engine oil question

christopherwilliams2

engine oil question

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 10th, 2012, 2:53 pm

My car manual says the oil specifications should be 10w _- 30 but the mechanic used 20w-50, will this be an issue? he replaced all four quarts, and the car bucks a bit of the time.

Re: engine oil question

Postby BrotherHood » June 10th, 2012, 2:56 pm

Follow the manual.

Postby r3iXmann » June 10th, 2012, 3:01 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Follow the manual.

this. then again, trini mechanics know better than d people who design d ting :roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby RBphoto » June 10th, 2012, 5:34 pm

Have heard some reports of cubes and march engines being damaged from using 20W50. Use NP, 5W40 is da schizzle 8)

dutyspeed

Postby dutyspeed » June 10th, 2012, 6:01 pm

jus follow the manual

Postby Bizzare » June 10th, 2012, 6:10 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:My car manual says the oil specifications should be 10w-30

christopherwilliams2 wrote:but the mechanic used 20w-50

christopherwilliams2 wrote:the car bucks a bit of the time

christopherwilliams2 wrote:will this be an issue?

no, no....not at all. I highly doubt disobeying the car's own manual will be an issue, even though you're already experiencing problems. But hey, why not ask on Tuner?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » June 10th, 2012, 6:16 pm

wat car is it?

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » June 10th, 2012, 6:53 pm

sometimes i wonder if mechanics know that there are other oils besides 20w 50, seems that's all they recommend.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » June 10th, 2012, 9:05 pm

Bizzare wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:My car manual says the oil specifications should be 10w-30

christopherwilliams2 wrote:but the mechanic used 20w-50

christopherwilliams2 wrote:the car bucks a bit of the time

christopherwilliams2 wrote:will this be an issue?

no, no....not at all. I highly doubt disobeying the car's own manual will be an issue, even though you're already experiencing problems. But hey, why not ask on Tuner?

ha ha ..i was expectin' this..tuner is ah love breds.
what i meant was that if it is normal for oil types to be switched. Something like the fuel required - you know they say you only use 'Premium' in certain cars but then you can also use 'Super'...something like that....
i was wondering if that was part of the problem.

Postby rollingstock » June 10th, 2012, 9:07 pm

^ what vehicle?

Honestly can't see a switch from 30 to a 50 body causing a 'buck' but again will depend on the engine design.

Postby cinco » June 10th, 2012, 9:09 pm

rollingstock wrote:^ what vehicle?

Honestly can't see a switch from 30 to a 50 body causing a 'buck' but again will depend on the engine design.

ntsrifsrs

use wat they recommend

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 10th, 2012, 9:13 pm

tell that to the car...

Postby rollingstock » June 10th, 2012, 9:34 pm

cinco wrote:

ntsrifsrs

use wat they recommend

Very serious, a 'buck' from switching to a 50 body oil?

But then again it may be one of those finnicky flux capacitor engines :|

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 10th, 2012, 9:45 pm

or maybe its an engine that uses oil pressure to engage something...not unheard of these days.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » June 10th, 2012, 10:22 pm

If u know the model/make of car, u cud try posting in any of the Vehicle make forums and start from there OP.

NOW

Car Make/Model?
age of car/engine?
Type of engine?
Type of fuel?

Postby Kenjo » June 11th, 2012, 5:53 am

the car from Guyana ?why it bucking so?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 11th, 2012, 7:15 am

Kenjo wrote:the car from Guyana ?why it bucking so?

:| :| :| :| :| :| :| :| :| :|

Postby SR » June 11th, 2012, 7:19 am

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » June 15th, 2012, 8:47 am

SR wrote:http://www.upmpg.com/tech_articles/motoroil_viscosity/

read first

good article

TK!

Postby TK! » June 15th, 2012, 2:08 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:My car manual says the oil specifications should be 10w _- 30 but the mechanic used 20w-50, will this be an issue? he replaced all four quarts, and the car bucks a bit of the time.

Your mechanic may not have enough knowledge. Ask him to replace that 20W-50 oil with the recommended 0W-30. Do so politely but firmly.

There are locals that purport the view that due to our hotter climate, we must use 20W-50. This is false, since the car is setup to get up to and run at a particular temperature.

Choosing a good mechanic is important. It may be time to consider someone else, who is better educated and more experienced with modern vehicles.

TK!

Postby TK! » June 15th, 2012, 2:10 pm

Kenjo wrote:the car from Guyana ?why it bucking so?

:lol: :lol: :lol: good one.. lol

Postby pete » June 15th, 2012, 4:15 pm

TK! wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:My car manual says the oil specifications should be 10w _- 30 but the mechanic used 20w-50, will this be an issue? he replaced all four quarts, and the car bucks a bit of the time.

Your mechanic may not have enough knowledge. Ask him to replace that 20W-50 oil with the recommended 0W-30. Do so politely but firmly.

There are locals that purport the view that due to our hotter climate, we must use 20W-50. This is false, since the car is setup to get up to and run at a particular temperature.

Choosing a good mechanic is important. It may be time to consider someone else, who is better educated and more experienced with modern vehicles.

Most vehicles have a chart similar to this in their owners manual.

What does your owners manual say?

Postby Stephon. » June 15th, 2012, 4:35 pm

The other day I drove over a spike strip and my tires blew out, do you think i should buy new tires or.....????

trent

Postby trent » June 15th, 2012, 5:50 pm

^^^ not sure, what does the manual say??

Postby Stephon. » June 15th, 2012, 7:23 pm

trent wrote:^^^ not sure, what does the manual say??

I think I got the wrong manual cuz when I go in the index and look under "S" for spike strip, I not seeing anything :?

Postby brams112 » June 15th, 2012, 7:50 pm

Look under ''what to do if tire blows out''there are a lot of options,yet op still did not say what model of car he got.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 15th, 2012, 9:02 pm

Is not like newer engines have tighta tolarences, ah mean 20w50 good for all engines, why waste money on thin 10w30 when the 20w50 go last longer since we is ah tropical country. ent the engine is an open system directly affected by atmospheric conditions? also ah know what yuh thinking the engine ole so 20w50 must be better. So 20W50 daiz the thing self. Yuh cud even bathe with it.

bottom line rtfm and use what they recommend. btw what engine yah running?