Loan amt: 1M
term: 20 yrs
Monthly Inst. : $6578

Pack3
Loan amt: 1.5M
Monthly Inst.: $9868

Downpayment on all packages at 10%

values rounded off to nearest dollar....

Re: Employment for Returning Expats

Postby RBphoto » July 16th, 2012, 10:00 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:How does a young professional with international experience break into the job market in Trinidad? Is it heavily dependent on who you know? I know there are quite a few returning expats with no work experience landing well-paying jobs simply because of who they are or who they know. Is this what one has to expect when actively search for employment?

And yes, you have correctly assumed this question is asked because of my own personal consideration to return home. I did post earlier about possible relocation to Australia but decided to scrap that idea given personal reasons.

I have come to realize my professional work experience does not fit into any of the more popular sectors on the island (Accounting, Marketing, Business Administration, Project Management, Engineering, Administrative Services, Occupational Health & Safety Procurement, Oil/Gas, etc.).

As for my experience it is heavily in corporate finance/bank lending/investment banking in the legal sector and depending on a possible new offer, will extend to the banking sector.

Anyway, I have already been advised and forewarned not to consider moving to Trinidad until I retire due to a variety of things:

1. Poor health sector
2. Horrible traffic/road conditions
3. Crime/Murder/Kidnapping
4. Undercompensation when employed
5. When there is no longer an oil/gas sector TT will be the next Haiti

...but what do you young professionals say (preferably those who have lived abroad like I have and returned)? What keeps you in Trinidad and Tobago? If you had the opportunity, would you bolt? Is Trinidad already in the dumps (or heading there?)

Hi AP, did not read the last 5 pages, but from my experience, if you go to work for a multinational company, and you are hired locally as an expat, you will have housing, car, allowances for cost of living (all utilities), expat premium rates, comparable to a US Salary pluss displacement, paid time off to return to the US, and generally have the option to relocate to another country within your organization after your "tour of duty" in Trinidad.

That is how I see it in the oil and gas sector, and have seen many locals who are now US citizens living it up back home in T&T just because their passport says they are US citizens for over 10 years and have international experience.

Postby teems1 » July 16th, 2012, 10:02 am

16 cycles wrote:In ref to RBL rates on loans....flier at bank gives the following details:-

offers end Jul 31

Pack1
Loan amt: 500k
term: 15yrs
Monthly Inst.: $3858

15 x 12 x 3858 = 694k
194k more

Pack2

20 x 12 x 6578 = 1.578m
578k more

Pack3

20 x 12 x 9868 = 2.368m
868k more

I know this doesn't take into consideration the rate of inflation, and who knows what salaries would be like in 20 years.

But dayum! it's not easy if you're in the market for a house...

Postby RBphoto » July 16th, 2012, 10:05 am

Oh... you will have a great medical plan (with Westshore or St. Clair ) with options to be flown to the states in event of an emergency.

Horrible traffic/road conditions are worldwide and is greatly improving

Crime/Murder/Kidnapping well.. you will most likely get place in a gated community

When there is no longer an oil/gas sector TT will be the next Haiti----> Really? not in the next 5 years sister.

Postby crazybalhead » July 16th, 2012, 10:09 am

crossdrilled wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:How does a young professional with international experience break into the job market in Trinidad? Is it heavily dependent on who you know? I know there are quite a few returning expats with no work experience landing well-paying jobs simply because of who they are or who they know. Is this what one has to expect when actively search for employment?

And yes, you have correctly assumed this question is asked because of my own personal consideration to return home. I did post earlier about possible relocation to Australia but decided to scrap that idea given personal reasons.

I have come to realize my professional work experience does not fit into any of the more popular sectors on the island (Accounting, Marketing, Business Administration, Project Management, Engineering, Administrative Services, Occupational Health & Safety Procurement, Oil/Gas, etc.).

As for my experience it is heavily in corporate finance/bank lending/investment banking in the legal sector and depending on a possible new offer, will extend to the banking sector.

