PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby M_2NR » August 19th, 2012, 6:54 pm

todd61 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:U can use emulators for both but that spoils the game. Racing on PC sucks. You still need to use a controller (like the one for the Xbox) to get ok results honestly.

if you like racing on the pc you need wheel,controllers sucks compared to wheel setups

I had a g25 on loaner a couple times but unless you have a playseat setup I find it's annoying because I always have to setup and pack up.
Yes. Ah lazy. :lol:

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 19th, 2012, 7:04 pm

M_2NR wrote:
todd61 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:U can use emulators for both but that spoils the game. Racing on PC sucks. You still need to use a controller (like the one for the Xbox) to get ok results honestly.

if you like racing on the pc you need wheel,controllers sucks compared to wheel setups

I had a g25 on loaner a couple times but unless you have a playseat setup I find it's annoying because I always have to setup and pack up.
Yes. Ah lazy. :lol:

I know what u mean.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 19th, 2012, 8:06 pm

buddy5052 wrote:What is the ram speed currently? you can try 21 for cpu multiplier

Currently on 3.7GHz on stock multiplier @ 1.2V. But temps reach 83C on Load :?
Case is cooled by 3x200mm and 2x120mm fans and CPU is cooled by the H60
RAM is air cooled as well with the Corsair Dominator RAM cooler..

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » August 19th, 2012, 8:23 pm

Use cpu-z to find the ram timing and set it accordingly with the rite voltage to go with it ckeck SPD in cpu-z also set the command rate to 1 if not specified most likely the ram timing will be 9,9,9,24 with command rate 1

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » August 19th, 2012, 8:25 pm

Use cpu-z to find the ram timing and set it accordingly with the rite voltage to go with it ckeck SPD in cpu-z also set the command rate to 1 if not specified most likely the ram timing will be 9,9,9,24 with command rate 1

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » August 19th, 2012, 8:25 pm

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 19th, 2012, 9:07 pm

Tried that just now.
Available is 5.6GB :(
Anyhow I got to 4.06GHz :D @1.5V on the Vcore
Won't be going any higher....temps got in the 80s lol.....wrote down all my stuff and i'll be returning to stock clocks in a bit :lol:

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » August 19th, 2012, 9:41 pm

Hey Ronaldo i suggest u back off on that vcore asap. in X58 you use qpi vcore with in specs to get a stable OC most likely for that OC the cpu vcore should be around 1.35 - 1.42v max and 1.42v is extreme

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 19th, 2012, 9:44 pm

I restored everything back to stock a while now.
When priming it was in the 1.4 range but often went up to 1.5(vroop off) for the 4GHz overclock

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » August 20th, 2012, 9:07 pm

Not sure if anyone here interested in Skyrim, but just thought I'd share some of my own screenshots, now finished maxing this game out on a GTX 460. Enjoy!
TESV 2012-08-20 20-18-37-68.jpg
TESV 2012-08-20 18-09-08-15.jpg
TESV 2012-08-20 15-42-47-09.jpg
TESV 2012-08-20 15-29-29-79.jpg
TESV 2012-08-20 15-29-17-82.jpg
TESV 2012-08-20 15-29-07-68.jpg
TESV 2012-08-20 15-27-32-78.jpg
TESV 2012-08-20 14-45-54-39.jpg

Elyon

Postby Elyon » August 20th, 2012, 9:20 pm

I'm actually a huge fan of skyrim, nice screen shots what enb are you using cuz juding from your screenshots thats not default settings

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » August 20th, 2012, 9:33 pm

Elyon wrote:^^
I'm actually a huge fan of skyrim, nice screen shots what enb are you using cuz juding from your screenshots thats not default settings

^ cool dude...Actually I'm not using ENB, couldn't get it to work :( I'm using "skyrim HD-2k textures" texture pack, look awesome, the official one from bethesda looks like pacman to this :lol:

I'm using a few other mods too like FXAA injector hybrid shaders, dynamic snow, climates of tamriel and some others. But the texture pack is the most influential imo, and of course the largest, and surprisingly doesn't hurt your FPS much at all, provided you have at least 8gb RAM.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 20th, 2012, 9:57 pm

What do you guys think about getting a GTX 480 in these times. I'm not thinking about getting one but I was just looking back at the days when this was a GPU that everyone wanted in their PCs. Not to mention the price fell significantly :lol:

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-GTX480-Graphics-015-P3-1480-KR/dp/B004EHWMP6/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1345514153&sr=1-1&keywords=EVGA+GTX+480

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 20th, 2012, 10:42 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:What do you guys think about getting a GTX 480 in these times. I'm not thinking about getting one but I was just looking back at the days when this was a GPU that everyone wanted in their PCs. Not to mention the price fell significantly :lol:

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-GTX480-Graphics-015-P3-1480-KR/dp/B004EHWMP6/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1345514153&sr=1-1&keywords=EVGA+GTX+480

This better for d price if u into 'old school': http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-Mini ... x+460+2win

Provided u get a working one doh. :lol:

I still have my EVGA GTX 295 FTW edition around, keeping it for physx-enabled-games use.

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » August 20th, 2012, 10:55 pm

^overclocks like a beast too:lol:

Postby nervewrecker » August 20th, 2012, 11:03 pm

I just curious....whats the reason for overclocking? Why not just buy a faster processor in the first place?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 20th, 2012, 11:04 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:^overclocks like a beast too:lol:

Which card u mean?

