WTK: Best Place to purchase Doors and Windows for home...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 12th, 2012, 4:07 am

Tuners,

Looking to get some doors like a main front door and windows for a house currently under construction...

Where is the best place to purchase these from..? and what do u guys recommend.?

Steel ,,? aluminium? UPVC?.....saw abel have alot of options so will check them...

would appreciate any feedback guys....

the front door I would prefer a nice wooden door with the glass panes.....Will check bhagwansinghs...but again if u guys know where I can get these ant reasonable prices....

let me know...

Thanks all!!

geodude

Re: WTK: Best Place to purchase Doors and Windows for home..

Postby geodude » June 12th, 2012, 6:38 am

check abel, they usually have an annual sale at their Longdenville location, and the prices are insane,
the windows usually come in odd sizes leg ppl are used to 4x4 you might get 4'2"x 4'2' but this should not be an issue if the building is under construction as the builder can fix to suit,

i got some nice doors complete with door frame, locks and hinges and UPVC windows with insect screens there for a very good price,
i bored so hold some pics of zee doors
PIC_0396.JPG

PIC_0400.JPG

PIC_0401.JPG

Postby Team Loco » June 12th, 2012, 6:52 am

Just the other day I heard mg man saying mk asgarali in freeport is the best

Postby dougla_boy » June 12th, 2012, 7:29 am

depends on what you want.....abel is a good place for doors that are pleasing to the eyes......or if u want more security that aint that bad there is a place on don miguel south side in san juan.......they have great doors for security..........

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 12th, 2012, 7:35 am

ALL of those IMPORTED supposed steel doors are just pleasing to look at, but in REALITY they are weaker than a SOILD wooden door.
I have visited sites where bandits used a CAN OPENER to gain access through one of those hardware steel doors.

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » June 12th, 2012, 9:39 am

BHAGWANSIGH go have what uh looking for

Postby MG Man » June 12th, 2012, 9:40 am

Team Loco wrote:Just the other day I heard mg man saying mk asgarali in freeport is the best

lol backside
never me again

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 12th, 2012, 9:43 am

ALL doors imported in those hardwares are inferior, and then theres the issue with the ALL IN ONE LOCK, what many customers find out too late, is that WHEN anything happens to that LOCK, no locksmith will attempt to fix it and you cannot simply swap it out, you may have to change your entire door and frame, in cases those locks have failed while people were home and they gopt locked IN.

But you get what you pay for.

Postby Country_Bookie » June 12th, 2012, 9:57 am

dougla_boy wrote:depends on what you want.....abel is a good place for doors that are pleasing to the eyes......or if u want more security that aint that bad there is a place on don miguel south side in san juan.......they have great doors for security..........

The name of the place is ABC Distributors

Postby dougla_boy » June 12th, 2012, 10:07 am

Country_Bookie wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:depends on what you want.....abel is a good place for doors that are pleasing to the eyes......or if u want more security that aint that bad there is a place on don miguel south side in san juan.......they have great doors for security..........

nope, wrong place......ABC doors aint all that great for security.........will check for peoples with best security door...........and post after

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 12th, 2012, 10:07 am

Country_Bookie wrote:

now that im no longer in the business ... i will buss the files ......

all those doors come from china from a company called mexin ...and everything written in this thread is true .....

only saviour is that the all in one lock (that is crap) has alot more parts available now than before. so if it fails u can just by a new one from abel/ abc / bagwansinghs etc etc

non provide any real security THIS IS A FACT

and BTW abel tent sale looking like it gonna start next week ...so u gonna wanna check that out

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 12th, 2012, 10:48 am

great advice fellas....alot ot consider....... geodude I thinking bout the pvc windows......shoulda post some pics up of those........

geodude

Postby geodude » June 12th, 2012, 11:53 am

the rate u going you go want to come home by me just now :)

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 12th, 2012, 3:22 pm

Delta Glass for aluminum windows.

They were about $3500 cheaper than MK Asgarali for the same amount/type of windows.

The so-called security doors are rubbish not to mention FUGLY. You can use them if you want to look like a chinese restaurant. The can opener comment is quite correct

Doors at Bhags or Roopnarine are grossly overpriced. If you still have some time, you can get your doors made at Superior Doors in Couva, but be prepared to wait about a month.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » June 12th, 2012, 3:27 pm

QPSL,,

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 12th, 2012, 4:47 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Delta Glass for aluminum windows.

They were about $3500 cheaper than MK Asgarali for the same amount/type of windows.

The so-called security doors are rubbish not to mention FUGLY. You can use them if you want to look like a chinese restaurant. The can opener comment is quite correct

Doors at Bhags or Roopnarine are grossly overpriced. If you still have some time, you can get your doors made at Superior Doors in Couva, but be prepared to wait about a month.

Hell firetruck NOO .. u wont have to wait a month hoss.. try six or more.. Right now i have a bailiff waiting to drop a court order for him .

Abel for windows hands down ... if u do go with steel make sure and sand it down and paint it with marine paint.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 12th, 2012, 5:04 pm

Yes, he can be a pain in the arse.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 12th, 2012, 6:58 pm

what about the aluminium gliders from abel....?......

they seem maintenance free........

any feedback?

Postby skylinechild » June 12th, 2012, 8:31 pm

Team Loco wrote:Just the other day I heard mg man saying mk asgarali in freeport is the most expensive

fixed for accuracy :!:

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 12th, 2012, 9:12 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:what about the aluminium gliders from abel....?......

they seem maintenance free........

any feedback?

The trouble with gliders is that you can never have the entire window open at any time. Only half of a glider's space is ever able to be opened. That's why i went aluminum casement. Both are equally unsafe security wise so that's not a deciding facttor.

VS

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 13th, 2012, 6:19 am

how is the aluminium casement working for u.......?

Do u think steel might have been the better option....?

Now I will be putting burglar proofing still......

The steel windows tends to rust over time and need regularmaintenance so thats why I really not liking the steel...plus its more expensive......

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » June 13th, 2012, 6:24 am

Cantrex ltd in Omera ind estate for aluminum Doors and windows.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 13th, 2012, 7:56 am

aluminum doors will last, BUT aluminum is very very soft, its actually easier to get through an aluminum door than a hardwood door................

STEEL doors are always your BEST option.
make sure when youre looking to ask what guage is the material , car panels are made of 26 Gauge, or thereabouts, the LArger the number the THINNER the gauge,
Strong Steel doors are made from 18Gauge and 20Gauge with proper reinforcements.

kual

Postby kual » June 13th, 2012, 11:22 am

Arima Door Centre.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » June 13th, 2012, 11:39 am

Damn it
I just bought 12 steel doors from ABC Door and windows..... almost 40,000ttd
(double doors,and single wrought iron doors and solid steel)
I was convinced on the locking system and the multi-track system

now i am reading differently.

Anyone else used these doors?

Postby MG Man » June 13th, 2012, 11:46 am

the first time I saw those fancy doors with their multiple locks I thought hmm........if that thing spol, how u gonna fix that?
I goin with dogs, steel burglar proofing, suntek security film and an alarm system.........if they really wanna break in, they WILL find a way........I just making it more difficult........

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 13th, 2012, 1:38 pm

mitch1980 wrote:Damn it
I just bought 12 steel doors from ABC Door and windows..... almost 40,000ttd
(double doors,and single wrought iron doors and solid steel)
I was convinced on the locking system and the multi-track system

now i am reading differently.

Anyone else used these doors?

lol...let me give u the first F UP with those doors ...get a magnet and test the handle .... bricks will be shat ..... it's freaking plastic and it breaks off very easily and is very hard to get the same pattern back

mimi007

Postby mimi007 » June 13th, 2012, 6:54 pm

i went to abc n i didnt like the quality of the craftsmanship on the door i wanted....settled for one in home express and got steel windows from delta

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 13th, 2012, 8:59 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:how is the aluminium casement working for u.......?

Do u think steel might have been the better option....?

Now I will be putting burglar proofing still......

The steel windows tends to rust over time and need regularmaintenance so thats why I really not liking the steel...plus its more expensive......

I have burglar proofing so the security aspect of aluminum windows is not relevant for me.

Steel windows require too much maintenance where the aluminum is completely maintenance free, no rust, no paint, no cracked putty.

The casement style was the only one to give me the entire window area open and that was a deciding factor for me.

Anyone knows of any door makers other than superior doors? He seems to have gotten worse since i last used his services. Location not too important.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 14th, 2012, 1:28 am

strugglerzinc.....I am not getting the casement....where did u get it?...All I am geting is the glider where only one side opens up......