Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby maj. tom » July 21st, 2012, 2:11 pm

^ this was covered a couple pages back.

Postby S_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 4:25 pm

i studying if to wait till i/somebody go US to get the nexus 7.
i dunno how customs will react to a new tablet like that.

i know they dont tax ipads but do they exempt ALL tablets like laptops?

Postby maj. tom » July 21st, 2012, 4:37 pm

^yeah once it's labelled as a Tablet PC and comes with an invoice, it's duty and vat free. I have imported before and it went through. Laptops don't get any duties but the charger and misc. in the box does.

I had recently bought a 7 inch Android Tablet PC from HK and it must have been a lost in translation case because the customs officer in TT marked it as an MP3 player and I got charged 35% duty and vat. It was opened and checked, so I don't know why the officer would mark it as an MP3 player. I didn't know MP3 players could access the internet or read ebooks and run youtube. I complained to Customs House and Consumer Affairs, but nothing was done by the bureaucracy. How else the corruption and stupidity would continue to run? That is why you have to make sure they send you an invoice in English.
Last edited by maj. tom on July 21st, 2012, 4:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 4:40 pm

maj. tom wrote:^yeah once it's labelled as a Tablet PC and comes with an invoice, it's duty and vat free. I have imported before and it went through. Laptops don't get any duties but the charger and misc. in the box does.

I had recently bought an Android Tablet PC from HK and it must have been a lost in translation case because the customs officer in TT marked it as an MP3 player and I got charged 35% duty and vat. I complained to Customs House and Consumer Affairs, but how else the corruption and stupidity would continue to run? That is why you have to make sure they send you an invoice in English.

not true. u get owned.
ive heard of people who imported galaxy tabs and got charged as "electronics"

Postby maj. tom » July 21st, 2012, 4:45 pm

they charged me duties on the adapter and cable. what else i supposed to do but pay it? If the customs officer feeling like he have a frog and wet teabag in he pants that day what yuh go do?

Postby S_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 4:54 pm

unless u ordered the charger separate.

U GET OWNED :rofl:

Kukka

Postby Kukka » July 21st, 2012, 6:29 pm

So I went into bmobile. Its a new batch of S2 (my replacement came from) and those don't support ICS update yet. I was then told by the "Branch Manager" to download the update and apply it myself using ordin or something so. However before I could do so, she called and said don't it would actually void warranty lol. Sigh :(

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » July 21st, 2012, 7:12 pm

Kukka wrote:So I went into bmobile. Its a new batch of S2 (my replacement came from) and those don't support ICS update yet. I was then told by the "Branch Manager" to download the update and apply it myself using ordin or something so. However before I could do so, she called and said don't it would actually void warranty lol. Sigh :(

That's strange tho, few weeks ago we got a demo S2 unit from TSTT and as we fired it up it requested to download the ICS update and did so successfully. :|

Postby maj. tom » July 21st, 2012, 7:21 pm

^ yeah the phone would just find the official Samsung ICS update and update the system automatically.

The warranty gets voided when you flash your phone ROM chip, not update it with an official release by the manufacturer. This is standard with all providers in the world. If you were to hard reset the phone after the ICS update it would just go back to how it was when you bought it.

That rep tying you up or she eh know the terms of the contract you signed.

Postby r3iXmann » July 21st, 2012, 9:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:^yeah once it's labelled as a Tablet PC and comes with an invoice, it's duty and vat free. I have imported before and it went through. Laptops don't get any duties but the charger and misc. in the box does.

I had recently bought a 7 inch Android Tablet PC from HK and it must have been a lost in translation case because the customs officer in TT marked it as an MP3 player and I got charged 35% duty and vat. It was opened and checked, so I don't know why the officer would mark it as an MP3 player. I didn't know MP3 players could access the internet or read ebooks and run youtube. I complained to Customs House and Consumer Affairs, but nothing was done by the bureaucracy. How else the corruption and stupidity would continue to run? That is why you have to make sure they send you an invoice in English.