Anyway, I have already been advised and forewarned not to consider moving to Trinidad until I retire due to a variety of things:

1. Poor health sector

...but what do you young professionals say (preferably those who have lived abroad like I have and returned)? What keeps you in Trinidad and Tobago? If you had the opportunity, would you bolt? Is Trinidad already in the dumps (or heading there?)

Hi AP, did not read the last 5 pages, but from my experience, if you go to work for a multinational company, and you are hired locally as an expat, you will have housing, car, allowances for cost of living (all utilities), expat premium rates, comparable to a US Salary pluss displacement, paid time off to return to the US, and generally have the option to relocate to another country within your organization after your "tour of duty" in Trinidad.

That is how I see it in the oil and gas sector, and have seen many locals who are now US citizens living it up back home in T&T just because their passport says they are US citizens for over 10 years and have international experience.

Companies are seriously moving away from this model. Expats are expensive and unnecessary, and they know it.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 16th, 2012, 10:13 am

i need a maid :|

Postby crazybalhead » July 16th, 2012, 10:16 am

Me too. And a general contractor.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » July 16th, 2012, 10:55 am

teems1 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:In ref to RBL rates on loans....flier at bank gives the following details:-

offers end Jul 31

Pack1
Loan amt: 500k
term: 15yrs
Monthly Inst.: $3858

15 x 12 x 3858 = 694k
194k more

Pack2

20 x 12 x 6578 = 1.578m
578k more

Pack3

20 x 12 x 9868 = 2.368m
868k more

I know this doesn't take into consideration the rate of inflation, and who knows what salaries would be like in 20 years.

But dayum! it's not easy if you're in the market for a house...

That's why you should check Scotia, they have more fflexible repayment plans that reduce the cost of interest to you. If you know how, compare the cost of interest on any loan above at monthly payments versus bi-weekly payments and you will see the cost savings. Point is, you can't do bi-weekly by RBL.

Postby pete » July 16th, 2012, 11:14 am

I don't find 40% interest in 15 years is so bad..

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 16th, 2012, 11:19 am

I've read an article published by the Central Bank of TT that conventional mortgages in TT with a fixed interest rate require at least 25% downpayment. Any truth to this?

Bareback

Postby Bareback » July 16th, 2012, 12:24 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:I've read an article published by the Central Bank of TT that conventional mortgages in TT with a fixed interest rate require at least 25% downpayment. Any truth to this?

Check the websites of the local banks for qualifcation criteria. Then check the local prices for homes. The sh1t thy pants!!!

Radix

Postby Radix » July 16th, 2012, 12:34 pm

Hey guys, I'm 19 and making 60,000 TT per month on average. My IT business started just last year on a loan from a private money lender. Starting business in Trinidad is like no where else in the world, too simple. Just though I'd login and let y'all commoners know that there's no reason a professional should be suffering and complaining in this country unless you're lazy or got no balls...... the latter being the OP's case if I assumed the gender correctly :fadein:

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 16th, 2012, 2:16 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

1. Poor health sector

Companies are seriously moving away from this model. Expats are expensive and unnecessary, and they know it.

more companies are realising this, plus the local staff bringing it to the attention at meetings and expenditure figures....... in some companies a hand full of expats, say for arugments sake ( 10) make up more than 70% of the expenditure of the company versus the remaining 30% ( over 600) local employees.

Postby janfar » July 16th, 2012, 2:24 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

1. Poor health sector

more companies are realising this, plus the local staff bringing it to the attention at meetings and expenditure figures....... in some companies a hand full of expats, say for arugments sake ( 10) make up more than 70% of the expenditure of the company versus the remaining 30% ( over 600) local employees.

Not only this but trinis are becoming the expats... in the oilfield I meet at least one trini every location I go too. Almost as common as scots and texans...

Postby crazybalhead » July 16th, 2012, 4:12 pm

Radix $60,000 Rupees yuh mean?

Postby RBphoto » July 16th, 2012, 4:27 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Radix $60,000 Rupees yuh mean?

Pay per view private guided anal mastrubation is big business I see..... In India.