Jack Warner as Minister of National Security?

kual

Re: Jack Warner as Minister of National Security?

Postby kual » June 21st, 2012, 8:52 am

to pave roads call carlos. Carlos the paver man!

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » June 21st, 2012, 10:25 am

nervewrecker wrote:Delay it a bit, it have some more roads to pave and potholes to fill.

After that I am all for him as min of nat sec.

Not worth waiting for...after all, WASA will fockup the new roads and throw us back to square 1.

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2012, 10:28 am

Are roads any better since May 24 2010?

kual

Postby kual » June 21st, 2012, 10:29 am

Habit7 wrote:Are roads any better since May 24 2010?

I want to know myself. All the roads still bad even though we have a pitch lake.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » June 21st, 2012, 10:39 am

kual wrote:

I want to know myself. All the roads still bad even though we have a pitch lake.

Giving Jack his jacket, I have seen an improvement within the road network of Trinidad.
Putting party & politics aside, Jack is a performer.

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2012, 10:58 am

kual wrote:

I am fed up of hearing ppl say this as if the pitch lake is a magic fountain of good roads.

We pave roads with asphalt cement, which consists of bitumen from a refinery and aggregate from a quarry. The product derived from the pitch lake is a non-essential additive that improve the properties of the asphalt cement. Having Trinidad Lake Asphalt (TLA) in your asphalt cement, mostly improves skid resistance and lower maintenance, we still need to maintain the road.

IMHO Jack Warner is doing no different than his predecessor, just that when they build a box drain, fix a pothole or if the Minister takes a stroll in public, the press is called in and it is made a big spectacle where most questions asked are things not pertaining to works and infrastructure but some scandal or bacchanal he is involved in.

Postby Bizzare » June 21st, 2012, 11:04 am

Lol, dunno why the debate. It's not like things could get any worse.

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2012, 11:13 am

It could. Sandy said last year we faced a situation that would make the coup look like a tea party.

You know, the same coup d'etat that lasted three days killed 27 ppl, destroyed half of POS and almost caused the fall of the gov't. Simple stuff.

Postby nervewrecker » June 21st, 2012, 11:20 am

Habit7 wrote:
kual wrote:

I am fed up of hearing ppl say this as if the pitch lake is a magic fountain of good roads.

We pave roads with asphalt cement, which consists of bitumen from a refinery and aggregate from a quarry. The product derived from the pitch lake is a non-essential additive that improve the properties of the asphalt cement. Having Trinidad Lake Asphalt (TLA) in your asphalt cement, mostly improves skid resistance and lower maintenance, we still need to maintain the road.

IMHO Jack Warner is doing no different than his predecessor, just that when they build a box drain, fix a pothole or if the Minister takes a stroll in public, the press is called in and it is made a big spectacle where most questions asked are things not pertaining to works and infrastructure but some scandal or bacchanal he is involved in.

donno when last I see news on tv.

where you live Habit7?
Not to start a 'pnm eh do this and pp do it' argument / comparison but when PNM was in power I never see a pot hole fixed. You familiar with the strectch by Maculay there, after gasparillo by the trunoff to go in reform and the road by Sando tech? The right hand side was plagued with potholes that were getting worst with time, by refom turnoff was like a roller coaster ride and by Sando tech...well we get a road at least.
The back roads by me paved, some side roads and a lot of pot holes filled from sando to fyzo. I donno bout you, but I see change and I real happy with it. Its not much but its something.

Postby nervewrecker » June 21st, 2012, 11:24 am

Oh and we get running water home too. They make dem lazy wasa muthafcukers get off their lazy muddacnuts and go from house to house asking if people does get water, how often and if it does come clean, dirty, with good pressure and for how long.
Do you know what it is like to be fulling water side the road by a pipe stand for 2 decades? Of course not.

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2012, 11:31 am

I am a north man but I have to know most of T&T because my job has something to do with rocks...

I cant picture that area in Gasparillo but I have worked in Mayo and I will agree with you that the roads there are historically bad.
Recently some of my other colleagues who deal up in rocks were baffled by the attempts at Sando Tech. As far as we know that is a classic case of a fault system, the road needs to be abandoned and re-routed like what was done. Reconstructing it will result with the same problem that existed because the ground is not stable.

nervewrecker wrote:Do you know what it is like to be fulling water side the road by a pipe stand for 2 decades? Of course not.

