Republic bank locking bank accounts for fraud?

Postby stev » July 5th, 2012, 12:34 pm

3 co workers this morning got a call from republic bank and was told that they have to verify some transactions made and they can not use their ATM cards until they do so. My mother also got a call.

anyone here got called or knows anything about it? I eh get call :S

kual

Re: Republic bank locking bank accounts for fraud?

Postby kual » July 5th, 2012, 12:42 pm

interesting. keep us updated. do not verify anything over the phone ok

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » July 5th, 2012, 12:42 pm

Got a call yesterday evening. Was told my one card was in a batch that was blocked because they were compromised. In the bank right now waiting for my replacement.

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2012, 12:44 pm

*steups* and I was gonna go in today and have my 13year old ATM card replaced...this ting looking real beat out now

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » July 5th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Have about 3 people waiting to change their card here for the same reason.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 5th, 2012, 12:47 pm

Could it be disgruntled staff sabotaging systems?? They still haven't negotiated a settlement in the wage dispute.

Postby stev » July 5th, 2012, 12:48 pm

compromised? wtf man.

my mother just call me and say that they are now serving number 37 in her home branch and her number is 92. lol. she tell me she going home.

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2012, 12:51 pm

Steve, I'mma call u in a bit for your full name, account number and a fax of your signature aiite

Postby stev » July 5th, 2012, 12:56 pm

Hook wrote:Steve, I'mma call u in a bit for your full name, account number and a fax of your signature aiite

refer to sig

Postby Hook » July 5th, 2012, 12:57 pm

sure thing, Steve

Postby maj. tom » July 5th, 2012, 12:58 pm

Why haven't they issued the Smart Cards with the chips in them and upgraded their systems? Is Trinidad going to be the last country in the world to implement this? Maybe they like losing money to fraud.

Postby ronsin1 » July 5th, 2012, 1:26 pm

^^^ they have chip and pin cards

Bareback

Postby Bareback » July 5th, 2012, 1:48 pm

Bank machines in the Chaguanas area have been comproimised via the use of a skimming device which records your information from the card when you enter the bank machine vestibule. It is not known how many clients or banks have been exposed.
Last edited by Bareback on July 6th, 2012, 7:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » July 5th, 2012, 2:00 pm

this sheit in trini now..well look ting

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 5th, 2012, 3:39 pm

oh frack man...

silver

Postby silver » July 5th, 2012, 3:45 pm

Bareback wrote:Bank machines in the Chaguanas area have been comproimised via the use of a skimming device which records your information from the card when you enter the bank machine vestibule. It is known how many clients or banks have been exposed.

I don't know that this can affect ATM cards. The skimming device can copy the track information from the plastic to be copied onto another card. ATM cards require PINs which are not encoded onto the track information on the card. Skimming an ATM card would be useless without the PIN. THey would also need a remote camera to view the pin being entered.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » July 5th, 2012, 3:59 pm

My wife has FCB card and tried to use it. It was captured and when she went into the bank, they said that anyone who used Scotiabank machines recently has to replace their cards and re-open a new account. She is in the bank all now.

Postby shogun » July 5th, 2012, 4:02 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:oh frack man...

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » July 5th, 2012, 4:27 pm

Users of Scotiabank ATMs in Mid Centre & Freeport over the weekend were also affected. All cards used during a certain period must be replaced.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 5th, 2012, 4:45 pm

All banks have been affected by this.

ProgressiveTT

Postby ProgressiveTT » July 5th, 2012, 9:24 pm

^^Confirmed.
It was perpertrated on one's bank ATM but due to LINX all users accounts can be potentially affected.
IF you see a physical device attached to where the card reader is: DO NOT USE THE ATM!!

silver wrote:
Bareback wrote:Bank machines in the Chaguanas area have been comproimised via the use of a skimming device which records your information from the card when you enter the bank machine vestibule. It is known how many clients or banks have been exposed.

I don't know that this can affect ATM cards. The skimming device can copy the track information from the plastic to be copied onto another card. ATM cards require PINs which are not encoded onto the track information on the card. Skimming an ATM card would be useless without the PIN. THey would also need a remote camera to view the pin being entered.

Not true, it is encoded on the card.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » July 5th, 2012, 10:26 pm

AdamB wrote:My wife has FCB card and tried to use it. It was captured and when she went into the bank, they said that anyone who used Scotiabank machines recently has to replace their cards and re-open a new account. She is in the bank all now.

Have a Republic Bank card that was captured. This is what the bank told me as well.

Postby Country_Bookie » July 5th, 2012, 10:32 pm

Why people does use other bank's ATMs? Don't they know that it's a $4 charge when u do that. I can understand using it for emergencies but not regularly.
Guess that's why the banks make so much profit.

Postby nemisis » July 5th, 2012, 10:51 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Why people does use other bank's ATMs? Don't they know that it's a $4 charge when u do that. I can understand using it for emergencies but not regularly.

emergencies, crowded ATM, no cash at the ATM, location of ATM.........

Plenty reason someone may regularly be in need of using another banks ATM.

The bank charging you more fees than interest on your account that's how they make so much profit.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 5th, 2012, 11:16 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Why people does use other bank's ATMs? Don't they know that it's a $4 charge when u do that. I can understand using it for emergencies but not regularly.

Is a $4.00 yuh feeling hard to pay jead?

Ilook at it like this, I can walk to a scotia machine and pay $4.00 extra or drive for 15mins and avoid $4.00 which I end up burning in gas anyway.

vickyexp

Postby vickyexp » July 6th, 2012, 9:04 am

Tarantula wrote:Users of Scotiabank ATMs in Mid Centre & Freeport over the weekend were also affected. All cards used during a certain period must be replaced.

was in Chaguanas yesterday and used Scotia in Mid Center,
I hope I don't have problems with my card. :shock: :shock:

Postby stev » July 6th, 2012, 9:16 am

most likely they removed the devices from the ATM. shudnt have any worries.

Postby Stephon. » July 6th, 2012, 9:24 am

Yeah but I guess you're paying for convenience, if I wanna get money from my ATM card, I'm going by the nearest machine with a linx logo on it, i ain't gonna go out of m way just to save 4 dollars at RBTT machine in west mall, when I already at peaks service station, if you know what I mean.

Postby UML » July 6th, 2012, 9:33 am

affecting FCB customers as well

***TRINISON***

Postby ***TRINISON*** » July 6th, 2012, 12:38 pm

Apparently this is affecting all banks. I went to use my bank card today as well, and they said that my account is blocked. On calling the Scotia Head office, they said that my card was blocked due to a security breech, and I have to go into my branch...(Price Plaza) with 2 forms of ID to be re-issued a new card. That's crap, because i am in Point Lisas right now. The thing is if I don't, I will have no cash for the weekend. So I am heading there now.
This has also happened to one of my co-workers with me, and the thing is he's with RBC! Same story...account compromised. How are these banks going to compensate for the time lost in this re-issue of a card for trying to withdraw YOUR OWN MONEY?
Apart from that, they also asked me to verify all my transactions, which I did, and they still said I would need a new card re-issued.

steups.