PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 18th, 2012, 12:17 am

Trying to get a stable OC on my 950....reached 4.2ghz but BSOD'd during prime95 :|

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 18th, 2012, 12:22 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Trying to get a stable OC on my 950....reached 4.2ghz but BSOD'd during prime95 :|

Highest i ever got on my 930 was 4.5ghz.

Had it at 3.5ghz everyday oc with no additional voltage and it ran fine.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 18th, 2012, 12:37 am

What was your base clock and Multiplier like?

battlefield 3

Postby battlefield 3 » August 18th, 2012, 1:45 am

guys building another system and wanted to knw whats a good amd cpu that could go with my evga 660ti?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 18th, 2012, 8:23 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:What was your base clock and Multiplier like?

Cyar really remember as i sold the cpu/board a while ago but i have screenshots of the overclocks so i'll pull the specifics off of those.

I do remember that i left the multiplier at stock though, some people lower it for better FSB overclocking but i don't ever do that.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 18th, 2012, 1:52 pm

battlefield 3 wrote:guys building another system and wanted to knw whats a good amd cpu that could go with my evga 660ti?

anything quad homie..

battlefield 3

Postby battlefield 3 » August 18th, 2012, 3:06 pm

^^scn chiney

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 18th, 2012, 3:15 pm

you guys know of any racing games for pc similar to gran turismo 5 on ps3? similar realism etc

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 18th, 2012, 4:05 pm

jm3 wrote:you guys know of any racing games for pc similar to gran turismo 5 on ps3? similar realism etc

If it's a sim u looking for check out these

Assetto Corsa (beta this month i think)
Rfactor 2 (in beta)
C.A.R.S (not yet out) aka project cars

All those games above i listed i will be getting them

Race07 (old but cheap on steam and still have players online)

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 18th, 2012, 4:09 pm

Thanks for the tips HCCA :D

I got tired last night and returned everything back to stock..My multiplier is at 23 and my fsb is @ 133 now.

Also should I oc with Vdroop on or off??

jm3 get shift bro 8)

jm3

Postby jm3 » August 18th, 2012, 5:49 pm

thanks todd i cant understand why racing games aren't that popular on the pc all the software tools available to create any car you want or modify them :S something like fsx or xplane but with cars would be excellent i was hoping gran turismo 5 or forza motorsport would be out on pc :(

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 18th, 2012, 7:25 pm

Another issue too....my Overal rating on windows is 5.9 :| Everything is >= 7.5 except my disk transfer rate :?
My HDD is a WD 1TB Black on SATA 6. Is this expected from this HDD??

Still haven't solved my RAM issue either. 8GB is installed but 4-5 is only available :|

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 18th, 2012, 7:33 pm

jm3 wrote:thanks todd i cant understand why racing games aren't that popular on the pc all the software tools available to create any car you want or modify them :S something like fsx or xplane but with cars would be excellent i was hoping gran turismo 5 or forza motorsport would be out on pc :(

There are tons of racing sims for the pc, but i just name the ones i want bad.

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 18th, 2012, 7:34 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Another issue too....my Overal rating on windows is 5.9 :| Everything is >= 7.5 except my disk transfer rate :?

|

that normal to me

Elyon

Postby Elyon » August 18th, 2012, 8:32 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Another issue too....my Overal rating on windows is 5.9 :| Everything is >= 7.5 except my disk transfer rate :?

Still haven't solved my RAM issue either. 8GB is installed but 4-5 is only available :|

possibly, windows rating always takes the lowest values as your average, so if your hd is 5.9 and everything else is 7.9....well you know what you'll get

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 18th, 2012, 8:35 pm

I know that's why it's bugging me :lol:

Elyon

Postby Elyon » August 18th, 2012, 8:40 pm

in response to your ram problem also i have that same problem,i have 16 gb installed but its only seeing 8, before it was seeing 12 but i changed my cpu recently, and after the change thats when it dropped also but i can see all 16 gigs in cpu-z but windows doesn't see it, you can try cpu-z to see if it sees the total installed ram,

