana use.

2: Leglization may not work as well as decriminalization and regulation

3: Your body produces endogenous cannabinoids.

4: Many studies highlighting the harmful effects were purposefully designed to show that outcome in order to influence legislators to criminalize marijuana way back.

5: Marijuana is a non-addictive substance. Psychological addiction may occur in individuals but has not be attributed to marijuana use alone

On another note:

Portugal has decriminalized ALL drugs and has seen reduction in teen drug use (since it is not as FUN anymore if it's not a taboo) and has also seen a substantial decrease in health related issues in drug users. Their "DEA" has been converted to an agency to assist users in recovery if they want.

It's called HARM REDUCTION. The US's DEA has too much vested to stop doing what they do, it's a business and marijuana has a good share of it. Blame Nixon and covert racism starting from days of slavery for the reason why there is such ignorance to the effects of marijuana.

I have some statistics from Canada that compares PUBLIC PERCEIVED cost of healthcare related to marijuana, alcohol, nicotine and other hard drugs, to ACTUAL COST. I don't have the figures at home but will post the info next time I am at work, but basically alcohol related healthcare costs, perceived to be minimal, are in the millions per year (hundreds times more than perceived) compared to marijuana related which does not even reach 6 figures.

Some of you posting here need to get your scientific information from reliable sources.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » September 9th, 2012, 10:26 am

luke skywalker wrote:Everybody does smoke, have smoked or going to smoke weed

Are you still standing by this statement, cause really i think your smoking de herb may have caused some brain damage.

I ain't trying to fack yuh up eh, read what's posted on the link
maybe you should have read it too

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/20 ... 175105.htm" target="_blank

They studied 14 subjects :roll:

"The researchers caution that the study is preliminary and does not demonstrate that marijuana use causes the brain abnormalities."

"Ashtari added that the findings are preliminary. Among other limitations of the study, such as a small sample size, five of the 14 subjects with heavy cannabis use also had a history of alcohol abuse, which may have contributed an effect. Also, it is possible that the brain abnormalities may have predisposed the subjects to drug dependence, rather than drug usage causing the brain abnormalities."

Postby rollingstock » September 9th, 2012, 10:44 am

^ Did you just reply to a 2 year old post to prove a moot point?

Postby mero » September 9th, 2012, 11:02 am

I think that no death by association thing is BS though... It probably wasn't documented but I'm sure there have been many cases where dudes walking or driving high as fcuk and cause accidents. I'm sure I could not have been the only one so stoned in the past that I was able to function a vehicle and needed a friend to drive my vehicle and I'm quite sure there are thousands who take that risk thinking that they could and would take the risk, and some to their demise or serious injury.. U don't think you can OD on weed as opposed to alcohol or other drugs but it does impair your vision and reaction time. Just like alcohol I think its all about moderation..

I'm quite sure death as a result of violence via marijuana is non existant though; like seriously wants to get violent off of weed :lol:

On a side note, Trinituner is the only forum I've seen wherer a thread gets locked for people talking about marijuana though tbh. I support legalising it though as the pros would outweigh the cons

sensiman

Postby sensiman » September 9th, 2012, 11:14 am

rollingstock wrote:^ Did you just reply to a 2 year old post to prove a moot point?

I replied to show that people like you post without actually reading what they posted.
And how is it a moot point?

Postby DVSTT » September 9th, 2012, 11:32 am

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » September 9th, 2012, 6:14 pm

one must never cast down jah herb.
it is the healing of the nation

just cause babylon say dont use the herb ..doesnt mean that it is wrong to do so..
babylon is not god
babylon laws are not the laws that govern i and i
i am a free thinker.. i know what is right and what is wrong
cast down babylon.. free the herb

Postby zoom rader » September 9th, 2012, 6:23 pm

Weed is not the problem here , Its alcohol. Alcohol should and must be banned in trini.

Too many asswipes driving boozed up and killing other people.

Postby Bizzare » September 9th, 2012, 6:34 pm

Please tell that story again about why weed is illegal. I forgot how it goes but it usually starts with "white guys couldn't handle the head so the white man make it illegal" :roll:

Postby zoom rader » September 9th, 2012, 6:40 pm

Bizzare wrote:Please tell that story again about why weed is illegal. I forgot how it goes but it usually starts with "white guys couldn't handle the head so the white man make it illegal" :roll:

Ahh you remember well ! I was call a racist for that statement and banned.

weed dont kill but alcohol does

Postby mero » September 9th, 2012, 8:16 pm

zoom does burn the blast :shock:

Postby rollingstock » September 9th, 2012, 9:02 pm

sensiman wrote:
rollingstock wrote:^ Did you just reply to a 2 year old post to prove a moot point?