Of course not, I live north of the Caroni :roll: I know that there has always been that north/south divide in term of national infrastructure, but the funny thing is now ppl in the North are starting to complain about water shortages.

Postby nervewrecker » June 21st, 2012, 11:37 am

Habit7 wrote:I am a north man but I have to know most of T&T because my job has something to do with rocks...

I cant picture that area in Gasparillo but I have worked in Mayo and I will agree with you that the roads there are historically bad.
Recently some of my other colleagues who deal up in rocks were baffled by the attempts at Sando Tech. As far as we know that is a classic case of a fault system, the road needs to be abandoned and re-routed like what was done. Reconstructing it will result with the same problem that existed because the ground is not stable.

T'was after the flyover on the stretch by the stadium there. I think its reform turnoff its called (southbound lane). It was near the edge of the road and was like a less severe version of what they have by sando tech there. It get a little patch up to mammaguy us a little but I can live with it.

WRT the piece by sando tech there, I find the re-route working fine so far. I say leave it cuz I agree, they will fix that other piece and by the end of this year....same rodeo ride style through it.

Cobalt60

Postby Cobalt60 » June 21st, 2012, 9:39 pm

Should have been so from Day One.

Postby Habit7 » June 21st, 2012, 10:32 pm

Louis Lee Sing for Nat. Security Minister, a true no nonsense man.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » June 22nd, 2012, 8:44 am

^^Did you forget to put the [sarcasm][/sarcasm] BBcode on that statement?

And should he be put as Nat Sec Minister AFTER (or before) he puts the special walkway with turf grass for senior citizens around the QPS? If you didn't hear his recommendation recently, he wants to put a "soft grass" (or whatever it's called) walkway around the QPS for older folks, cuz walking on the normal walkway could damage their knees.

I could have sworn that's what I heard him say on news....unless I was having one of those comical dreams again.

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2012, 8:59 am

No Capt Misinformed he said mondo track, like what we have at the stadia.

Postby 16 cycles » June 22nd, 2012, 10:18 am

Same lee sing who circumvent due process for his company to jump the line to gain a radio license.........

then

............The Opposition didn’t care about the $115,000 that First Citizens Bank spent on a Scrabble tournament, the $857,000 on horseracing, or even $989,000 on cocktails in North, South and Tobago.

Instead, Mr Mark and his colleague Robin Montano zeroed in on the amount the National Lotteries Control Board had spent on advertising on two radio stations, I92.5 and its successor, I95.5: $72,613.86 and $545,847.69 respectively. The closest any other station came to making this much money from the NLCB was 103, which was paid $395,499.50.

Mr Mark asked Mr Enill to explain this disproportionate amount, bearing in mind that the chairman of the NLCB is also the chairman of I95. (Mr Mark didn’t name him, but the big cheese in question is Louis Lee Sing.) Had a declaration of interest been entered, he wanted to know.

A plainly embarrassed Mr Enill said he had had cause to look at the matter. The chairman and board of the NLCB approved the general project, but “the advertising and public relations officer responsible is, I think,” he muttered, as he dropped his bombshell, “somebody called Devant Maharaj.

“I have difficulty when I see results like this,” he added hastily. “I did investigate.”

Mr Enill had good reason to look abashed, and it was no wonder his claim was greeted with incredulous laughter.

“You believe that?” asked Mr Mark.

Mr Enill said he was just there to answer the question.

“Just to get this comedy in perspective,” asked Mr Montano, “is the minister asking us to believe the chairman of NLCB had absolutely nothing to do with $800,000 (sic) going to his company—he just closed his eyes and let Devant Maharaj do it?”

No further light

“I’m not asking anyone to believe anything,” Mr Enill said sheepishly. “I’m just providing the information.”

Now whereas Mr Lee Sing is well known as a friend of the Government, Mr Maharaj came to prominence last year when he took the Government to court, and won, over the Prime Minister’s veto of his promotion at the NLCB. Since then he has had even less reason to be kindly disposed to Mr Lee Sing or the PNM, as he has been refused leave of absence from the NLCB to take up a job in the office of the leader of the Opposition.

To sum up, then, Mr Maharaj is the last person on the planet who would be inclined to funnel revenue in the direction of Mr Lee Sing’s radio station.

But no further light was shed on this mystery, as question time ended before Mr Montano got to ask the supplemental questions he was bursting to put to Mr Enill.............

http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... table.html

circa 2004

don't get tie up.....all of them cut from the same cloth....

Postby Habit7 » June 22nd, 2012, 11:35 am

Son, a column by Judy Raymond is not reporting, it is her opinion.

Secondly, i95.5fm has been the one of, if not the most listened to radio station in this land, so them landing a large share of the advertisement pie is nothing to bat an eye at.

Thirdly, according to the column, Devant Maharaj whose portfolio as Min. of Transport takes a backseat to his goal of embarrassing the PNM, singed off on it when he was advertising and public relations officer.

Postby 16 cycles » June 22nd, 2012, 11:43 am

Habit7 wrote:Baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

ok

Conrad

Postby Conrad » June 22nd, 2012, 12:15 pm

Habit7 wrote:
kual wrote:

donno when last I see news on tv.

where you live Habit7?
Not to start a 'pnm eh do this and pp do it' argument / comparison but when PNM was in power I never see a pot hole fixed. You familiar with the strectch by Maculay there, after gasparillo by the trunoff to go in reform and the road by Sando tech? The right hand side was plagued with potholes that were getting worst with time, by refom turnoff was like a roller coaster ride and by Sando tech...well we get a road at least.
The back roads by me paved, some side roads and a lot of pot holes filled from sando to fyzo. I donno bout you, but I see change and I real happy with it. Its not much but its something.

nervewrecker wrote:Oh and we get running water home too. They make dem lazy wasa muthafcukers get off their lazy muddacnuts and go from house to house asking if people does get water, how often and if it does come clean, dirty, with good pressure and for how long.
Do you know what it is like to be fulling water side the road by a pipe stand for 2 decades? Of course not.

TL:DR Tantie Kamla them take care of they own down South and Central, hic. :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 22nd, 2012, 12:16 pm

Habit7 wrote:I am a north man but I have to know most of T&T because my job has something to do with rocks...

T'was after the flyover on the stretch by the stadium there. I think its reform turnoff its called (southbound lane). It was near the edge of the road and was like a less severe version of what they have by sando tech there. It get a little patch up to mammaguy us a little but I can live with it.

WRT the piece by sando tech there, I find the re-route working fine so far. I say leave it cuz I agree, they will fix that other piece and by the end of this year....same rodeo ride style through it.

What you talking bout? The piece by the road to go into the stadium?

IMO That piece of right lane is bumpy as firetruck..

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2012, 12:32 pm

Kurpal, thats the stadium entrance? I donno but I agree, I lumpy, hence the reason for the word mammaguy lol. It better than before but it still eh do rite.

Conrad wrote:
TL:DR Tantie Kamla them take care of they own down South and Central, hic. :lol:

PNM paved my street though. Since 19 how long :drinking:
Yea, I live in a PNM area. :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 22nd, 2012, 12:42 pm

^^ Yea if you tke that road yuh coming out taruba (sp) have a guest-house as you buss that corner there...

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » June 22nd, 2012, 3:16 pm

crime in TnT is solely because of the set of blasted illiterates who have the idea of entitlement to others belongings. solve crime? kill them all....and let proper families adopt their young.
Last edited by adriano7910 on June 22nd, 2012, 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 22nd, 2012, 3:26 pm

adriano7910 wrote:crime in TnT is soley because of the set of blasted illiterates who have the idea of entitlement to others belongings. solve crime? kill them all....and let proper families adopt their young.

srsly dude, srsly. I go just smile and wave for this one yes

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2012, 3:50 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ Yea if you tke that road yuh coming out taruba (sp) have a guest-house as you buss that corner there...

Southern guesthouse

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » June 22nd, 2012, 5:26 pm

shotta 20 wrote:OP, this from a good source or just speculation?

I have it from 2 reliable sources , they should do that announcement in the coming weeks if it wasn't done today.

Wait till alya see the pum that taking over his portfolio.

Postby maj. tom » June 22nd, 2012, 5:34 pm

Bizzare wrote:Lol, dunno why the debate. It's not like things could get any worse.

Postby K74T » June 22nd, 2012, 5:37 pm

adriano7910 wrote:crime in TnT is soley because of the set of blasted illiterates who have the idea of entitlement to others belongings. solve crime? kill them all....and let proper families adopt their young.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » June 22nd, 2012, 8:02 pm

K74T wrote:

sry. some of us work during the day and may not have time to proof read everything but only have time to make quick statements on a topic and get back to work