Battery men go suffer?

Re: Battery men go suffer?

Postby wagonrunner » June 15th, 2012, 4:38 pm

pete wrote:Does your cigarette lighter have power on it with the vehicle turned off?

you're right.
some do though. and one can always be wired to bypass it.
Last edited by wagonrunner on June 15th, 2012, 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Bizzare » June 15th, 2012, 5:20 pm

some vehicles do.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 15th, 2012, 6:08 pm

lost to all wrote:previously had a turbo 2001 750 cranking amps got 2.75 years out of that one, so I bought another.

currently have turbo 2001 825 cranking amps

need that power to heat d glow plug and tumble crankshaft and ting.

I bought a solar panel trickle charger from pricesmart, I believe it is 2 watts, they say it keeps the battery topped up, just mount it on your dash and it plug it into your cigarette jack.

Any thoughts on this.

Dude that trickle charger solar panel does not work .. for it to fully work u need to get at least 10 hrs ideally a day .. read the fine print on the box it says max power output of 125mah at 1.8W max .. so that means u only get that in direct sunlight which is about 1-2 hrs a day .

trust me i have tried the 5W panel and bench tested them to be .5A max on a small setup i have at work .. takes days to charge a 13plate batt

maZdaspeed6

Postby maZdaspeed6 » June 15th, 2012, 6:53 pm

Still have a 2007, bought - used- 825 amp turbo 2001 battery that takes charge & starts my old mazda in one bounce all I did was solder a small crack on top & reacid it !

Postby UML » June 15th, 2012, 8:55 pm

i have a maintenance free powermaster battery as well 8-)

ruffnek wrote:
geometron wrote:and your point is...? who d fack purchases those crap batts anyway

tuners, this voice sounding very immature, jus looking at his signature doesn't shock me of his comments....

Mark! wrote:
geometron wrote:and your point is...? who d fack purchases those crap batts anyway

man does only see optima dry cell battery advertising online and think dem is d only batteries that does work. yuh need to go out in the real world yes :lol: :lol:

man probably using these for years....

powering his "ride"
Image[

fixed 8-)

khandman

Postby khandman » June 15th, 2012, 9:19 pm

Watch d time u post this nah. 840am. Now reach to wuk and on tuner. Anytime i talk to you u under real pressure in wuk .Could lie... Link the rad for me nah mule.

pseudorandom

Postby pseudorandom » June 15th, 2012, 10:12 pm

MonsterPower wrote:
lost to all wrote:previously had a turbo 2001 750 cranking amps got 2.75 years out of that one, so I bought another.

I bought a solar panel trickle charger from pricesmart, I believe it is 2 watts, they say it keeps the battery topped up, just mount it on your dash and it plug it into your cigarette jack.

Any thoughts on this.

Dude that trickle charger solar panel does not work .. for it to fully work u need to get at least 10 hrs ideally a day .. read the fine print on the box it says max power output of 125mah at 1.8W max .. so that means u only get that in direct sunlight which is about 1-2 hrs a day .

trust me i have tried the 5W panel and bench tested them to be .5A max on a small setup i have at work .. takes days to charge a 13plate batt

I think the solar charger could be good. The point of the trickle charger is not to fully charge a battery, the alternator does that. The solar charger will ensure your battery is always topped up when your car is not running. This will help prevent sulphation from taking place and result in extended lifespan for the battery. I'm no expert, but just going on what I know - batteries go bad because of sulphation, and sulphation is caused when the battery is not fully charged and left to sit.

For the trickle charger to work on the cigarette lighter jack, you must ensure it is not disconnected from the battery when the car is off (i.e. you get power from the jack when the car is off), otherwise you need some rewiring to get it to work. I would personally mount it behind the back seat of the car to make it less noticeable and do some custom wiring. I now thinking of getting one. Based on the cost of new battery and the cost of a 1.8-watt solar charger, the extended battery life could be worth it.

Postby nervewrecker » June 15th, 2012, 11:04 pm

Batts disconnected and the voltage dropping? They shouldnt have a resting voltage of a little above 12v and hold that for quite awhile?
Normally with the batt connected and left in the car awhile shouldnt a small current draw from the car itself account for the voltage drop?
If you you using your car regular your resting voltage should remain at a healthy 12.3-5v as the alternator recharges it. I see no need for having a solar charger hooked up to it to keep it "topped up". If your resting voltage low it may be a sign that the batt is on its way out.

Xs power btw, 3+ years service.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 15th, 2012, 11:10 pm

pseudorandom wrote:
MonsterPower wrote:

Any thoughts on this.

I think the solar charger could be good. The point of the trickle charger is not to fully charge a battery, the alternator does that. The solar charger will ensure your battery is always topped up when your car is not running. This will help prevent sulphation from taking place and result in extended lifespan for the battery. I'm no expert, but just going on what I know - batteries go bad because of sulphation, and sulphation is caused when the battery is not fully charged and left to sit.

For the trickle charger to work on the cigarette lighter jack, you must ensure it is not disconnected from the battery when the car is off (i.e. you get power from the jack when the car is off), otherwise you need some rewiring to get it to work. I would personally mount it behind the back seat of the car to make it less noticeable and do some custom wiring. I now thinking of getting one. Based on the cost of new battery and the cost of a 1.8-watt solar charger, the extended battery life could be worth it.

sulphation does not build up on a charging or charged battery that sits at 12.5v or higher.
I am tellin you not on what i think but from tests i have actually done.. but if you think the money worth wasting go right ahead

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » June 15th, 2012, 11:26 pm

whooogaarrrddddd...all dis uproar ova meee? oh thank u gaiz....

oh btw..is Stinger i totin ehhhh...

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » June 16th, 2012, 12:29 am

plenty and nice info here guys! Well I already buy the damn thing, that being said I have a diesel b14 so you all may know if power is available through cigarette jack when car is off in those cars, i can't remember but I will check and post it here.

MonsterPower i take your point well, you too pseudorandom, but I am leaning more towards pseudorandom comments, my battery is only a few months old and resting charge is probably good but as the battery gets older this will drop and I believe this is where the trickle charger will help in keeping that charge as high as possible and for as long as possible thus improving battery life and performance. This is my conclusion based off both your comments.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 16th, 2012, 1:05 am

Power Master lasted 4 years in libero, Turbo 2001 working great so far

Postby sMASH » June 16th, 2012, 7:32 pm

my normel little track in the ad starting to go through. it is at least 2.5 years old. it can still tumble the little 1.3 engine in the ad but after a few days of not starting it can't.

i know it's not good to keep a battery discharged for long periods, so the trickle charger could keep the old battery topped up, when i not using that car, keeping the voltage up, so extending the life that much more. the good thing is, the solar powered trickle charger would just remain with the car no matter which battery is in.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 16th, 2012, 7:45 pm

20inchstrong wrote:I have a maintenance free Power Master for almost 2 years now... :idea:

got one before. lasted 18mths got another one.. maintenance free this time.
lots of service centers...lots of warranty access.
will buy another one from them after this one is out.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 16th, 2012, 10:54 pm

bosch .....3 years warranty FTW

ruffnek

Postby ruffnek » June 16th, 2012, 11:37 pm

khandman wrote:Watch d time u post this nah. 840am. Now reach to wuk and on tuner. Anytime i talk to you u under real pressure in wuk .Could lie... Link the rad for me nah mule.

hold dat, fella looking just like you too,jus missing the "homohawk" :mrgreen:

anyways ppl.... i hear they taking any battery now, not just what they sell/service

Postby sliderz1 » June 18th, 2012, 11:17 am

went to the sale weekend and got me this

13 plate with 850 cranking amps