Repaying GATE

ElectricoS

Repaying GATE

Postby ElectricoS » June 27th, 2012, 3:49 am

Has anyone here had to repay GATE their money for abandoning their program / asked to withdraw from the program? how long do u have until you can repay gate ?

i'm thinking about dropping out of my programme at utt to concentrate on doing CAPE so i can get into uwi to do Comp. Sci.

any advice will be appreciated

Paullct

Re: Repaying GATE

Postby Paullct » June 27th, 2012, 4:11 am

you don't have to pay anything if you've attended less than six weeks of classes. if you have, then you don't have to repay gate unless you intend on taking their assistance for another course.

in your case, whenever you're ready to go to uwi, you can just pay whatever you owe, if any, and they will fund you for the next course.

it's really simple

Prototype-Tuner

Repaying GATE

Postby Prototype-Tuner » June 27th, 2012, 4:17 am

Paullct wrote:you don't have to pay anything if you've attended less than six weeks of classes. if you have, then you don't have to repay gate unless you intend on taking their assistance for another course.

in your case, whenever you're ready to go to uwi, you can just pay whatever you owe, if any, and they will fund you for the next course.

it's really simple

Is it less than 6 weeks or more than 6 weeks?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » June 27th, 2012, 7:30 am

if you've attended 6 weeks or more then you must re-pay gate. if you have chosen to drop the course before 6 weeks, then the school will remit the difference to gate

IdleMind2504

Postby IdleMind2504 » June 27th, 2012, 8:33 am

further to that it is also a percentage of attendance, so once you cross 6 weeks, you need to make 75%(i think) attendance otherwise need to pay back

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 27th, 2012, 8:48 am

i working Nat Sci, and does hear ppl in compsci lab bawling and crying on a regular basis...its either they watching Bold & Beautiful or they watching pass lists...

u have rel belly man.. best of luck

Postby stev » June 27th, 2012, 8:59 am

drop out of UTT to do cape in order to do comp sci in UWI?

Postby Bizzare » June 27th, 2012, 9:02 am

^ I did the same.... well not UTT. Great decision OP.
Op ent you made a thread about this sometime ago..... You doing engineering in UTT right?

Postby skylinechild » June 28th, 2012, 7:56 am

OP just be sure at the end f your computer science degree you know how to do the following BASIC things. ( in addition to dealing with databases and my sql and such)

1. format a HDD and install windows 98/XP/7
2.use mmc
3. command prompt
4.network installation, troubleshooting and diagnostics from both client and server side.
5.know what .net framework is for.
6. set up a server ( install the OS from scratch) and use active directory to manage users and enforce security policies across the network.

if you cant do ANY of those things AFTER your computer science degree......you just wasted 3 years of your life.... sorry for being kinda harsh OP...

Postby RBphoto » June 28th, 2012, 8:47 am

UTT has an excellent Engineering programme. Their third year students are getting better summer placements than UWI students. Why leave?

I am a UWI Engineering grad whe did the comp sci and power option, and I have to say that you may be dissapointed in what the comp sci option is all about.... jus saying.

ElectricoS

Postby ElectricoS » June 29th, 2012, 9:38 am

crossdrilled wrote:UTT has an excellent Engineering programme. Their third year students are getting better summer placements than UWI students. Why leave?

I am a UWI Engineering grad whe did the comp sci and power option, and I have to say that you may be dissapointed in what the comp sci option is all about.... jus saying.

WHY does everyone keep saying i'll be disappointed with UWI's Comp Sci programme ? i feel its because allyuh can't handle the intensity of the programme. i'm prepared to cope with whatever comes my way.

anyways, i just wanna get out of utt...i really wouldn't recommend it to other people.

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » June 29th, 2012, 10:15 am

ElectricoS wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:UTT has an excellent Engineering programme. Their third year students are getting better summer placements than UWI students. Why leave?

WHY does everyone keep saying i'll be disappointed with UWI's Comp Sci programme ? i feel its because allyuh can't handle the intensity of the programme. i'm prepared to cope with whatever comes my way.

anyways, i just wanna get out of utt...i really wouldn't recommend it to other people.

eh hoss..u post on a public forum and u throwing talk to ppl for giving u personal experiences and advice. Go ahead then bro. btw, the ppl posted in this thread ALREADY finished their B.Sc...so we more than coped with our share of hardwork and long hours. CompSci in uwi have a very high failure rate/dropout rate..we were jus informing you... but aite soulja...fix ur mix...

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » June 29th, 2012, 11:09 am

skylinechild wrote:OP just be sure at the end f your computer science degree you know how to do the following BASIC things. ( in addition to dealing with databases and my sql and such)

2.use mmc
3. command prompt
4.network installation, troubleshooting and diagnostics from both client and server side.
6. set up a server ( install the OS from scratch) and use active directory to manage users and enforce security policies across the network.

if you cant do ANY of those things AFTER your computer science degree......you just wasted 3 years of your life.... sorry for being kinda harsh OP...

this is so true. learnt this the hard way

kual

Postby kual » June 29th, 2012, 11:49 am

Who is online
Users browsing this forum: BrotherHood, dev51, gastly369, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], Habit7, hondablood, ismithx, ivar, jehusaunders, joashmgn, kual, Mark!, shotta 20, speedmelter, tananaimbatman, Trini Hookah and 22 guests

Postby S_2NR » June 29th, 2012, 11:51 am

Engineering > Comp Sci

xtech

Postby xtech » June 29th, 2012, 3:47 pm

The University of Trinidad and Tobago and the ICT Department would like
to extend an Invitation to you to the re-launch of the Master of Science
in Information and Communication Technology programme on Monday 9th July
2012 at the UTT Campus in the National Academy of Performing Arts (NAPA)
at 9:00 am to 11:30 am.