I solved my problem by lowering the speed from 2133 to 1600 for windows to see all 16

Elyon

Postby Elyon » August 18th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:I know that's why it's bugging me :lol:

is your 1tb black giving you a rating of 5.9? thats normal, that was my rating for my 1tb black, i guess thats the normal rating for 7200rpm, it went up when i switched to a velociraptor and then an ssd

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 18th, 2012, 8:47 pm

E-LEET sees all 8GB and it's clocked at 2122MHz

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 18th, 2012, 10:05 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:E-LEET sees all 8GB and it's clocked at 2122MHz

If u have ah EVGA x58 board then u will get alot of mmissing ram issues. I had that all the time on my evga x58 3x sli board till i changed it out to ah Intel DX58SO board, no probs again.

Changing ram speed may help but u should't have to do that to get the full capacity recognized. :?

And about the overclocking: i only used vdroop when i went above 4ghz, i think that does give a bit more control over the voltage going to the cpu or something so.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 18th, 2012, 10:14 pm

Thanks alot for the help HCCA :)

The board is the x58 FTW3

Will hold out for a while with this system until I have the time and $$$ to upgrade again. Liking the 990FX-A UD7 from Gigabyte but the Bulldozer CPUs aren't all that :|

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 18th, 2012, 10:40 pm

^^If u can, get ah Phenom II x6 cpu instead seeing as they perform better than the FX dem in most situations

However the only one u can get new still is the 1045T. No probs since u can oc it easy.

I have ah 1055T oc to 3.5ghz on stock voltage and it performs very good, just the gaming power draw is the same as the intel's with the same video card. Will change that out the amd soon.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 18th, 2012, 10:49 pm

Thanks for the advice man :)

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » August 19th, 2012, 8:45 am

jm3 wrote:thanks todd i cant understand why racing games aren't that popular on the pc all the software tools available to create any car you want or modify them :S something like fsx or xplane but with cars would be excellent i was hoping gran turismo 5 or forza motorsport would be out on pc :(

There may have been a chance for Forza to be on PC, cause they are Microsoft games studios, but there's no way Gran turismo can be on PC, that's Sony. That's like asking for God Of War on PC. Sucks eh? Microsoft games studios' reason for not having Forza on PC is that piracy is too rampant on PC, so they release for 360 only...yet on them torrent sites you seein the longest list of Xbox 360 isos....same reason they had for not bringing Gears of war 2, Halo 3 or any other after that for PC. Think there's a way to play forza 3 on PC though. But i really like NFS shift 1&2, not really like gran turismo but it's ordered racing nonetheless. Feels A LOT more faster than GT5 too.

Postby M_2NR » August 19th, 2012, 12:21 pm

U can use emulators for both but that spoils the game. Racing on PC sucks. You still need to use a controller (like the one for the Xbox) to get ok results honestly.

---

Driver San Francisco is $/€1 today ONLY
http://uplay.ubi.com/en-US/events/gamescom

works with local credit cards

todd61

Postby todd61 » August 19th, 2012, 1:07 pm

M_2NR wrote:U can use emulators for both but that spoils the game. Racing on PC sucks. You still need to use a controller (like the one for the Xbox) to get ok results honestly.

if you like racing on the pc you need wheel,controllers sucks compared to wheel setups

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » August 19th, 2012, 1:35 pm

Ronaldo try flashing to the latest bios first and x58 is tripple channel, so that 16 gigs if not in the right dimms will be a problem also that board might be rated to work at 1600Mhz memory speed so lower your multipliers to 2:8 or 2:10 and overclock form there.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 19th, 2012, 4:07 pm

The board can do Dual/Triple onver 1600MHz
Im using dual channel dominators (2x4GB)
Guess i'm gonna have to cut out the EVGA fanboyism :cry:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 19th, 2012, 6:21 pm

Got to 3.6GHz stable so far

Pic was taken after a few mins of prime....left it for a half hour afterwards and it seems to be stable :)

buddy5052

Postby buddy5052 » August 19th, 2012, 6:51 pm

What is the ram speed currently? you can try 21 for cpu multiplier