I replied to show that people like you post without actually reading what they posted.

You saw the comment i replied to? De weed affecting your eyesight?
Not everyone, in fact a small majority of persons are actually going to smoke weed.

Bizzare wrote:Please tell that story again about why weed is illegal. I forgot how it goes but it usually starts with "white guys couldn't handle the head so the white man make it illegal" :roll:

Ahh you remember well ! I was call a racist for that statement and banned.

weed dont kill but alcohol does

Wholeheartedly agree!

sensiman

Postby sensiman » September 9th, 2012, 9:53 pm

sensiman wrote:

You saw the comment i replied to? I did and I get what you are saying but you make yourself sound as silly as the person you were trying to correct, still does not negate the fact that you posted a link to an article that you obviously didn't actually read first
De weed affecting your eyesight?
It's actually good for eyesight in some people, maybe you should try it and mellow a bit
Not everyone, in fact a small majority (what is a small majority?)of persons are actually going to smoke weed.
wrong, 80% of high school students in Canada have tried it at least once Very similar figures in the US but I do not have access to those studies.

The culture in Trinidad is quite different so less will try, too much stigma and people are still in the days of when scare tactics were used to dissuade against drug use.

Postby rollingstock » September 10th, 2012, 9:31 am

^ You are an ass or a marble?
The person made an idiotic statement so i posted a link to fack him up in jest, 2 years later you wanna comment on it?
I starting to believe that link now.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » September 10th, 2012, 9:36 am

legalise it...

Postby dougla_boy » September 10th, 2012, 10:10 am

NO! they shouldnt legalize it, at least not now. they should however start by decriminalizing it. too much people clog op the system with small cases of MJ possession.

went to school wit a lil whiteboy who swore smoking MJ cured his bad hip. lolol

Postby Sky » September 10th, 2012, 10:31 am

sensiman wrote:I am tempted to get technical here.

Just basis for now.

1:There is yet to be a single documented case of death associated with marijuana use.
Note: 100% of people who used marijuana has died, or is going to, for sure.
2: Leglization may not work as well as decriminalization and regulation
Let's not turn on the light. Let's just not have it on....?????Don't people score prescription drugs without a doctor anyway?
3: Your body produces endogenous cannabinoids.
The body produces a lot of chemicals that are not exactly healthy in the wrong amounts. Should we shoot ourselves up with those chemicals?
4: Many studies highlighting the harmful effects were purposefully designed to show that outcome in order to influence legislators to criminalize marijuana way back.
Yes? And? They did a lot of stupid things with the laws back then. I think they smoked too much pot.
5: Marijuana is a non-addictive substance. Psychological addiction may occur in individuals but has not be attributed to marijuana use alone
So lemme get this straight. If I smoke and drink coffee a lot, that means I'm not addicted to smoke because coffee is also addictive?

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » September 10th, 2012, 4:11 pm

Listening to weed haters who dunno jack squat about weed is like listening to a bunch of virgins talk about sex..your input really matters :|

Weed is good for you, talk done!!!!!!!!!!!

But too much of anything isn't good for you...........

Postby TRAE » September 10th, 2012, 4:19 pm

there hasnt been proven any case of weed causing any health issues, its a depressant so people would be lazy (probably too lazy to kill people0). people against it are usually for transgender and gay rights.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 10th, 2012, 4:31 pm

Wait Kams didn't legalize the healing??

Fak

Postby X2 » September 10th, 2012, 7:23 pm

I was gunna post a full account of the truth behind weed, alcohol and perscription drugs.... but then these guys showed up...

ImageImage

Postby TRAE » September 11th, 2012, 10:00 am

and it was proven that only long term smoking of weed can be additive and even so there are no re-occuring side-effects of stopping making it as addictive as using sugar

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 11th, 2012, 10:04 am

is a friggin plant wtf, ban stinging nettle instead nah

Postby cinco » September 11th, 2012, 10:06 am

TRAE wrote:and it was proven that only long term smoking of weed can be additive and even so there are no re-occuring side-effects of stopping making it as addictive as using sugar

Postby redmanjp » September 11th, 2012, 10:36 am

cinco wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:legalize it & we would have high ppl teaching our kids in school & operating machinery on the road!!!

and that is different from now how?

it will have 10 times more

so we should legalize murder too since ppl doin that several times a day and d law not stopping it :roll: