3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

stikid09

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby stikid09 » July 29th, 2012, 1:22 pm

Dunno if you guys saw this before but check it out: http://www.ted.com/talks/ramesh_raskar_ ... _campaign=

Postby DVSTT » July 30th, 2012, 9:15 pm

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2012, 6:03 am

i try a lil sumting with aviary... fass ting.

P5040111 by sMASHsound, on Flickr

P5040065 by sMASHsound, on Flickr

ice cream sandwich treat with lights by sMASHsound, on Flickr

P4300003 by sMASHsound, on Flickr

modified by sMASHsound, on Flickr

P5040065 by sMASHsound, on Flickr

ice cream sandwich treat with lights by sMASHsound, on Flickr

P4300003 by sMASHsound, on Flickr

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 31st, 2012, 7:10 am

Smash one of the first rule of photography is a find a subject then Frame it. Apply one of the rules of composition eg rule of thirds, then you would adjust your exposure. This is regardless of type or kind of camera one uses. I see a lot of poor photographs in this thread and people keep praising them as "great work', "excellent" etc. Having a shallow depth of field doesnt make a photograph good. Having nice vibrant colours does not make a photograph good. If you want to tell a story with a photo, there must be a story in there for the viewer to see.
Composition and framing does that, followed by exposure...no amount of photoshop or software can make a bad photo good. These tools are meant to enhance the photo not make the photo. Just a tip.

Postby sMASH » July 31st, 2012, 7:44 am

ok, so i guess these fall in lawn chair category....
i'll do some read up on the framing. rule of thirds,,,, do i reaallllly neeeeed to stick to that,,,,,

guess i'll have to take meh own advice, know to do it right, then try yuh own ting.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » July 31st, 2012, 11:41 am

^^no you dont have to stick to it, but it is better to know the rules and then break them than to not know them at all. As you understand them and how they add to a photograph you will also understand how to "see" and image in a frame. That ability takes a lot a lot alot of practice and knowledge.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 31st, 2012, 12:22 pm

Forgive the long post but it's a story :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8w638djAPyA

Long story short I wanted to replicate it. :rolleyes:

Except I didn't have:
-A Lamborghini Aventador
-Studio
-$60,000 for lighting
-Expensive Camera

What I did have:
-Lamborghini Gallardo Scaled Model
-Empty Shelf on Cupboard
-Masking Tape
-Letter size sheets of paper
-BlackBerry 9700 LED Flash(with napkin to diffuse it)
-Fuji Film AV200
-Photoshop Extended/Lightroom

Here's what happened.

I taped the sheet of paper to the back of the cupboard shelf, so that it curved at the bottom, rather than creased.

And placed the car on it, like this:
DIY LightBox Alternative by photo by KiD, on Flickr

Then I used the BlackBerry LED flash as my lighting source like this:

I also used a napkin on the LED to help diffuse it.

The final shot I got looked like this straight out of camera:
Final by photo by KiD, on Flickr

Then I processed it and ended up with this:
Lamborghini Gallardo by photo by KiD, on Flickr

What you guys think?

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 31st, 2012, 2:34 pm

I try to stick to the rule of thirds as much as possible and was taught to place a frame within the actual frame of the photo but i realized adhering to these things when taking pics quickly takes practice.

Postby TRAE » July 31st, 2012, 2:38 pm

the greatest ideas were born to those that try to experiment with what they like instead of following the rules of the game, it have rel best pics here jed, i could frame a few and put them on meh wall

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » July 31st, 2012, 2:44 pm

but as trini mk5 said

"it is better to know the rules and then break them than to not know them at all."

Postby TRAE » July 31st, 2012, 3:08 pm

ShIvAm wrote:but as trini mk5 said

"it is better to know the rules and then break them than to not know them at all."

well correct is true

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » August 1st, 2012, 7:51 pm

Saw this guy selling these at Maracas lookout

Rastaman Pipe by Shivam.13, on Flickr

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » August 5th, 2012, 9:19 pm

Postby DVSTT » August 5th, 2012, 9:54 pm

KiD09 wrote:Forgive the long post but it's a story :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8w638djAPyA

Long story short I wanted to replicate it. :rolleyes:

Except I didn't have:
-A Lamborghini Aventador
-Studio
-$60,000 for lighting
-Expensive Camera

What I did have:
-Lamborghini Gallardo Scaled Model
-Empty Shelf on Cupboard
-Masking Tape
-Letter size sheets of paper
-BlackBerry 9700 LED Flash(with napkin to diffuse it)
-Fuji Film AV200
-Photoshop Extended/Lightroom

Here's what happened.

I taped the sheet of paper to the back of the cupboard shelf, so that it curved at the bottom, rather than creased.

And placed the car on it, like this:

Then I used the BlackBerry LED flash as my lighting source like this:

I also used a napkin on the LED to help diffuse it.

The final shot I got looked like this straight out of camera:
Final by photo by KiD, on Flickr

Then I processed it and ended up with this:
Lamborghini Gallardo by photo by KiD, on Flickr

What you guys think?

I liking the studio! Keep saying I'd build a lightbox for macro but never have the time lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 6th, 2012, 10:02 pm

Postby DVSTT » August 6th, 2012, 10:28 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Image

Nice, like the textures on the trunk!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 7th, 2012, 9:40 am

@kid09 - Image

Good attempt man.
Add another blackberry into the mix, maybe position it to above camera, and you get some nicer filling light.

Keep it up man, really admiring all the effort you guys are putting into creative use of light.

Postby DVSTT » August 7th, 2012, 10:21 am

lighthammer wrote:@kid09 - Image

Good attempt man.
Add another blackberry into the mix, maybe position it to above camera, and you get some nicer filling light.

Keep it up man, really admiring all the effort you guys are putting into creative use of light.

I was watching this vid from adorama learning with Bryan Peterson and he was talking about lighting and that back lighting brings out detail whereas front lighting doesnt, but for his example he used a leaf and it did bring out detail when back lit

Postby DVSTT » August 8th, 2012, 11:12 am

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » August 8th, 2012, 1:25 pm

Thanks guys actually in the pic I had the BB randomly positioned to show what I was using.
But for the final shot I had it directly over the car.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » August 8th, 2012, 1:33 pm

DVSTT wrote:
I was watching this vid from adorama learning with Bryan Peterson and he was talking about lighting and that back lighting brings out detail whereas front lighting doesnt, but for his example he used a leaf and it did bring out detail when back lit

For a leaf it will, given that it becomes a wee bit transparent.

But for a more solid object you would get a silhoutte effect unless little light is used on sides etc as well, correct?

Can you post the link to the vid? Thanks.

Postby DVSTT » August 8th, 2012, 1:55 pm

KiD09 wrote:
DVSTT wrote:

For a leaf it will, given that it becomes a wee bit transparent.

But for a more solid object you would get a silhoutte effect unless little light is used on sides etc as well, correct?

Can you post the link to the vid? Thanks.

Can't find it. It was one of those videos canon/ adorama email u in the newsletters

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » August 8th, 2012, 2:01 pm

Oh ho. Alrighty then.

kevin_mender

Postby kevin_mender » August 8th, 2012, 9:09 pm

Hey guys im looking for a good flash for my canon EOS rebel camera.
Hit me up if you have something please. Also looking for a Flash Diffuser

Also if anyone has any good tips for taking better shots of models with a canon EOS rebel camera please share your knowledge :) thanks
Last edited by kevin_mender on August 9th, 2012, 1:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » August 9th, 2012, 10:01 am

^^knowledge aint free yo :lol:

Postby RBphoto » August 9th, 2012, 2:58 pm

^^^ show us pics of the models and we will tell you how you can improve ;)

Postby foss » August 9th, 2012, 3:06 pm

anyone have a canon 70-200mm lens to sell?

Postby DVSTT » August 9th, 2012, 3:38 pm

foss wrote:anyone have a canon 70-200mm lens to sell?

Check phototrini marketplace

Postby foss » August 9th, 2012, 4:07 pm

DVSTT wrote:
foss wrote:anyone have a canon 70-200mm lens to sell?

Check phototrini marketplace

did, no luck yet.

kevin_mender

Postby kevin_mender » August 9th, 2012, 5:02 pm

This is one that i did, trying to get a sharper image!