If is the gtx 295 i eh know nah, never tried to oc that.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 20th, 2012, 11:05 pm

$219.00 :shock: :shock: :shock:

But I would prefer the GTX-460-2Win one since that based on the 460s; because remember the first set of 'Fermi' gpus (480/470/465) were 'said' to have power/temperature/noise problems.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 20th, 2012, 11:11 pm

@nerve
I believe the fastest CPU you can buy right now is 4.2GHz(AMD FX 8150)....frequency wise though(somebody correct me if i'm wrong) :lol:
Some wish to go higher for benchmarking purposes/improved performance/higher fps. Others do it for competition....on the first page there was a vid Posted where an AMD was overclocked to 6.5GHz. A normal everyday user won't see the need for it....a gamer/enthusiast would....that's why some CPUs come/came with unlocked multipliers like the 2500k/2600k,AMD Phenom blacks and intel's Extreme edition CPUs.

Buying a faster CPU is more expensive as well. So for example intel had alot of i7 CPUs in the 1366 lineup, 920,930,950,960 etc... Some one who couldn't afford say a 975 or 960 would have bought a 950 or 930 and overclocked it to the frequency of the CPU they wanted....but their CPU would run hotter though. Overclocking sometimes comes in as a method of saving money in some cases...

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » August 20th, 2012, 11:28 pm

HCCA wrote:

Which card u mean?

I meant the 460. I have the PNY XLR8 edition gtx 460, which is pre-overclocked from the factory, but has as lot of headway for even more, 70c max temp. That way i've managed to get no less than 50 fps in most of my games, maxed out.

That 460 you linked im sure could also take it, i have the 560 to that and it stays really cool after clocking.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 20th, 2012, 11:38 pm

ichiniisama99 wrote:
HCCA wrote:

Which card u mean?

I meant the 460. I have the PNY XLR8 edition gtx 460, which is pre-overclocked from the factory, but has as lot of headway for even more, 70c max temp. That way i've managed to get no less than 50 fps in most of my games, maxed out.

That 460 you linked im sure could also take it, i have the 560 to that and it stays really cool after clocking.

Well the one i linked is a dual gtx 460 single card edition from EVGA.

The only 4 series gtx i had was ah GTX 465 1Gb. Had to oc that by a 50Mhz on d core to get it to play Rage at 1080p high when the game did come out. The GTX 295 was running it bess just so. :D

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 21st, 2012, 12:36 am

Maybe looking to upgrade laptop's HDD soon....considering going SSD. Currently using Vista Home Premium on it and it's nearly full :lol:
Thought I could use the extra speed as well...

Postby stev » August 21st, 2012, 9:26 am

@ Gracie.....i like the 'windows loader' folder on ur desktop :P

edit: nice background btw...

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » August 21st, 2012, 9:51 am

HCCA wrote:
ichiniisama99 wrote:
HCCA wrote:

Which card u mean?

Well the one i linked is a dual gtx 460 single card edition from EVGA.

The only 4 series gtx i had was ah GTX 465 1Gb. Had to oc that by a 50Mhz on d core to get it to play Rage at 1080p high when the game did come out. The GTX 295 was running it bess just so. :D

Yeah daz still a bess card... the gtx 460 i got is overclocked to match the 560ti, but somehow it feels the 460 performin better :shock:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 21st, 2012, 11:45 am

@stev
Thanks bai :P :lol:
@HCCA that card's beast man...I remember the hype when it was announced :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 22nd, 2012, 9:26 am

yeah dread

got a 295 there catching dust, thing is a beast

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » August 22nd, 2012, 12:50 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Got to 3.6GHz stable so far

Pic was taken after a few mins of prime....left it for a half hour afterwards and it seems to be stable :)

nice

Postby stev » August 22nd, 2012, 3:40 pm

pretty cool

Logitech Washable Keyboard K310 is waterproof, washes grease right off

If there was one particular group of people who love the Logitech Washable Keyboard K310, it would most probably be folks who tend to eat while they work. Not everything that can be eaten is shoveled into your mouth using a utensil like a fork or a spoon, as there is this thing known as finger food. A slice of pizza always tastes a whole lot better when you eat using your hands, and to wash your fingers after each bite so that you can return to your work is quite the hassle, leaving you with a completed dissertation at the end of the day, albeit that comes with a price as well – a greasy keyboard.

Very few keyboards are waterproof, but the Logitech Washable Keyboard K310 is certainly one of the rare few. Apart from being able to handle light dusting and a rinse in the kitchen sink, the Logitech Washable Keyboard K310 is a snap to clean and dries easily. It will also make typing a whole lot more comfortable, thanks to a familiar layout and sleek, thin profile. Being able to be submerged up to 11″ of water, you can have the cleanest keyboard in town with this $39.99 purchase from the beginning of October onwards.

http://www.ubergizmo.com/2012/08/logite ... right-off/

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 22nd, 2012, 5:13 pm

Logitech ftw 8-) 0X
Setup media sharing between the laptop and the desktop. My playlists show up but not the content in it :? Anyone knows what could be causing this???

Postby M_2NR » August 23rd, 2012, 1:08 pm