3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Cid

Re: 3NE2NR Official Phototakerouter & Photography Thread...

Postby Cid » June 23rd, 2012, 2:01 pm

Wow..... great post lighthammer.... Hats off to you for taking the time to post such a great article.... Well done

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » June 23rd, 2012, 2:44 pm

Great info there lighthammer. Surely useful.

Postby Bizzare » June 23rd, 2012, 2:57 pm

useful info, but from the pics u used as an example I can tell placement of the light is kinda more important too. Too much shadow or too much light on one spot can kill the image. The dog pics are great example of what u wanted to illustrate. But the camera pics are an example of what I'm talking about. Too much shadow and too much light make certain parts the object lose some definition.

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » June 23rd, 2012, 5:35 pm

ill leave these 2

Postby DVSTT » June 23rd, 2012, 6:03 pm

lighthammer wrote:Ok so I did a couple more sample shots here to show you how to use a single light source (can be any continuous light, like a flashlight, a blackberry camera light, etc.) to make a photograph more interesting.

This example is how to make a portrait of someone more interesting using directional light.

Tools:
- Blackberry Torch 9860 as my main camera (see? dont' even need a big DSLR, my Nikon D200 wasn't even used for these shots)
- Small LED flashlight (available at almost any hardware/tools shop.... my wife went to work and took her phone, so me had to improvise a little :( )
- Subject to take a photo of (it was just me home alone, so I had to recruit my little buddy, Pupsy to do the modelling work).

I put the model in front of a window, with the white curtains down to create a nice, diffused light source to light up the model's face. As you can see, the face is nicely lit with soft light.

Image\
Using a "key" light, I basically put a source of light to the opposite side and slightly to the back of the model. This gives a small highlight to the model's face... and gives shape to the model as well.

Used a small flashlight to create the "key" or "highlight". Didn't even use the Nikon D200 DSLR, except as a stand for the light!!!

Had to use the wife's flashlight (since she took her phone with her to work).
And yes, I do have my own big, manly flashlight... which is in the toolbox in my big, manly pickup truck (but right now it raining outside and I nice and cosy inside :mrgreen:).

See how easy it is to make great photographs?
And you don't need a big, expensive camera. You can use a simple point and shoot, and one or two cheap things around the house or even a friend's own cellphone too!

Hopefully this humble little tutorial will help inspire some of you to get your creative gears turning, and I'm excited to see what you guys can come up with using these simple, basic techniques!

Dude! Thanks alot for taking the time to post up all these photo techniques! Really helps and its much appreciated!

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » June 23rd, 2012, 8:19 pm

Thanks for the tips dude!

Postby DVSTT » June 24th, 2012, 11:16 am

Used lighthammer's technique on macro of the old 2 dollar coin, placing the flashlight directly overhead the coin abt a foot or so brought out alot of detail in the coin and really made the dimensions on the coin emphasised!

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » June 24th, 2012, 1:23 pm

Sunday BBQ by Shivam.13, on Flickr

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » June 24th, 2012, 5:46 pm

I got up close with the birthday cake.

Shot with a Fujifilm AV200 Point and Shoot, then I maneuvered the curve in Photoshop.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 24th, 2012, 9:31 pm

Not one of my better pics but was happy to capture this and her two cubs in the wild...

One was shot and killed a couple hours after I took this after attacking a man in the same area......could very well be the same one but would never be sure....

Postby foss » June 24th, 2012, 9:33 pm

wow! nice shot !

Postby Bizzare » June 24th, 2012, 9:39 pm

foss wrote:wow! nice shot !

Postby sMASH » June 24th, 2012, 9:57 pm

nice shot, but, why u be attacking people in the same area....

(will practise playing with lighting for home work as well)

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » June 24th, 2012, 10:02 pm

IMG_1997 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_2119 by A.M Production, on Flickr
IMG_2044 by A.M Production, on Flickr

Bacon

Postby Bacon » June 25th, 2012, 10:14 pm

Thanks folks...

Yeah sMash.....sentance construction coulda do with some work there :oops:

Postby meccalli » June 25th, 2012, 10:40 pm

Some shots from over ze weekend. Nevermind my horizons, bent is the new trend :).

Hoops by meccalli, on Flickr

Mayaro Delight by meccalli, on Flickr

Sway by meccalli, on Flickr

COlor by meccalli, on Flickr

Bliss by meccalli, on Flickr

Winds by meccalli, on Flickr

Hmm by meccalli, on Flickr

Bunny by meccalli, on Flickr

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 27th, 2012, 12:09 am

Yuh was light painting oorrrr??

THis is the last thing you see before the trees take back your soul and release it into the earth..... lol :lol:

Postby meccalli » June 27th, 2012, 8:00 am

haha, i did a bit in both actually.

CBharath

Postby CBharath » June 27th, 2012, 4:59 pm

hey good day everybody .

can anyone point me locally where to get a hot mirror filter?

Postby DVSTT » June 27th, 2012, 8:03 pm

Is the 580EX II worth more than double the price of the 430EX II?? What are the pros and cons?

Postby pugboy » June 29th, 2012, 7:39 am

pain
DSC_6443.jpg by ljk11, on Flickr
DSC_6446.jpg by ljk11, on Flickr

miguel granville

Postby miguel granville » June 30th, 2012, 5:21 pm

IMG_3197 by A.M Production, on Flickr

IMG_3209 by A.M Production, on Flickr

IMG_3202 by A.M Production, on Flickr

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » June 30th, 2012, 9:15 pm

Think im seeing a person standing behind the boat?

Postby DVSTT » June 30th, 2012, 11:34 pm

DVSTT wrote:Is the 580EX II worth more than double the price of the 430EX II?? What are the pros and cons?

Bump.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 1st, 2012, 2:43 pm

DVSTT wrote:
DVSTT wrote:Is the 580EX II worth more than double the price of the 430EX II?? What are the pros and cons?

Bump.

Google.com

A quickie I did while playing in lightroom.

Postby DVSTT » July 1st, 2012, 3:05 pm

Jaguar XJ by DHARIN, on Flickr

Cassie! by DHARIN, on Flickr

Hollister Co. by DHARIN, on Flickr

Just My 2 Cents! by DHARIN, on Flickr

Postby DVSTT » July 4th, 2012, 2:47 pm

kevin_mender

Postby kevin_mender » July 4th, 2012, 6:46 pm

I'm Looking for ah entry level SLR camera that's not to pricey, if anyone can show me where I can find 1 for a good price, used or new don't matter once in good working condition

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 4th, 2012, 6:53 pm

Faster recycle and more power .

Dragist

Postby Dragist » July 4th, 2012, 7:00 pm

kevin_mender wrote:I'm Looking for ah entry level SLR camera that's not to pricey, if anyone can show me where I can find 1 for a good price, used or new don't matter once in good working condition

I might have something for you I am selling my XT and 2) Vivitar 285Hv Flash units , I have someone that wants them they will let me know tomorrow I have a shoot so by Friday I will let you know .

David