Laptops don't get charged unless u ordered the accessories separately or they came in a different box

Postby S_2NR » July 21st, 2012, 11:06 pm

rellllllllllllllllllllll horror stories on xda about that nexus 7 jed :(

Val

Postby Val » July 22nd, 2012, 8:37 am

Never been charged duty for anything inside the laptop or tablet box yet.

Tried going to the official 4.0.4 update to the Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 and nothing but boot loop.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 22nd, 2012, 9:06 am

S_2NR wrote:rellllllllllllllllllllll horror stories on xda about that nexus 7 jed :(

Remember it was a rushed product, best to wait till all bugs worked out. Bad things some of problems may be hardware related.

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2012, 12:36 pm

In case ulyuh was lost like me when I read s_2nr post...
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2407422,00.asp

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 24th, 2012, 8:12 am

German Appeals Court Bans Samsung's Galaxy Tab 7.7 in Europe

Samsung's Galaxy Tab 7.7 was banned in Europe by the Duesseldorf Higher Court on Tuesday because it found the tablet infringes on Apple's design rights and looks too much like the iPad.

The appeals court also ruled that the altered Galaxy Tab 10.1N, does not infringe on Apple's designs, and will be allowed to be sold in Germany.

more:
http://www.pcworld.com/article/259738/g ... urope.html

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 25th, 2012, 10:45 am

Is this a repost? The patents are for mainly
* how scroll bars appear/disappear/fade
* rubberband effect when you hit the end of a page
* kinetic scroll (how scroll continues after you flick until it slows down)
* How multi-touch works (pinch-to-zoom)
* finger gestures and what they are tied to

http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2012/07/ ... ui-iphone/

Apple Wins a User-Interface Patent That Smartphone Copycats Should Fear

Today Apple was granted a patent for a possibly lucrative addition to its IP arsenal: a patent for its method of displaying documents, lists, and a whole manner of other things on a portable electronic device.

It may sound snoozy, but the patent — which covers graphical user interfaces ranging from email to Camera Roll to menu lists to the multi-touch interface in general — looks like a dangerous weapon for Apple as it battles Android handset makers.

“From our point of view, it’s important that Apple not be the developer for the world. We can’t take all of our energy and all of our care and finish the painting, then have someone else put their name on it,” Apple CEO Tim Cook said at the D10 conference earlier this year.

The patent granted Tuesday, “Portable electronic device, method, and graphical user interface for displaying electronic lists and documents,” weaponizes a series of patent applications filed as far back as 2007.

“As portable electronic devices become more compact, and the number of functions performed by a given device increase, it has become a significant challenge to design a user interface that allows users to easily interact with a multifunction device,” the patent description states. “This situation is unfortunate because the user interface is the gateway through which users receive not only content but also responses to user actions or behaviors.”

Back in 2007, handset makers like RIM were adding more physical buttons for users to access the increasing amount of information on a mobile device, which resulted in “complicated key sequences and menu hierarchies that must be memorized by the user.”

Apple’s touch-only interfaces were designed to provide a more transparent and intuitive experience that would increase user satisfaction and efficiency as they navigate through the device’s menu system.
Last edited by Strauss on July 25th, 2012, 10:49 am, edited 2 times in total.

trivan

Postby trivan » July 25th, 2012, 10:47 am

hey i am new to this android os and stuff,just wanted to know if i have a rooted phone,can it be unrooted?

also can rooting affect the updating of software etc thanks

Postby stev » July 25th, 2012, 10:53 am

trivan wrote:hey i am new to this android os and stuff,just wanted to know if i have a rooted phone,can it be unrooted?

yes it can be unrooted...also, depending on what type of root, u may loose the 'root' aka superuser privileges on ur handset if u update.

my advice: dont worry about updating ur software from the manufacturer, u wud get feddup of waiting. root ur phone and slap on a few custom roms. back up your original in case u want it back. u cant really learn much about installing custom roms here if ur new to android....google is your friend.

wat handset u have?

Postby S_2NR » July 25th, 2012, 11:06 am

trivan wrote:hey i am new to this android os and stuff,just wanted to know if i have a rooted phone,can it be unrooted?

Xda developers.
Find ur phone model.
Get ur info.

Much more efficient than here.

But yes u can unroot and it won't affect updating software.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 25th, 2012, 12:09 pm

Where can I get a sim cutter to buy?

Postby M_2NR » July 25th, 2012, 1:33 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Where can I get a sim cutter to buy?

www.amazon.com
Noosy is the one I have. Should be about 4-7$

Postby 16 cycles » July 25th, 2012, 1:56 pm

apple needs to fight these battles to preserve market share.....

game on!

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » July 25th, 2012, 2:36 pm

M_2NR wrote:

http://www.amazon.com

Thing is I don't have a credit card so I can't buy online :( so I'm looking for one locally

Postby Trini Hookah » July 25th, 2012, 3:04 pm

Anyone in here ever used the antivirus apps? Ever found and had to remove anything?

Postby M_2NR » July 25th, 2012, 3:08 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

Thing is I don't have a credit card so I can't buy online :( so I'm looking for one locally

Check RapToR, equipped2ripp or one of those users who import goods. You'll be wasting time looking for one locally honestly. Unless you want it for a one off sim cut, then I'm sure there are other users who might be willing to lend you theirs etc.

Postby S_2NR » July 25th, 2012, 4:43 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Anyone in here ever used the antivirus apps? Ever found and had to remove anything?

u dont need it.
unless u go around downloading pirate apps, just be wary where u get things from. apks which have access to personal info.

avast is good tho.
lots of nice features.

Postby S_2NR » July 25th, 2012, 5:30 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

ur parents dont have a cc? nobody in ur family has a cc? :faint:

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » July 26th, 2012, 8:48 am

S_2NR wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Anyone in here ever used the antivirus apps? Ever found and had to remove anything?

u dont need it.
unless u go around downloading pirate apps, just be wary where u get things from. apks which have access to personal info.

avast is good tho.
lots of nice features.

Don't use it and don't plan to.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 26th, 2012, 10:45 am

ORIGINAL POST:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=196913&p=6392183&sid=50afb080a4fad7c318512efdc3f60dcb#p6392183

The Apple-Samsung Trial: What the Companies Will Attempt to Prove
By Ashby Jones

In the Apple-Samsung case set to go to trial next week, each company asserts that the other infringed a handful of patents used in their smartphones and tablet computers.

Anyone who’s following along would be well-served by checking out two new documents that just hit the docket out in San Jose, Calif. They’re Apple and Samsung’s trial briefs, which lay out, in readable detail (and with color photos!) what each side will attempt to prove to the 10-person jury.

Here are some highlights from Apple’s brief, followed by Samsung’s brief:

Samsung cannot change the central fact that its products are strikingly similar to Apple’s patented designs. Nor can it change the novelty and extraordinary success of Apple’s designs. Samsung will instead attempt to confuse the issues with a hodgepodge of defenses based on incorrect legal standards. Samsung’s defenses will fail.

Samsung’s documents show that the similarity of Samsung’s products is no accident or, as Samsung would have it, a “natural evolution.” Rather, it results from Samsung’s deliberate plan to free-ride on the iPhone’s and iPad’s extraordinary success by copying their iconic designs and intuitive user interface. Apple will rely on Samsung’s own documents, which tell an unambiguous story.

Samsung’s documents show that Samsung developed an overall plan to copy Apple’s innovative designs and features so that it could compete with Apple.

FULL STORY:
http://blogs.wsj.com/korearealtime/2012 ... -to-prove/
(X-posted)

Postby Trini Hookah » July 26th, 2012, 10:54 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

u dont need it.

avast is good tho.
lots of nice features.

Don't use it and don't plan to.

Cool man

Installed a couple 3rd party games, so will try out one in that case.

Any good games you guys recommend? Got a SNES Emulator and is level Mario anytime I have to kill time/wait for anything :lol: