PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

thermaltake

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby thermaltake » July 20th, 2012, 12:43 am

one of the madesss case i ever seee... love it fuh sooo...
VN700M1W2N_e40e12b242934b2cbef4d1a48e45f53f.jpg
VN700M1W2N_e40e12b242934b2cbef4d1a48e45f53f.jpg (29.43 KiB) Viewed 2825 times

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 20th, 2012, 9:31 am

Yea it's a nice case !!!!

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 20th, 2012, 3:10 pm

want to know if a am2+ processor could work on this board... asrock n68-vs3

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 20th, 2012, 3:15 pm

thermaltake wrote:want to know if a am2+ processor could work on this board... asrock n68-vs3

Nope, only Socket AM3 cpus could work on it.

thermaltake

Postby thermaltake » July 20th, 2012, 3:27 pm

HCCA wrote:
thermaltake wrote:want to know if a am2+ processor could work on this board... asrock n68-vs3

Nope, only Socket AM3 cpus could work on it.

tanx man....

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » July 20th, 2012, 9:00 pm

I see ATI prices drop .

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 21st, 2012, 2:36 am

So I've decided to make a new Amd build using my previous phenom II 955 BE. Tell me what you guys think:

Case: NZXT Source 210 (Black)

Cooler: Antec Kuhler 620

Mobo: ASUS M5A99X Evo

PSU: Corsair CX600w

Ram: Kingston hyperx 8GB 1600MHz

GPU: MSI Twin Frozr 6870

Storage: WD Caviar Blue 320GB SATAIII

Boot: SAMSUNG 830 Series 64GB SATAIII

System will be for sale btw, all parts new with the exception of the cpu.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 21st, 2012, 7:20 am

iM@st@1 wrote:So I've decided to make a new Amd build using my previous phenom II 955 BE. Tell me what you guys think:

The parts list nice but you shoulda just sell the cpu and done. Remember complete towers hard to sell on tuner above a certain price eh.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 21st, 2012, 9:37 am

HCCA wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:So I've decided to make a new Amd build using my previous phenom II 955 BE. Tell me what you guys think:

The parts list nice but you shoulda just sell the cpu and done. Remember complete towers hard to sell on tuner above a certain price eh.

Tried awhile back but decided to keep it for a build, it's a great processor after all. With this system should have excellent performance. Worst case I sell the parts separate as they're all new, jus tryin a ting

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » July 21st, 2012, 10:00 pm

Need some help here guys, re-installed windows successfully, but when I want to go into the bios it freezes 3-4 seconds every time I changed a setting. Also startup is very very slow.

Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD Phenom II x6 1100t
Corsair Dominator 16gb @ 1333Mhz
XFX Radeon HD 7970
Corsair 1200watt

Googled and got no help, so any help would greatly be appreciated...

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2012, 4:47 am

You tried redoing the install? I notice sometimes the install isn't proper. Happened once or twice with mine. I never was able to pinpoint the issue. Try reburning the DVD slower etc.

---
That aside I sorted out why my PC was so slow, I didn't run any utilities to manage running programs/services in months. If u see crap I had running :|
I use TuneUp Utilities 2011. If you have VMware installed, one time, disable the service if you don't use it much.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 22nd, 2012, 10:18 am

nismo007 wrote:Need some help here guys, re-installed windows successfully, but when I want to go into the bios it freezes 3-4 seconds every time I changed a setting. Also startup is very very slow.

Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD Phenom II x6 1100t
XFX Radeon HD 7970
Corsair 1200watt

Tried reflashing ur bios or updating it?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 22nd, 2012, 10:20 am

M_2NR wrote:That aside I sorted out why my PC was so slow, I didn't run any utilities to manage running programs/services in months. If u see crap I had running :|
I use TuneUp Utilities 2011. If you have VMware installed, one time, disable the service if you don't use it much.

You could've run msconfig

nismo007

Postby nismo007 » July 22nd, 2012, 12:51 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
nismo007 wrote:Need some help here guys, re-installed windows successfully, but when I want to go into the bios it freezes 3-4 seconds every time I changed a setting. Also startup is very very slow.

Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD Phenom II x6 1100t
XFX Radeon HD 7970
Corsair 1200watt

Yes did that and it still runs slow...boots takes atleast 5 min to desktop

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » July 22nd, 2012, 12:56 pm

my small build i doing is

Asrock N68-VS3 Am3 M.Board
AMD Phenom X4 945 Quad AM3 3.0Ghz
Zogis GT 240 1GB video card
Kingston 4gb Ram (will upgrade to 8gb soon)

right now I'm using a xtech 700w PSU that i had from before, recommend any better PSU?

and also what will be a good cooling system to buy?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 22nd, 2012, 2:25 pm

i honestly would not recommend u put anything much ( money ) into that system....

because if you plan to PC, you might want to get a better board to do so, as i have seen instances where the board's chips heats up to the point of restarting. This actually happens with normal use and VERY little OC.