Dr. Andrea Kanneh and the ICT Department will be introducing the new
look of the Master of Science in Information and Communication
Technology programme which has been revalidated to make it more
competitive. The reasons for the re-launch is to raise public awareness
of the University's programmes including the new M.Sc ICT programme
which is in perfect timing with the rebranding of the John D campus.

This event will provide a great opportunity for you to explore possible
career options and gain additional information which may enhance your
knowledge of the ICT field, therefore we urge you to attend.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 29th, 2012, 7:57 pm

S_2NR wrote:Engineering > Comp Sci

Ogoar dan let him carry his ignorance down nat sci nuh :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 29th, 2012, 10:21 pm

KURMAman wrote:
ElectricoS wrote:

eh hoss..u post on a public forum and u throwing talk to ppl for giving u personal experiences and advice. Go ahead then bro. btw, the ppl posted in this thread ALREADY finished their B.Sc...so we more than coped with our share of hardwork and long hours. CompSci in uwi have a very high failure rate/dropout rate..we were jus informing you... but aite soulja...fix ur mix...

Postby skylinechild » June 29th, 2012, 11:27 pm

adriano7910 wrote:
skylinechild wrote:OP just be sure at the end f your computer science degree you know how to do the following BASIC things. ( in addition to dealing with databases and my sql and such)

2.use mmc
3. command prompt

sad part is....you can do A+ net + and security+...and be able to do all of the above in LESS time
(and costs less ) than it takes to do the computer science degree and THEN sign up for the same degree and knock off 1 year....or move onto more advanced stuff....

palmiste indian

Postby palmiste indian » June 30th, 2012, 9:41 am

yo man I am a student of UTT and I know for sure once you do a diploma or degree at UTT you are going to get a good job..im a final year student of the BaSC so man make your decisions wisely....but UTT is a good institution you can speak to the lecturers one on one so ......

Postby Trini Hookah » June 30th, 2012, 9:45 am

palmiste indian wrote:yo man I am a student of UTT and I know for sure once you do a diploma or degree at UTT you are going to get a good job..im a final year student of the BaSC so man make your decisions wisely....but UTT is a good institution you can speak to the lecturers one on one so ......

Postby black start » July 2nd, 2012, 12:19 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
palmiste indian wrote:yo man I am a student of UTT and I know for sure once you do a diploma or degree at UTT you are going to get a good job..im a final year student of the BaSC so man make your decisions wisely....but UTT is a good institution you can speak to the lecturers one on one so ......

eh bigman, 'low im nuh :|

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 10th, 2014, 4:53 pm

skylinechild wrote:
adriano7910 wrote:

2.use mmc
3. command prompt

sad part is....you can do A+ net + and security+...and be able to do all of the above in LESS time
(and costs less ) than it takes to do the computer science degree and THEN sign up for the same degree and knock off 1 year....or move onto more advanced stuff....

I know this is an old post but came across it when I was doing a search on tuner about UTT and UWI

first I would like to point out skylinechild, we down here in Trinidad look at most courses as a burden and something that must be done in order to get a day Job and we just want to pass in order to get a Job and when we are done thats about that, its a place we never want to revisit.
And in that sense you right just do an IT cert and you might get a Job.

However skylinechild you made a mistake, Computer Science is NOT Information Technology. And it does not exactly require one to know those same basic things you talked about and contrary to what you might think, that if you don't know those basic stuff then you wasted 3 years doing comp sci this is furthest from the truth. IT only involves using and configuring the software thats already created, Computer Science is the process of building those software from the ground up the difference is night and day.

The purpose of Computer Science is as its name suggests to be a Computer Scientist. Using mathematics to advance software, become more efficient and powerful. To take advantage of newer hardware technology etc, computer science students are very well equipped to create 3D video games and the one at UWI does offer 3D gaming option aswell as discrete mathematics and advanced calculus which is critical if you want to be a computer scientist. Now the only place in this country that offers a real computer science degree is UWI, all private institutions like SBCS, SAM and CSTSBCSSBCSTCBSCTS offers a scam that they call computer science. Its a big big hoax, and a nasty lie its something the British came up with to replace the term IT with Computer Science.
If UTT offered computer science then yes it would be real computer science however they offer something similar, Computer Engineering. State schools are usually required to offer proper degrees and not scams. This is why UWI and UTT requires A level maths and science to enter their computer programs.

Check this nonsense

http://www.ctscbcs.com/computing/bsc-computer-science

that isn't computer science LOL

This my friend is computer science have a look below

http://sta.uwi.edu/fst/dcit/academics_u ... bsccompsci

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Computer_science

I have no idea why OP would have opted out to drop out from UTT in order to go UWI and do Comp Science, unless he was doing the BASc in ICT at UTT.

It has since been scrapped and the new course UTT now offers is BASc in Computer Engineering. Which is essentially 50% Computer Science and 50% Electrical Engineering combined into one. In either case a wise programmer from Canada once told me that college is supposed to be about what you learn and a degree does not guarantee jack squat, no matter where you get it from. If you cannot pass questions posed to you in an interview that tests your understanding in programming and key elements the employer is seeking then you will never be accepted.

Infact it is said most self taught programmers are the best in the world and they don't even hold a diploma much less a degree. Its supposed to be a Job about passion not a Job about money, the money comes and its good but one does not pick this field for the sole purpose of money its about doing what you love and keeping up with the times and if you can't do both then you are useless, ivy league education or not.

Just my 2 cents.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 10th, 2014, 6:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » July 10th, 2014, 5:27 pm

Tl;dr