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » July 22nd, 2012, 3:42 pm

can you recommend a better <a class="inlineAdmedialink" href="#">board</a> available locally? any listed from wizz computers
http://www.thewizzcomputers.com/index.p ... 5&Itemid=4

tryin not to spend more than $700, as its a budget system

its for moderate gaming nothing heavy

im looking at the BIOSTAR A880GB+ AM3 AMD 880G HDMI SATA 6Gb/s Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
or

MSI NF725GM-P43 AM3 NVIDIA GeForce 7025 & nForce 630a Micro ATX AMD Motherboard that should be better?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 22nd, 2012, 5:18 pm

yes i used the msi on numerous occasions. that would be a better buy than the asrock... that specific asrock board has very little stability from 'MY' experience.

Postby M_2NR » July 22nd, 2012, 5:30 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
M_2NR wrote:That aside I sorted out why my PC was so slow, I didn't run any utilities to manage running programs/services in months. If u see crap I had running :|

You could've run msconfig

nah dan it was prettier :|
seriously though, there is a monitor to show how each affected the load on the system vs on/off/disabled in msconfig.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » July 22nd, 2012, 8:04 pm

has anyone ever got this error? I have been getting it alot. Formatted but its still there.

crash dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\072212-5928-01.dmp
This was probably caused by the following module: ntoskrnl.exe (nt+0x7F140)
Bugcheck code: 0x50 (0xFFFFFA89BD359E48, 0x0, 0xFFFFF88006C47871, 0x5)
Error: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
file path: C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
company: Microsoft Corporation
description: NT Kernel & System
Bug check description: This indicates that invalid system memory has been referenced.
This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
The crash took place in the Windows kernel. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver which cannot be identified at this time.

Postby M_2NR » July 23rd, 2012, 1:41 am

Your drivers up to date? Or you using the right ones? I would ask if you're using ati cards but :lol: nowadays they got their stuff sorted.

I can't remember what else causes that error may be HCCA can help?

I use this program to quickly point out issues with dumps.
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 23rd, 2012, 7:04 am

M_2NR wrote:Your drivers up to date? Or you using the right ones? I would ask if you're using ati cards but :lol: nowadays they got their stuff sorted.

I can't remember what else causes that error may be HCCA can help?

I use this program to quickly point out issues with dumps.
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html

When i research it the most common problems are either the system memory or the swap file on the hard disk at fault. Even memtest can't always help with diagnosing memory errors so u have to test via trial and error.

Use this for reference:

'http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff559023(v=vs.85).aspx'

Best i could recommend is to try a few diff brands of memory/set the timings and voltage manually.

Plus after a bsod and restart u can check Event Viewer (administrative tools in control panel) to get a better idea of what caused the error.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » July 23rd, 2012, 10:48 am

well yea i run mem test and passed everything and stuff. The thing is is not 1 blue screen with that same error. But is always that same file. Might order some kingston hyperx ram and see if that helps.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 23rd, 2012, 11:26 am

mickey17 wrote:well yea i run mem test and passed everything and stuff. The thing is is not 1 blue screen with that same error. But is always that same file. Might order some kingston hyperx ram and see if that helps.

Before u run out and spend more money u could just borrow ah stick ah ddr3 other brand and test u know. Or pass in supertech and buy ah 2gb ddr3 kingston for ah $100 and test with that, always good to have backup parts eh :wink:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 23rd, 2012, 12:27 pm

nismo007 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD Phenom II x6 1100t
XFX Radeon HD 7970
Corsair 1200watt

Try clearing CMOS using the jumpers, (but I guessing u may have done so alr). Also have u tried a diff SATA port/cable? SSD?HDD?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 23rd, 2012, 1:51 pm

nismo try 1 stick of ram and see if anything changes.. all through until the last stick

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » July 23rd, 2012, 1:53 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
nismo007 wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:

Asus Crosshair V Formula
AMD Phenom II x6 1100t
XFX Radeon HD 7970
Corsair 1200watt

Try clearing CMOS using the jumpers, (but I guessing u may have done so alr). Also have u tried a diff SATA port/cable? SSD?HDD?

yep i narrow it down to the ram now. Will buy some cheap 1 and test it out.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 23rd, 2012, 5:00 pm

Put together a system today with an Internal Card Reader. When I first tested it the system came on and also the card reader. I installed W7 Ultimate 64 bit and now the card reader isn't recognized...it doesn't even come on :|

How do I fix this? I've tried looking for it in the Device manager and no luck :cry:

It's a Sabrent 68 in 1 Card reader.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » July 23rd, 2012, 5:04 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Put together a system today with an Internal Card Reader. When I first tested it the system came on and also the card reader. I installed W7 Ultimate 64 bit and now the card reader isn't recognized...it doesn't even come on :|

How do I fix this? I've tried looking for it in the Device manager and no luck :cry:

It's a Sabrent 68 in 1 Card reader.

Probably try updating the chipset drivers for your motherboard. This will update the usb drivers as well.

Postby M_2NR » July 23rd, 2012, 5:21 pm

so now, hear the latest, my flash drives show up as unrecognized :|
They only show up when i plug them in as soon as my computer loads. IF they are plugged in while booting, Win7 doesn't boot.
In win8, load up fine, no issues. :lol: